MyBayar Saman – 291,157 summonses paid, RM32 mil collected in first week of online portal/app’s operation

It seems that people will pay their traffic fines if it’s made easier for them to do so. That seems to be the take following the performance of the MyBayar Saman online portal and smartphone application in its first week of operation.

The online system, which allows summonses to be paid directly in virtual fashion, was launched on March 25 by inspector-general of police Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Bador. By March 31, almost RM32 million in summons payments from 291,157 summonses had been collected through the application, according to Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) director Datuk Azisman Alias.

He added that a total of 487,077 users had registered with MyBayar Saman during the seven-day period, and 2,677 email complaints had also been received via the system, Berita Harian reports. “The figures show that the application has received encouraging response from the public. I hope this effort will continue to be supported by the public, who will continue to make payments through the application,” he said.

The police said the online route to settle traffic fines was chosen to suit today’s trend of people shifting to online and phone transactions. It said that on average, it issued around 5.37 million summonses a year from the period 2016 to 2020, and analysis had showed an increasing trend of online payment of summonses – last year, 46.7% used e-payment compared to just 18.5% in 2019.

To use MyBayar Saman, you simply need to go to the online portal or download the app to your phone. Fill in your particulars as well as the OTP that will be sent to your phone. Then, log in, check the details, and select the summonses that you want to pay.

Choose your payment mode (FPX or credit/debit card), hit the pay button, and you’re done. The app keeps track of all transactions made. Until April 11, the police is giving a 50% discount on summonses paid via the system, although terms and conditions apply.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Correction: It seems that people will pay their traffic fines if OFFERED DISCOUNT.

• Dredd on Apr 06, 2021 at 12:34 pm

Far better than forcing pipul to pay up or jail time (which we still have to feed), this gives us RM 32mil income. Dredd agrees.

• Ex VGM staff on Apr 06, 2021 at 2:28 pm

50% less. Why not! Just pay to clear records.. or some of it.

• Tok Mat on Apr 06, 2021 at 8:40 pm

With such huge amount of RM being collected from variety of saman issued, I bet civil servants will be receiving “angpow” for Hari Raya soon.