Why is the manual transmission going extinct in Malaysia? Because so few of us are buying them

I pondered the question above when I recently decided to buy a simple car with a manual transmission. Basic safety equipment was a must for me (ABS and stability control at the very minimum), so the manual Perodua Bezza and Axia and Proton Saga were immediately out of the question, as they were all only available in base spec – no ESP on the Bezza and Saga, and not even ABS on the driving school-spec Axia.

That left just the Proton Iriz and Persona and the Perodua Myvi as the three entry-level options for those looking specifically for manual cars. I ended up buying the Iriz because it was cheap and it had a good track record as far as safety was concerned.

It was an easy choice, but it was also disappointing that there weren’t more options on the market. Manual cars are usually driven by either a) new/young drivers with cheap starter cars bought by their parents, or b) old drivers who insist on a manual because that’s what they are used to – and refuse to make the switch to an automatic gearbox.

If you’re buying a car for either of these drivers, you’d want to give them at least the bare minimum of safety features that I’ve mentioned, so it’s baffling that the options are so limited. It’s these people who are the last bastion of the manual gearbox, not “car enthusiasts” who like shifting their own gears – the latter are a dying breed, and clearly there weren’t that many of them to begin with.

This move towards offering fewer and fewer manual variants is fairly new. The Axia’s manual gearbox used to be offered up to SE spec at its initial launch in 2014, but it’s now only available on the base-spec E as of the latest 2019 facelift. It’s the same story with Bezza – buyers could previously opt for the MT for everything up to the penultimate 1.3 Premium X spec, but now only the 1.0 Standard G has it.

As for the Myvi, the previous generation was available with a manual up to the 1.5 SE, but since the latest model was introduced in 2017, you could only get it with the 1.3 Standard G. Demand for a do-it-yourself transmission is so low that even the holdouts at Proton have followed suit.

The Saga and Persona were both offered with an Executive MT up until 2016, but since then the manual is only offered on the base Standard. The Iriz is even more extreme – the hatchback was launched with a manual option on every single engine and variant, including the top 1.6 Premium. Now it’s only on the 1.3 Standard that I bought.

Why the reduction? Because too few people bought the manuals, as simple as that. Demand for higher-spec or bigger-engined variants with a manual was nearly non-existent, so much so that it just didn’t make economic sense for both brands to offer them anymore.

The “enthusiasts” who were always clamouring for higher-spec/bigger-engined manuals evidently didn’t buy enough of them. “If got manual, I sure buy!” was often said, but rarely ever executed. Many were proud to make this claim, but when the time came to put their money where their mouth was, most shied away.

The Iriz 1.6 Premium MT was a prime example – it’s rumoured that only a single batch of between 400-500 units was ever produced, and even that took a while to sell out. No further demand to restart production either. It’s the same with Perodua, hence the move to stop making such variants.

Now, manuals are there solely to drop the starting price of the model ranges, and to continue serving the tiny demand that is getting smaller by the day. The Perodua Aruz isn’t even offered with an MT, and Toyota stopped selling the Vios J manual with the launch of the newest model last year. And while the Nissan Almera manual is still on sale, don’t count on it surviving when the 2020 model comes in. The manual Kia Picanto was recently killed off too.

But exactly how low is the demand for manual gearboxes here? I reached out to Proton, and it said that in 2019, only five percent of all Sagas, three percent of Irizes and two percent of Personas sold were equipped with a manual gearbox. To put that into perspective fewer than 2,700 of the over 67,000 units of the Saga, Iriz and Persona had stick shifts. That’s less than four percent combined!

Perodua declined to give their breakdown, but expect it to be just as dire as Proton’s, if not worse. Back in 2016, it did announce that out of the first 25,000 bookings for the Bezza, only four percent were manuals. Since then, it has dropped the Bezza 1.3 MT, so clearly the low demand has continued since.

Now, you can’t say that the manual numbers are low now because they’re only offered on the base variants. “If got high spec manual, I’d go book one right now!” Again, often said but not followed through, because such variants were once offered, but met with minuscule response.

The same goes for more expensive and even enthusiast-level cars in Malaysia too. One only needs to look at the Mazda MX-5. At launch, plenty of so-called car enthusiasts claimed that if Bermaz ever brought in the manual, they’d be lining up to put down their hard-earned cash for one. Once Bermaz actually did do that with the MX-5 RF, that line never resulted in actual sales. In fact, the manual launch unit was on display at the flagship Glenmarie showroom, unsold, for years since then. It’s probably still there right now!

So there you go. Numbers do not lie. No car brand will stop offering them if the demand is there. By now it’s proven that there isn’t any left, so don’t blame them if they’re no longer making such options available.

The manual transmission is only dying in Malaysia because we are letting it die. It’s a shame, sure, but again, those who keep complaining of it are equally to blame – if enough of you had followed through, maybe we wouldn’t be in this situation now.

What do you think?

P.S. The paultan.org crew owns no less than 12 manual cars at the time of writing, with quite a few more in the past. Just in case you’re wondering ;)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Why the need to go manual and torture your left foot in the jam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 80
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:23 pm

That’s a legit concern, but here I’m addressing the many who complain that we don’t get enough manual cars in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 4
      • Best most affordable and exciting to drive manual daily car is my Gen2 CPS MANUAL. Stick shift rulez Haf bro!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
        • Aikon on Jul 01, 2020 at 8:47 am

Totally agreed. That was one sweet car! And, it came in premium spec too. Too bad not enough bought it

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 01, 2020 at 8:55 am

The only reason people adopt AUTO is because of the jam. And most people cannot afford to keep another MANUAL for their weekend fun-drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • I using daily travels on Federal hiway bro. Jams? What jams? It only takes getting used to driving efficiently in jams. Even auto car oso will get tired in jams lorr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
        • newme on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:24 am

Gen2? hahaha… Aib tu simpan baik2. Nak sebut pun malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
          • Brian on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:45 am

Hahaha. Spoken like someone who never drove that sweeettt ride. When you never seen the light, you assumed the world is dark.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
          • Belum cuba, belum kamu tau.
            Sekali rasa, suruh lepas pun tak mau.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHHA!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Asrul Fadzli on Jun 18, 2021 at 11:03 pm

i really2 like manual than auto

• Ikengkai on Jul 01, 2020 at 8:50 am

Sold my Gen2 1.6 manual, Y2015, Campro kosong few years back.
        Initially, salesman told RM4000, later said no demand for manual and traded for RM3000. And RM100 ownership transfer charge, end-up I only got RM2900 for a ~13 year Gen2 1.6 M.
        The MyVi from friend, bought in 2016 and 1.3 Auto, end up with RM8500 to second-hand car shop after 13 years.
        If Haf bro keep the car for 20 years, then alright….

