2019 Hyundai Elantra facelift spotted for the first time

It looks like the Hyundai Elantra facelift will make its debut soon, after Korean website Naver published never-before-seen photographs of the updated C-segment sedan. The set of photos reveal a huge difference in styling compared to the outgoing model, and it can almost be mistaken as the next-generation model.

Right off the bat, the updated Elantra wears a completely revised front fascia, starting with the cartoonish triangular headlights with twin LED projectors and LED DRL surrounds. Entry-level variants appear to get halogen projector headlights with triple LED DRLs (pictured below), and the lens now ‘penetrate’ into the new cascading grille (they’re separated in the current model) – the latter features a sharp dip that leads to the lower lip. Even the fog lights come in the form of triangles, next to which are air curtains.

At the back, the tail lights have been redesigned with slimmer dual-LED bar units, making the sedan appear somewhat wider in the process. It also gains a sharper boot lid design, and the Elantra lettering is spaced out below the badge – a theme reminiscent of the facelifted Sonata. Lastly, the license plate holder has been pushed down, right next to the new fog lamps and diffuser.

Inside, expect Hyundai to make minor tweaks to bring the Elantra up to date, and it’s even rumoured to get wireless charging with several added features. Engine-wise, it will likely get the same range of offerings, which include the naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre MPi and 1.6 litre four-cylinder turbocharged GDI petrol lumps. Also rumoured to make its debut is a mild-hybrid variant with the same 48 V electrical system that debuted on the Tucson facelift.

So, what do you think of the Elantra facelift? Are you a fan of the new look, or do you much prefer the outgoing version? Sound off below, and find out what we think of the Elantra Sport 1.6 Turbo!

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 1.6 Sport

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Why does look like Yaris Vios Ativ???

• musangKing-originalz on Jul 10, 2018 at 10:48 am

the kia and hyundai started losing their competitiveness in the beauty department already….in the mean time Boyue is catching up quickly..

• Fuiyoh! those headlights……….i dont know man…. to me it looks like a 1998 Ford Focus headlights to me.

• The current version’s design is so stale and boring than anything else would actually look like an improvement. The retro/dull interior is another story. If it can bring up design comparisons with the Honda Civic then the Hyundai design department would have done their job for once.

• Elantra the C-segment sedan with the B-segment price tag. Best specs in class to boot.

• zoom zoom on Jul 09, 2018 at 8:06 pm

The new facelift will be the ugliest C-segment sedan.. lol.. well done!

• What the… become so ugly…

• Fuiyoh!! those headlights……..i dont know man……it looks like a 1998 Ford Focus to me.

• Seann on Jul 09, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Isn’t he the original Mr Sam Loo, aka Camry RV aka Hailat, that used to give Harvinder, Hafriz & Jonathan a lesson on RV? hahahaa

• holofanboi on Jul 09, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Huh…thats too Audi A3-ish. I…don’t like it :(

It does look alot cheaper to manufacture though. What with so many flat surfaces for the headlights.

• looks like a love child of mk1 focus and 407….with ADHD

• kenot on Jul 09, 2018 at 9:53 pm

i’m afraid this facelift elantra will not enter to Malaysia market like FL Sonata. Sonata die slowly here and can’t compete with other D-segment car.

• Bernard on Jul 09, 2018 at 10:03 pm

Wow…..ugly!

• Watdehel that’s a corolla not a hyundai. Ugly gila

• Checked wikipedia and apparently the current Elantra (AD) went on sale in 2016. 2 years later already debuting facelift.

SDAC just brought over current Elantra last year. Personally, I’ve seen them like less than 10 times on the road. I’ve seen more Elantra AD in shopping malls rather than OTR. Heck, I’ve seen more ND MX5 than the Elantra sport on the road.

SDAC only got themselves to blame. Horrible pricing killed any chance for the Elantra AD to take on the Civic. And then you have the godawful red seat. Like holy crap SDAC, have a look at the new Optima seat, that’s how you do a red seat!

• DonkeyKong on Jul 10, 2018 at 3:04 pm

That’s true. I have not seen a single Elantra Sport on the road.. only a few Elantra 2.0. Who in the heck within SDAC came up with that brilliant idea for those eye-poking awful red seats.. To make it worse, you’ll need to pay RM1,500 to have those seats changed to more conventional looking black leather. Coupled with the fact that it’s priced around the same as a Civic 1.5 Turbo, it was destined for failure from he start.

It’s no wonder that these days, some dealerships are dumping off the Elantra Sport 1.6 TGDI for just RM119k, some outlets are selling it cheaper than that. They have no choice but to price the Elantra Turbo on par with the class-leading Civic 1.8, and get rid of those awful seats if they ever want to have a chance to succeed.

• If SDAC is so hopeless in trying to sell the Sonata and Elantra, what hope do we have for the incoming Santa Fe?

In fact nowadays SDAC looks to be doing a worse job than Naza Kia.

• New Cerato more exp than Civic FC. Topkek pricing. So far cannot see one on the road.

• Headlights looks like lego car design

• Captain Coco on Jul 09, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Hyundai is really making this car worse.

Current model exterior = great
    Current model Interior = outdated

This facelift exterior = worse
    This facelift interior = outdated

• Nah, Proton/Geely coming out with 200hp 1.8 turbo sedan soon. Why buy a Hyundai?

• pakcik on Jul 10, 2018 at 12:23 am

Current design looks better, the only problem is the dated interior

• azrai on Jul 10, 2018 at 7:03 am

Do they hire late 90’s toyota designer this year?

• autodriver (Member) on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:35 am

The designer must be inspired by Marvel and come out with Venom eyes on the new Elantra headlamp. It is damn ugly man, hope it is not final design.

• front looks like the old Peugeot 408…backward design

• Meh, the pre-facelift one looks wayy better.

• One word – Fugly

• I tot its a peugeot. Lol

• pengguna proton kecewa on Jul 10, 2018 at 10:17 am

looks like VENOM. fan of spiderman it seems

• Hahaha..that headlights..u make my day la hyundai..haha

• Phang on Jul 10, 2018 at 12:00 pm

Fail design. Definitely will have a fail in Malaysian market. Please continue if you dare, Hyundai.

• Imelda on Jul 10, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Those head lamps look like previous Peugeot 408 except that they got day running lights

But honestly speaking those rear lights design look horrible .and ugly indeed.

• Nash you on Jul 10, 2018 at 2:02 pm

They should design it based on 2012 elantra.

• Anonymous Coward on Jul 11, 2018 at 5:12 pm

This is terrible; the current generation Elantra looks really good. I see no need for this redesign. If the pricing was better, the Elantra Turbo looks to be an excellent buy; maybe in the second-hand market later.

• Wil Chambers on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:44 am

The weird looking Civic, Cruze and Elantra having a fast back design please stop! They all need to grow a rear end back out. New look is overstyled!

• waloa eh, so clumsy design, it looks like a 1995 need for speed 2 traffic car to me.

• I like my 2014 headlamps. They went from s beautiful design to ugly triangles. Yuck!!!

• Pro 2 my v on Sep 22, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Hyundai elantra facelift spotted?

More like an alien spaceship spotted..