2018 Honda HR-V facelift to debut in Thailand soon

The Honda HR-V facelift will find its way into the region real soon, after a teaser picture was posted on Honda Thailand’s official Facebook page. There’s nothing but a frontal silhouette and a caption that translates to “there are some things that are calling you,” and no, there’s no launch date either.

It cannot be denied – the car in question is clearly the refreshed HR-V. The popular B-segment crossover made its debut earlier this year in Japan, wearing a new face that features a thicker chrome bar, redesigned LED headlights, as well as a new mesh for the upper grille. Even the fog lamps shown here are of the top-spec LED type.

Honda LaneWatch will be featured on the model for the first time, as evidenced by the slight camera protrusion under the left side mirror. Whether or not the HR-V comes packaged with Honda Sensing – standard across all models sold in Japan – remains to be seen.

Besides that, the new HR-V will get an updated cabin. Honda has reshaped the front seats and changed its stitching pattern to improve “holdability and texture,” and JDM versions get a unique two-tone cabin (Jazz Brown) for a more premium feel. Other upgrades include improved NVH and better cabin insulation thanks to additional use of vibration-absorbing materials. Elsewhere, things remain the same as before.

Back home, the HR-V originally made its debut in 2015. The facelifted version was spotted making rounds in Petaling Jaya in December 2017, and once more on the Federal Highway earlier in April. After launching the Odyssey in February, Honda Malaysia announced that it will be introducing another model later in the year, and there’s a good chance it will be the HR-V facelift.

GALLERY: 2018 Honda HR-V facelift

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:23 pm

All new things launch in Thailand. Why they never launch in Malaysia first? Oh wai

Basher say we top economy in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • “Malaysia is the only market outside of Japan to introduce the Jazz Hybrid, and it’s the same with this City Hybrid, which is called the Grace Hybrid in Japan.” Oh wai…

https://paultan.org/2017/07/25/first-look-honda-city-hybrid-including-first-drive/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Sohai on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:51 pm

Hrv civic interior maca 00′ totally, automotive should sue car maker on safety concern bcoz the LCD mounted below front window cause driver no longer focus front but looking down to cockpit. Can anyone look at cockpit to drive car, very stupit design…

• Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:05 pm

This is about HRV not about City or Grace. Try to better your English to read better.

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 10, 2018 at 11:56 am

Then what new thing you’re talking about Albertkunta? Stop talking kok when you’re exposed for all to see.

• Dave Chapman on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Ugly asf! The Chinese HR-V (so called XR-V) is still the best iteration for Vezel. The rear cluster is bloody hideous, interior is so minimalist akin to Gen.2 aka useless, the jarring side body strakes – omg i dunno where to begin. Honda sure know how to make fugly cars these days. Its an eternal sin to own one. Phowarrrr…. Blergh.

https://paultan.org/2014/09/02/honda-xr-v-chinas-hr-vvezel-gets-looks/

• Kent Chan on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Still no rear ventilation? I am juggling between HR-V or CR-V. Salesperson says HR-V facelift coming soon in August to Malaysia. Shall I wait? SST kicking in by September.

• The CRV, if Turboed, just trumps the HRV for size, tech and power.
      The specs justifies the RM20k investment.

But if you do not one such a big car and will settle something easier on the wallet, the HRV will do just fine. If you really dont mind the space and will trade in for added style and power, theres the CX-3/5 which is awesome.

• Sawan on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:06 pm

Easy. R u sitting at the back? Or you’re the goddamn driver? Dumbo

• Victor on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:16 pm

For the first time ,the interior and seat at least looks nice and slightly upmarket .

At least the colour selection is more lighter tone compare to those other Japanese and German offering which is plain Black that looks dark and cataphobia.

Honda is improving fast just like the swedish offering which turns out highly desirable products sought after by many potential buyers.

• Looks like they cheapen out and went for the individual bulb LEDs instead of current Vspec projector LEDs. Just another cost cutting measure. Hopefully it contras that with Honda Sense on topkek spec and AEB for the rest. And I dun mean the fake AEB like on Mivi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Wat for ? on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Still no temp gauge right???? So wat for! Going fwd PT write in bold on all car reviews “AND YES IT COMES WITH A BLOODY TEMP GAUGE”…ok…it saves me time hre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • You scared you are going to blow up your engine? Relax man drive calmly for goodness sakes.

• Kuinosan on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:29 pm

The prices of Honda new models are bordering to conti cars especially the Civics and CRVs, but sorry to say that their built quality and interior cabin materials are sub standard. Just look at the New Tiguan, everything about that car trumps the CRV except for its size and Honda Sensing tech. Even the Peugeot 3008 offer a better drive and interior materials are top notch. If consumers don’t get smart, sooner or later they will be shortchange by the Japs….again!

• Been using hrv since 2015. The body panel seriously toooo thin.. Perodua and proton are far more solid. Just my personal view

• Body panel tooooo thin

• Hafez on Jun 16, 2018 at 11:36 pm

Berapa harga untuk HRV baru ni??? Untung ambil HRV atau CRV?? After gst 0% harga kereta lebih murah.. tetapi, stok HRV selepas GST dah habiss tunggu HRV baru ni berbaloi ke? Harga????

• Eric Hong on Jun 17, 2018 at 2:50 am

Dont be stupid la.. after GST now come SST 10%.. you think PH government will easy give you godzillion discount mehh??..