• Brian on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:48 am

I still see Year 2010 Gen2 High Line selling at RM8000 on 2nd hand dealer websites. You just got scammed by 2nd hand dealers as usual.

I wouldn’t mind getting one if only I had extra parking space at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Ikengkai on Jul 01, 2020 at 11:02 am

Typo. Y 2005 for Gen2. Y2006 for MyVi

• I was seeking for Manual with higher spec. but most of the time Manual only got lowest spec. that leave me no choice. Manual can feel the power better and fuel economy which many don’t know appreciate it.

• Sick & Tired on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:25 pm

Satria GTi M which i still owned, has gotta be the best manual car ever sold here under 80k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
      • potato on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:22 pm

GTi is like Sunbear in Malaysia. Every hunter is looking for it even though hunting it is illegal.

• Hasif on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Then the right foot got alot of exercise…left is abandoned. Walk also senget lah. Big problem.

• Been driving manual in KL since I gotta my license, Never one single complain on my left foot while jam, to be honest, i felt more tired on my right foot driving on auto cuz i need to kept change brake and throttle, brake and throttle.

I dont hate manual, just that as an enthusiast, i sure will get a manual if still got offer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Troll on Jan 24, 2021 at 1:22 am

Aiya..u drive viva manual with soft clutch mah..sure not so tired loh

• Asrul Fadzli on Jun 18, 2021 at 11:04 pm

YES

• kosumaledoko on Nov 08, 2021 at 10:11 am

Same here. Been driving since 2009 in KL. First car Kelisa manual, second car Swift Sport 31S manual, and coming soon W124 manual. Driving manual is just more engaging and fun, rev match while downshift, push to redline… etc.

Manual for live!

• Aikon on Jun 30, 2020 at 6:57 pm

Pretty baby blue Iriz FL there, Friz. Is that manual?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:24 pm

It’s silver, actually. And yes, it’s a manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • JohnyB on Jun 30, 2020 at 10:30 pm

Good on you, hope you enjoyed the car. I really wished I have gotten a manual iriz, but I ended up with a full spec Persona with CVT in 2018. At the time of buying, I really looked for a manual, but iriz only comes with a 1.3 and looses out alot of the features that I look for. But after driving the CVT for some time now, I can only say I don’t like it, even preferred the 4AT in Saga FL that I have before this. CVT from Punch/Proton is horrible, with lots of vibration and jerky at low RPM, and the Campro just not fuel efficient enough.

• Great choice Sir! on Jun 30, 2020 at 11:39 pm

Looking forward for your in depth review – 2020 Iriz Manual vs the underated …2020 Saga Manual soon!

• Now I know Haf bro is a real P1 fan. The confidence in him to buy 2 P1 cars is very gud sign of things to come. Enjoys ur cars bro!

• Same here, insist of getting the blue colour, end up waiting for 2 months (MCO n stuff) just to get the car… but worth waiting the manual Iriz

• Bieight on Jun 30, 2020 at 6:59 pm

Bmw manual transmission are horrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • Mel T on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:01 pm

Sad but true, Hafiz. Wanting to go back to roots of pure motoring, I was on a hunt for a manual sports car for the weekend drive. It took me quite awhile to finally land on a used car with a stick shift, with excellent condition and price point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Raymond Kiing on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:02 pm

Because no continental dealer want to bring them or make them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:17 pm

Yes they do. Peugeot has both the 208 GTi (which I still own) and 308 GTi, both manual. Renault has the Megane RS.

Previously Volkswagen sold a few manual units of the Polo GTI. Too expensive? Ford sold the Fiesta manual too, alongside the Fiesta ST. And so did Kia with the Picanto.

Further back in time, there was the Fiat Bravo (which I owned). None of these cars sold well. So no, we really cannot blame car manufacturers for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • Alex Tai on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:14 pm

Hey Hafriz, you have made a good point, however the fiesta only had a manual for its base spec without the bells and whistles (good was the 7 airbags but meh radio unit with a 1.4 instead of a 1.6, normal seats etc), which lost its appeal. The ST although an amazing car was almost twice the price of a Fiesta. It seems that a stick shift is only available for models on 2 opposite ends, the base spec and a CBU with a premium price tag. So in a way, the car dealership is partly at fault here.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:26 pm

Car companies make decisions on what to offer based on Malaysian consumer buying pattern. It’s now a clear fact that offering manuals is a big risk, one that many agree is not worth taking. I mean, they can’t ALL come to the same conclusion, can they?

As mentioned above, the Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium MT is a prime example of a high spec car offered with a manual transmission. As high specs as it gets, really, for its time (even now 6 years later, actually). But demand was so low that there was never a chance for Proton to even consider making more after the slow selling first batch of units.

If Malaysians really wanted manuals, more would have bought them, low spec or high spec, regardless. There would be more on the sales records. But evidently that’s not the case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
          • This P1 offering is a clear cut case of market not doing what they said they will if given the gud choice. Alredi got Iriz 1.6MT with hi-specs but still most buyers go for automatic. Only ones taking MANUAL r driving skools. Topkek betui.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:00 pm

Agree with Alex Tai. Another example Ford Focus, you can’t get a manual Ford Focus but need to get ST model which is far more expensive.

• ManualUser on Jul 01, 2020 at 2:35 pm

I too drove a Focus n was looking for a manual but none offered. The Vios available last time was also kosong/low spec’d. I’m on a Honda now but auto. I just bought an old Ptoton manual to drive.

• Call me by your name on Jun 30, 2020 at 10:22 pm

Even if the dealers brought it in would u buy?

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:09 pm

Manual cars in Malaysia

In the 2000s
    BMW 116i
    Fiat Bravo
    Hyundai Accent
    Hyundai Atos
    Hyundai Getz
    Hyundai Matrix
    Naza Bestari
    Nazda Forza/Sutera
    Nissan Grand Livina
    Nissan Latio
    Nissan Sentra
    Perodua Alza
    Perodua Kancil
    Perodua Kelisa
    Perodua Kembara
    Perodua Kenari
    Perodua Myvi
    Perodua Viva
    Proton Arena
    Proton Exora
    Proton Gen2
    Proton Persona
    Proton Saga
    Proton Satria
    Proton Savvy
    Proton Waja
    Proton Wira
    Suzuki APV
    Toyota Avanza
    Toyota Corolla Altis
    Toyota Fortuner
    Toyota Innova
    Toyota Rush Toyota Unser
    Toyota Vios

