SPYSHOTS: G01 BMW X3 spotted on a trailer in M’sia

Not too long to go before the launch of the all-new G01 BMW X3, as several undisguised units have been seen making their way to showrooms in Malaysia. These photos were sent to us by paultan.org reader Chris Yee, who spotted a trailer loaded with the SUVs on the ELITE highway.

As far as we can see, all the examples being transported are wearing the same 19-inch double-spoke LMR Style 696 wheels and the Luxury Design kit – skid plates and side mouldings in silver, coupled with chrome side window trim.

Based on a previous sighting, the X3 looks to receive standard full-LED headlamps instead of adaptive units, but does without the BMW Driving Assistant Plus suite of safety and driver assist systems – we didn’t see the relevant sensors/cameras beside the rear view mirror.

It’s difficult to clearly see the emblem just beyond the Air Breather, but the X3 should be the sDrive20i variant (although the badge looks to have an ‘x’ and ’30’ in it). If that’s the case, the powertrain is made up of a 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder (184 hp/290 Nm) paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission.

When it is launched, the X3 will compete against the Mercedes-Benz GLC as well as the Volvo XC60, with both being priced from below the RM300k mark. Which one will you prefer?

Customers who wish to register their interest can now do so at BMW Malaysia’s official website.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ryder707 on Apr 18, 2018 at 12:03 pm

the Toyota Harrier 2.0Turbo just has that abit more driving panache..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Nenek kau on Apr 18, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Weak 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder (184 hp/290 Nm) and no driving assist….this spoil everything

• Indeed. japanese competitor goin strong w 240HP

• 12yrsold john on Apr 18, 2018 at 2:32 pm

Hehehe, Nenek pun suka POWER. No wonder Nenek tak beli BMW X3. Nenek beli GLC atau XC60.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 18, 2018 at 11:18 pm

Well if you have the cash to get the sDrive30i which has 248 hp but BMW Malaysia thinks you may not be able to afford one so they brought in the sDrive20i to ease your pocket….

• Ollie on Apr 18, 2018 at 5:08 pm

I’m sure that there are some people who get excited seeing a car on a truck. I’m just not sure how many.

• thepolygonal on Apr 18, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Good BMW car, Bad distributor partner here.

• Pak cik on Apr 18, 2018 at 5:45 pm

CBU price no need waste time …

• Already the current X1 hasn’t got the ooomph due to lower spec 2.0 litre. In a larger body of X3 definately will be more sluggish. No wonder BMW has lost its No.1 mantle in Malaysia to Mercedes. BMW Malaysia has been too complacent these past few years, feeding us Malaysians with cars of lower specs & quality. Even the Japs & Koreans are bringing more powerful spec engined cars into our market. Definately will go for GLC or XC60.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 18, 2018 at 11:24 pm

The Benz isn’t better either with their GLA200 which is weaker than the X1 and let’s not talk about the GLC200. The GLC250 only offers a very small oomph compared to the sDrive20i if u compare both of them.

• Joe Labu on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:24 pm

Haiya why so late coming to Malaysia.. Seen this new X3 in Perth last month. Nearly looks like X1 F48 from far away

• Mokmok on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:22 am

Wait..! Am i the only one spotted this truck on the overtaking lane? I tought the lane was supposed to be no trucks overtaking area..

• krishna on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:37 am

The issue with Beemers is that their designs are evolutionary and not revolutionary. Not much difference between the old and new models across the range. Compared to Merc and Volvo where the new models look drastically different from the old one. I prefer the Volvo XC60 over the new X3 and GLC

• stastasta on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:28 pm

x2 costs 310 k , so this x3 will be at least 10% more expensive. and yet slower than a half-priced crv.