2020 Toyota Yaris Hatchback for US based on Mazda 2

While the new Toyota Yaris has just popped up on Toyota’s Malaysian website, over in America the Japanese carmaker is introducing another, completely unrelated car with the same name. With this, the Yaris moniker can now be found on three hatchbacks that share absolutely nothing with each other.

You see, while the European and Japanese markets soldier on with the third-generation Euro-centric model (which this car replaces in the United States) and the ASEAN market has its Vios-based equivalent, the North American model is based on the Mazda 2. This follows in the footsteps of the existing Yaris Sedan, and it also means that Toyota is replacing an eight-year-old car with one that first made its debut in 2014.

As with its four-door sibling, the Yaris hatch is practically identical to the donor car, with the exception of the radically redesigned front fascia. Here, you’ll find a huge trapezoidal grille, the size of which is exaggerated by the lines that radiate from it, giving the car a rather Predator-like look. The range-topping XLE variant gets automatic LED headlights as standard, and 16-inch alloy wheels are fitted across the range.

The interior is also a direct carryover from the Mazda, right down to the full-width air vent design on the dashboard and the freestanding seven-inch touchscreen. The latter, together with the rotary controller between the front seats, is connected to a version of Mazda’s MZD Connect infotainment system, now with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity as standard.

Other standard features include keyless entry, push-button start, fog lights, heated door mirrors, tilt and telescopic steering adjustment, navigation (SD card maps sold separately) and a Low-speed Pre-collision Safety System with autonomous emergency braking. The XLE throws in faux leather upholstery and automatic climate control and wipers.

The engine, as you’d expect, is also lifted straight from the Mazda – a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated SkyActiv-G petrol engine making 106 hp and 140 Nm of torque. Unfortunately for enthusiasts, the Yaris hatch is only available with the six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sparcov on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:30 pm

the new Toyota Yaris on a roll in USA & Bolehland!

• john Reborned on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:56 pm

I hope this Game Changing rebadged Mazda 2 also comes here. There will be 2 Game Changing Yaris on sale to Game the Iriz Over

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:59 pm

This car is such a beauty. This is full of quality. Anyway, don’t worry if you are unable to afford the Yaris. Just buy the 2018 Myvi. It is fully a Toyota with a Toyota engine.

The 2018 Myvi is the secret to owning a Toyota that cost RM90k but you just pay RM50k for it

How lucky Malaysians are!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • SK, Lim on Apr 03, 2019 at 12:55 pm

I go to Japan frequently and I have never spotted a single Myvi there. When I queried my engineer friends, they go blur because they never heard of a Toyota engine with id 1NR-VE or 2NR-VE. I don’t think you are telling the truth here. You sound like those Fanboys that stick Lexus badges on your Myvi just so you feel like you are driving a Lexus, but everyone knows it is still a Myvi. Why lie to yourself like that?

• Aura89 on Apr 03, 2019 at 8:10 pm

“Myvi is fully a Toyota with a Toyota engine”… :-) It’s time to put down the crack pipe, I think… :-)

• Damon Lee on Apr 02, 2019 at 11:04 pm

USA Yaris and Asian Yaris is not the same. Asian Yaris is the inferior car that cannot pass USA strict requirements.

• bieight on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:37 pm

this car damn ugly

• Seriously Toyota!! Taking an aged Mazda & rebadging it!! What happen to your global status as leading car manufacture, to much of demand till the think-tank unit & production line couldn’t cope up??

• The worthy Yaris. So follow Toyota USA tagline “if u wanna buy a gud Toyota, go buy a Mazda”

• Do we get the worst version?

• darth vader