In the 2010s
    BMW 2 series active tourer
    Ford Fiesta
    Great Wall M4
    Hyundai Elantra
    Hyundai i10
    Kia Picanto
    Mitsubishi Attrage
    Mitsubishi Mirage
    Nissan Sentra
    Nissan Latio
    Nissan Grand Livina
    Nissan Almera
    Perodua Alza
    Perodua Axia
    Perodua Bezza
    Perodua Myvi
    Perodua Viva
    Proton Ertiga
    Proton Exora
    Proton Gen2
    Proton Inspira
    Proton Persona
    Proton Iriz
    Proton Preve
    Proton Saga
    Proton Satria
    Proton Savvy
    Proton Waja
    Suzuki Alto
    Toyota Avanza
    Toyota Innova
    Toyota Rush
    Toyota Vios

In the 2020s
    Perodua Axia
    Proton Saga
    Perodua Bezza
    Proton Iriz
    Proton Persona
    Perodua Myvi
    Perodua Alza

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • Vtecking on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:53 pm

You left out…fiat coupe 16vt, 16v 20v, 20vt and 20vt plus. True manual gb. No auto option even globally.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:01 am

2000s Suzuki Swift Sport, Volkswagen Polo GTi, Peugeot 308 Gt, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution
      2010s Honda Civic Type R, Mazda 3 MPS, Ford Fiesta ST, Ford Focus ST, Peugeot 208 Gti, Peugeot 308 Gti, Subaru WRX STI, Renault Megane RS
      2020s, Renault Megane RS, Hyundai I30N, Honda Civic Type R, Subaru WRX STI

Well, there is more but lazy to type..

• Shuhairy on Jun 27, 2021 at 10:24 pm

Mine one as not stated here….. Perodua Rusa 1.6 … only manual option were produce in its variance 1.3 & 1.6….. Bought it after married in 2010 and letting go my 1st model Honda Ballade Sport CR-X… Of course manual dude….

• azrai on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:24 pm

The “enthusiasts” who were always clamouring for higher-spec/bigger-engined manuals evidently didn’t buy enough of them. “If got manual, I sure buy!” was often said, but rarely ever executed. Many were proud to make this claim, but when the time came to put their money where their mouth was, most shied away.

Haha..spot on typical comments from those ‘enthusiasts’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • No Afraid on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:26 pm

In my first 5 years of driving experience, I owned a daihatsu charade manual, after that 20 years or various car models and all auto.

Last 3 years discovered the love of driving a manual car again, found a used Gen2 CPS and never regretted the buy.

Real men drive 3 pedals!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
    • Aikon on Jul 01, 2020 at 8:53 am

Glad you’re another fan of that car. I just sold mine about a year back. Hope the new owner is enjoying it. It is way more engaging and fun to drive than my current ‘bought-out-of-necessity’ car now.

When driving up Genting, I really do miss that old car. Not a fault in the 8 years I owned it.

• Fist bump fellow bro owner!

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2020 at 4:03 pm

Bro fist! Gen2 CPS MT is a killer package that is simply unrivalled!

Now going for around rm10k+-, it’s just difficult to match its offering, a decently sized car, recent enough, yet fun ride and handling, rev happy, decent fc, dirt cheap maintenance, you can’t quite top that.

In my 3 years ownership and counting, the only non-regular maintenance done was to replace starter motor. Struggled to start a few times, but never left me stranded, just needed to try a few attempts. Changed the solenoid inside for rm150, now cranks easily like new.

I am so settled and content, it’s a joy to own. Sometimes some people ask if i wanna change car, i just smirk and thought why should i. I’m debt free, the car just works, good fc, comfy, looks presentable, modern enough for normies, dirt cheap maintenance, insurance, road tax, so why bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • C.P. MOHAN on Jun 30, 2020 at 7:29 pm

The progression is manual/auto, design/engines electronic technology, EV and lastly, too me, Autonomous driving.

• Most of the cases, manual normally offered in basic spec model, which need to sacrifice many cosmetic selling point or even safety features.

Do we have any full spec car models with manual option?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:04 pm

Not anymore, we don’t. But we once did, and still very few people bought them.

• pyraxle on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:17 pm

We have Proton Iriz 1.6 premium (full spec) manual back in 2014 @ only RM59k. Comes with 6 airbags, ESC, TC, hill-hold assist, DRL, auto fold side mirror & touchscreen infotainment with reverse cam. Ever heard/read about it? Or you don’t want to recognize it as one of full spec manual car because it is a Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:53 pm

The Iriz 1.6 Premium MT was mentioned in the article.

• Fattah on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:04 am

Did you even read the full article? Not only was that mentioned, it was highlighted as one of the best example of Hafriz’s case.

• Over last 25 Years, I bought 5 new cars. All of them is manual. the car I drive now is Ford Focus ST MK3 (manual). Manual at Malaysia is always the lowest possible spec that cutoff many features, inclusive those important safety features.

• Lavender on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:20 pm

We have Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium full spec in manual form once upon a time. Most people don’t bother to look let alone buy one because it’s a Proton although it’s one of the well specced manual car that time. Sighhhh

• Torsion beam iriz.

Cannot match satria multilink, better with R3

• Despite that, the suspension setup for Iriz is still the best among most cars with torsion bars. Even Mesidis A Keras torsion bar version cannot match.

• Can you please do an article/review about your personal Iriz ?

• BbalingBiru on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:14 pm

Ha ha… manual-boy racers have all turned old… no heir left. Their younger gen only interested in driving Forzas…

• Manuals are dying because electric are the future ! on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:15 pm

Probably the move to autonomous cars are inevitable.. Hence, why us “enthusiasts” don’t bother buying manuals any more. Heck, why spend the money for a ICE car when the future is electric? It is also easier to launch an automatic transmission on those short “drag race” occasions off the traffic lights :D

• Rulered on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:21 pm

Sent my son for his first driving lesson today and upon coming home he complaint that having to control release the clutch as he presses on the throttle was really hard. I smiled and said, “you’ll get use to it”. After the conversation I sat down with my wife asking the same question as this article. When I grew up, , cars were manual transmission until proven otherwise but things changed where today, cars are generally auto transmission. All this took place in just under 20-30 years. As for the future, I think electric cars will be the norm and I think things will change even more rapidly. Now I’m not sure whether insisting my son to learn manual transmission is the right advice, I feel like I’m forcing my learning experience on him. Oh well, at least its cheaper than lessons using AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • Manual test easy saje lahhh. Take it easy

• If u decide base on economical: Opt for auto.

Manuals is about listening to the engine, anticipate road condition & take action. Not forgetting the art of clutch balancing. It took skill to master it.

