Future Lexus F performance models to be electrified?

Lexus has revealed that the next step for its F performance brand could be electrification. This, after company boss Yoshihiro Sawa told Auto Express at the Goodwood Festival of Speed that his team is looking to include electrified powertrains to go with traditional petrol engines.

Currently, all F models to date – IS F, RC F and GS F – run solely on raw V8 power. However, Sawa believes that the division will have to embrace different powertrain choices soon, and also suggested that a standalone hybrid F GT car could even be created.

“F is very important; with F we have to think of our own original way. One solution could be a pure F GT car, which could be a hybrid with an electric motor and a strong engine, giving a different kind of drive feel. We don’t stick to V8, V10, twin-turbocharged, they’re important but we’re looking at the future. We’d like to find a way to connect to the next era,” he explained.

“I think that now, we’re in a transitional period. At this moment people say electric vehicles are trendy but three years later, who knows? People like the sound, the dynamics [of combustion engines]. I think we cannot stick to the one solution when it comes to providing emotion,” Sawa added.

On the subject of EVs, Sawa admitted that the new Lexus UX is considered to be a more likely candidate for a pure-electric version. “We do think about it, but Akio Toyoda [boss of Toyota] wants to provide the freedom of mobility everywhere – not just in the city but also in the jungle, or the desert. We can look to EV but also hybrid, plug-in hybrid, fuel cell and normal petrol engines also,” he said, adding that the EV has to be ‘lovable’ and needs to feel luxurious, because that is what Lexus customers expect.

Now, with all these seemingly in the pipeline, will Lexus finally be seen as a true rival to German premium automakers? Sawa said it would, and that creating a stronger emotional connection with its customers via the GT3 programme and F sub-brand could help as well. The ‘spindle grille’, despite dividing opinions, has seen sales go up ever since its introduction.

Over to you guys. Do you think such a move would help Lexus be positioned as a true rival to the Germans? And are you a fan of the spindle grille? Leave your thoughts in the comments, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• applegreen on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:04 pm

I’m not sure, am i looking at the L logo or the leg?

• If Proton, that would not be allowed

• True dat! If P1 does it, basher will bash P1 for it. But when jepunis lords do it, then basher says its okays. Such double stended.

• 12yrsold john on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:36 am

Your eyes will see what U want to see.

• thykrupp on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:15 pm

why the girl has to hold the skirt like that?

• The current Lexus F models are already a lot heavier than equivalents from M and AMG. Imagine adding more weight from battery and electric motors. Being too heavy won’t do any good to the F cars’ dynamics and performance.

• dun worry, ppl here used that plenty of money buy the logo not the spec or performance.

• Take the supra, restyle it like the new ES , and plonk in the LFA’s v10…..u hv a winner

• Add A Comment on Jul 18, 2018 at 7:28 am

Which model to be electrified? The one standing with 2 legs?

– I have Added A Comment –

• Haha.. My first read of the header title sound like “Future Lexus F performance model” is referring to the lady in the picture and she will be electrified? Haha..

No hard feeling okay.. just another good punchline..

• true that on Jul 18, 2018 at 8:57 am

while the world is looking at electrification, Msia is still stuck at the debate to revive the national car aspiration. wrong goals!