SPYSHOTS: W223 Mercedes-Benz S-Class spotted testing again – interior reveals large touchscreen

Our spy photographers have provided us with more photos of the upcoming W223 Mercedes-Benz S-Class, which includes an early look at its revamped cabin. There’re also a few shots of the sedan’s exterior too, revealing a little bit more than what we saw in previous spyshots.

Focusing on the main topic at hand, the new S-Class appears to have ditched the W222’s Widescreen Cockpit, with the digital instrument cluster and main infotainment display now independent from one another. The former has a rather familiar look and should come with a myriad of customisation options like different screens and displayed information.

However, the latter is completely new as it is a tablet-style touchscreen that takes up quite a bit of real estate. The apparent goal here is possibly to minimise button clutter, as a few of the car’s controls – Dynamic Select, parking assistance system, HVAC and media – are now parked at the base of the large screen. The Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) user interface will likely be deployed here as well.

Elsewhere, we see a steering wheel design that is similar to the current W222, although the Touch Control looks to be different. The steering column-mounted gear selector is retained here, and the stalk has been made to appear more upmarket than before.

From the outside, the reduced amount of camouflage allows us to spot the S-Class’ production lights, including what appears to be tri-band Multibeam LED units at the front, and taillights that are wider. Meanwhile, the front fascia is as we’ve seen on previous mules, with strong influences from the latest CLS and A-Class.

The new S-Class will be built at the company’s Factory 56 facility, and should come with a range of six- and eight-cylinder engines. Hybrid variants should be included in the mix too, along with an all-electric version reportedly called the EQS. Reports indicate the standard S-Class models will ride on the MRA platform, while the EV gets the Modular Electric Architecture (MEA) instead.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• pakcik on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:17 am

I want my buttons!!!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 18, 2019 at 12:42 pm

I hope no Proton fanboys will come here and say X70 got S Class technology.

Cause past few months, fanboys kept on saying Proton X70 got AMG Technology from Mercedes just because Geely owns 10% shares in Mercedes AG Germany

• awg1031 on Feb 18, 2019 at 3:19 pm

That tablet-style touchscreen taken from Tesla parts bin

• MBUX aside, how about Autonomous driving L3?

• Blue-traveler on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:38 am

Well, I remembered one of my friend hated the vertical touch screen idea on Tesla cars, saying it’s too big, ugly and a distraction. It’s a terrible idea by a company that don’t know how to make cars. ( I sat in one and I like it, that’s how the conversation started, when I told him what it’s like to sit in a model s and 3.) Well he’s going to hate the new mercedes-Benz S class. definitely a company that don’t know how to make car too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Looks more like starship Enterprise than inside a car. Such large format touchscreen HU, cud they be adapting VolvoCar new Sensus2 system? If thats the case, newer Geely/P1 cars might oso use new MBUX2. The synergies of organisations working towards a common platform.

Mesidis, Geely, VolvoCar, P1, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C > all

• anonymous on Feb 18, 2019 at 10:55 am

why Paultan always take other site’s spyshot photos and put on own watermark?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 18, 2019 at 11:37 am

We have a paid running subscription for the spyshots, in this case from CarPix, and so we watermark it.

• Anonymouse on Feb 18, 2019 at 6:25 pm

Malaysia boleh… typical Malaysians always look down on other Malaysians

• Portrait tablet style infortaiment nowdays.. Copying tesla

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 18, 2019 at 11:37 am

Guess we will also see this in all the next gen models. I wonder if the new C could get this change too since it’s still under development.

• Test123 on Feb 19, 2019 at 6:37 pm

Mercedes showing Tesla how to put a huge touchscreen in a middle of the console

• Andrew Lee on Aug 28, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Many piano black
    Considering it’s Merc
    I bet the scratches will appear the moment u take out the plastic