2020 Proton X70 CKD teased – launching on Feb 12

Proton has teased the new 2020 X70 CKD on its Facebook and Instagram pages, with an official launch set to take place this Wednesday, February 12. While both postings do not provide anything in terms of specifications, we already know quite a bit about what’s new with the locally-assembled, C-segment SUV based on an earlier leak.

The variant line-up will continue to feature four options, and they are the Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Premium 2WD and Premium X 2WD, with the Executive AWD – currently the sole variant with all-wheel drive – being dropped.

Visually, the X70 CKD looks almost identical to the CBU version, with the main changes being the new Proton logo on the grille. Strangely enough, the shot of the X70’s face in the video doesn’t show this change, and we still see the previous “tiger head” logo instead.

The leak also included photos of the interior, where we find the steering wheel boss now features the new logo, and there’s a redesigned gear selector as well. The latter sports a prominent “P” button at the top, and controls the new seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission, which replaces the CBU version’s six-speed torque converter automatic. You can learn more the new DCT here.

New items that are part of the X70 CKD line-up – as seen in a presentation slide – include a recline function for the 60:40 split-folding rear seats that is now standard across the board. From the Executive 2WD variant onwards, there is now a powered tailgate and front ventilated seats, with the former gaining hands-free operation on the Premium variants. A panoramic sunroof is also available, but only with the Premium X 2WD variant.

Mechanically, the 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 184 PS – remains the same, but peak torque has been given a bump to 300 Nm from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm, which is 15 Nm more than the previous 285 Nm from 1,700 to 4,400 rpm.

We’re just a few sleeps away from the introduction of the new 2020 X70, but for now, what do you think of the reported changes that come with the CKD version?

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 10, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Overall the quality should not drop by a lot since Geely is controlling the QC….or so I hope. Plus with the new kit and no hike in price, I believe sales will continue to do well for this year. Once the hype dies down it’ll be a different story.

• Hafiz Hisham on Feb 10, 2020 at 11:08 pm

Once the hype drops, the X50 comes in to lift it again. Like a tsunami waves come pounding the market changing the automotive landscape.

• Hybrid EV AI Autonomous on Feb 11, 2020 at 8:05 pm

You may see many Land of the rising sun salespersons coming in a drove, mountain of technical and engineering new applications, more overseas (InterGroups-Div) transfer and crossover opportunity. Unlimited access to new techs, platform and architecture.

• Celup King on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:24 am

These Japan fanboys sure talk a lot about gamechanging new technology but they had been talking about it since 17 years ago. This isn’t something new if it comes from 2003 aka Perodua Kenari Hybrid. And still we cannot see the car here, so what gamechanging are they talking about now? I don’t see their gamechanging car, all I see is their gameover talk.

• dct will scare buyer for sure. wrong move by proton this time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 58
    • Clorox on Feb 10, 2020 at 9:38 pm

But both honda CVT & honda Dry DCT will very scary to the customer.

• Most p1 bashers here are from nearest competitor we all know who

• Ben Yap on Feb 10, 2020 at 1:49 pm

even with the torque bumped up, the accelaration cannot beat the Civic turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 54
    • Thanks captain obvious. What a genius comparing an SUV to a sedan

• Ken Yap on Feb 10, 2020 at 9:21 pm

Civic Turbo can’t compare with X70. Even, civic torque bumped up and speed increases, you will hear car jerking that cannot drive fast more.

• Civic turbo numbers only impressive on paper not on real world / road

• Tse Tung on Feb 11, 2020 at 8:34 am

Cannot top Lamborghini Urus too.

• Aikon on Feb 11, 2020 at 12:25 pm

That’s a car you’re comparing with…Do spend some time in thought first next time before you make such comments…

• Congrats, you just synonymized your name Ben Yap with Bengap.

• Honda Can Go Fly Kite on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:10 pm

Definitely, X70 price going to reduce that comes CKD then everyone will not going to purchase CRV.

CRV is very expensive but no Honda Sensing with poor quality and aftersales services, unlike X70. As X70 gives better specs with super high quality and aftersales service

Such A Lousy Honda MY Management

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
  • Apricot on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Finish Honda Malaysia and their arrogant attitude that gives a car with many issues on quality and aftersales services. Even upcoming City Turbo and other Honda models doesn’t have AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Nobody will touch this brand. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”.

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 14
  • msia driver on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:12 pm

A Proton SA says they already get 50k++ booking already before official launched date, and need to wait 8 months to get the car, super hot selling car in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Garffield on Feb 11, 2020 at 10:55 am

Nice tactics to put off other people from booking. Thanks, should be getting my unit sooner than :P

• We all know rival salesmen from you-know-which brands are too free from empty showrooms to come here and spread falsehoods.

