Singaporean EV spotted stealing electricity at Shell Recharge 180 kW DC electric car charger in Tangkak

After all the drama with Singapore plate cars pumping heavily subsidised RON95 fuel in Malaysia when they are not supposed to, now we have Singapore plate EVs stealing electricity at our electric car chargers.

Seen here is a Singaporean-registered BYD M3 electric van using the 180 kW Shell Recharge DC fast charger at Tangkak. The BYD van’s driver just decided to park around the raised barrier to recharge his van.

Shell Recharge is a paid service – you are supposed to use the ParkEasy app to pay for the barriers on the parking lot to be lowered so you can park at the charger to use it. The DC charger itself does not need any authentication, this is how the BYD van was able to use the charger without paying for it.

For pay-per-use, payment for charging consists of a RM4 confirmation fee and RM20 for every five mins of charging for the first 25 minutes, and RM20 for every five minute block thereafter. This works out to RM240 an hour (or RM244 with confirmation fee included). The fees are based on how long you reserve the parking lot, and doesn’t take into account how many kWh you pull from the charger.

Please do not do this, as bad behaviour from EV owners (regardless which country they come from) would deter private companies from investing in our EV charging infrastructure which we need to increase EV adoption in Malaysia.

Use our referral code R88W3N2T when you download the ParkEasy app and you’ll get some free credits to try it out.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tesla Owner on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:31 am

Kiasu as always…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 10
    • Dredd on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:17 pm

Lawbreaking kiasus better be warned. Once Malaysian Vigilante Logic wins Im getting my gun ready and coming for all you lawbreakers. DREDD HAS SPOKEN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Hantu Raya on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:33 am

Bad apples, we have em they have em.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • When we have em in their island, they have no qualms to name & shame each and dig out their personal info and where they work. It is time we have such tit for tat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • Andrew go on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:02 pm

Anybody stopping you? which Malaysian had specifically targetted to shamed ? How do you know it’s not a case of you-help-me-I-help-you kind of a service? Why no polis came to catch under broad daylight?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
        • PlainBS on Apr 18, 2022 at 5:03 pm

Know where to get a gun sir? Once Malaysian Logic win and vigilantism is allowed, your lawbreaking folks are going to be my first.

• Hantu Raya 2.0 on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:48 am

RM240 for one hour? Better use petrol car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 10
    • That is at 1 of our most advanced DC chargers here. You only supposed to use 20min max to get 80% charge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • I love P2 on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:08 pm

I am proud of the fast DC chargers we have but byd can’t charge so fast….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Adrian Tan on Apr 18, 2022 at 8:18 pm

Doesn’t seems to be more economical using EV! How much to charge 80%? 20 mins? for Rm84? How far can it go? For ICE car, Rm84 can go like above 400km on the highway and take like 5 mins to fill up. Better stick to ICE car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • looking from a different angle, it is just bad implementation.
    It proofs that the system is fragile and easily exploited, and our local vendor is just lazy taking the easy way out to charge the customer using “parking fee” method rather than implementing the charging mechanism on the charger itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 22
    • I believe the law is that no one is allowed to sell electricity except TNB. Hence why Shell (and later Petronas) charge the customer for parking and not for charging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • In other words… We still have not come to a full consensus on how to setup EV infra in the country and charge consumers accordingly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
        • Malaysia-hater on Apr 20, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Malaysia so dam backwater country cant even sell force of nature, malaysia cuntry think they own electricity lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • I agree. Why can’t the dispensing of charge be linked to whether the barrier is up or down? It’s not about selling electricity or not like what the other comment mentioned, but merely a “true/false” logic on whether to put the current through when connected to a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • How is this bad implementation? In Japan, automated parking works thru such barrier system which has been in use for decades and nobody seeks to abuse. Are Japanese too stupid to abuse it or simply Sinkies using their God-given brains and high class education to be jackass and steal?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
      • @Alan.. Japanese do not exploit. it is a cultural thing. Speaking about Japanese, they rather be peaceful and conform within a social group, they prefer the continuation of a harmonious community over their personal interests. It is the way they are being brought up, it is called “Wa” in Japanese. I worked in Japan for many years and even most Europeans cant be compared with them.

