GALLERY: Kia Grand Carnival 2.2D SX – RM188,888

Introduced just last month, the Kia Grand Carnival 2.2D SX is the range-topping variant for the locally-assembled MPV range. We now bring you a full gallery of the variant, which is priced at RM188,888 on-the-road excluding insurance.

Like the base 2.2D KX, the SX features a 2.2 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel engine that outputs 190 hp at 3,800 rpm and 440 Nm of torque at 1,750 to 2,750 rpm. It is paired with a six-speed automatic transmission with drive going to the front wheels.

Among the highlights of the SX are HID projector headlamps (with LED positioning lights) that are a step up from the base KX’s halogen units. You’ll also get snazzy 19-inch Chrome Sputtering alloy wheels, an upgrade from the 18-inch set on the KX, along with chrome pins for the front grille. Colour options include two new paint colours – Blackberry, which replaces Titanium Brown, and Silky Silver – exclusive to the SX.

Moving inside, the SX comes with two-tone burgundy leather seats accompanied by wood grain trim. A Rear Entertainment System with WiFi connectivity is also present here, which joins the standard eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system and six-speaker audio system.

Other standard features include powered sliding rear doors, heated steering wheel, keyless entry with start and rear-view camera. Unique to the SX are 12-way powered front seats and a sliding centre console tray in the second row.

The price mentioned at the start includes a five-year/unlimited mileage manufacturer’s warranty and the company’s ‘Value 5’ scheme. We’ve already had a go in the eight-seater, and you can find out our thoughts about it in our video review. For full specifications of the CKD Kia Grand Carnival, check out CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nordin on May 02, 2018 at 5:48 pm

(Like) Kia Carnival.
    (Dislike) Used Toyota Estima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 22
  • Kuinosan on May 02, 2018 at 5:59 pm

A proper stylish MPV unlike the Japanese econobox shaped ones from planet Autobots. Looks solid and strong too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Amzzar on May 02, 2018 at 8:13 pm

Be patriotic like the Koreans, buy Kia and Hyundai 1st. We Msians must support Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Chris on May 03, 2018 at 11:04 am

How can they manage to get this done as CKD when they are selling just 999 cars in 3 months? What kind of magic did they do?

• stastasta on May 06, 2018 at 4:11 pm

nasim/naza is a gov crony company, can make all sorts of magic happen.

• Bernard on May 02, 2018 at 6:31 pm

With all the 8’s in the price, I still don’t get the feng shui feeling with this…

• Buy exora turbo better. Good rv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • Good...this time v nicr on May 02, 2018 at 7:10 pm

Very very nice…i like very much…price pun ok je..

• Family Lodge on May 02, 2018 at 8:22 pm

The KIA sales rep at the recent AutoShow held MAEPS told me that the KIA Value 5 is no more, instead they’re giving free service and warranty for 5 years. HHmmmm

• markgoh on May 02, 2018 at 9:30 pm

pls add in e-parking brake
    panaromic sunroof..

• Still dun see the point of sunroof in hot MY weather.

• Autobahn on May 04, 2018 at 6:52 am

Juat like posh houses in msia using glass roof at the garages…coz its astetically pleasing and more premium …duhhh

• david on May 02, 2018 at 10:28 pm

prefer normal cable parking brake anytime.

• Farhan on May 02, 2018 at 10:44 pm

The move to turbocharged engines with lower diaplacement is the future. Koreans should push hybrid tech more in their cars to keep pace. The Japanese have already reached the other side of the ocean, the koreans are still building their ship to sail.

• Autobahn on May 04, 2018 at 6:53 am

Diesel turbo better power n more fuel efficient than hybrid anytime of the day…hybrid you need to drive like a pussy to get good.mileage…unlike diesel you can trash it but still return good mileage

• tishaban on May 03, 2018 at 8:28 am

The chrome wheels hurt my eyes!

Otherwise a very nice MPV although at the same price range many will cross shop across the Korean aisle and look at the new Hyundai Santa Fe. It’s good to be a consumer and have choices.

• stastasta on May 06, 2018 at 4:18 pm

santa fe is not direct competitor. santa is 4wd this is fwd. santa fe has less interior space and no sliding door.

• Ayam Speechless on May 03, 2018 at 9:10 am

Dear Naza Kia, are you even serious bout selling cars in Malaysia. Your product launches is very slow and product line up is limited to the extent of being forgotten. Sad…..