Learn to drive manual & understand how car mechanical works will definitely teach him in becoming better driver, instead of just a P-R-N-D driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:40 pm

Not to brag about manual transmission. I kind of old school one and my current ride is Bezza 1.3 Premium X manual. I remember when I asked by sales person to collect car, he did ask me whether I want to change my mind to change to automatic but I immediately said no and signed all documents to drive the car away.

By the way, here is an information on pre-facelift Bezza 1.3’s manual gearbox. It’s a close-ratio (first three gears) gearbox with two overdrive ratios (fourth and fifth gear).

• theanswer on Jul 01, 2020 at 8:58 am

usually they just want to push the sales. auto version usually ready stock while manual need to wait bcause less stock.

• Bruce on Jun 30, 2020 at 8:46 pm

Gen2 CPS Manual H-line owner here. Concern before buying manual, after buying? Never regret.
    Problem now? Couldn’t find the next suitable manual car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • No regrets bro. Me enjoying my Gen2 CPS MANUAL since 2008.

• Aikon on Jul 01, 2020 at 8:58 am

Hmmm, with so many good reviews on this car, it may soon become a sought after used buy for manual enthusiasts. You don’t really need much to make it really fun too. A full R3 exhaust, lightweight 15″ wheels and good tyres with slightly better shocks and brakes than the stock would do already.

• Monana on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:09 pm

Proud owner of Mercedes C Class (W203), year 2005 facelift with 6-speed manual transmission here.

2 types of peoples came to see me with the intention of buying the car from me:

1. People who have no interest in manual tranny at all. They expect they can buy cheap from me, saying “Alaa, manual aje, patut jual murah la”. In their mind, they really like how the bright, red color, PPG original paint, like AMG and Brabus version, Germany built quality, black interior, black seats, newer meter panel compared to the pre-facelift model. They know most car of this model have white upholstery that looked good while new, but mostly dirty this day. This type of people keep asking for lower price without test drive.

2. People who really enjoy driving manual car and at the same time like the exterior and the interior. They know how rare is manual tranny in this model of Mercedes and it is 6-speed. This kind of people, when I told the selling price, they didnt haggle. They test drive and really impress with the low mileage (around 160,000 km for 15 year old car, about 10,000 km per year) and the smoothness of the transmission (all original Mercedes liquids) and ask me to not sell the car just yet. Ha ha.

(No, I’m not selling as for now)

My point is, the first type of people really annoying and “jelik” to me. You are right Hafriz! I believe many from the first type here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:09 am

Second type over here. Hard to say but its true, there is just not many second type of peole that I met here in Malaysia.

• TanKeng on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:13 am

Yeah, the first type usually drive according to their ears to change gear, not the rpm meter. Their shifting skill is horrible. They are supposed to drive fully by their hand, not involving any foot at all.

• MeiLi on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:20 am

Wow, W203 manual! Everybody driving other manual tranny cars deal with the 3 pedals, but you, my man, dealing with 4. Parking brake. Haha.

• K.Tan on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:29 am

U know what, the car companies in Malaysia are the reason for us having the 2nd type of people here. They give manual for the lower spec car. It then makes people think that any manual car are the cheapest variant. I’ve met people who really like Civic Type-R, the design etc. but he didnt know that Type-R is a manual tranny car until I told him. What a joke.

• iriz 1.6 premium manual. wish to have one.

• Dulu ada why no buy?

• janus mun on Oct 04, 2020 at 5:40 pm

i had 1 with me now since 2014,red,5 speed manual,mileage only 67k,accident free,good to drive….sounds good too!

• AkooIm on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Real man use 3 pedals…

…wise man use 2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Moving Forward on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:48 pm

Thanks Hafriz for bringing this out. I am still keeping my Picanto manual and i30 FD manual and occasionally take them for a spin. Still working on a budget to include a Toyobaru and/or Miata into the manual fleet. Hopefully the days won’t be too far away before the manual option died off

• Ronald on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:52 pm

What you have written is much true.

I am a manual driver myself and I always love driving a manual.
    Even though I get stuck in KL traffic, I actually don’t mind..

hahaha kudos to all them manual drivers and let this legacy continue..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Mohd. Nadzri bin Zubit on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:56 pm

After paying out car loan for 9 years, one would really do much more thinking about buying new one.
    Readily, the manual car bought are well kept & managed. Round it, as reliable as a manual car.
    Maintenance are not cheap in Malaysia as well as spare parts, unless you are really, really bonded with the mechanic.

• panjang on Jun 30, 2020 at 9:56 pm

I’ve driven few car for some time, some with manual and some auto. For me, it depends on how good a gb+engine combination perform with the chassis and how it made me feel.

For example, driven a Neo CPS manual for some time. This car should only be bought with a manual tranny. Will i drive it daily? Answer is No. Will i drive it daily if its an auto? Answer still No.

I got a waja 1.8 auto. The auto box is so good that i dont miss manual tranny with its quick adaptive behavior and kickdown. Waja 1.6 should be bought with manual tranny as the autobox is lazy and does not do justice to the engine and chassis. I dont mind driving the 1.8 auto daily but wont do so with Waja 1.6 auto. 1.6 manual is a yes.

Experienced a manual SM4, it was sublime to me. Auto model is lika a perodua kancil auto.

Then my old Pajero…only manual for this ‘beast’. I dont even mind driving it in jam. I drove this car twice to cameron during very peak season.

CVT? not my cup of tea. IMHO it feels worst than normal 4 speeder. The cons outweigh the pro.

So, for me it depends on the occassion of the drive. Am i torturing my left foot when i drive a manual in jam?…..Aku bukan pondan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:03 am

i second this. some of current manual is not worth my left leg especially perodua.

• BOYRACER on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:30 am

Perodua have terrible shift quality.really takes the fun out of driving a manual.Perodua go auto.

• Roti John Loo on Jul 04, 2020 at 12:10 am

Personal experience. Even though ‘Manual Is The Best’, but Poodua manual..Puik. But Poodua auto… Haark..Hoork..HarkPuik.
        Not to say their manual are good, admittedly shift quality is akin, don’t like it – imprecise and rubbery. Tried Poodua auto (not 1, not 2, but numerous cars), OMG, it’s 10 times more terrible to drive and the gearbox feel like it will condemn anytime. Conclusion, Poodua are generally overpriced cheapo junk cars that even failed to put a bloody temperature gauge.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 30, 2020 at 10:07 pm

what people wanted from bmw malaysia. a manual 3 series. what bmw malaysia gave us, a manual mpv nobody wants.

and then bmw claims nobody in malaysia wants a manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Vedder on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:28 am

Nobody will buy a manual 3 series. Nobody.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:11 pm

There are people who bought manual BMW 218i active tourer. I see some units for sale on internet. Why not manual 3 series?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:32 pm

The manual 218i AT took ages to sell out. The last few were offered with massive discounts just to get them off the showroom floors. And there weren’t that many units to begin with!

