FIRST LOOK: Exclusive 2018 BMW X3 walk-around tour with G01 exterior designer Calvin Luk

Variety is the spice of life. BMW choosing to retain the upright, off-road look for the new G01 BMW X3 means that it’s the only rugged looking player in the segment.

The second-generation Audi Q5 – also an evolution of a well-received original – has a more urbane, crossover style; ditto the Mercedes-Benz GLC, a newcomer that’s now a fixture in the posh Bangsar-Damansara Heights enclave.

Away from the Germans, the Lexus NX‘s super sharp origami design is an acquired taste, while the second-gen XC60 is distinctively Volvo. Anglophiles will be paying over the odds for the Jaguar F-Pace. Whatever your preference, there’s a premium midsize SUV for you, but bear in mind that the Q5 and XC60 currently sold in Malaysia are previous-generation models on their last legs – both were launched here in 2009.

FIRST LOOK: Exclusive 2018 BMW X3 walk-around tour with G01 exterior designer Calvin Luk

The same design concept does not mean that it looks the same, though. The third-generation X3 is the boldest and most dynamic looking one to date, and that’s apparent once new and old are viewed side-by-side. “Powerful and sophisticated, like a football player in a suit,” is how G01 X3 exterior designer Calvin Luk sums up the new SUV in a sentence.

In our exclusive walk-around video with the man who penned the car, the young Australian talks us through the X3’s bold new face (larger and higher kidney grille, deletion of the X-car signature ‘third eye’ fog lamp), squarish wheel arches, pronounced shoulder crease, sculpturing on the flanks and strong shoulders.

Along with the more imposing looks is a slightly larger footprint. The latest X3 is 60 mm longer and 10 mm wider than before, with 54 mm of the newfound length going into the wheelbase.

Rear-end highlights include 3D sculpted tail lamps, a downward-sloping spoiler and horizontal lines to emphasise width. The M40i’s square tail pipes mimic the shape of the wheel arches. Luk also introduces us to what I feel is one of the most improved aspects of the G01 – the interior.

Personally, I’m a big fan of what the 30-year old has done for BMW so far. He transformed one of Munich’s ugliest ducklings into something palatable (F20 1 Series facelift) and is also credited with the current F48 X1 (a big shift in design and concept for the baby X) and the Concept Z4 that we saw in July, one of BMW’s most stunning showcars in recent times. What do you think of the new X3’s looks?

The G01 you see here is the new M40i range topper, an M Performance answer to the likes of Audi’s SQ5 and the Mercedes-AMG GLC 43. It’s powered by a 3.0 litre inline-six engine with 360 hp and 500 Nm of torque from 1,250 to 4,800 rpm. Paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission and xDrive, it does 0-100 km/h in just 4.8 seconds with the help of launch control.

Away from the M40i, BMW offers the X3 in usual 20i, 30i, 20d and 30d forms. The petrols are the latest 2.0 litre turbocharged units with 184 hp/290 Nm (20 Nm more, 0-100 km/h 8.3s) and 252 hp/350 Nm (7 hp more than old 28i, 0-100 km/h 6.3s). The ZF eight-speeder and xDrive are standard across the range, but the base petrol version that will surface in Q2 2018 can also be had without AWD (sDrive20i).

The G01 X3 isn’t just a better drive, it’s an all-round better SUV too, as you’ll read about in our full review. Coming to Malaysia next year.

GALLERY: G01 BMW X3 M40i in Portugal

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Good job Danny getting the designer Mr. Luk to speak directly about overall design. Personally I like the new X3 design. But the X2 design, well I scroll away from those images….

• najib on Dec 07, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Powerful
    Powerful
    Powerful
    Powerful
    P O W E R F U L

• Fatiya on Dec 07, 2017 at 11:45 pm

P1 fanboys last time preached da same.
      then all moved to honda & kia… Rolf

• najib on Dec 07, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Powerful
    Powerful
    Powerful

• Good job Calvin Luk! BMW good Luck.

• Ganesh on Dec 07, 2017 at 4:24 pm

Proton should invest in getting some good designers like Calvin Luk who can transform Proton’s designs.

Hopefully, with Geely giving Proton some brains now, Proton will learn to employ clever outsiders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Whats this bollocks about P1? Apa kena mengena? If u prefer p1 to have BMW design, then can u stump up BMW prices for it? Stop talkin bull!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • sack the designer on Dec 07, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Sack the designer coz no 7 seats and ugly, only makan tidur

• passion on Dec 07, 2017 at 4:57 pm

BMW Malaysia please take note that the X1, X3 & X5 LED headlamps are blinding car drivers. It is set too high. emails sent to them but no reply. JPJ please take note as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • So many cars on the road also blinding, even older cars. They all no idea how to install right side headlight bulbs at accessory shops?

• Alfasud on Dec 07, 2017 at 5:19 pm

new gen Mazda CX-5 at just 110K is more sensible buy. albeit pre-own units..

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 08, 2017 at 7:52 am

Think Calvin is doing an ok job, but is probably having hands tied behind his back in a way. I’m sure he can do better, but, the BMW board had decided that BMW’s current design language should be as safe as possible. Only the BMW i models have a more adventurous design. BMW is like total opposite of the Lexus whose cars try to look as outrageous as possible. Some are ok like the LC. But the NX and RX is pushing it a bit. I like Volvo’s design language best. Very handsome cars that are not in your face, yet have that minimalist and sleek Scandinavian style.