Pak Cik Shell shows why you shouldn’t be in a fuel tanker truck’s blind spots – the driver cannot see you

Earlier this month, a video of a fuel tanker truck colliding with a Perodua Myvi went viral on social media. In the short clip, the driver of the Myvi had entered the blind spot of the fuel tanker truck as it attempted to join the road, which resulted in the driver of the massive vehicle being unable to spot the hatchback and both making contact.

It’s an unfortunate (and costly) accident, and the lesson here is to be cautious when being around large commercial vehicles such as a fuel tanker truck. The blind spots of such vehicles are a lot more substantial compared to a regular passenger vehicle, as Shell Malaysia Trading managing director Shairan Huzani Husain, who is also known affectionately as “Pak Cik Shell,” demonstrates in a video uploaded to his Instagram account.

In the video, Pak Cik Shell climbs into a fuel tanker truck and shows a first-person view of what a driver sees from within the cab. It may look all clear looking out, but upon exiting, we find that there are several cars and motorcycles around the fuel tanker truck, with some being several feet away.

Commercial trucks have four blind spots which are called “no zones,” and if you drive behind, directly in front or on either side of a truck, the driver cannot see your vehicle. So, please be careful and avoid overtaking such trucks on the left or being in its blind spot. Give them room if you can because it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• God please help this guy on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:51 am

The Myvi driver is just stupid. Pure stupidity.

• Don’t endanger road users life on Aug 15, 2022 at 11:11 am

Lame excuses. Please install 360 cam on every side of the tanker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
    • Jasonx on Aug 15, 2022 at 12:09 pm

Why don’t car drivers such as you use your signal lights properly and follow driving rules?

Excuses.

• Think again on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:26 pm

Do you really think tanker drivers able to see your little signal light? Talking about blind spots.

• Mustafa on Aug 15, 2022 at 12:58 pm

Agreed….we got the technology now…why not force all those tankers to install these technology…

• Kariayam on Aug 16, 2022 at 10:49 pm

Slapping a 360 cam onto everything and then driving like a tool isn’t going to stop lorries from squashing you in your myvi.
      The moral of the story is to use your eyes & common sense and understand the fact that not everyone on the road can see you at all times.

• Haters gonna hate on Aug 17, 2022 at 3:47 pm

Lame, why don’t all idiots like you install a brain to think how to stay away from big trucks ?

• Good effort Pak Cik Shell but law maker shud make in mandatory now for all heavy vehicles to have blind spot monitoring system….tech is there and not expensive (even a perodua have it nowadays), abt time regulator in Msia be more strict

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • tradaNippon on Aug 15, 2022 at 5:06 pm

When it’s agreeable that such implementation is a good direction, in this specific case, the Myvi shouldn’t be there in the first place. Let’s assume that the tanker does have a 360 cams and aware of the Myvi, of course he had to stop and allow the Myvi to go first to prevent such incident happening right? Now, think about what the Myvi is doing here, is it following the road rules? Is it queuing behind the tanker as it suppose to? Is it the Myvi turn to go or the tanker? What if after the Myvi, there’s a few more cars doing the same thing? Does the tanker have to give way to all of them before he can go? Then, what’s the point of being there first if they have to give way all cars that don’t follow the rules and cut queue?

• Safety for all on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:25 pm

You haters think it is easy to drive a tanker? Think properly first b4 u critise. It’s not like you haters are smart drivers anyway.

• Tanker is King on Aug 15, 2022 at 4:16 pm

This Myvi is wrong, doesn’t mean tankers never wrong, and some tanker driver think they’re the smart drivers LOL No need 360 cam nor blind spot monitoring. Anything happens just say “ Tak Nampak, blind spot “. Good for you, by all means langgar away.