2022 Perodua Alza – full video review of the 7-seater MPV; is this the best car under RM100k, full stop?

You’ve read our review of the 2022 Perodua Alza and if we sound impressed there, it’s more of the same in this comprehensive video review. Here, Hafriz Shah points out the things he likes about the second-generation Alza, as well as the bits that he doesn’t agree with. And there are a few of those. This video isn’t short, but it contains all you need to know about 2022’s most significant new car.

While the Alza isn’t perfect, the negative points are in the finer details and Perodua has done well in the things that matter the most in an affordable family MPV – space and practicality, safety and efficiency/fuel economy. We’ve come to expect those things from the market leader of late, but the Alza throws in a surprise bonus – we’ll explain in the video.

Launched in July, the D27A replaces the original JDM-based Alza that’s now 13 years old, a few lifetimes in the car world. At 4,425 mm long and 1,730 mm wide, its footprint is 205 mm longer and 35 mm wider than the old Alza, even if the 2,750 mm wheelbase is unchanged.

The larger body yields more interior room for both humans and cargo – interior length with the second row seats pushed furthest back is 2,765 mm, which is a significant 115 mm more than before. The 35 mm extra width of the body fully translates to interior width, too.

The old Alza was barely there as a three-row MPV and had only 83 litres of boot space with all seats raised. Now, it’s a usable 137 litres (+54L, good for a couple of duffel bags). With the third row bench folded (50:50), cargo space is now 498 litres, a massive 150L improvement.

The Alza has been merged with the Toyota Avanza/Veloz and the Daihatsu Xenia, and all sit on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) front-wheel-drive platform. Each has its own unique face, so the Alza will look different from the Veloz that will launch in Malaysia soon. We’ve detailed the Alza-Veloz differences in a separate post here.

Face aside, the Alza, with its unique suspension tune and low ground clearance of 160 mm, sits 30 mm lower than the Malaysian-spec Veloz (190 mm, already lower than Indonesia’s 205 mm). This deliberately low GC was chosen for easy entry and exit for young and old members of the family, but a low centre of gravity also improves dynamics.

Under the hood is the Perodua-made Dual VVT-i NR engine that also powers the Myvi, Vios/Yaris and the upcoming Veloz. 105 hp and 138 Nm doesn’t sound like much, especially for an MPV, but at 1,170 kg, the Alza is only 20 kg heavier than the top spec Vios despite having more metal, seats and features. For added context, the sporty Mazda 3 Hatchback, which also comes with a 1.5L NA engine, tips the scales at 1,368 kg, nearly 200 kg more. That’s down to the DNGA, which also delivers a five-star ASEAN NCAP performance.

P2 says that the new engine provides 40% better fuel efficiency plus improved performance. Eco Idle (auto start-stop) is standard. The Euro 4 four-pot is paired to the D-CVT gearbox that made its local debut with the turbocharged Ativa last year. The world’s first split gear CVT system then appeared in the Myvi facelift, paired with NA NR engines. Here, like on the Ativa, the D-CVT has manual mode, which the Myvi misses out on.

New to the brand is Drive Modes (H and AV). Normal, Eco and Power modes are selectable via a ‘DRIVE’ steering button on the right spoke, where the ‘PWR’ button is on the Ativa and Myvi. Short press for Power, long press for Eco. The latter provides heightened response while the latter optimises fuel economy.

Speaking of FC, it’s 22 km/l in what P2 calls the Malaysian Driving Cycle, which supposedly reflects local conditions. It’s 18.9 km/l in the more familiar NEDC. Perodua claims that an Alza needs less than RM40 of RON 95 petrol to travel from KL to Penang (358 km), based on the current RM2.05 per litre. We couldn’t get close to 22 km/l, but our average was a respectable figure – more in the video.

In the kit department, the Alza gets all equipment of the Ativa, with the bonus of some new-to-Perodua features. Six airbags and ASA are standard from the base model (no compromise when it comes to safety), and there’s also the digital meter panel, ACC + LKC (this pack always comes with BSM and RCTA) and the Lexus-level Adaptive Driving Beam LED headlamps.

New-to-brand features include the electronic parking brake (EPB) with auto brake hold (necessitates rear disc brakes), a 360-degree panoramic view monitor (can be manually turned on via steering button) and a new infotainment system that looks better and has Android Auto and the just-approved Apple CarPlay. The ACC now has low speed follow or traffic jam assist.

The level of kit is astounding and is way beyond what non-national B-segment sedans and hatchbacks offer for the money. Never mind Proton, which base X50 goes for RM86,300 and has just four airbags. P1’s cheapest car with ADAS is the X50 Flagship at RM113,300. The same can be said of the Veloz of course, but at an estimated RM95k, the T-badged MPV is less of a value proposition.