• BOYRACER on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:32 am

I heard they were ordered with the wrong spec.supposed to be automatic..

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:29 am

This. For a brand known for sheer driving pleasure, the people running the dealers here are totally clueless.

• Johnny Rocket on Jul 01, 2020 at 7:32 am

Nobody will buy a manual 3 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2020 at 3:42 pm

There will be. The same segment of buyers who’d buy Civic Type-R, Subaru WRX, Renault Megane RS, Focus ST, Fiesta RS would. 3-series has the weight to its name to pull it through, then continues to be a gem in used car market.

2-series however… Wat de fada faketi fak.

• Johnny rocket on Jul 03, 2020 at 9:19 am

then they would buy a type-r, Wrx, megane, focus, fiesta. How many of those cars were sold in Malaysia? There is no market for a manual 3 series. Nobody will buy it

• Bro! Long time no sees

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2020 at 3:36 pm

Yea man. I’ve been away, but good to see the seeds I’ve planted have bore fruit.

Now everyone knows the might of Geely empire, Proton shall rule supreme zehahahaha

• That’s true. I was looking and an E46 3-series manual and couldn’t find a good one in the pre-owned market. I had to go all the way back to the E30 E36 days. Even then, its rare. Everything newer than that with a manual is really really tough to find.

• Smokey on Jun 30, 2020 at 10:43 pm

Who wants to buy manual when its either the most basic boring car or those expensive ones which are often out of reach?? Theres no manual offered for those people’s car at ~100k range

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 30, 2020 at 11:32 pm

Agreed. I’m driving a manual car. What will be my next car? Surely not downgrade to boring base spec Proton Persona. Megane RS, Hyundai I30n, that’s out of reach for most of middle income earner. There is no new manual car between rm100k-200k, well except for 208Gti which I’m not interested in.

• Bought a Peugeot RCZ in 2011, and it is a manual version. Still keeping!

• Keedy on Jun 30, 2020 at 11:43 pm

Manuals are like Volvos around here, they all say they’d buy them over BMW and Mercedes, but you wont see many in real life

• dream_125 on Jul 01, 2020 at 3:07 am

Volvo would only need a three-speed manual since they reduced top speed to 180km/h.

• calcutta on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:07 am

guess i’m the minority,i had 5 cars running in my family,myvi 1.3,kelisa,myvi 1.3,grand livina L11,wira 1.6, and accord tao 2.4
    all of them,except for accord, are manuals,i buy manual whenever they available,i enjoy every second driving them that way,and i had so much to say about manual and their auto counterparts, but meh,it doesn’t matter now

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:13 am

Save the manuals!!! But for your information there is someone I know who actually bought MX5 manual in Malaysia.

• Vedder on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:26 am

Manuals are so 1990s. With all the infotainment distractions in the car, a stick is something that I can live without. Get a DCT instead if you really want that feel. Else, a smooth sailing auto box is the way to go!!! Anyway we spend most of the time in traffic. I never understood the point of a manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • BOYRACER on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:45 am

You’re obviously not an enthusiast.When you love driving especially a manual infotainment is the last thing on your mind.

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:22 am

There’s more to it, Hafriz.

For a start, wages had been stagnant, and that makes cars relatively unaffordable. For many, when they purchase cars, they gotta consider for other people, they gotta consider contingency(s) requiring them to share it with their spouse, siblings, parents, in laws etc. This makes buying manual much harder to consider for fear “they dunno how to drive manual”. Buying car for hobby, personal joy, is a privilege very few can afford. Other factors of life had to take priority eg rent/mortgage, food, misc cost of living expenses.

We have 9 year loan tenure, people in developed countries would be shocked we had to borrow that long. A friend in the banking industry confirms 9 year is the most common tenure taken by customers, and worst paymaster too. Bankruptcy stats show highest cause, 1 in 4 bankrupts are caused by car loan.

High barrier of entry makes the car culture difficult to thrive, and it’s a vicious cycle. Interest keeps dwindling.

So manual as an option are killed by 2 factors.

The traditional old school manual driver segment are killed due to pragmatic consideration they might have to share their cars with others at some point, so buy auto is a safe buy.

The enthusiast community becomes smaller because it is an expensive hobby. And if someone still is, they’re sophisticated and brave enough to buy used cars, it’s way more bang for buck.

If new manual cars are to be kept alive, the wage issues had to be fixed, so more people have more disposable income. Then, car culture needs to be more alive at grassroot level, so that it gains followings and can (re)start a trend, increase demand.

And my God, there’s quite a few others here like me and john, bro fist to all Gen2 CPS MT owners, men of culture!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Hmm… I didn’t surprise about this as some already assuming that physical key and even 4 speed AT already like ‘ancient equipment’. Manual transmission? Hmm…

• dream_125 on Jul 01, 2020 at 3:05 am

“out of the first 25,000 bookings for the Bezza, only four percent were manuals”

This is surprising, as sporty cars are usually manuals.

• edktr on Jul 01, 2020 at 7:39 am

Three out of four cars i own are MT. One is for sale (1995 E36 M3 fully restored by me). Another one is a 2014 LR Defender which I’ve spent too much money on, doubt I’ll ever sell it off.

My daily is a 2011 B8 S4 Avant 6MT pushing out 400hp at the wheel. This is my baby and she’s a keeper.

The only AT car I have is a 2014 Mazda 3, bought it for my wife.

• Nazdan on Jul 01, 2020 at 8:36 am

Still nostalgic about manual. Owner of Prevé 1.6M. Love the Getrag shifter. Still raving about Proton Putra and Satria GTi

• Ah Chong on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:05 am

Okay I’m going to say it: people who wanted a high spec manual couldn’t afford it, and people who can afford it don’t care for one.

If MI bring in a manual wrx (non sti) and sell it for 130k, I’d seriously get it. But that will not happen.

On the other hand, I don’t think I want a manual vios/city too. Not exiting enough.

Seriously though, if Proton revives the Satria GTI with Geely sourced turbo engine and a manual, that could be a value proposition.

• Because there are too many puss out there who don’t know how to drive a stick. lol

• albag on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:18 am

Hafriz Shah, ur adding another ride in ur garage? how bout ur Merc?

