VW I.D. Lounge – seven-seat SUV to lead electric range

It appears that Volkswagen is preparing to unveil the fifth and crowning member of its I.D. range of all-electric models. According to an Autocar report, the Wolfsburg automaker will introduce a seven-seat flagship SUV, known internally – and perhaps temporarily – as the I.D. Lounge.

A concept model is said to be displayed at the Shanghai Motor Show in April 2019, and its exterior and interior dimensions would be similar to the outgoing Touareg. Underpinning the Lounge will be the largest version of Volkswagen’s new MEB platform (shared with the I.D. Buzz), featuring a staggeringly long wheelbase of 3,300 mm. At launch, it will rival the Tesla Model X and Nio ES8.

Its electrical driveline could also be similar to the I.D. Buzz, which uses two electric motors (each producing 201 hp) to drive all four wheels. The new age Microbus boasts a total system output of 369 hp, and uses a 111 kWh battery that provides a range of 600 km on the NEDC cycle.

Expect the same charging system (via Combined Charging System or inductive charging) to be featured, as well as fast-charging capabilities which allow the battery to be juiced up to 80% in just 30 minutes.

The I.D. Lounge is among three all-electric SUV models that will be introduced by 2022, with the other two being the I.D. Crozz (available in two versions). The first I.D. Crozz model to go on sale is apparently the more practical model, while the second features a coupé-like profile similar in appearance to the earlier I.D. Crozz concept (pictured here).

The introduction of the I.D. Lounge is another one of Volkswagen’s steps in the direction of Strategy 2025, which plots the company on a course to launch 30 new, fully electric vehicles by 2025.

The company will be investing heavily in new autonomous mobility solutions, with fully autonomous vehicles with a self-driving system developed in-house scheduled to enter the market by the beginning of the next decade. The automaker is also looking to make battery technology one of its core competencies, stating this would be the key to e-mobility.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• John lepak 8x on Dec 10, 2018 at 6:39 pm

So where is Toyota 7 seat EV SUV? This is result of lepak 8x tido 8x

• Ahmadjr on Dec 10, 2018 at 7:26 pm

Ini ciplak perodua concept

• Lokmanhssn on Dec 11, 2018 at 7:54 am

Bila Perodua ada design kereta sendiri? Cuba pegi overseas tengok, semua model Perodua sebenarnya adalah Daihatsu punya. Daihatsu pulak Toyota punya.

• junkard on Dec 11, 2018 at 8:48 am

Noone wants to cpoy p2 junk