Volkswagen Malaysia extends tax holiday until Nov 30 – zero-rated GST pricing to remain while stocks last

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has announced that it will extend its price protection scheme until the end of November 2018, while stocks last. This supersedes the company’s earlier decision to absorb the sales and service tax (SST) until November 15.

Customers who do purchase any Volkswagen model from now until the aforementioned date will therefore still be able to enjoy the tax holiday whereby prices will be based on that listed with 0% goods and services tax (GST).

The scheme is applicable to both locally-assembled and imported models but as mentioned earlier, is based on stock availability. So, if you want a particular Volkswagen model and want to take advantage of the extended zero-rated GST pricing, you’d better hurry and check in with your nearest dealer.

Zero-rated GST pricing for Volkswagen models; click to enlarge

All new Volkswagens come with a five-year manufacturer’s warranty, five-year roadside assistance and three years of free service.

The SST came into effect on September 1, which marked the end of the three-month 0% GST period that started on June 1. During the tax holiday, the price of Volkswagen models were cheaper by up to RM17k, sparking a lot of interest from car buyers.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Must be doing really bad

• Bluffy on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Not VW, but i really hope those like perodua, honda, toyota, nissan, mitsubishi, proton continue their tax holiday til year end.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Though I don’t fancy VW, I must admit, the Tiguan is really a good buy. Many don’t know this but the Tiguan is an identical car to the Audi Q5 *RM370k) and the Porsche Macan (RM500k)

It uses exactly the same parts and same platform as the RM500k Porsche Macan. Ride handling also exactly the same as a Macan

So why buy a RM500k car when you can get it for RM150k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • So you think driving a Myvi is like driving a Lexus?

• Memang Kalah teruk sebab bodoh on Oct 06, 2018 at 12:58 am

“Exactly the same parts like Macan ” ? ….Somehow my Tiguan steering is very different from a Macan. Darn .. I think I got a lemon Tiguan

• stastasta on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:24 pm

macan base engine 2.0. tiguan base engine 1.4.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:42 pm

VW already make a turnaround. No more plagued by DSG issues, their sales are improving by leaps and bounds.

Give it 1 or 2 years more, their sales even will overtake Proton’s plummeting sales.

Proton must learn from the Germans how to work hard and focus on doing hard work without begging for bantuans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Abdullah Wahid on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:13 pm

Why buy X70 for about RM100k when you can buy the Tiguan for about RM80k during their firesales?

Every year, VGM, now VPCM always do firesales, they sell their brand new cars for nearly half the price

Ask any VW owner. They will tell you how angry they are buying their car in full price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Lembu tahi on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:34 pm

Half the price ? Send me 2 dozens. Stop bull sheet la

• U seriously need to get ur eyes checked.

• where can i get Tiguan for 80k???? i want!!

• IGP mom on Oct 07, 2018 at 10:15 am

Wahid, you know the moment you talked bad about VW, the perasan owners are up in arms. See how the gang thumbs you down? Deep down, they know you are right. They made the stupid mistake of buying a junk and hope to change the VW reputation so that they can dump their cars to would be fools. I can only laugh harder the more thumbs down they are giving to bad but honest review about VW.

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:27 pm

don’t be overconfident VW Malaysia

• In your dream

• Really? on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Clutch pack fail, central lock fail. I drive 2014 Jetta.

• Too bad P1 dun share ur enthusiasm to learn how to DSGgate and dieselgate. They prefer to be fair & transparent to their customers instead.

• Stocks-cant-clear on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:51 pm

They may need to extend this promo to 30 Nov 2019 to clear current stocks.

• I hate you VW on Oct 05, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Major service burns my wallet… triple time of my instalment. Tiguan major service is RM3K++.

• Tigerguan on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:30 pm

Wow.. what u paid for

• SK, Lim on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:13 pm

According to the person above, this is what you get when VW dont ask for bantuan. They instead rip off their customers with overpriced servicing.

• It is year end, they usually give heavy discounts anyway to encourage purchase. If not customers might as well buy early next year.

• waynie on Oct 05, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Vw already famous Gear box & rv will make you crying… But many ppls still looking for outlook….for me japanese car still consider reliable….

• contilover on Oct 08, 2018 at 2:44 pm

If you come in conti cars future mom in laws agree, if in jepunis cars they dun even want to get in