Police warn against SOP violation in public areas

Police have warned members of the public against violating standard operating procedures in public areas, and would be forced to act firmly if the situation gets out of hand where there are too many people in a given area, Bernama has reported.

“We don’t want to close down public places found to be overcrowded because we have checked and found that the visitors came from the same bubble. We will only increase monitoring of these areas,” said federal internal security and public order department deputy director DCP Datuk Mastor Mohd Ariff.

Police will also be working with Rela personnel under Ops Patuh to conduct scheduled monitoring in areas expected to be focal points for increased crowding, said Mastor, adding that most of the visitors at these recreational areas were present with family members who either arrived together or are staying together, and that these locations are crowded only on Saturdays and Sundays.

These observations by Mastor came after images and videos surfaces on social media, depicting members of the public visiting recreational parks and bathing in rivers, apparently disregarding physical distancing guidelines over the past weekend.

This followed the Malaysian government’s decision to move the Klang Valley area comprising Kuala Lumpur, Selangor and Putrajaya into Phase 2 of the national recovery plan (NRP), which meant there would no longer be roadblocks between these areas.

Where recreational activities are concerned, the national security council (MKN) has agreed to relax SOPs for for sports, leisure and recreational activities in states under Phase 1 of the NRP, where indoor sports activities will be permitted for individuals who have completed both vaccine doses, except for gym facilities, said prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob in his briefing last week.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Dredd on Sep 14, 2021 at 12:42 pm

Malaysian police have their hands full when the citizens are that imbecilic as to use their brain to find ways how to circumvent being caught. Dredd salutes them for not shooting these perps on sight!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Melania Trump on Sep 14, 2021 at 1:06 pm

Time for authorities to issue steep fines for blatant SOP non compliance.
    If people can be fined RM 5000 for attempting to cross district last month,dont you think those people who have a pesta at the waterfalls and seaside in Selangor deserve the compound?
    It is totally unacceptable to see such blatant breaking of SOPs,when gomen has given some leeway.
    We know families must have some time to enjoy after long lockdown,but not like what happened at those gatherings.
    The authorities should act on SOP non compliance,cos covid is not going to disappear like what Donald trump predicted.

• Curious on Sep 14, 2021 at 1:13 pm

Wat if new cluster emerge after tis event ? Our own despite all the advices given.

• when VIP violate rules, didnt see police fine them…ptuiiiiiiiiii

• AirHole on Sep 14, 2021 at 2:20 pm

Dredd, stop being an arse! If you don’t like it try to kiss that thing between your legs. Moron!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • Sick & Tired on Sep 14, 2021 at 6:00 pm

The police have been toiling EVERY SINGLE DAY FOR 18 MONTHS WITHOUT FAIL and this is the thanks they get as frontliners for enforcing the SOP and keeping everyone safe while putting themselves at risk of being infected?! When we have selfish ungrateful morons like you, I can see why our cases never comes down. IT IS BECAUSE OF THESE MORONS!!!

• Copy Paste on Sep 14, 2021 at 6:13 pm

Copy paste: “You must be like what…..10 years old?”

Copy paste: “I’m fully to stop spreading viruses”

• “Let us continue to support and express our highest gratitude to all the frontliners and those in the critical sectors for their services,” – The Agong.

• Beany Boy on Sep 14, 2021 at 6:01 pm

Faster faster issue saman to the offenders. Break SOP, and face the music.

Jangan cakap, buat jugak ya. I hope this applies to rakyat and VVIP, etc.