Just look at us why we have so many gated guarded housing in Malaysia while you dont need this kind of things in Japan.. There are things work for them but not us.. God-given brains for them to do good, but for others being a jackass..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Spin Too Much on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:31 pm

So meaning it is a cultural thing in SG to cheat & steal? I thought SG has very good Chinese education but it is teaches none of the morals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
          • Anonym on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:10 pm

It is called desperation. Definitely they need the power so that car can move. Else…they will be the power to move the car.

• singa on Apr 19, 2022 at 9:42 am

Anonym, more like stingy than desperation. lol…

• Annoynimouse on Apr 19, 2022 at 8:58 am

…be a jackass, steal, throw rubbish out their windows, pissing by the roadside… the list goes on.

• Do they know how to park properly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • (Dude) on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:53 am

The barrier on the parking can only be lowered after you pay it, this SG owner have to park like that do they do not need to pay to lower the barrier

• Blur Blur on Apr 18, 2022 at 7:02 pm

Dot, do you know what’s happening?

• Ca’om on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:26 am

They can’t do this in Singapore…

• Ali H Salehuddin on Apr 19, 2022 at 6:19 am

It is more like they won’t do this in Singapore. They are law abiding citizens but only in their own country.

• Black RX on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:38 am

What a fck up attitude, came in to our country to steal, pathetic loser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
  • newme on Apr 18, 2022 at 11:39 am

Singaporean. Biasalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • What happen to supposed Singaporean world class education gone to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Why So Serious on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:14 pm

Biasalah, as in it is okay for them since they are a nation of crooks & thieves or biasalah that it is okay to break laws and even kill people now with Malaysian Netizen Logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Can we see the License plate number?

Do we have the backstory to this? e.g. were they stealing? did the barrier fail? etc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • New citizen of SG on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Must be a Malaysian otherwise how would he know the loophole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Malaysians are not so ingenious to do that, or is that what Singapore world class education thought you guys. To find innovative ways to lie, cheat & steal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • White RX on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:43 pm

Are you saying Msians are stupid??? 0_0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Spin Too Much on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:33 pm

Isn’t that what many have been saying about the majority here? Or are you implying SG could have been better if UMNO ruled it?

• Avenger on Apr 18, 2022 at 7:19 pm

Yup Msians are stupid. If UMNO ruled that island they would not have high education and thru not be so smart to steal & cheat.

• Andrew go on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:08 pm

This is under broad daylight . How come the operator is clueless n no polis to investigate. This is not snatch n run . Think with the head. Not with the d1ck lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:28 pm

Go see where this recharge point is located lahh d1ckhead. This is right towards the rear of the station where most places are not observed.

And why should we have a policeman at each station? Fuel is not that precious like gold that we would seek to steal like you folks are so fond of doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Jeremy on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:31 pm

It’s illegal to sell electricity he’s not doing anything wrong in his country shell are for finding a loop hole in the country’s law

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • jeremoron on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:07 pm

just because it is physically possible to do something doesnt mean you should do it.

you must be the kind of insane person who would blame a rape victim for not being able to fight off the rapist.

• Logical Deduction on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:33 pm

Malaysian Logic. Rape someone blame the victim, kill someone blame the deads.

• Amran on Apr 18, 2022 at 5:55 pm

Sinkie Logic = Malaysian netizen logic.
          Dua dua pun sama spesis, berpelajaran tinggi tapi takde otak.

• kiasu and kiamsiap fellas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • JustSaying on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:38 pm

also never show car plate… anyhow say SG car… and did the barrier mechanism fail to lower despite making payment? Lazy journalism at its best… misleading otherwise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Michael on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:43 pm

Obviously it is a Singapore registered car owned by Malaysian working in Singapore. Need to ban these scums from coming to work in Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • I love P2 on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:47 pm

I expected better reporting from paultan. How can anyone steal electricity? The petrol kiosks workers all sleeping? Not like the car charge for 1 min and run away. Don’t just report something and make Malaysians scold Singaporeans and end up making Malaysians look unreasonable on the international stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • moron singaporean loves P2 on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:54 pm

are you stupid. the story spells out exactly how it happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Andrew go on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:12 pm

