Honda Malaysia (HMSB), following an inspection with the Royal Malaysia Police, has confirmed that a Takata single stage driver front airbag inflator ruptured in a crash involving a 2004 Honda City on May 27, 2018 in Kuala Lumpur. The crash resulted in the death of the driver, but an official cause of death has yet to be determined.
According to an official statement released by HMSB, the vehicle involved in the crash was included in a product recall that was announced on May 21, 2015. The recall involved the replacement of both Takata-made driver and passenger front airbag inflators on affected models. The company confirmed that the passenger front airbag inflator also ruptured in the May 27 crash.
It said that several notification letters related to the recall were sent out to the then owners of the vehicle based on the information available in the company’s database, but records indicate that the recall replacement was never completed and the vehicle was not serviced at Honda authorised dealers.
Honda Malaysia has enforced its notification activities on Takata front airbag inflator recalls, utilising a variety of mediums to reach out to customers. This includes official press releases, advertisements, inclusion in roadshows, personal calls (71,700 made) and SMS (3.66 million sent), as well as direct mailing (3.2 million letters).
The company says it has also ensured 100% stock availability of driver and passenger front airbag inflators, and is increasing service capacity via Service Central Hubs, Mobile Hubs as well as hubs at selected Petronas stations and Honda roadshows.
As at May 29, 2018, HMSB has completed more than 224,000 units of Takata driver front airbag inflator, which translates to 85% completion ratio. The total number of Takata driver and passenger front airbag inflator replacements completed is at more than 445,000 units or 75% completion ratio.
The company added that the current selling line-up of Honda models do not have the same type of Takata airbag inflators as previous models affected in the recall, and as such are not affected by the issue.
Vehicle owners can check their vehicles’ product recall status at www.productrecall.honda.com.my or www.honda.com.my or call Honda Malaysia’s toll free number at 1-800-88-2020 or visit any Honda authorised dealers.
This model have claim few lives alone in malaysia. I recalling last year a woman was kill also with the same incident. Then there was a large scale recall but till this date there are still so many of this model out there that havent change really scary.
New transport minister should make it mandatory for all used cars sent to puspakom for inspection /clarification of the takata airbags.It took just 5 mins to call Honda malaysia to verify if the defective airbags have been replaced.If it has not been replaced,the car inspection shall not proceed until the takata airbag is replaced.
THis applies to all other car brands as well.
This is one way to stop unnecesary lives being lost thro ignorance or sheer laziness.
They should have quickly completed the recall measures. This issues have been known for YEARS and it is about SAFETY!!!
Jepunis top quality… oh wai
It’s a ticking time bomb if you still driving one of these effected models.
I wonder.
Given all the recall announcement thru the media about Takata airbags involving various vehicle makes in the past couple of years, how many non-1st hand vehicle owners actually knew or bothered checking if the used vehicle they purchased is involved in the recall or if it has already replaced the part?
Can puspakom play a role here? check the used based on the Honda’s data, if the airbag never replaced, denied the ownership transfer.
This is a very good idea that our RTD need to have a list of cars that required replacent for air bag inflators. Then RTD to renew road tax for only 1/2 year or reject road tax renewal if inflators is not yet being changed. RTD should think out of the box instead of ideas like getting more income from fancy number plates. Who is our new Transport Minister?. What say you?.
What happens if the transfer taken place before this problem appeared, like this case? How does Puspakom play a role in this?
Thts why must use proton…all models v v safe…believe la…going fwd china made proton…dont trust tht tin can..brakes failure will kill .
i think the news about the recall has been constantly put out for almost 4 years now.. and yet, many people still do not bother to get their car checked. Even if you are not sure if your model is affected or not, its even more reason to get it checked and confirmed.
My oppinion for this incident, it is part of the driver/owner responsibility to get his car check for airbag issue. Given so many recall publicities had been made, even i saw roadshow at petrol station. Don’t tell me he didn’t aware of it. Social media also got a lot airbag recall announcements. Don’t tell me young man don’t use FB. Cannot solely blame honda for this.
Honda recalled AFTER accidents, Toyota bolehland goes for ‘silent mode’
Go figure
It is not blaming Honda , it is purely blaming the airbag company responsible for sending out faulty products to multiple companies.
It must be that these kind of news did not reach this young man, as not everyone is as aware. As it can be said , cannot blame the young man for this. He died, what about you? How can you blame a dead man? Please be rational and think, not everyone is well aware. Don’t tell me you know every single news in this world.
Speaking on behalf of my brother who had passed away from this incident, we did not receive any notification or known of any news regarding this. We bought this car as a secondhand car for him to drive to college, and the previous owners did not notify us. We followed regular procedures for servicing and even then, no one had informed us. Even as a young woman myself who browses social media regularly, this was the first time I even heard of Takata.
If we had known, do you think we would have allowed for this fatality to happen? His death was very unexpected and our entire family is devastated. Please be more sensitive and do not simply assume. Instead, just spread awareness to your friends and family in hopes that they do not suffer the same fate.
Where did you/brother sent the car for service? At Honda or 3rd party workshop?
Did u go to Honda official servis center for servicing?
My condolences, there should not have been more deaths like this. I too have always believed that Honda is just doing half-hearted recalls. There is no joint effort with govt. Should have announced on Astro and MCMC announce on all cellphones. Honda should have produced and viralled a video on social media. These are most reachable channels in Malaysia. My condolences again. Please take care.
Honda merely send letter of notification. How many times they are doing this? Find out who the hell is the new owner via jpj if there is no updates! I blame Honda for giving such bullshit excuses over And over again!
I saw full page ads on paper, but full of words, nobody bothered
Our friend Pong at the above comment said they weren’t aware of it. Everyday or once a week, Honda has to purchase front cover in all major newspaper to change the airbag till the record is zero
Such critical issues have been know for YEARS and it’s about SAFETY!!! This is their responsibility after all
Maybe it is the time gomen and media starts to give rating to the news as we can see it for movies and TV programs so that pipu aware its importantance to their lives
Good effort by the minister.. at least the ignorance owner now have to do it.