• ysthen on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:20 am

ah, the Manual transmission death be yee. Perhaps to look into a few factors:
    1. Price of a new car is generally above the attainment of most buyers (less than 5% of car models and variants in Malaysia are in the affordable range of 50k – which most Malaysians are able to afford). This tends to lead to the buyer to become less enthusiastic and purchase a vehicle with a longer loan tenure whereby they will own the car for about 10 years. During the 10 years of ownership, they will likely need to consider that their wife, kids or whoever in their family will use it. Additionally, because of the price of owning a new car, it makes it hard for most buyers to switch cars every 2 – 3 years to sample other cars which leads to dealerships/manufacturers wanting a safe option for their customers. This further leads to enthusiast mostly purchasing used vehicle with a manual but the manufacturers doesn’t benefit from it.
    2. Location of population with purchasing power, whereby those that live in Selangor and KL will be stuck in a jam commuting in traffic. Why spend money to purchase a vehicle (with Premium options in a Manual) whereby 90% of usage is on commuting whilst making your life harder?
    3. Most modern manuals aren’t that great to shift, due to electronic throttle. Those that had sampled the mechanical throttle will lament that most vehicle with electronic throttle are slow to react mainly due to ECU programming. (have you tried the early BLM with a manual? it really is a torture with it’s slow throttle response).
    But,! modern manuals are so easy to drive in traffic jams, just control the clutch and you can get the car to creep forwards (without the use of gas pedal), let go of the clutch and in 1st gear, creep with your brakes!

note: owns an Inspira Manual bought new and another badge engineering vehicle with a manual bought used. used to own a Satria 1.3 Manual.

• Vedder on Jul 03, 2020 at 9:22 am

Manual cars are dead

• Inspira manual user ? Some of my friends who have the same car regretted getting the manual. I have never seen anyone with a manual that did not have to replace the leaking clutch pump in their ownership of their vehicle. Some once , some twice and it is not cheap, definitely RM1k and above because it makes sense to replace the clutch kit too once you remove the gearbox from the engine to get to the leaking slave cylinder. Some got stranded in the middle of the road.
      CVT users of the Inspira seems more reliable than the manual variant.

• azrai on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:22 am

Sungai Buloh foremen has a brisk business converting automatic SAGA FLX tu manual!!

• All my vehicles were manual ie Ford Telstar, Satria, Kancil and Kembara. Then, when I was capable to buy a better vehicle, the top of the line and/or better ones with more feature does not comes with a manual. So I opted to purchase my first auto SUV. When I decided to replace that SUV, again, no manual SUV option. No driving a CX8 2.2D as my weekend SUV with the Kembara DVVT being my weekeday SUV. Manual anytime!

• 2004 Perodua kancil 850EX
    Converted to L5 Manual Turbo.

Hard clutch. Terrible NVH. Power steering sometime takde. Mounting & suspension need to change. Air filter mahal compared to to standard perodua.

It is still my daily drive because it is a pleasure. I choose this over my other ride, a 1.8 Hybrid (CVT) & a 1.3 national best seller car (4-spd auto)

• I still drive a CRZ 6MT.. bought new in 2013… no problem whatsoever.. fuel saving too.. 40L tank can last me about 600km.. am considering changing to auto, but cannot decide on whether to keep or trade in my current CRZ..

• i still drive a CRZ 6MT daily.. bought new in 2013.. no problem whatsoever for now.. fuel saving too, i can travel up to about 650km with a full 40L tank combining eco & normal modes.. anyhow, am considering changing to an auto, but still cannot decide whether to keep or trade in my CRZ.. logically, i should trade in, but it is fun driving a manual..

• noname on Jul 01, 2020 at 10:04 am

I think I’m one of the weird breed here. Many years back, I was planning to buy a Proton Inspira. As the sales center doesn’t have a manual 1.8 test drive unit, I went ahead to test the 2.0 auto full specs.
    After driven the 2.0 auto full specs, immediately i place the order for 1.8 manual although I really want the extra features of the 2.0 full spec.
    Now I’m still keeping the car and enjoy driving it.

• Because no full spec for manual

• stewp1d on Jul 01, 2020 at 10:48 am

abg,.. mestilah 2nd dealer wanna sold with upper price – siapa takmau untong weh (anyway that bro u reply above sold his car not the version “hi line” as u dreamt about)

• stewp1d on Jul 01, 2020 at 10:51 am

why go for manual if got stick + and – beside steering column?
    and why go for manual if u not get the top specs of that particular model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • bros savvy on Jul 01, 2020 at 10:58 am

I missed my Savvy Manual, the clutch pedal are really hard and were wearing down my left knee. But my God was it really a joy to drive, it’s like a little fun go-kart.

Now driving an Iriz and had to pick the auto because as a contigency in case the missus have to drive the car in an emergency.

So yeah, I’d love to drive a manual, but how to own more car lorr so expensive.

• Unknown on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:48 pm

But isnt Savvy using AMT gearbox?

• Unknown on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:52 pm

14km/L isnt bad at all for a supposedly thirsty Campro. Mine City 1.5L does 15km/L on typical highway-city drives without any strenuous hill climbs like you do. So the difference between our FC isnt all that much in real world usage. I kept wondering where all that stories on thirsty Campro came from or was it just a malicious rumour.

• I made the same choice with you, Hafiz. But mine is ocean blue and i bought it in February this year, clocking 10k km mileage already.

I’m 24 this year and that is my own first self bought car. And I live in Serdang, part of klang valley.

Specs of this car are not bad at all, with 2airbag VSC EBD bla bla bla bluetooth with phone call support, Hill start assist, what more could you ask for 36k…

I drive it everyday and the more I drive it, the more i like it. yes, 1.3 is underpowered but when you push it, it doesn’t really matters. Only time when it felt really underpowered is when uphill at Karak highway- guess most of the car will unless you’re having a GTR or Ferrari.

FC? Chill drive return 14km per lit +/-, spirited will be around 10km. When i say spirited,it is pedal to the metal 160kmh kinda stupid driving.
    When you don’t want to be spirited or stupid, it is silent and comfy for daily.

All in all, those that claim they love manual… please buy and safe this dying breed.
    It is a shame that iriz manual are so good yet nobody bat an eye on them.

• stupidcar on Jul 01, 2020 at 11:48 am

U know whats sad? Proton binned the MT for CFE. Could have been a beast.

• Ben Yap on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:05 pm

likewise readers in paultan criticise Honda but when put their money where their mouth is, they quietly buy a honda. it can be seen from honda sales.

• *Looks at my manual Z4 and manual neo*
    Yup I walk the the talk haha.

• Hasif on Jul 01, 2020 at 12:48 pm

This is what i think of everyday when browsing about cars…so sad really. Its really a torture to look for manual new cars. Its not about getting from point A to B, but rather the adrenaline and control u seldom get nowadays. Now the millenials prefer different kind of fun i guess. Time has changed. Myb soon all autopilot.

