Next-gen BMW 2 Series Coupé to stay rear-wheel drive

The arrival of the F44 BMW 2 Series Gran Coupé has added further complication to the 2 Series line-up, which currently has the rear-wheel drive Coupé, as well as front-wheel drive models like the Active Tourer and Gran Tourer MPV.

But amidst all the confusion, 2 Series product manager Gernot Stuhl said the Coupé model will go on as a rear-wheel drive model in the future, and the high-performance M2 will crown the range, Autocar reports.

The F44 2 Series Gran Coupé is a front-wheel drive model using the same FAAR platform as the F40 1 Series, and the range-topping GC is the M235i powered by the same B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine as the F40 M135i. BMW M won’t be making full-blown M versions of the M135i and M235i, with Stuhl saying that “there’s not much missing” in terms of driving dynamics.

In fact, BMW M president Markus Flasch said the front-wheel drive platform is not suitable for high-performance M. As it is, the 2.0 litre engine in the M135i, M235i Gran Coupé, and X2 M35i is the Bavarian company’s most powerful four-cylinder engine, making 306 PS and 450 Nm of torque. This also means BMW will not have a direct rival to the W177 Mercedes-AMG A 45 S 4Matic.

The good news is, Stuhl said “there will still be a hardcore BMW M2 for those that want it” when the next-generation 2 Series comes along. He did not reveal any technical details, but said “if you feel you need a compact car with more than 300 hp, there will be an offering for you in the BMW range.”

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Lanjak Gang Basikal Team (LGBT) on Oct 31, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Not a problem for coupe car remains as rear wheel drive since the seats for rear passengers are usually redundant not a concern on lag of leg room and access anyway.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 31, 2019 at 2:10 pm

Many of my friends driving 20 yr old Proton Putra think they have a BMW. All speed like crazy

• Sam KK Loo on Oct 31, 2019 at 10:01 pm

Many Malaysians driving Pariadua junk car think they have a BMW. All speed and sapu corner like crazy.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 31, 2019 at 3:13 pm

could have kept the 1 series as rwd, saves a lot of trouble?

can sense though, Gernot Stuhl secretly hates the fwd 1er