Mercedes-Benz E350e plug-in hybrid launched in M’sia – Exclusive, AMG Line and Edition 60, from RM393k

It’s been paraded at various events since April, but the Mercedes-Benz E 350 e plug-in hybrid has finally, officially been launched in Malaysia. The petrol-electric executive sedan arrives in locally-assembled (CKD) form and is available in Exclusive and AMG Line variants, as well as a limited Edition 60 model.

Let’s be honest, you’re here for the prices, so we’ll reveal those to you first. The Exclusive kicks off the range with a starting price of RM392,888, while the AMG Line costs just RM3,000 more, at RM395,888. The Edition 60, limited to – you guessed it – 60 units, goes for RM408,888. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Under the bonnet sits an M274 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder engine producing 208 hp and 350 Nm of torque, paired to an electric motor sandwiched between it and the nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission. The motor has been boosted by seven horsepower and a whole 100 Nm over the C 350 e‘s to 87 hp and 440 Nm, so total system output has gone up by six horses to 281 hp, although torque is down 50 Nm to 550 Nm.

Those figures enable the E 350 e to sprint from zero to 100 km/h in 6.2 seconds (identical to the E 300), while all-electric range is rated at 33 km; the car has a top speed of 130 km/h in EV mode. A 6.2 kWh lithium-ion battery sits at the rear, resulting in a stepped boot floor and reduced cargo space, from 540 litres to 400. Charging time is around three hours with a standard domestic socket, or an hour and a half using a wallbox.

There are three power modes available, independent of the Dynamic Select drive modes – Hybrid, fully-electric E-Mode E-Save and Charge. As standard, the E 350 e comes with Air Body Control suspension to keep the extra weight of the battery in check, and local models also get a larger 60 litre fuel tank, although that’s still smaller than the 66 litre unit found on the petrol models.

Appearance-wise, you’ll be hard-pressed to discern the E 350 e from other E-Class models, apart from the blue front brake callipers, the Plug-in Hybrid badges on the front fenders and the charging port at the rear of the car, under the right tail light. Inside, there are unique displays to show the car’s battery level and energy usage, plus a button to select the powertrain mode.

Kit count is identical on all models and includes Multibeam LED headlights with Adaptive Highbeam Plus, Keyless-Go entry and start, Thermotronic three-zone climate control, Nappa leather upholstery, power-adjustable front seats with memory and four-way lumbar support, Active Parking Assist, a 360-degree camera, a panoramic sunroof, 64-colour ambient lighting and a powered bootlid with handsfree opening.

Also fitted are double front sun visors, sunblinds for the rear side windows (manual) and windscreen (powered), the top COMAND Online infotainment system, a Widescreen Cockpit with twin 12.3-inch displays, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, Qi wireless charging and a 13-speaker Burmester sound system. Unlike the E 300 AMG Line sold here in fully-imported (CBU) form, there’s no head-up display.

The only differences between the three variants are aesthetic, with the Exclusive model coming with 19-inch ten-spoke alloy wheels and open-pore light brown ash wood trim. The AMG Line adds more aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side skirts, 19-inch five-split-spoke alloys, a flat-bottomed steering wheel and metal-weave interior trim with a piano black centre console.

Meanwhile, the Edition 60 is similar to the Exclusive but adds 19-inch six-spoke alloys, macchiato beige and saddle brown designo Nappa leather upholstery, a Nappa leather-wrapped dashboard (Artico faux leather on other models) and designo lined piano black interior trim. There’s also Edition 60 badging on the front fenders and centre console, plus a gloss white key and an exclusive appreciation plaque from Royal Selangor.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has also announced Agility Financing prices for the E 350 e, which stand at RM3,928 per month for the Exclusive variant, RM3,958 per month for the AMG Line and RM4,088 per month for the Edition 60 on a three-year tenure. Browse full specifications and equipment on all Mercedes-Benz E-Class variants, and get the best deals on a new car, on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz E 350 e AMG Line

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz E 350 e Edition 60

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Najib on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Still no DAP+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • 4bini on Oct 05, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Now all E200 and E250 buyers will cry like baby. Their RV also jatuh a lot cause nobody will buy E200 and E250 anymore.

The same happened to BMW. When they launched the 740Le, they had to discontinue 730Li and 740Li cause it had ZERO sales s everybody just bought the 740Le

Buyer also beware. Those 530i buyers will cry when BMW Malaysia launches the 530e

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
      • Audi A6 hybrid bestest value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
        • James on Oct 06, 2017 at 12:43 pm

I’d buy a Pre-reg 530i @ 290K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Tahar on Oct 06, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Pre registered is like a second hand car as someone had touch it gently before you.

Moreover ,you can only buy what are available only. Your choice of colour , engines and other features are already fixed unlike getting a brand new car whereby you can choose easily your preferences.

Obviously pre registered had to be cheaper then.

• Audi Fans on Oct 06, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Audi sales only managed to sell close to 700 units in Malaysia to date.

The sales of Audi had dive down in 2017 compare to 2016.

Reason due to poor RV and problems in owning an Audi (a glorified VW only).

Think better get VW instead of an Audi next time. Actually it is almost same class and standard as a VW except VW is cheaper to buy .

• Audi A6 is a Crap !!

Go for other Conti

• themechanic on Oct 05, 2017 at 8:18 pm

Wow only RM3,928 per month for the Exclusive variant. Average Msian income RM8,173 can afford.

• Now u know why Mesidis & Beemer is doing record braking sales in MY only.

• Kangkungman on Oct 06, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Fuyoooh 200K huge savings! From S400 hybrid prices RM598,888…

• I don’t know how you get the income figure but I think you are a genius.

