GIIAS 2018: Toyota Vios TRD prototype whets appetite

The new Toyota Vios – which is essentially the Thai market Yaris Ativ with a 1.5 litre engine – was launched in Indonesia in April this year. The regular E and G trim levels were present at launch, but the TRD Sportivo variant that topped the previous generation range was dropped.

It’s still not back yet, but Toyota Astra Motor displayed a prototype “Toyota Vios TRD” at the 2018 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) to whet sportier appetites.

The Vios TRD showcar exaggerates the new Vios’ “joker face” with an all-round bodykit that gives the sedan more of a chin in front. There’s also black trim to link the foglamp surrounds to the wide lower grille. Bright red lipstick provides the finishing touch.

Side skirts, a boot lid spoiler and rear bodykit are the rest of the changes. The latter includes “vents” above the rear foglamps, a diffuser-style centre and a red pinstripe to match the one in front. The showcar rides on (non-TRD) 17-inch wheels and has its roof and A- and C-pillars painted in black. Inside, the B-segment sedan gets black/red seat covers with embossed TRD logos.

You might recall that we showed you a Yaris Ativ TRD prototype from the Bangkok Motor Show in March. The car you see here differs slightly from the Thai prototype, so perhaps the TRD Sportivo catalogue is yet to be finalised. Just like in Indonesia, the Yaris Ativ does not have a TRD version on sale in Thailand, so these motor show displays might be a prelude.

As for Malaysia, we’re still waiting for the new Vios.

GALLERY: Toyota Yaris Ativ TRD prototype

GALLERY: Toyota Yaris Ativ E and S, Thai-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 10, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 161
    • the new Toyota Vios will gv Persona a run for their money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • yawnz on Aug 11, 2018 at 5:43 am

Pipu buy p2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 12, 2018 at 4:21 pm

I rather believe 30 million people than 1 frustrated keyboard warrior that hates Perodua.

Anyway, sales of Perodua is 5X more than Proton sales.

Also just on Myvi alone, Perodua has sold more Myvis in 3 months compared to Proton’s entire range in 1 whole year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • Rightwinger on Aug 13, 2018 at 12:33 am

Yup. We know you’re the type that’ll kick someone when their down. Good show old fart.
            Don’t worry, coz I’ll personally pile crap on you the next time you’re down and on your last buck.

• Loler on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:49 am

You mean 30 million buyers? Lol that’s joke of the year. Population is not buyers

• 12yrsold on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:20 am

Why Pipu buy P2? Bcoz it’s reliable, cheap, good & trustworthy :P.
          The sales volume is a testament. If that is not enuff, P2 cornered 40% sales in M’sia.

• Sohai on Aug 12, 2018 at 12:08 am

Ah lok, Indon pun dapat next gen vios, mesia masih still pakai zaman dinasor vios.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 12, 2018 at 4:30 pm

This is because we have to protek protek protek Ploton

30 million people suffer just to protek 9000 workers.

• Leonardo on Aug 13, 2018 at 8:32 am

Wow. You are actually comparing the Vios with the Persona. Toyota used to be the first choice car in the B segment, but the now the sales is really bad. What happened?

• Lets See on Aug 10, 2018 at 7:15 pm

Yes, Perodua can tumpang glamour Toyota. Toyota does all the hard work and Perodua claims glamour such as above. Typical.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
      • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 10, 2018 at 10:35 pm

Pity, after 30 yrs and hundreds of billions spent, Malaysia is just a rebadger.

Goes to show, we need talent from China to lead our auto Industry to better heights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
        • Correct! After 70 years, Toyota can only come out with this crappy design. Even China Bin Rui looks better.

Goes to show Jepunis lords need talent from China to lead their auto industry to better heights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
          • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 12, 2018 at 4:24 pm

At least Toyota makes money and has no bailouts unlike our Proton which is a burden to society and over RM20 billion in bailouts given.

Toyota does not beg for tongkat but gives back revenue and tax to the Japanese Government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
          • halloha560 on Aug 12, 2018 at 8:55 pm

Both of John and John May 9 Nangis, I told you to Respect Everyone, Freedom of speech and no more bullying to every car brands. And also no more posting the rubbish comments and negative comments. Also, no more posting fake comments. Stop fighting, it might hurt the readers. If John and John May 9 Nangis do this again, I will duplicate this comment again. Including to everyone should respect to every car brands like Proton, Perodua, Toyota, BMW and others. It is called as Freedom of Speech No more bullying to every car brands. And also don’t ever post rubbish comments, fake comments and even negative comments. Stop fighting, it might hurt the readers. To all of you, if you post negative comments, I will duplicate this comment

• No argument bro. Just that the fool dun realise I agrees with him, thats all. China has advance so fast that Jepunis and even Jerman lords now need to seek their knowledge and expertise.

