September 2017 week two fuel prices – everything up

Time once again for the latest fuel price announcement, and if you’re hoping for some good news after last week’s increase, prepare to be disappointed.

From tomorrow, September 7, RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM2.20 per litre (up four sen from RM2.16), while RON 97 petrol is priced at RM2.48 per litre (up four sen from RM2.44).

As for Euro 2M diesel, it now retails at the pump for RM2.05 per litre (up one sen from RM2.04) this week, while Euro 5 diesel will go for RM2.15 per litre (up one sen from RM2.14). These prices take effect from 12.01am until September 13, when the next round of fuel prices will be announced.

This is the 24th weekly fuel pricing update since the system’s implementation on March 30. Compared to March 2017 prices, which was before weekly pricing took effect, RON 95 is down by 10 sen (from RM2.30 per litre), RON 97 by 12 sen (RM2.60 per litre) and Euro 2M diesel is down by 15 sen (from RM2.20 per litre).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• HAPPY WEDNESDAY on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:36 pm

yeaaah!! Made some $$$$..after 2 weeks of losses..tq gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Where is john? on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:59 pm

Global prices going down but our petrol prices keep on going higher and higher and higher. Where are all the gomen ball lickers now? Why they keeping quiet?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 3
      • Periasamy on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:10 pm

OMG OMG OMG. Every week now it is going higher and higher and higher or unchanged. Never down.
        And the best part is, we are an oil producing country.

All oil producing countries sell their oil very cheap to the rakyat. Look at Saudi, they sell their Ron at RM1.10 per liter. Brunei also sell 50 cents per litre

Nearly all oil producing countries sell their oil super cheap to their rakyat, except Malaysia.

Pity Malaysians. Ringgit also got no value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 5
        • Nazreen on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 197
          • Khalid on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:41 pm

6 years ago, Petronas announced it has found the largest oil reserve field in the world. So large that it can churn out non stop for the next 100 yrs.

Global news also confirmed this fact.

Then suddenly, all news about this goldmine was covered up. Completely covered up.

You might want to rethink your post bro

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 9
          • Latuk Bandar on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:44 pm

PDAM veli quiet wor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Marieta on Sep 06, 2017 at 7:09 pm

You either not reading updated info or not reading at all, just self speculating a.k.a syok sendiri.

• Anonymous on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:11 pm

Bro, you are too ignorant. More than 70% of Malaysia’s development, KLCC, Putrajaya etc. etc. were built with Petronas’ money brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • carlover on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:22 pm

where got such oil reserve will be depleted.talks like that are from oil companies n countries to control the price.oil reserve will never be exhausted.we been hearing thisfor the past 20 years.and yet alot of oil fields hv been discovered.fossil oil from 100 million years ago will never be depleted.

• xoxox on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:08 am

High Quality oil/Low Sulfur oil is now achievable through processing… if Malaysia can earn by exporting high quality oil, why does the Ron97 price doesn’t increase when it change from Euro2M to Euro4M?

• Pls take public transport lah… Lazy Malaysians

If everyone takes public transport, then our oil reserves will be saved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • Kundasang no public transport lah… Lazy gahmen

• Never heard of bicycle?

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 168
        • Khalid on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:29 pm

This is the same guy who says

1) Malaysia has cheapest petrol in the world
          2) Gomen still subsidizes our petrol
          3) cheapest car prices in the world
          4) cheapest car insurance in the world
          5) gomen quietly subsidizes our car insurance
          6) Proton has no hutang and already paid all hutang
          7) All Saga got VSC
          8) Iriz hybrid is ready and can launch anytime

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 6
        • Hot dog on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:38 pm

RM2.20 = Brunei $0.70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
        • Where is john? on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:50 pm

sick and fed up of fake postings telling us we got cheapest petrol and car prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Kunta kinte on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:26 am

Different between genius and stupidity is genius has a limit but stupidity has no limit – Albert Einstein.

• YB Albert on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:39 pm

I think we dont need the stupid weekly announcements from the dudes.
        THe rakyat has resigned to the fact that RISING PETROL and COST OF LIVING is a norm now,since there is no tranparency at all.
        Next October,after the budget…be prepared,your normal roti chanai will be rm 2.50/pc.Your anak’s tambang bas sekolah will skyrocket 50 percent.
        Fellow rakyat,Bolehland is spiralling downhill.
        The rich,n connected dont give a damn.WE r the worst affected.Just shambolic with these weekly announcements.Just wayang je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
  • Noah Thiruchelvan on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Honestly this is madness. Every week since raya was over the price hike has been unreasonable. totally unreasonable. please la people, vote wisely in the next election. not sorry at all for bringing up politics in a car forum

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 6
    • Periasamy on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:09 pm

We are overpaying gomen by about 80 sen per litre.
      According to Global prices, ron 95 should be around RM1.40 to RM1.50

Calculate that with 10 million motorist. Gomen makes billions extra.

But yet universities and schools got no funding and hospitals have cut back medicine. Some even say tak ada ubat!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 5
  • hazman on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:45 pm

currency getting stronger against usd…world oil price getting lower…why are ours getting higher? RM and NR wanna buy new jewellery is it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
    • Toon Lazat on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:50 pm

someone said reason to hike up the gas price is to force more people to take train…poor MRT ridership?

