EVs more than 60% cheaper to maintain vs ICE cars? 
BMW iX service package vs X5 in Malaysia compared

So often, the discussion of electric vehicles in Malaysia centres around the (relatively high) initial purchase price – although the new BMW iX bucks this trend. But we tend to overlook the fact that maintenance costs are also a big consideration when we buy a certain car, as they take up a significant chunk of our outlay over the entire life of the vehicle.

So our interests were piqued when BMW Group Malaysia released pricing for its extended warranty and service packages for the iX – they give us a rough idea of how much cheaper it is to maintain an electric vehicle vis-à-vis a comparably priced and sized petrol vehicle. But there’s a catch.

The iX is around the same size as the X5 and is priced around the same ballpark, so it makes sense to compare the two. Even with an extra year added to its service package, the iX’s six-year plan is considerably cheaper than the X5’s five-year offering, at RM5,800 versus a whopping RM12,600. This averages out to RM967 a year for the iX and RM2,520 a year for the X5 – a saving of more than 60%.

Of course, these are packaged prices; the difference between the two may vary depending on the individual service. You’ll also have to consider the fact that the costs may not be split evenly each year due to the scheduling of minor and major servicing – especially since BMW uses an on-board Condition Based Service (CBS) system for determining when a car needs to come in, rather than the usual mileage-based schedule.

BMW iX service package vs X5 in Malaysia comparedEVs more than 60% cheaper to maintain vs ICE cars? 

The cost of warranty and service packages for the BMW iX (above) and X5 (below)

Still, it’s a fairly accurate look at the servicing and maintenance costs of an EV versus a car powered by an internal combustion engine. We should also point out that while the X5 is a plug-in hybrid, the pure petrol-powered X6 has the same service package price, so it’s not the case of the hybrid powertrain being more complicated to service and maintain.

This tracks with the notion that EVs are generally cheaper to maintain compared to their ICE brethren, with fewer mechanical parts to be taken care of and no engine oil changes to consider (which is why there’s no 100,000 km mileage cap for the iX’s service package, like there is for the X5).

Even the brakes will wear at a much slower rate thanks to the motor’s regenerative braking taking up much of the deceleration duties. We’ve even had some experience in this regard, running a Tesla Model S 90D for three years without having to service the car once.

So it looks like you can really have your cake and eat it too – and that’s before you count how much cheaper it is (for now, anyway) to run your car with electricity rather than ever-more-expensive petrol or diesel. So, you might be wondering, where’s that catch I was talking about at the start of this article?

It’s a small one, but make no mistake, it’s there – when parts on the iX do start to fail, replacing them may be slightly more expensive compared to fixes on the X5. The five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty package on the iX costs RM12,500, whereas the same product for the X5 is priced at RM10,600.

That’s a negligible difference in the long run, especially at the prices these cars command in the first place. But it does suggest that if anything were to go wrong, the parts for the iX will be more expensive. Not by much, but it’s something to consider nevertheless.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bieight on Aug 26, 2021 at 9:18 pm

If you could afford a 420k car who cares about service prices…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • drMpower on Aug 26, 2021 at 10:00 pm

I give u all one idea. Madani also can listen.

Why not u all give lifetime warranty for the batteries. Meaning should battery kong, its FOC. Nevermind u can rack up abit on RRP, just to cover for the FOC battery lifetime

Like this u prolong vehicle life. Up the resale value which inturn give u service money, spare part money, etc not to mention brand value also up. Dont worry the battery will kong one, u just replace FOC so battery bisnes can keep supply. Whoever buy the car also happy because save petrol money, everyone wins

So do like this. Its win win for everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Come on… on Aug 27, 2021 at 8:42 am

Then battery dealer, supplier, producer eat what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • autodriver (Member) on Aug 27, 2021 at 10:09 am

No worry the next generation battery gonna be solid state type which is having longer driving range, safer, rapid charge, lighter and super long lasting life cycle. By then an EV car battery is expect to last at least 500k km and single charge can easily gives 600-700 km range. By then the battery supplier can only aim to sell the battery to car manufacturer instead of workshop.

Solid state battery gonna launched within 5 years time to replace the lithium battery. I expect to see solid state battery EV car in Malaysia in 10 years time.

• NewCarForWhat on Aug 27, 2021 at 10:14 am

like that manufacturer come out with new car for what? Win what? Up the RRP by 30% you wanna buy meh

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 27, 2021 at 12:25 am

For EV u just need to change wipers, brakes, coolants and do wheel alignment. That’s it…oh and change the battery in your key fob.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 27, 2021 at 10:02 am

The brake pad also hardly worn because Tesla 1 set of brake pad expected to last over 300k km. Very soon car repair workshop can tapau if EV cars become popular. And next 20 years the autonomous driving gonna be mature and no driver needed. The taxi, ehailing, bus or truck driver job will be axed.

• So no need change tyres? EV is flying car?

• Service charge is affordable. Not bad

• B.Masuk Workshop on Aug 27, 2021 at 8:49 am

BMW too stingy for warranty.

Mazda MX-30 EV provide 8 years/160,000km warranty, and free 10days/year for any other Mazda up to 3years.

Maybe it’s good they avoid warranty provision for consumer.

• SmartConsumer on Sep 03, 2021 at 10:52 am

Why do we only get high end EVs in Malaysia?? Where are the affordable Europeans and Chinese models?