Nissan Clipper lands in Malaysia – 660cc JDM kei truck, 5-speed manual, priced from RM30k to RM50k

Now this is something you don’t see very often! Fresh off the boat from the Land of the Rising Sun is the Nissan Clipper – a three-cylinder commercial kei truck, a rebadged version of the Mitsubishi Minicab. Kei of course, is JDM-speak for anything micro. With an overall length of 3,395 mm, it’s a full 560 mm shorter than the Honda Jazz and over 200 mm narrower than the B-segment hatch!

At its heart rests a 3G83 660 cc three-pot, producing 48 hp at 5,250 rpm and 62 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Drive is exclusively channeled to the rear wheels through a five-speed manual transmission. It’s a strict two-seater and has a maximum allowable payload of 2,000 kg.

This particular commercial kei truck rides on 12-inch wheels (try getting a replacement tyre for that!) and is void of all creature comforts a modern car buyer expects. It gets manual air-con control, Japan-spec radio head unit, a simplistic instrument cluster with a central speedometer and a fuel and temperature gauge on each side, as well as manually-adjustable wing mirrors.

Six variants of the Clipper will be offered, from the entry-level steel body, wooden cargo, luton box (extended over-cab box), mobile food truck and pasar malam luton. Prices start from RM30,000 to RM50,000, and it can only be purchased as a company-registered vehicle. All reconditioned units of the Clipper come with a three-month or 5,000 km warranty coverage.

For an up close and personal look at the Clipper, you may visit Combine Motor, located in One Selayang, Batu Caves.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• SpongeWai on Nov 14, 2017 at 4:03 pm

Well well, what do have here. A Nissan kei truck in MY.

Come Honda, bring kei cars here as well for sale especially S660 kei sport car. I see alot unit OTR as recond

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Idunolol on Nov 15, 2017 at 12:41 pm

This Nissan sold by grey car dealer, wonder how they got the AP paper and import tax waiver breakthrough to price at RM30k.

• thepolygonal on Nov 14, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Very nice… now please bring in the Nissan Note e-power with that price please. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Sputjam on Nov 14, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Why didn’t suzuku come up with a jimny truck to take advantage of lower taxes.

• K-Truck…
    But why is the engine room looks so old a dirty.
    It looks like a re-furbished or repainted from second hand shop….|||

• Did you read the post? Yes it refurbished unit from mitsu minicab

• 12yrsold on Nov 14, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Good & cheap to convert to Food-Truck. Many can afford to do the business. Now everyone can “Food-Truck” instead of Everyone can Fly. Sorry Air Asia, I copy your tag line. Cheers…

• Jeffrey Chew on Nov 14, 2017 at 5:13 pm

It looks like a used truck ler! The engine compartment is not clean and new

• Lorat on Nov 14, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Perodua Kancil standard tyre is 12 inch.

• why Tan Chong@nissan did not bring a new model to malaysia?

• azhar on Nov 14, 2017 at 5:58 pm

good for pasar malam traders..good job nissan!

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 14, 2017 at 6:00 pm

How embarrassing. If I had to drive this, I’d wear a helmet to hide my face.

• sub_zero on Nov 14, 2017 at 6:14 pm

suprisingly how nissan bringing this in, and cheap to boot

can seeing more food truck in the future

• guest74 on Nov 14, 2017 at 6:26 pm

This is actually a rebadged mitsubishi townbox. Proton Juara dashboard is 100% similar to this. All the door panel, meter panel can use proton juara. Hahaha even the door is interchangeable with juara. Some of the local juara club member already convert to this mitsubishi townbox front nose cut (changed headlamp and bumper)

• horrayooi on Nov 14, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Time to replace your 4-speed auto Almera. Model with Jatco torque converter CVT with 7-speed sequential or paddle shifters transmission.

• bringbackmanual on Nov 14, 2017 at 7:12 pm

good manual.. too bad only company registration

• Audi Faliq Ibrahim on Nov 14, 2017 at 8:48 pm

This thing has a trace of Proton Juara DNA, if you remember the famous Proton ‘van roti’.

The sixth generation Nissan Clipper @ Mitsubishi Minicab/Townbox @ Proton Juara.

• potato on Nov 14, 2017 at 8:52 pm

shorter than a jazz? so what actual use for it? for pasar malam might be barely enough.

anyone else think the Wira Pickup was actually a neat idea?

• Silverado on Nov 14, 2017 at 8:57 pm

Why is the cigarette lighter and sound system head unit so grubby? They are worse than what you find in a used car.

And that sound system lol – head unit and speaker are one!

• Ben Yap on Nov 14, 2017 at 10:47 pm

I’m imagining myself sending toufu on twisty roads with a kei truck.

• Waters on Nov 15, 2017 at 1:06 am

I’m not sure why, but I want one.

• Susukotak on Nov 15, 2017 at 5:24 am

Penuh tepi pasar borong nanti

• VQ20DE on Nov 15, 2017 at 6:31 am

Rear wheel drive huh, cheapest new car for drifting haha XD. Taken over the avanza already

• sweet
    now can buy a affordable car to drift ^^

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 15, 2017 at 11:50 am

i see one white pick-up in the background, that looks interesting as well. NV300?

• the battery is too easy to be stolen in malaysia

• Hafis on Sep 14, 2022 at 5:50 pm

hi, how can i get Nissan Clipper Top Set Gasket for Cyl. Head. Ive got problem with my Lorry which is Overheat. Can you help me to find Top Set of Gasket. Model 3G83 660cc