GALLERY: New Kia Picanto set for Q1 2018 launch

Previewed in August, the new Kia Picanto has been shown again today – this time, distributor Naza Kia revealed that the third-generation A-segment hatchback is now open for booking, with a launch date set for the first quarter of 2018. Although pricing information is scarce, a sales advisor present at the event has given a ballpark of under RM60,000 for the new JA model, which would undercut the outgoing TA slightly.

The car seen here is practically identical to the one that was shown earlier, a GT Line model with more aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side skirts and a rear diffuser with twin exhaust exits. There are also 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels, an inch larger than what the previous TA model was offered with.

Although the doors were locked here and the windows covered, we’ve seen the interior before – there’s a new horizontal dashboard layout, a three-spoke steering wheel, a Rio-style “floating” head unit and concave air-con controls that are said to be more ergonomic.

Features confirmed for our market include halogen headlights with U-shaped LED daytime running lights (in a single light guide, rather than the current car’s individual diodes), LED tail lights, keyless entry, push-button start, six airbags, stability control and a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system.

The display unit also comes with part-leather upholstery, cruise control, a reverse camera, automatic climate control, a sunroof, a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS) and even autonomous emergency braking (AEB). However, don’t expect all of these to be featured on local units – this is, after all, a car that will be playing in a price-sensitive market.

Power should come from the same 1.25 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC four-cylinder engine as before, making 83 hp at 6,000 rpm and 122 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, matched to a four-speed automatic transmission. Naza Kia previously sold the TA with a five-speed manual option, but a low take-up rate means that it’s unlikely to be offered again.

So what do you think of the new Kia Picanto? Would you buy one instead of the Proton Iriz and especially the new Perodua Myvi at around the same price? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hshabsjns on Nov 09, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Iriz 1.0L TGDI three cyclinder + hybrid motor with Volvo same alike sensing. Nantikan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • TongHoi on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Closed shop lah..how to compete with new myvi…malaysian all time favorite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 37
  • Picanto on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:33 pm

Its hard to compete with new Myvi model unless Naza price it below RM50,000 which is seems less likely to happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Stefan on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:44 pm

Too late, the new myvi is more value for money buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
  • I miss Ohwai on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:53 pm

Old Picanto brought a lot of shame to Toyota and Honda. For such a small kuci car, it had VSC and 6 or 7 airbags.

This is why UMW and DRB was forced to give VSC in all their cars and up their airbags.

Thank you Picanto for setting the standard in Malaysia and making the big boys such as Honda and Toyota ashamed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Err. Iriz with 6 airbags & VSC was here way b4 Picanto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
      • tiadaid (Member) on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:01 am

Picanto was here in 2013. Proton Iriz was launched in 2014.

• But the Picanto then din have all the safety features until AFTER debut of Iriz.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 09, 2017 at 9:49 pm

Meanwhile Hyundai is still selling old and outdated i10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • If they removed the sunroof, infotainment system, leathers, cruise control & reverse camera, they probably can fit in the AEB with the remainder features and price it Rm65k. That can sell well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • funny how the new myvi had basically disrupted the whole sub 90k market and considered a benchmark right now

• Nah. Its just overhype from P2 SA here. Deswai regular readers dun care too much about it.

• sick&tired on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:10 am

I would take the Picanto over the MyVi simply because Kia is a world renowned car manufacturer whereas Perodua is only famous in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • Nocturnal Animals on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:26 am

Kia better than Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • Piapiapia on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:11 am

Wowww gud eh hav sunroof. Hop they dun remov it for our market larrrr. Safety wise lorrr.

• Everyone compare this with Axia.. say they look alike..

PLEASE FFS, look at the interior… Axia can go back menuai padi

• st3wp1d on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:49 pm

same car segment lah.. theres no point of having all bells when got only ciput engine.. power to weight ratio more or less same like axia, looks like axia, speed ‘like’ axia, carry luggage like axia too.

• wooot…7 inch infotainment?
    that’s better than the recent launched kia rio….wow

• 12yrsold on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:22 am

The Kia is a cute small car that fits the bill with a family who already own a family sedan/MPV/SUV.

Lets not kid our-self that this Picanto is a family car bcos its too small for a starter. Its gud for single/newbie.

At close to RM60k, U can buy a much bigger vehicle for a growing family with safety in mind too.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Nov 10, 2017 at 10:11 am

KIA usually gives good spec + quality. The only issue is the price of servicing is on a high side for a small car segment.

• KiaOwner on Nov 12, 2017 at 8:26 am

I believe u did not own a Kia car before (I’m talking about Kia cars under NazaKia). I’ve been servicing my Kia Forte 2.0 at NazaKia SC for 7.5 years. All i can say is, the servicing price is on par if not lower than the other brands car at SC (for the same segment). Even my wife’s Preve CFE & my sis Honda HRV are costlier to service at their respective SC than my Forte

• Dont listen to blogs on Nov 10, 2017 at 10:51 am

VW has silently updated and improved all their cars in the past few months to more suit the Asean climate. Don’t forget the Polo. It’s the best value for money in the price range. Pure European breed car. Koreans are ‘trying’ to be Conti. VW is the real deal.

Dont talk about Myvi la.. 4 speed Auto? Nuff Said.

• Vios Owner on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:11 pm

impressive perodua myvi ! vios 2012-2014 secondhand value all the way down to dustbin T_T? since the car like a tin kosong sigh…

• Bernard on Nov 10, 2017 at 1:44 pm

Can buy old stock at cheaper price, discounted?

• I want to buy this kia. Just now I called kia hotline for booking fee. I will take this. I will not buy new myvi. The chasis and body yucks if drive myvi in highway. Very ringan. Cantik tak guna. Saya nak. Strong firm steady drive. I goi bff for picanto. Love picanto. Spec and features

• Look at the rear. Below bumper. Got the silver metal. That is for stability and wind cut. Super stable. Normally racing car tunedbsti. Subaruhas this. I love picanto. Thanks. Peter shreyer

• Kia riorio and kia picanto. Has arm rest adjuster forward/backward and. Mudflaps. Standard factory. Marvelous. Thanks korean.

• Look at the wiper. It is super long. Wow. Driver wiper is long to wipe more space

• Robinhood on Nov 10, 2017 at 4:49 pm

This car can bungkus already. At RM60k with only 1.2 NA engine, unimpressive specs with a weak brand, only a Kia enthusiast will buy it. Conclusion is DOA or DEAD ON ARRIVAL!

Naza should just focus their effort on alternatives.

• No. To new myvi. No no
    Try sit in current myvi and shake or move your body, u will see the entire. car shakes. goyang goyang

Kia famous for high steel. 51 % body. More stronger then proton

Picanto. New. In many. Ang mo. Countries. See u tube

• Nowadays Kia and Hyundai cars are having chassis matching those conti cars. I own a Kia Carnival and it is stable at 150km/h on highway. NVH is good as well. My mum, wife and baby can sleep soundly on the second row seats :) But it is a boring car to drive. If Kia can improve the steering feel then it will make it a great car.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 11, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Can’t wait

• asad ali on Jan 09, 2018 at 4:00 pm

I believe u did not own a Kia car before (I’m talking about Kia cars under NazaKia). I’ve been servicing my Kia Forte 2.0 at NazaKia SC for 7.5 years. All I can say is, the servicing price is on par if not lower than the other brand’s car at SC (for the same segment). Even my wife’s Preve CFE & my sis Honda HRV are costlier to service at their respective SC than my Forte. I read the more detailed article on comparebox.pk.