• Humaam on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:32 pm

X70 have higher resale value, good quality and good aftersales service than CRV and any honda models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • skodamalaysia on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Good luck with the dct, the dct cannot support 4wd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • I dont understand... on Feb 10, 2020 at 7:50 pm

What exactly are u trying to say?
      X70 does not comes in 4WD. They does sell AWD version before but it is drop in the new line up.
      Or..
      u r trying to say DCT can cope with SUV body?

There is clear difference between 4WD and AWD, its like durian and rambutan.

• Hantu Raya on Feb 10, 2020 at 10:27 pm

Ada je dct yg boleh support AWD macam Evo X, R35, Quatro. Tapi kalau u kata DCT Geely yg tak boleh support AWD, tu lain cerita.

• Tse Tung on Feb 11, 2020 at 8:36 am

New X70 doesn’t have 4WD.

• Ah yes, the non reading type

• Anonymous on Feb 11, 2020 at 8:52 pm

The only limiting factor to any type of gearbox is torque. It doesn’t matter what drive system it has, and DCT is far from being the weakest gearbox. Hyundai Kona has a DCT and 4WD. Bugatti Veyron and Chiron has DCT and they too have 4WD.

• Truckers on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:34 pm

All are waiting breathlessly….. the King will be here.

• lilytan on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:39 pm

With local labour and parts, it would be interesting to see if the quality would be improved or not.

• well im just here for the flame war between the two fanboys i dont really carr about the car that much tbh

• Mr Visionary on Feb 10, 2020 at 3:35 pm

Habislah, proton should stick with the original stick gear lever, because with this wired gear lever, if the gear lever wire putus, then habislah at the roadside, that’s why proton is called the king of being at roadside waiting for tow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
    • Get to know your fatcs right on Feb 10, 2020 at 9:03 pm

First look up what is drive by wired then come and comment here. BMW, MERCEDES, AUDI and ect European cars are drive by wire that means it uses electronic not a physical cable.

• JOACHIM on Feb 11, 2020 at 9:31 am

BMW have the same gear lever and I have never heard of BMW gear levers breaking loose. More fake news from Kunta?

• QChan on Feb 11, 2020 at 9:32 am

“if the gear lever wire putus”

This is hilarious !

You would do well if you google what Drive-by-Wire means……… : )

• X50 pls on Feb 10, 2020 at 3:39 pm

Not sure is just me, the logo since looks better designed.

• Carfan on Feb 10, 2020 at 3:41 pm

This further proves perodua Aruz will have the last laugh and be the salea king compared to x70. Gearbox? Aruz 4 speeder has been proven to be durable compared to problematic dual clutch,. Practicality? Aruz got 7 seaters enough said. Engine and power? X70 even got turbocharged engine still slow as snail, just spend a few thousand ecu remap and add turbo to the Aruz, straight tapao x70. Handling? Aruz confirm win because of rear wheel drive. Yet it is cheaper than x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
  • Syerin on Feb 10, 2020 at 3:54 pm

For fellow readers not able to play the video, the video literally says this:

“Hi proton”
    “How may i help you?”
    “Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Habislah X70 with the DCT…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Sarmad on Feb 10, 2020 at 4:19 pm

I hope no honda fanbois doesn’t come here and talk nonsense about dct proton issues. These means that you never experience for driving proton before. Look yourself, why everyone boycott honda malaysia when aftersales service and quality is bad. As well as mostly honda models have lacking of safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Tahniah! HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!

• Shazwan on Feb 10, 2020 at 4:51 pm

Lucky China, Geely and Li Chunrong saved Proton, otherwise, Proton will have nothing to be proud about.

Proton’s success is all Geely’s top quality products. Malu Malu Malu for Proton because for 30 years they never learnt how to create a sellable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Fordist on Feb 12, 2020 at 9:26 am

Lucky China, Geely and Li Chunrong saved Volvo, otherwise, Volvo will have nothing to be proud about.

Volvo’s success is all Geely’s top quality products. Malu Malu Malu for Volvo because for 80 years they never learnt how to create a sellable car.

• nice car but the RB16 and RS20 are launching on those dates those are the main highlights

• Daddykasi on Feb 10, 2020 at 6:21 pm

Gov have buy for menteri

• Fairplay on Feb 10, 2020 at 8:33 pm

Postings is on x70…. Yet immature comments about other makes pulak. Funny

• Proton marketing really sumthing.
    It’s juz a freaking ckd model with very little change…still want to produce teaser
    Just release the damn thing la…already delayed from earlier talk

• If you look at Toyota putting All New in front of the Vios despite using chassis from 10 years ago this is mild sauce, dude.

• luv suv on Feb 11, 2020 at 11:42 am

I’ll wait till the excitement died down before going for a test drive. Might want to visit service center to see any attitude change after all these years. If same attitude, better buy korean.