• basher said on Aug 11, 2018 at 5:48 am

Owner can brag the bodykit adds 50hp

• minyak sawit larut diesel on Aug 11, 2018 at 4:02 pm

No appetite after viewing those pictures

• Oh my…Everything just look fine, but the designer put too much of effort on the bumper which are too over totally unmatched at all..is this a few decade of designer toyota came out? .. it had to be changed before its too late… Mostly ppl.will goes on Geely Binrui, just on price is enough to kill your selling…
      fikir fikirkanlah UMW Toyota..

• normal_user on Aug 11, 2018 at 1:12 pm

sat on the car in Thailand. seat position & interior space very much the same like new Myvi. Legroom not even close to City & seat base is lower than Almera. Not comfortable to sit in but the suspension & refinement will probably be vastly improved.

Toyota should just bring in the latest JDM corolla axio to replace the Vios. Its kinda B+ segment exterior with C segment interior.

• Autobahn on Aug 13, 2018 at 8:21 am

Already near 2019..racing development still selling 90hp enjin with cvt gb and call it trd. The japanese really having good times recycling their trash bin in south east asia taking full advantage of the brand popularity T and H.

• evil faced vios with hyundai tail

• ugliest bumper in the world's on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:36 pm

*oly sh*** what a big spoiling on the bumper desingn and for the interior just goes on all black will do.. some times simple will be just nice, no need to add those TRD, cause its only will increase the price n look more ugliest only.. Plus it is just a vios,be simple n sell cheaper..if not you are just spoiled everything and kill yourself only… be smart to make a decision, not base on how much you gone earn on it!

• The new Vios is a joke car, and the TRD version exaggerates the joke.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 16
    • Cheng on Aug 10, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Saw the new Vios in indonesia and Philippines. Looks like a Hyundai at the back. Darn ugly. Im sure it wont sell well in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 117
      • If you look at the current Malaysia Vios from the rear, its body kit makes the tires look really disproportionate, kinda like a budybuilder who has tiny legs.
        When will Toyota realize we need *real* upgrades (tech, power, handling, safety features etc.) and not ah beng bodykits…esp. for a top of line costing close to 90k, and especially if they want to continue portraying vios as a fun, easy revving, corner drifting so-easy-even-celebreties-can-do car.

• Ah John on Aug 11, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Funny duo above… we sure itz onlyyou. Lollz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • Rightwinger on Aug 11, 2018 at 4:40 pm

It’ll sell because of badge. Nothing else

• Still same, easy enter the ditch and tumbling.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • Lolol on Aug 10, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Nice… No more taik mata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Nice. An incremental but important improvements on looks over the existing model. Really like the change to the rear lights. A City-beater this one. Good job Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 29
    • sack the designer on Aug 11, 2018 at 5:47 am

Proton emas front, Elantra back. Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
  • Sonyman on Aug 10, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Wah add 1000 hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • 12yrsold on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:24 am

Yes, it beats the Chiron on seating capacity(4 comfortably) with ample luggage room to boot not to mention its cheaper to maintain too.

• Ben Yap on Aug 11, 2018 at 12:04 am

center console is too low… looks budget and lack premium feel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Malaysia will never get the latest models first hand unlike Thailand n Indonesia having better buying power, in another word bigger consumption. The sales here don’t justify any new launch. There are so much of stocks left unsold and can’t do any bigger offer because restrictions n not be able to clear the stocks fast. Unlike USA they offer interest free n huge rebate to get rid of older stocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Oh my…Everything just look fine, but the designer put too much of effort on the bumper which are too over totally unmatched at all..is this a few decade of designer toyota came out? .. it had to be changed before its too late… Mostly ppl.will goes on Geely Binrui, just on price is enough to kill your selling…
    fikir fikirkanlah UMW Toyota..

• if the car designed to look nice, that is no need to add on this and that.. so when is ugly no matter how’s the TRD add also mo use.. sometimes just a minor changes also will safe on it, which is on the bumper itself.

• atoyot on Aug 11, 2018 at 9:28 am

Boring and dated car…Vios has lose its relevant here. No new tech and safety…just lousy cosmetic surgery over and over again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
  • looks good from the outside
    but inside still look and feel like a toy car

• Working on the value added kind of marketing strategy to increase its price for bigger profit margin. A new Myvi will be good enough.

• Tok Pak Arab on Aug 11, 2018 at 2:32 pm

wah…..trd! Ah beng wet dream car…..Can go lay-sing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
  • That’s absolutely disgusting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • atoyot on Aug 12, 2018 at 11:51 am

Overall boring car, no new tech, all cosmetic touch out outside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
  • Sack the person that approved the preposterous color combination of black leather seats and brown trim. You can’t be serious?

• UMW should just not bring Vios in anymore. Utter embarrassment of a car with “sport seats” ala myvi SE 2010.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Good description…”Joker Face”, because the car IS one big joke. No power upgrades whatsoever.

• Eplas on Aug 13, 2018 at 8:58 am

Feel not worth it to pay 90k for very basic interior

• omg, that’s even a uglier car if compare to the current version, what happen to nowadays toyota designer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • They have ahbengs to design the car for them nowadays deswai lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11