• I still prefer manual over automatic. Better driving feel. Currently I own 3 manual cars (Honda CR-Z, Perodua Axia and Perodua Kelisa).

• blackbox on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:16 pm

From Bravo manual change to 328i, the life after smart tag toll is never the same. Luckily I still keep my Elise as weekend car.
    Why the dealer can’t help us to bring in manual car to our specified spec if we willing to wait and pay deposit?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 01, 2020 at 1:28 pm

Hey I remember this nick! Fellow Bravo owner.

As for the dealers, BMW and Mercedes-Benz should be able to make indent orders based on your exact preferences. But it will definitely take a long time, and since the car will be CBU instead of CKD, the jump in price will be very significant. The entire individualisation process plus additional paperwork involving customs and JPJ for indent orders aren’t as simple as it may appear, so certain dealers might not even bother with requests.

• blackbox on Jul 03, 2020 at 6:31 pm

Haven’t been posting on PT for a long time. Surprise you still remember me.
        I believe the individualisation process to bring in a manual car also one of the reason we have less choice for manual car.
        Still remember I almost bought the Citroen DS4 200hp manual after test drive, too bad have to settle with 328i.
        Seems like only niche brand willing to bring in manual car, but those brands are slowly dying.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 6:35 pm

Wasn’t here I think. I believe it was on ItaliaAuto like over 10 years ago ;)

• Audi Owner on Jul 01, 2020 at 2:20 pm

My 1st car was an Audi 100CD 5sp manual.Now driving a 2011 P Inspira manual although less powerful but still enjoying the stick shifting.

• Years ago I ditched my manual tranny car because I suffered in a long traffic jam one day, had to share a car with wife with a baby and generally preferred less hassle while driving.

But if I am considering a secondary car to enjoy motoring again just for myself, will probably look at a used/recon Toyota 86 or Mazda MX-5. Manual? Just maybe…

• BOYRACER on Jul 01, 2020 at 7:17 pm

It’s sad to see the manual cars going the way of the dodo.Regardless high spec or low spec.
    I myself drives a manual Persona and it is a joy to drive enthusiastically..Since I don’t drive everyday it doesn’t matter I drive an automatic.
    This situation not only happens in Malaysia but all over the world although to a lesser extent..But in other countries manual are also available.The difference is in Europe the roadtax are based on emissions which automatics are generally have higher emissions hence higher tax..
    As you said many people complain yet dont buy them.only 1 in 10 maybe buys them.Still a little too low.

• I bought a demo unit BMW 218i Active Tourer with Manual transmission few year back. Mine did not come all those creature comfort unlike those in the auto-trans unit. Whatever it is, i’m still happy driving the car.

• transformer on Jul 01, 2020 at 9:58 pm

still has a manual AD Resort in my family till today, no auto ever

in 2012 dad brought me went test drive manual Exora(new) and manual GLivina(2nd hand), we drove back manual GLivina home instead. GLivina has the same feel as AD that Exora doesn’t, everything seems vague or empty…

• Cedric on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:26 am

Perodua should export more vehicles to Mauritius as there are many of us here who love driving MT. For instance, I am still waiting for the Aruz to be available in Mauritius !

• Gonsungar on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:32 am

As far as I know, I’ve bought all manual car.the first car is Toyota crown,then the 2.0L non turbo pajero(this SUV to me gets the best front seat I ever had), Proton Iswara, Proton Wira and lastly, Proton Exora Cps(the most rev happy mpv as far as I know).Damn I miss that Toyota Crown.

• No one has mentioned Suzuki Swift Sport (ZC32S) 6MT. I have a 2015 registered.

• I get the statistics but one thing I would also want to say is, its sad that for those enthusiast the only option is to get kosong, like when kosong its seriously kosong.. Since its for “enthusiast” why not make it a full spec and some, like for me I do consider to get a manual but when I see all those option that I missed out on its kinda turns me off so ended up getting full spec auto since got pedal shifter altho it sux but better than not having.

• sam123 on Jul 02, 2020 at 7:56 am

Hi all, how are you guys? for me personal, here are not enough manual trans. choice for new car model to choose pun..

good car that offer manual trans. mostly are expensive example elantra 1.6l manual rm100k+

but myself finally found a good car with manual trans. kia picanto TA, this is a very good example of a very good car in many way

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 02, 2020 at 8:43 am

I am the proud owner of a 2015 Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium MT. The salesman said that it was the last unit ever produced by Proton in that particular spec. Have been driving it since 2016. Really a good car with really nice Getrag 5 speed gearbox.

• dream_125 on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:48 pm

I guess one reason is, that auto gearboxes got much better over the years. My brother in law drives a MAN TGA lorry. It still has the possibility to switch the 16 gears with a joystick, but he told me that the auto function works so well, that he is using it most of the time. I was surprised to hear that, because he’s a hardcore manual fan who once even changed his Wira’s gearbox from auto to manual.

• Bringbackmanual on Jul 03, 2020 at 7:34 pm

no, people will continue to buy or else all just simply use AT..and increase of drunk driving cases

the mazda rf manual will be getting it once the price is affordable,, really la put so high then say nobody want buy. serious? loan also cannot approve how

• Jeremy Lee on Jul 06, 2020 at 8:54 pm

Hi there,

I owned 4 Volkswagen on of them i the actual Vento MK3 1.6 and not the Polo Sedan now called Vento. I converted it to auto to Manual to 1.8T GTI MK4. Yes I am willing to put my money now if Volkswagen bring a manual Golf gti. Hence I know is not possible so if going for half cut to convert it from Auto to Manual.

Sadly there not many of similar like me around.

Regards

Jeremy Lee

• Bringbackmanual on Jul 08, 2020 at 1:01 am

a manual gti would be befitting the gti badge.
      with all the DSG fiasco using manual might have halved the case.
      VW cant even bring jetta GLI pfttt

• Alamakbusuk on Jul 09, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Happily driving a manual 1.8 Inspira. I wish I could get a 2.0 in manual when I bought it. I’m planning to keep it for a long time because of the lack of manual cars available. I really don’t like to drive auto.