• Awesome! on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Lagi naik, lagi bes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • It’s true what they say – the only thing certain to go down is RAIN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Ini semua salah Harvey… oh wai bashers says its not wor. So basher logic or real world logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 42
    • Harvey on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:34 pm

Brunei ok aje.
      No change price.

• Periasamy on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Are you mental? Who is Harvey? You think Harvey Norman sell petrol?

Is this another fake post from you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Jonas on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:57 pm

john pls write sensible things in this blog. We are all fed up of you

• Kalau tak naik petrol station owners rugi sebab stok lama yg cost higher tak habis jual. Kesian kat diorang. Buat bis mana boleh rugi..mesti kasi untung. Memang patut kita pengguna ni yang tanggung.
    BIla minyak naik barang2 harian pun naik. Biarlah kami anak beranak hidup susah asalkan para peniaga untung belaka.
    Berkorban, apa saja demi negara tercinta.
    Adus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Mah Suree on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:16 pm

I foresee the crystal ball is telling us that very soon, everyone will be spending no less than myr20 for a decent plate of economy rice, myr 5 for a plain parata, myr5 for a nasi lemak kosong, Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Leafable on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:44 pm

New Nissan Leaf Mk2 just launched. Perfect timing for normal folks to jump on the EV wagon.

Don’t expect the oil price will drop for the next 6 months. It will only going up due to the USA natural disaster will hit the fuel price big time and Fatboy Kim about to start a new war will not help either.

• 12yrsold on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:05 am

The Leaf is a GOOD car but how many Malaysian can afford to buy one when most poor Malaysian are suffering with high price for Goods & Services??!

• From east side on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:48 pm

Well how lucky us msian enjoying the higher petrol prices

• Change on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Dear All, please no more complained but ensure actions are taken. Change is really required.

• Petrol Dealer on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Where is the petrol dealer association p.o.s?
    Why are they not gathering and claim losing money now, what the fish?
    Want exclusive gomen protection or hand outs from the tax payers?
    Shall we assume that they are crawling into a place where the sun does not shine???

• Poor man on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Ini kali lah, bilehlan

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 06, 2017 at 7:12 pm

4sen saja. Mari kami puji…

• Inikalitukarprintah on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Kasi tukar sajalah. I think it is not fair to compare msia’s oil price to the one sold in thai, philippines etc. Yes their fuel prices is higher but the cost of living is low. Exa. Thailand RM3.30++ petrol but food and other items are cheap, much cheaper compared to msia’s. We can get chicken RM4-6 per kg. Here in msia, chicken rm11/kg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Peter on Sep 06, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Lucky guys are you!
    I’m now in the Philippines and pay RM4 for a liter.
    Thailand is more than RM3 for sure. And I don’t want to mention SG.
    And you complain about an increase of 4 Sen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 47
  • ngesot on Sep 06, 2017 at 8:28 pm

naik tetap naik…ngesot naik…ngesot..ngesot …up and up

• Kuinosan on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Time to go for hybrids and electric cars fellow motorheads.

• Jacobs on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:30 pm

Will tnb increase price ?
      Any subsidy for telsa or we need wait for local produce an Full EV

• hybrids and electric? don’t kid yourself, there’s little correlation between being a motorhead and green vehicles. we have no electric sportscars here and even a tesla costs more than half a million! the day the lot of you drive overpriced BMWs and leafs on the road is the day you kiss goodbye to the world of fun motoring. Either you go big on guzzling fuel or go green and go home; driving a camry hybrid is far from what i would consider as ‘engaging’.

• petrol up, subsidize cut, GST in, crime up, debt up, everything up expect salary.

• bluemoon on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:12 am

I won’t beat around the bush. As illiterate as I am, I still failed to understand how our petrol price increase continuously while the global oil price just rising this week due to the typhoon, not the previous weeks. And I did found that our Ringgit did strengthen a bit this past month.
    Would anyone from ministry or better the minister himself show us how your calculation for past 3 weeks? Not just the formula, but the price calculation based on the formula itself.

• tqumno on Sep 07, 2017 at 7:39 am

Petrol Malaysia :
    29/06/2017 – 07/09/2017

Turun : 2sen (29.6.2017)
    Turun : 4sen (6.7.2017)
    Naik : 4sen (13.7.2017)
    Naik : 6sen (27.7.2017)
    Naik : 4sen (3.8.2017)
    Naik : 5sen (10.8.2017)
    Naik : 3sen (17.8.2017)
    Kekal : (24.8.2017)
    Naik : 1sen (31.8.2017)
    Naik 4sen (7.9.2017)

2x turun = 6sen
    7x naik = 27 sen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Geng Cukur on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:33 am

Cukur………dan amat cukur sebab rakyat suka di cukur

• Simple solution: Guna kereta Proton, jimat minyak

• Proton oh proton on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Hahahaha, i cant stop laffing at this statement for a whole full minute. Lul

• sabahan on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:10 pm

if not where do you think the money from? to pay up IPIC ?