paultan.org PACE: New Audi Q5 2.0 TFSI quattro open for booking, coming in January, priced under RM360k

<em>paultan.org</em> PACE: New Audi Q5 2.0 TFSI quattro open for booking, coming in January, priced under RM360k

Alongside the Audi Q2, the new Audi Q5 is also being previewed at the Euromobil stand at the paultan.org Premium Auto Car Expo (PACE) until tomorrow. The BMW X3-rivalling premium SUV has been a long time coming, but it will finally arrive in January next year, according to sales representatives at the event – with the order books already open.

Those sales representatives also said that the car will be offered in 2.0 TFSI quattro trim retailing “under RM360,000,” putting it slightly above the X3 xDrive30i, Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 4Matic and Volvo XC60 T8 Twin Engine. It should be noted, however, that the Q5 will arrive in fully-imported (CBU) form, whereas the others are locally assembled (CKD); the GLC is also less powerful.

For that money, you get a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine making 252 hp and 370 Nm of torque. It’s the same mill found in the A4 2.0 TFSI quattro, paired to a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission and quattro permanent all-wheel drive.

This Singaporean unit is said to be representative of Malaysian specs, coming with LED headlights, 19-inch machined alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, powered front seats with driver’s side memory, triple-zone auto climate control, the 12.3-inch Audi virtual cockpit instrument display, an MMI navigation plus system with MMI touch and an 8.3-inch screen, a reverse camera and a handsfree powered tailgate.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kenneth fook on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:59 pm

As a past audi user, the service is really really bad. Think it makes more sense to get from a grey importer cause of the price and also you can service the car elsewhere. Also, for a car that has already been in the market so long and is only reaching malaysia now tells you that audi malaysia isnt too keen in the local market as well. Probably the volume, profit margin etc.. but trust me, the service is simply unbearable. Probably because i get the lowest range which the the previous gen A4.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2018 at 10:52 am

told audi malaysia to bugger off long ago. their sales people were so arrogant during the a6 hybrid days. wasnt even keen for us to test drive, basically he was like…this car many people want, u nak u beli, u tak nak tak apa.

that said, whatever happened to all the a6 hybrids? seems to have disappeared from the roads.

• Husaini on Nov 03, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Just booked Q5 this COTY. free RM500 petrol.

• Ramesh on Nov 03, 2018 at 1:33 pm

(Like) Audi Q5.
    (Dislike) Volvo XC60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2018 at 5:45 pm

spot the difference. this vs the old q5. and no thanks anyway. xc60 is much better. even that, there’s the x3 and glc to consider. only reason a person would buy this is if he enjoys unreliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4