It’s just a story of allegation . What happen to the polis and where’s the operator? They sleeping or what ? It’s not the Malaysian kind of snatch n run lah. It was parked there for a long period of time , enough for the viral image but too short for the operator n polis to intervene ? Don’t know if anyone stupid here but I’m pretty sure you use your d1ck instead of your head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • I love P2 on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:56 pm

So paultan can spot but polis and kiosk workers cannot spot and tell sg car to F off? Come on, We Malaysians are better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Copy Paste on Apr 18, 2022 at 5:05 pm

Copy paste: “If you see any Singaporean cars using our subsidised fuel, and if they show shit face when you sound them, just press the E-Stop button and then report to the authorities. That’s the only way to teach them,”

• Lanhb on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:52 pm

Tourists what…we always welcome them…

• Good grief, so now foreigners cannot charge phone at the restaurant wall charger? They bring 100 phones to charge then how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
    • listen here you absolute moron.

at a restaurant, if the owner says any patron can use the wall charger to charge their phone, it is not stealing.

this is a PAID CHARGER. thus using it with paying is stealing. even if it was a malaysian, it would still be stealing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Listen here u absolute mormoon,

This is a fee country ok, all subsidiaries are to enjoy by all. U dont like it go back to your datang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
        • Jacob on Apr 19, 2022 at 5:55 am

Boohoo singaporean go back to your country. So illiterate cant read the article properly. Come to malaysia to steal lmao what a lowlife kiasu

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:14 pm

ultra kiasu as always. Majulah Singapura my a**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Once A Thief always A Thief on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:57 pm

Published their faces and registration plates and Malaysian Police must act and penalize the culprits. Fark up SG Motorists behaviour, I’m ashamed of me being associated with people like you giving us a bad reputation, cannot afford to pay for gas and electricity and yet forcefully buy a car and steal from neighbours!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Sick people.

• Jddkb on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:44 pm

Defines selfish

• Mike Tanner on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Look, the charger doesn’t start charging without the Parkeasy app having approved payment. This is one fake news article which is disappointing because paultan.org was a great site.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Paul Tan on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:03 pm

You are wrong, there is no link between the ParkEasy app and the charger hardware.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • tike manner on Apr 18, 2022 at 6:51 pm

bro, orthodontist in sg too exp for you ah?

• CKLin on Apr 18, 2022 at 4:19 pm

Since S’porean so bad just close the causeway again!

• Look at the reviews for ParkEasy app on google playstore and you’ll know why the driver charges his ev that way.

• Avenger on Apr 18, 2022 at 7:22 pm

If they don’t like it, they could move to another charging station that uses a different pay system. Doesn’t mean they are allowed to be such jackarses.

• Syedimran on Apr 18, 2022 at 5:52 pm

Bad image of a Singaporean.

• If an asshole misbehaves just take the necessary actions against him in accordance with the law but please leave his country, race and religion out

• God zeus on Apr 19, 2022 at 6:42 am

Singaporean in a nutshell.

• Daniel on Apr 19, 2022 at 11:07 am

Remember the worst SIA accident at Taipei? They said the pilot in command is a MALAYSIAN.

• Daniel on Apr 19, 2022 at 11:14 am

There was a case in Singland that a MRT commuter was charged in-court and fined for charging her phone using a wall outlet. Draconian law applied to a customer.

• Mystic on Apr 19, 2022 at 4:02 pm

Singaporean all like these ka malu lah curi pnye kiasu

• Malaysian Chinese and Singaporean Chinese are highly related, it’s pointless to bash each other. Before I work in SG, I always thought Singaporeans were kiasu. After I worked there, I realise most of the “kiasu” people queuing hours for freebies were fellow Malaysians.

• Damn hate this type of kiasu sporen on Apr 19, 2022 at 9:34 pm

Pakcikshell, why block the car number plate, shld shown to the whole world including his kiasu country, show the gorv tht ur citizen is a thief, drive BIG CAR but cannot afford to pay for the charger fees! You bring BIG SHaMe to you and your country!