A90 Toyota Supra now gets it rear leaked before debut

We’ve already seen the new Toyota Supra from the front without any camouflage, and just recently, the Japanese carmaker gave us a sampling of the sports car’s 3.0 litre straight-six engine. Now, another leaked photo posted on the SupraMKV forum gives us a look at the Supra’s rear.

Unsurprisingly, the styling draws heavily from the FT-1 concept that previewed the A90, with cues like the slim taillights and prominent spoiler on show, although it’s not clear if the latter will be retractable like on the concept.

The lower apron continues to feature a spoiler lip, an F1-esque LED fog light in the middle and a finned diffuser. Unlike the concept, the exhaust outlets on the production version do not get their own dedicated real estate, and are tucked closer to the diffuser instead.

Those who are addicted to nostalgia will be glad to know that Toyota has decided to use a familiar font for the ‘Supra’ lettering just below the boot shut line, which points towards the fourth-generation (A80) Supra that was the star of the first Fast and Furious movie.

With the front and rear ends of the new Supra already leaked, what do you think of the reborn sports car’s design? If you need more photos before you can form an opinion, look forward to the model’s official debut at next year’s North American International Auto Show in Detroit. It’s already been close to 12 years, what’s a few more weeks?

GALLERY: A90 Toyota Supra teaser

GALLERY: Toyota FT-1 concept at KLIMS 18

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Wow, look at this car. So beautiful. Sure our resident basher john get heart attack. YTD sales of Toyota in Malaysia is higher than Proton sales. That is shocking news. Toyota sold more vehicles than our local Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Hahaha…u still exist ar. Toyota in Malaysia already sinking. This Supra Minum Petrol 8X and the butt not beautiful, Stinger rear design better.

• syer1n on Dec 25, 2018 at 12:52 pm

how about for once, when the post is about toyota, talk about toyota?

• (Up) – new BMW Z4
      (Down) – new Supra

• dsgnr on Dec 25, 2018 at 9:35 pm

Waja said gimme back my beak

• panjang on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:07 am

Ah…now i know why Toyota sales are dropping year by year…They are setting Proton as their target to beat.

• Burhanuddin on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:55 am

Simple answer. Toyota got RV in Malaysia. Honda got RV in Malaysia, Nissan got RV in Malaysia, Mazda got RV in Malaysia

Proton got NO RV in Malaysia

• Burhanuddin Minum Teh 100X on Dec 26, 2018 at 5:54 pm

Simple correction. Toyota got no RV in Malaysia. Honda got no RV in Malaysia, Nissan got no RV in Malaysia, Mazda got no RV in Malaysia

Proton got the best RV in Malaysia

• Raja teasers on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:52 pm

I can predict that when debut there are no visitors as this car has been teased and leaked until everyone is bored

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
    • Talking nonsense on Dec 25, 2018 at 5:57 pm

You think you are a dukun? Can predict something in the future we don’t know

• syer1n on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:17 pm

i need this in my life.

• The parts that I like from the concept car was not translated over to the production model….

• Concept car just a concept, never same as mass production car, look like u dunno about the car industry.

• fugley on Dec 25, 2018 at 9:36 pm

Normal for jepunis to make fugley cars

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:36 pm

they stuck to the same supra logo

• Still teasing with this rebadge? What lar! Just release it, stop teasing here and there.

• mattdamonfan on Dec 24, 2018 at 9:46 pm

Selimut here selimut there main buka tutup. Just launch it already lah

• Full stop, that is BMW.

• Thats some x70 level of teasing….

• looks pretty dull n boring car
    shared platform with bmw z, proportionately the gt86 is much nicer than this

• Benedict on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:08 am

Am I the only person who thinks the front looks like a guy underwear with the bird?

• panjang on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:09 am

Nice to see they used the same font for ‘Supra’ name at the back.
    I wonder if the engine is over built like the 2jz….