• Redidiot on Oct 06, 2017 at 12:35 pm

This proved that Malaysia on track to become high income nation by 2020.

• 4bini on Oct 05, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Last time E300 Bluetec Hybrid was sold for RM333k. And we all know, making a Diesel engine is far costlier than a petrol engine. Infact the E300 Bluetec Hybrid cost much more than this E350e

So, Malaysians are paying RM70k more now. I thought car prices are supposed to go down?

What happened to the 30% price reduction promise Gomen gave to us 4 years ago? Prices seem to be going higher and higher and higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
      • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
        Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
  • Pixma on Oct 05, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 125
    • Najib on Oct 05, 2017 at 5:15 pm

The e class does not even have 90% of the features of the S90. Bowers and Wilkins, pilot assist, head up display…. I can go on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
      • Ikan bilis on Oct 05, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Please compare volvo with same category car like Saab , Peugeot and Infiniti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 54
      • Volvo is good car on Oct 05, 2017 at 8:28 pm

Volvo unit year to date sold only 560 units. This brand is just not going to move here. Additional 20-30% discount may help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • But for RM45k less, the Volvo S90 T8 seems like a steal with an additional 126hp, AWD, a completely fresh design and almost as many toys as the Merc, really makes the Volvo a very serious contender in this mid size luxury segment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Peter on Oct 05, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Not as many as. It has more toys. Way more toys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
      • victor on Oct 05, 2017 at 7:42 pm

This Merc is only good to be use as either for Limousine services or outstation Taxi only .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • I will get the bmw if i can afford. Defintely not volvo since it is a class lower. Audi looks good too but new model will be out next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • As an outsider , Audi is a poor man car now .

If you are poor and lower in ranking do get an AUDI ( no problem and good luck ).

Mercedes and volvo is still remain the popular and favourite choices and comments of most readers in this article now.

• Sammy on Aug 02, 2018 at 12:41 am

Everyone praising Volvo but this praising people will buy bmw or merc if got money, me included

• Thks Mercedes, with this price (RM400k with tax exempted) , driving assistance package still not include! Not even distronic and blind spot assist!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
    • Doesn't matter on Oct 05, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Doesn’t matter.

Badge sheep will do what badge sheep do best and still line up and buy it.

Really disappointed as well, their pricing is not competitive at all and the spec is underwhelming. And only a tiny 6.2 kWh battery! That’s pathetic!

• Zackyrulex on Oct 05, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Made with passion and attention to detail, the prestige of Mercedes-Benz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • John Doe on Oct 05, 2017 at 6:37 pm

What rubbish, 390 k for some watered down of an E class. No heads up display, no adaptive cruise control, no semi autonomous driving features this is plain rubbish. The Volvo s90 T8 is a far better preposition compared to this overpriced nonsense and has all of the above and more and an additional 120hp. Even the cbu 530i had adpactive cruise control with stop and go for 399k. The previous gen e class was just 330 K and then Mercedes launched the new one with almost 70 K difference but with lesser specs compared to the previous gen e class. The previous gem e class hybrid had rear seat entertainment even and was specced similarly to the e400. Looks like some bunch of monkeys are doing the pricing on Mercedes Benz Malaysia’s vehicles. Only alternative now is to wait for the new 530e and hope they get the pricing and specs right orrr get an S90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Taxpayer on Oct 06, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Company car purchase can reduce Tax amount payable. So boss change merc no problem.

• Audi Fans on Oct 10, 2017 at 4:03 am

Most taxi and Limousines operators or owners also can change easily .

Really Big Boss should go for higher class or something not that common and forgo Mercedes for real Boss status.

• I dont mind the lack of autonomous drive but the lack of adaptive cruise control is super baffling.

• MBM LIAR on Oct 05, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Fully tax exempted, at RM400k? So MBM, are you trying to tell us that this underspecced E350e costs more than RM700k before tax exemptions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Cost to replace the batteries on the Volvo XC90 Gen 2 is ~ RM130,000 and it’s the slightly more for the E300 Bluetec Hybrid and the S-Class Hybrid. Car is worthless after the warranty runs out. Would be great if Paultan can do an article on battery replacements cost for hybrid cars.

• 12yrsold on Oct 06, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Yah, we need PT to do an article to compare the price of replacing the battery especially when U claim the cost is RM130k just to replace the battery. I get it bro.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 05, 2017 at 7:36 pm

volvo so much better…heck even the 530i looks like a steal at this price…greedy benz

• Silverado on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:09 pm

It’s written that the Edition 60 comes with 6-spoke alloy wheels. Yet they’re 10-spoke in the pictures. What’s up?

• Lost track on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:29 am

Actually…how many models do MBM have in Malaysia already? Can someone do a full list of all models and variants? I see so many launches until I cannot differentiate it already, hmm. Good for them though :)

• Toy Yoda on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:56 am

After the runaway success in selling the baby benzes (C class and below) MB mistakenly thinks the E class will follow suit at these silly high prices. The buyers of the baby benzes are mostly private individuals who’ll probably look elsewhere when they want to upgrade to a higher segment. So you’re left with corporate buyers who are also cutting costs and now have a lot more brands to choose from. Sorry MB but you are losing the plot.

• simon on Oct 06, 2017 at 5:16 pm

I like these three luxury brands in Malaysia

Mercedes, Volvo and BMW except Audi.

• Simon cok on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:44 am

Volvo, u must be joking. Please comparemit with mazda.

• whaler on Oct 07, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Flamboyant

Mercedes and BMW is comparable with Toyota and Honda .

Typical Toyota no matter how taunted it is, I would say is way much better than the crappy Merc badge!!

Right , Audi design is ugly with poor RV and it should weight below Volvo .