Toyota Fortuner gains two new diesel variants; rear disc brakes standard across range, from RM170k

The Toyota Fortuner range has been expanded to include two new diesel-powered variants – 2.4 VRZ 4×4 and 2.4 VRZ 4×2. The new additions slot in between the new base 2.4 4×4 (previously known as the 2.4 VRZ) and the range-topping, petrol-powered 2.7 SRZ 4×4.

The new variants (and the existing 2.4 4×4) are powered by a 2GD-FTV 2.4 litre turbodiesel engine with 150 PS at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 2,000 rpm. The mill, like the 2TR-FE 2.7 litre petrol unit, is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission with a sequential shift mode and paddle shifters (not fitted on the base variant).

As their names suggest, the 2.4 VRZ 4×4 gets a four-wheel drive system with an automatic disconnecting differential (ADD) as well as a rear differential lock. The 2.4 VRZ 4×2 being the only two-wheel drive variant here, has none of those, with drive going exclusively to the rear wheels.

In terms of equipment, the new variants share much in common with the 2.7 SRZ 4×4, and come with 18-inch alloy wheels (wrapped with 265/60 tyres), Bi-LED projector headlamps with daytime running lights and LED rear combination taillights.

Moving inside, you’ll find an Optitron instrument panel with a 4.2-inch colour TFT-LCD multi-info display, automatic climate control (front and rear), leather upholstery, eight-way powered driver’s seat (manual adjustment for front passenger), cruise control and a leather-wrapped, four-spoke steering wheel (with wood and silver trim). A DVD-AVX infotainment system is fitted on the new variants, with an eight-inch touchscreen, various media inputs and a reverse camera to go along with it.

Safety kit includes seven airbags (dual front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), VSC, Hill-start Assist Control (HAC), ABS with EBD, brake assist, Downhill Assist Control (DAC) and Active Traction Control (A-TRC). The last two are reserved for the 2.7 SRZ 4×4 and 2.4 VRZ 4×4 only.

Similar to the Innova, the Fortuner range also gets a number of updates, the first of which sees the addition of rear disc brakes to all variants. The fog lamps are also the LED type on all variants except the 2.4 4×4, which continues to use bulb type units along with halogen projector headlights. All variants also get a new USB port at the front of the cabin.

New optional accessories also join the fray in the form a TRD Sportivo body kit (RM4,982), which includes an aerokit, black front grille, emblem, body stripes, specific floors mats and scuff plate. There’s also a panoramic view monitor (RM2,650) and blind spot monitor (RM1,855) as well, and all these prices are inclusive of GST.

On the mention of prices, the Fortuner range also sees some revision, with the 2.4 4×4 now retailing for RM169,800 on-the-road without insurance (previously RM170,400). The 2.7 SRZ 4×4 on the other hand, now goes for RM181,800 (previously RM178,600). Pricing for the 2.4 VRZ 4×4 and 2.4 VRZ 4×2 will be revealed soon.

For more information and specs of the Toyota Fortuner range, head on over to CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• No 2.8 model yet?

• Disappointed with only 2.4 diesel engine option. Should get 2.8 for such heavy vehicle. Even smaller CX-5 come with 175hp. Santa fe with 190hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • karam singh on Sep 15, 2017 at 3:35 pm

wrong comparison stupid boy. For Mazda CX5, Hyundai Santa Fe, Kia Sportage, Honda CRV etc, Toyota has the RAV4 to compete. Fortuner is designed with budget in mind – low cost of R&D, low cost of manufacturing and onwership – suitable for countries like Indonesia, Philiphines and India.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • Nordin on Sep 15, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Europe already banning diesel cause they say it is now proven to be poisonous to health

so why sell diesel car here?

Here also worse cause Euro 2 Diesel. Lagi poison. EU banned Euro 2 diesel in 1995, 22 yrs ago cause it was too toxic

So why sell diesel Fortuner here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 35
      • U are fake news on Sep 15, 2017 at 2:24 pm

Its not yr ptoblem since u got no money ok…work harder mister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 44
      • @Nordin, if you really against the diesel vehicles, you should just live in the cave. All your groceries in the supermarket are delivered using dirty diesel powered lorries. Your house is also built with the help of dirty diesel powered tractors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 53
  • Proton oh Proton on Sep 15, 2017 at 1:08 pm

We all know your sales dropping…. by add on those upgrade looking sales improvement right? Good Luck UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Maria on Sep 15, 2017 at 1:10 pm

Quite confusing…So 2.4 VRZ 4×2 and 4×4 equipment is as same as 2.7 SRZ 4×4 is it?? Now can add it as your wishlist … Could be better if it is available with 2.8 diesel

• jibby v2.60 on Sep 15, 2017 at 1:30 pm

umw, pls bring back hiace 2015 spec (with ESC)

• ryder0707 on Sep 15, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Yes!!! Powerful 7 seater 4WD SUV with full disc brakes!!! Toyota Kuantan here i come!!! I have a feeling Toyota Malaysia read my previous comments!!! Not like HM syok sndiri with the so called “full specs” 2WD SUV…what a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
  • Just add rear disk brakes, need to promo kawkaw. Toyota alredi run out of idea how to push old stocks out.

• James on Sep 15, 2017 at 2:22 pm

I don’t understand why Toyota take out all the safety features from 2.4.

• The 2.4 was barebone basic when first launched, with ABS and 3 airbags as its only safety features. We should count our blessings that UMW finally decide to put VSC, TC and 7 airbags across the range. Pity the early buyers though. This looks like the Camry fiasco all over again.

• Ksatria on Sep 15, 2017 at 2:23 pm

..still boxy

• aeroheads on Sep 15, 2017 at 2:30 pm

The 2.4 diesel is introduced to response to Isuzu Mu-X new facelift model. Now the torque is better, Fortuner will have be more fuel efficient.

• Only 2 reasonably priced off-road capable SUVs available for sale in Malaysia now, Fortuner and MUX.

• Sitting on a car leather seat is like killing a whole cow for your own enjoyment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • Oi we eat beef everyday u think kill what animal??? Must be living in cave…even batman eat beef burger!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
    • Some is just PVC leather…

• Why 2.4? We don’t even need the sluggish 2.7.

• markgoh on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:20 pm

missing 2.8T Diesel…??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Sparcov on Sep 15, 2017 at 5:30 pm

I was hoping the 4X2 will be price in the region of 150k

• Bang4Buck on Sep 16, 2017 at 11:32 am

FUH!!!! I love the TRD sticker……

• Ben Yap on Sep 18, 2017 at 9:11 am

RM170K is too expensive.

i might as well get a recond X3.

• ryder0707 on Sep 25, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Hey Paultan, UMW already released the final price

• Izham giffari on Sep 27, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Toyota fortuner malaysia Which is standar type 2.4 4×4 in named type G please it umw toyota motor because let me the same in Indonesia,malaysia, and Other country.