2018 Toyota Sienta updated with new features – RM97k

UMW Toyota has announced the introduction of the 2018 Toyota Sienta, which has been updated with additional accessories and features, with no increase in price. Previously available in two trim levels, the Sienta is now available only in higher-spec 1.5V form, the 1.5G being dropped from the line-up with this update.

On top of specifications seen on the Sienta at its point of introduction in August 2016, the seven-seat MPV now comes with an upgraded 6.9-inch DVD-AVX touchscreen infotainment system, which is equipped with Bluetooth connectivity, HDMI, an SD card input and a reverse camera. The previously offered optional 7.0-inch touchscreen DVD-AVN system, which adds on GPS-based navigation to the equation, continues to be available.

The Sienta is now equipped with a USB charging port in the second row for added convenience as well as a removable trunk mat for the rear cargo area. Also new to the Sienta is an optional Panoramic View Monitor parking assist camera system, with external views presented via the infotainment system screen – opting for it adds on RM2,332 to the Sienta’s price tag.

Otherwise, no mechanical changes, the Sienta continuing on with a 1.5 litre 2NR-FE four-cylinder engine offering 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm, the mill paired with a CVT with seven virtual ratios.

Equipment-wise, the Sienta 1.5V features bi-LED headlights with LED positioning lights, 16-inch machined-finish alloy wheels, an acoustic windscreen, keyless entry, push-button start and an Optitron instrument cluster. Other items on the kit list include automatic air-conditioning, a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel and twin electric sliding doors.

The Toyota Sienta 1.5V is priced at RM97,000 on-the-road without insurance, and comes with a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. Check out CarBase.my for details specifications of the Toyota Sienta.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Still 3 airbags only for a 100K car. Myvi and Iriz at least have 6 airbags option.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 4
    • No to airbags!!!@ on Mar 14, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Dei…more airbags more missile la dei…better dont have in H and T..very bad luck la ooi..

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 14, 2018 at 8:34 pm

So malu. A Rm100k car can only give 3 airbags. This is the problem with UMW. It is Government owned. So, Government cannot be neutral and instruct car companies like UMW to give better safety spec on their cars.

Just like VSC. Only in 2017, our Toyotas were given VSC whilst the same models sold globally had VSC 15 years ago

• Theanswer on Mar 14, 2018 at 9:22 pm

I agree. But if u want to compare pls compare it with the same size or segment. Even alza still no esc..no abs as standard.

• shawal on Mar 14, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Correct. Rather pay more a bit and get Toyota Innova with 7 airbags standard.

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 15, 2018 at 7:21 am

So malu. A Rm100k car can only give 3 airbags. Now cheap Picanto also got 7 airbags at RM48k

• No big deal if you are a lady buyer, but if you are a man who knowingly bought this piece of zero-manliness, please chop off whatever you have down there. Because you should have known better and bought something a little more dignified. Even an Exora is a better buy.

• Endothermic Reaction (Endo) on Mar 14, 2018 at 7:40 pm

(Like) Perodua Myvi 2018 – good safety for the drivers
    (Dislike) Toyota Sienta 2018 – no safe for drivers to

• Seriously ? All this garbage of DVD Bluetooth infortaiment screen malarkey but nothing on airbags and increased safety in a family car.

These extra ” features ” are great distractions which will inevitably cause a crash.

Hope those 2 airbags do a great job

Please compare this to the Japan model and consumers in Malaysia will see how shortchanged we are

• i rented the sienta when i went to Japan, equipped with engine auto start stop, Pre-collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA), and Automatic High Beam (AHB).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Ismet ulam raja on Mar 15, 2018 at 7:06 am

Thanks for the info , when i in Japan , i traveling used shinkasen , so far much easier

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 15, 2018 at 7:22 am

I am even surprised we even got VSC. Just like Hilux, we have to pay more to get VSC

• this one is from indonesia. what do you expect? we all know how advance is toyota and high tech. toyota is still one of the best car makers in the world.

• Here in Indonesia, Toyota Sienta has a VSC, HSA and 3 airbags. Even the cheaper Toyota Rush has a 6 airbags.

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Oct 04, 2018 at 9:37 am

I though all cars from indonesia like to ‘sunat-sunat’ ? Exmple avanza.. price 80k but dont even have push start button.. extra airbag or vsc of course not la… bcoz the cost right?

• Queen of MusangKing on Mar 14, 2018 at 8:26 pm

old stock and still cost 100k? hmmmm….

• Bernard on Mar 14, 2018 at 9:05 pm

But it’s still crying….

• still no second row armrest. lol thats the thing holding me back from this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Not a Toyota fan on Mar 15, 2018 at 12:22 pm

what a stupid reason. no arm rest or you dont have the 10% downpayment money? blardy ell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Agree, the absence of arm rest in the second row is very deal breaker.

The second row in honda freed is much more comfortable with its captain seat

• If put in 1.8l engine it will be alot nicer. This car is so underpowered

• vincent on Mar 14, 2018 at 11:18 pm

NO thanks, later buy new car also kena laughed by friends for getting a overpriced 1.5L car for 100k.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 14, 2018 at 11:20 pm

Not enough airbags and the seats are still fabric and in orange!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • turborider on Mar 15, 2018 at 12:40 am

This is not a very big mpv, thus front air con should be able to cool the entire cabin pretty quickly. I rather exchange the rear air-con with side curtain air bags. The most important update you should DO for this car is “Side armrest for middle row”.
    Understand this is CBU unit, please tweak the right spec for us if you want to sell more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • ryder0707 on Mar 15, 2018 at 7:51 am

Yeah right, try to become a passenger and seat at the 3rd row when car just been parked under a hot sunny sun, u will wish you are the driver!

• karam singh on Mar 15, 2018 at 12:11 pm

you want big? toyota has wish. too expensive? toyota innova. still not big? toyota has estima. if you have more money to spend, toyota has the alphard and vellfire. toyota is not as stupid as you, it makes MPVs size by size, toyota wont make sienta as big as estima. that is just stupid.

• Underpower crampy MPV

• highly tea on Mar 15, 2018 at 6:36 am

(Like) Perodua Myvi
    (Dislike) Toyota Sienta

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on May 02, 2018 at 8:26 am

Wow.. last month i’m discuss about this topic(sienta and new myvi 1.5) with my wife pretty serious.. the only reason she dont want sienta bcoz of the design.. well for me, design is subjective.. we already have sedan.. mybe bcoz the monthy commitment nearly 1k.. i gave her choice to take perodua alza.. but at the end she still choosing new myvi 1.5.. ouch.. ( top up another rm50 monthy and u will get alza which is more value buy.. hmm….

• totota on Mar 15, 2018 at 10:55 am

please dont make me laugh UMW…good job you have done..Honda will continue leading

• No leather seats?

• sohhai on Mar 15, 2018 at 11:22 am

Just wait for the Proton Bayu, it will be a better buy at roughly the same price.

• Don’t bother with the update, people still don’t want to buy this fugly small MPV. UMW Toyota please bring in Voxy to Malaysia!