• I will comment on few things about Malaysian brand cars with manual transmission. It is very half-hearted effort. Talk about the Myvi. I have driven manual Myvi lagi best 1.5L once, I straight away tell everyone don’t buy the manual version. The clutch pedal is like a digital on/off switch , overly light too. The gear lever and shifter travel is so long like my company’s old Hilux truck. Later on, I learnt that all Perodua manual cars are like that. OMG…
    Newer Proton Iriz, test driven them once at COSE during a DRB event. Just talk about the manual transmission alone. The clutch pedal feel is far superior to the Perodua. I kinda like it though I feel that the biting point is abit too high for any Campro powered cars. However, the gear knob itself sucks. Why it has to look and feel like holding a goose neck when I’m shifting ? Why can’t it is round like the picture above ? Besides that, it can have a shorter shifter too.The old Proton Wira was done correctly and it should be the way to model the shifter.
    I talked to a number of Honda CRZ owners, surprisingly there are quite a few manual units that I met . So it really depends on the price and effort the manufacturer put into their manual transmission cars.
    I myself is a first hand Inspira manual owner. If they offer it in 2.4L, i will straight buy the 2.4L version without hesistation. Before this car, I was driving a 2001 Honda City with 4 speed auto. So I did switched to a manual from auto.

• kosumaledoko on Aug 08, 2020 at 11:09 pm

Inspira can convert to 2.4 (4B12) engine, use back the 1.8 manual gearbox. I think there are people did it.

• MetalZone on Jul 17, 2020 at 10:22 am

I’ve been driving manual since I got my license. Currently driving a Toyota Altezza RS200 6MT. Rear wheel drive + 6MT nuff said. Shifts beautifully, super reliable, 4-doors, and it’s a pretty good family car too. Fortunately my wife can drive a manual too (and gets the occasional surprised comments from other observant people).

• kosumaledoko on Aug 09, 2020 at 4:15 pm

Very nice! But is it the RS200 have weak low end torque? And it took Ron 97 only?

• Junsaito on Jul 22, 2020 at 4:46 pm

Manual Alza for me, manual Kancil for the Mrs.

• Hafiz, pls review your Iriz MT ya :)

• Cheng Yong Sheng on Aug 07, 2020 at 4:46 pm

You give me a JDM car, equipped with the manual gearbox. I would be driving to and from work happily everyday :)

• kosumaledoko on Aug 08, 2020 at 11:06 pm

Manual all the way. My first car is 2004 Kelisa manual, now 2008 Swift Sport manual.

Next car I want a comfy, nice to drive, slightly larger than Swfit hatchback, and manual. But I don’t think I got much choice… Nissan Livina X-Gear convert manual?

• Firdaus on Aug 13, 2020 at 11:00 pm

Many want to buy manual car but wife can only drive auto. So auto we go. Haha

• well i am the one insist on manual too
    because i like the felling of driving a manual

but the market have shift 99% to auto transmission
    one is because human tends to be more lazy,
    another reason maybe less people enjoy driving manual,
    and another environmental factor is there are more traffic jam now

• Syazwan on Aug 24, 2020 at 7:35 pm

You are definitely right on Malaysians talking so much cock. I see it time & time again, “eh if got manual i will sure buy!” this why you cannot take 95% of malaysians word for a right. too many pussied out when the time came to put their money where their mouth is. So pathetic. I myself have just acquired the 2020 Perodua Alza S manual transmission just last month. I needed the Alza in that particular transmission because i run a audio rental business. Also unlike you Hafiz, i could comfortably live my life with almost no safety features. I have driven too many cars in the past that im confident in my driving. I believe the reason why people keep saying get a car with the best safety feature is not really because of the driver, but its because 99% of Malaysian drivers are idiots on the road. In the future i will be driving classic manual cars as my staple. I hate new cars because of their bloated drive by wire systems.

• I was going to get the Iriz Premium but after reading your article, i got the manual instead. best decision I’ve made. simple but solid fun-to-drive car :)

• Tan ck on Sep 17, 2020 at 8:31 pm

Im a manual fanboy ,my parents sunny,kelisa,iswara ,satria 1.3 2000, persona iafm all manual.

My first car is savvy manual

I defend manual cars

End of sep18, my contract for mnc usa as IT support discontinued

I try my luck to book a 2018 saga ,
    I had no money, i was forced to take the cvt as it doesnt need deposit

My car approved and delivered to my house,

In 2 hr i drive to mamak rice shop go back got teen rempit ram me behind lightly

I fail to chase.
    Slyggish and alot lag

But when kick in it has power

Rrmpit teen threw mercun my dogs n my compound i fail to chase and get him

I install throttle controller it was better

But when i put catless 4-1, works drop in filter,and grounding cable

New battery.
    It turn alive.

It is a silent killer midd to high rpm silent monster

The pros are my dogs like sit middle of panel,when few in cars,

The pros is it doesnt block me like my savvy manual.

My future plan is, persona vvt MT or triton vgt 6mt

I still love manual.

I would only choose auto in future if it is a powerful engine car like bmw 320i etc.

My heart very sakit hati is cvt or auto doesnt let me drag in 1st gear, (or every gear i used to do in savvy)

The cons of saga cvt auto is i masuk parit or flood,
    It will not get pass because cant drag high rpm

My savvy manual can drag 1st gear out of high flood.

• i’m a proud owner of proton wira 1.5 glm, 22 years, 400k plus mileage and still going strong, long live manual transmission!

• Khiroe on Jan 24, 2021 at 9:10 am

Lets face it. Its on extinction. Malaysians also look at their car secondhand value. With small market to resell their manual car, it becomes one of the chicken and egg situation.

Malaysia also already start to produce DA licence drivers (Automatic Transmission Only). Most youngster will take that as it is much higher chances to score and get their license although a bit pricier. This also add one of the cause of declining manual transmission driver.

With less interest in manual transmission market, there are not much advancement in technology for it. Now days auto transmission almost fuel efficient as their manual counter parts.

• Miata on Mar 19, 2021 at 6:31 pm

you think if I have money I won’t buy a miata? Most people who would buy manual buy it for the fun driving experience, come you tell me which car you listed offers fun driving experience, Axia or Bezza? Blame not the car enthusiasts who can’t afford a proper manual car, blame the old man who made manual entry level sports car like a miata or brz as expensive as luxury sedan. For comparison 2020 miata in the US base price $26k, full spec only $33k, young people also can afford. Malaysia? One spec fixed price RM260k, you tell me which young people except the ones with rich daddies or successful “forex” trader have that kind of money? Really get on my nerves this article.

• Wangan Mah on Mar 22, 2021 at 10:34 am

NO ! No ! No ! Pls don’t extist Manual Transmission ! I love you so much !

• tokseladang on Nov 20, 2021 at 6:13 pm

lelaki sejati bawak manual

• Philip on Nov 26, 2021 at 7:30 am

I drive a Proton Saga Manual 2020 Model. I have a Premium Proton Saga 2019 Model but I usually just drive my Manual car. I just love it!

• I would buy new manual car. I like it when my legs are more active while driving. And i think driving a manual car avoid me to feel sleepy while driving

• Harry19k on Aug 22, 2022 at 2:49 pm

I miss my waja mits manual driving experience