E-hailers who refuse PSV licence will be ‘hauled up’

Any e-hailing driver who refuses to apply for the Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licence by July 12 next year will be hauled up, warns transport minister Anthony Loke. According to a report by The Star, the ministry has made it clear to all e-hailing companies, particularly Grab, that there would be no extension beyond the July 12, 2019 deadline.

“As far as I am concerned, by July 12, we will enforce it. If they do not have PSV, they are subject to enforcement. Do not give us excuses that it is difficult as we are making it very easy. Any business that you want to be involved in, there are procedures,” Loke said.

“If you are earning a few thousand ringgit, are you not willing to attend a few hours for a PSV course and spend RM200 for the licence? There should be no excuse,” he added.

This is in response to reports that some e-hailing drivers were complaining that the PSV licence was unnecessary, and that they would protest by quitting a month before the enforcement date kicks in.

“We want to make it a level playing field. What taxi drivers have to go through, e-hailing drivers must also go through the same regulations. Make it fair for everyone so that we can have a harmonious situation. We are legalising them (e-hailing drivers), making it easier to operate without being harassed. Is that too much to ask – for a simple licence?” Loke said.

To recap, the move is part of the government’s plan to regulate the e-hailing industry and create a level playing field with taxis. Taxi groups have long complained about the ease of which one can be an e-hailing driver, with no need to comply to the regulations that they are subject to. Well, things won’t be as ‘easy’ now. What’s your take on this, folks?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• azim.limo on Dec 03, 2018 at 11:47 am

Fair & square. Salute meritokrasi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Sam “Hailat” Loo on Dec 03, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Where got fair and square…? Will e-hailing drivers benefit from the 50% tolls and subsidised tyres like taxis do…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 03, 2018 at 11:50 am

Pity Grab drivers now subject to all sorts of regulations and fees just because teksi guys are jealous.

Grab and Uber gave the rakyat clean, not smelly teksis and honest system.

We the rakyat got fed up with cheating teksi drivers. Even I myself have been asked to pay RM300 for a ride from KL Sentral to KLCC which took a mere 10 minutes.

Malaysians were fed up with the cheating teksi drivers. All the time refuse to pick up passengers because of suka hati. Jam means or rain, tell the passenger don’t want to bring them. If bring them, even 1KM, they charge RM50

Rakyat got fed up with all these cheating. Then refuse to use meter. Those who use meter also, 9 out of 10 meters got gadget inside that can make the meter move faster. When JPJ want to inspect, then they remove the gadget, thus no detection.

We have had enough of cheating by the teksi abang abang.

Oh yeah, don’t forget about the huge number of dirty teksi drivers who talk dirty to women and try to peep into their skirts when they collect money.

Until today teksi drivers are non stop digging their nose and using 2 ten sen coins to cabut their bulu janggut at traffic lights…..time to change la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 18
    • James on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:59 pm

Relax. You can still have your grab service. Government not killing it, just regulate it, for your safety too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Regulate, or just taxing?
        How exactly are they regulating Grab drivers??
        — have they been regulating all the SAMSENG taxi drivers? Hello?? Just go outside Pavilion and see the long line of gangster taxi’s taking up one WHOLE lane, conning tourists.

• LRT User on Dec 03, 2018 at 11:53 am

Level the playing field means liberalising the market, not adding more rules on top and strangling the better competitor. Stupid, shortsighted decision.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • Taxi boleh on Dec 03, 2018 at 12:19 pm

If we are going for a “level playing field”, taxi drivers also have to take moral lesson classes. How to be more polite and courteous towards customer. Most importantly, how to not cheat and always use the fare meter. Send them back to annual refresher courses before license renewal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Dec 03, 2018 at 1:42 pm

just quit driving unless grab pays for the drivers.

• Eddie65 on Dec 03, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Please get a taxi app for taxi drivers so they can also have fixed rate every time…..no more charge suka suka.
    If they want the better competitor to have many restrictions and protest about it, are they prepared to have a fixed taxi fare system.
    Like in Singapore, the taxis and Grab’s fares are almost same. So the customer can chose whichever he wants.
    And while the whole world is talking about and going the free market way, we Malaysians always talk about protectionism and monopoly.
    Please move on la.

• FireAce on Dec 03, 2018 at 2:33 pm

What good does PSV course and license do? Did it contributing in creating good mannered & honest drivers?

You know, the next thing these Grab/E-hailing drivers gonna get after obtaining PSV? This will open up for argument in car insurance, new car warranty (to be treated as “commercial vehicle”). That means higher insurance premium and 18 months warranty for new car (instead of the normal 3-5 years). This will easily kills off half of the current e-hailing part timer drivers. We all lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • komarad on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:29 pm

so will they get the same toll rate as a taxi?

• Fireant on Dec 03, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Anthony Loke..Please do your research not because the taxi group gunning for you..means you must make life miserable for the Grab drivers..you said they make thousands.
    How many make how many thousands? Do you know the drivers have to bear their own car maintenance and fuel which is a heavy drain on whatever the make with Grab (as Grab is not giving so many bonus & incentives to drivers nowadays also they take a commission rate of 20 to 25%). Also quite a few are “part timers” who only drives occasionally when they have the spare time & they don’t make thousands per months…they do this to make ends meet not for fun.
    Also after this fiasco of PSV license will the grab drivers be given the toll discounts like taxis what about dedicated lanes for buses & taxis? (Also are taxi taxed like private cars???- If not will the Grab drivers be given a tax rebate on their private cars?)
    Where is your so called fairness…where is the data to back that up? Please don’t make the rakyat feel PH ministers are incapable of doing a good job. After all the rakyat voted you guys into Gomen to make lifes better..but after 6 months we don’t see any major improvements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • YB Anthony ar, why never start a major crackdown on the culprit taxi companies and drivers who are causing all the ruckus in the first place ? Do you think E-hailing cab service will be so popular if not because of the nonsense from local taxi baboons ? Live and let live la, prioritise your effort to clean the “Disease” among our taxi industry, then slowly you will see improvement in everything else.

• Benzs on Dec 03, 2018 at 10:32 pm

Pity Grab driver. No help from G and now has to be independent. All thanks to Taxi Driver who make so much noise.

• Korean Fan on Dec 04, 2018 at 2:47 am

Ok, now assume you want to do enforcement, under which law you are going to charge the grab drivers? Is there such a law that say I cannot carry a stranger as my passenger?

Imposing rule to grab means level playing field. Yeah. Its like imposing more rule to Real Madrid to make sure its opponents have level playing field. Come on la. I though DAP always for meritocrasy? But it seems like when you are in power, you still opt for protectionism. Is it very difficult to understand that level playing field means to get the taxi to use apps and being transparent and price competitive as Grab?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Must survive on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:45 am

Anthony, just say you want to make money for the Government la. Don’t give all sorts of BS.

• grab drivers on Dec 06, 2018 at 12:32 am

i really hope all the ehailing companies to standup together now to push the minister on everything we mentioned above.. please please do something.. the taxi companies & drivers are now all laughing at the ehailing companies & drivers