2019 Volkswagen Tiguan updated with digital Active Info Display, new full-LED tail lights – no price hike!

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has announced a few updates for its Tiguan model. Beginning March 2019, all Tiguan models sold will be fitted with the new 2019 Active Info Display (AID) and revised LED tail lights.

The AID is a high-resolution display which incorporates two- and three-dimensional graphics for navigation and various in-car functions. There’s now a three-view customisable screen with over 30 combinations options, and the dials can also be customised to show a multitude of data. A full 3D view of the map for GPS navigation can also be selected.

Outside, the tail lights are full LED, complete with new graphics that apparently enhance visibility in less-than-ideal driving conditions. No other changes have been mentioned, and that includes the price. The Tiguan Highline’s price of RM165,990 remains unchanged, as is the Tiguan JOIN‘s RM175,990 price.

To recap, the Tiguan is powered by a 1.4 litre TSI four-cylinder engine that makes 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque. It’s married to a six-speed dual-clutch DSG transmission that routes power to the front wheels. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 8.9 seconds. Each purchase of the Tiguan comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty, as well as three-years free maintenance and five-years roadside assistance.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Where is Golf version?
    Golf are more expensive than Tiguan!
    What they doing man?

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Mar 07, 2019 at 11:41 am

It’s ok. This game changing update with full LED tail light will bury the X70 for sure. Habisla X70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 07, 2019 at 2:13 pm

You are right. Most of the time, VW does firesales. The Tiguan last year went down to RM125k even for a brand new unit.

So for RM125k, getting a Tiguan is really good value!

• Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Mar 07, 2019 at 3:27 pm

Volkswagen whole of last year sales only did 7,000. Proton X70 bookings up to date already reached 20,000. Habislah X70? That’s some strong weed you’re smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • XC60 or Tiguan on Mar 07, 2019 at 12:00 pm

The handsome car is more handsome now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Henry on Mar 08, 2019 at 10:30 am

Buy now, cry later, especially when you still have a balance of five years HP installments. LOL.

• Joan Nathan on Mar 07, 2019 at 1:37 pm

Be patient Ray! Golf will be fitted with ACtive Information Display “ACID” soon.

• tricycle on Mar 07, 2019 at 11:47 am

After 2 years, still waiting for VW Malaysia to bring in the 2.0 turbo awd wet clutch tiguan.

Be great, if it comes with adaptive cruise control as well.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 07, 2019 at 12:54 pm

Ohsum Tiguan got better spec than the Audi A2.

• Land below the Typhoon on Mar 07, 2019 at 4:04 pm

How Long will it last? LCD display panel and plastic LED lights can withstand the intense heat under the sun 365 days?

• Is this AID better or the previous version? I can see the screen size is smaller now.

• Jason on Mar 07, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Hmm very tempting between crv. Of course internal build qty will b better than crv. Cc wise almost negligible 1.5 & 1.4. Space goes to crv.. So only left with safety element to decide.. I guess.. Any comments folks…

• X70 Buyer on Mar 07, 2019 at 7:05 pm

Get Proton X70. It’s that simple.

• LuckyGong on Mar 07, 2019 at 8:31 pm

Try test drive and get the feel of the handling, then u will decide.

• Sam Loo on Mar 08, 2019 at 9:43 am

Get Camry better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Active on Mar 08, 2019 at 11:10 am

Test drive both then decide ….but u might end up wt the veedub once u drove both the crv & tiguan back to back…strength of all conti, the way it drive/handling.

• Refer from the SG car price… Tiguan(Comf) $142,900 Tiguan (High) 153,990 CRV (H) 132,999.00 The answer is obvious right?

• Saravana on Mar 07, 2019 at 10:35 pm

Hey folks,

I went for a test drive and man ‘o man.. this is a smooth drive i’ve ever been on.

I did test drive X70 too, but it’s too short to do any comparison. I’m planning to book 1 this month, any issues that i should be worry about or should i give X70 a try?

I currently drive Preve and CRV i’m not too keen, frankly speaking it’s overrated in my opinion.

• rider on Mar 08, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Yeap, if you test drive any vw you’ll be hooked, thats why the salesman’s strategy is to get u to test drive their cars….dont test drive if u dont want to end up with one.

• LuckyGong on Mar 09, 2019 at 5:26 pm

With nice handling, thats a car who wish to have

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 08, 2019 at 1:28 am

x70 so much better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Just realised a tiguan in the uk costs rm150k. A250 is 5k more expensive but here it’s 100k more

• Tongsan Mari on Mar 08, 2019 at 1:01 pm

Good car if it comes with yearly coupon for free tow car service.

Year 1 = 5 coupons
    Year 2 = 6 coupons
    etc

has to be incremental increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • LuckyGong on Mar 09, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Have u own a VW? Or just listen some talks and spread it without verify?

• TheDean on Mar 09, 2019 at 8:33 am

Was keen to know more about the updates until I was completely distracted by the tight fitting polo shirt wrapped in bow tie (???), shorts and red shoes (???).

• LuckyGong on Mar 09, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Was in VW showroom yesterday, trying to check out the so call ‘full LED tail light’, is it really a LED? Or just still the normal bulb ?
    Btw, the SA told there might be two version of Tiguan coming this year, the Tiguan R & Tiguan L 7 seaters, hopefully fitted 2.0 4WD and with the right pricing.