The new 2022 Perodua Alza is priced at RM62,500 for the base X, RM68,000 for the mid-spec H and RM75,500 for the AV. Prices are on-the-road excluding insurance, with sales tax. The AV you see here has the GearUp Prime bodykit with LED daytime running lights, as well as faux leather seat covers and other minor accessories – full GearUp catalogue here. For more on the Alza, check out our spec-by spec comparison post and written review.

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV with GearUp bodykit, accessories

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 22, 2022 at 5:19 pm

Apa cooking lagi?
    12 bulan tunggu laa
    Beli jer kereta Honda laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • Semah buncit on Sep 22, 2022 at 7:29 pm

Trbaik bhai. Honda harapan kite,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • Buy honda but aftersales, spec, delivery period, quality and spare parts poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Honda waiting period is worst than Perodua. Even proton is better than honda

• Raja Celup on Sep 23, 2022 at 9:23 am

Top 10 Reasons why new Alza will always be the best MPV ever:

1. No repeating OCH hose bocor this, bocor that
      2. Proven quality materials follow strict Japanese standards and work ethics
      3. Proven efficient fuel economy engine 22km/Liter
      4. Proven reliable DCVT gearbox with no crazy jerking and scooter whining noise
      5. Proven durable Toyo tyres (not some generic brand that sounds like a map or King Kong)
      6. Top notch standard safety features 6 airbags, AES AEB, Lane departure warning etc.
      7. Always ready-stock spare parts for peace of mind, car no need sleep 1 year at service centre
      8. Which means no headache, mental stress and can sleep soundly worry-free every night sweet dreams
      9. Very high resale value, very low regret value (both also RV).
      10. Turn signal stick on right hand side, simple logic common sense .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Norlia on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:19 pm

Komen tanpa fakta. Penipu kuat betul ni

• newme on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:37 pm

But dashcam macam sial lar.

• Troll Hunter on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:59 pm

Rehash stupid comment

• My SA told me have to wait 10 months, not due to huge sales but delivery slow. I ask why, he said parts delay. Paiseh cancel booking and got my Exora within 1 week. It doesn’t have to be the best it just have be available so us customers do not need to wait that looonggg. Frankly I have no complaints on the Exora too.

• Pengguna Bijak on Sep 26, 2022 at 8:26 am

“Paiseh cancel booking and got my Exora within 1 week.”

-A fool and his money soon parted.

• Logical Deduction on Sep 30, 2022 at 8:33 am

Are you implying there are many foolish P2 owners?

• bestMPV kepala on Nov 16, 2022 at 5:32 pm

you lost me at “best MPV”
        Poor Alphard crying in corner as it lose to Alza.

• Brian on Sep 22, 2022 at 5:28 pm

It could be the best car, could perhaps, if it hadn’t suffered from chronic bad parts quality particularly the built in dashcam, and parts shortages issues plaguing deliveries.

I shudder to think what about the servicing and aftermarket. Will these suffer from weekly stays in Service Centers as with many new car releases Myvi & Ativa?

• Celup King on Sep 22, 2022 at 7:05 pm

You bet it smells budget from the looks of that plastic.

• Aura89 on Sep 23, 2022 at 1:23 am

It is just a cheap car which meant cheap in everything. Full stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • newme on Sep 23, 2022 at 9:13 am

Why in SC for weeks?

• Zahid on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:22 pm

If you owned a Myvi of recent make like me, you will know why. It was fortunate I had a spare car I was about to get rid off, now I think I better get rid the Myvi instead.

• newme on Sep 23, 2022 at 1:50 pm

Yes. I do own the latest myvi. I am using it now. What was the problem you are talking about?

• Zahid on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:48 pm

Engine suddenly died with all the wonderful dash lights blinking. I heard about the fuel pump issue, never thought it would happen to me but it did. Now is stuck waiting for ‘correct’ fuel pump from Japan. Sell your Myvi if you could fast, I know I will.

• (Like) 2023 Proton Exora RM63k
    (Dislike) 2022 Perodua Alza RM62.5k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • Celup King on Sep 22, 2022 at 7:08 pm

Exora has no fuel pump problem.
      Perodua has hidden fuel pump problem which they refuse to recall.
      Do you want a car that is reliable for many years or a car that you could burnt to death anytime?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Pemadam Api on Sep 23, 2022 at 2:24 pm

Perodua got no cases of sudden engine fire when parked at home (unlike the other one).

• Why So Serious? on Sep 25, 2022 at 10:34 am

I pity the other one: Bezza. But still it is under P2 so yeah Exora still wins this round.

• Ground europe passenger on Sep 23, 2022 at 3:27 pm

Ya Exora like more value to the price but the punch cvt oil and filter expensive to replace. After some mileage, will cause u lampu durian headache + bomb to repair + wanna sell the car away fast. Meanwhile the perodua DCVT reliablity not known yet as still new.

• LMFAO on Sep 23, 2022 at 11:22 pm

Exora looks like a turd from the 90s. Yuck.

• Lolwhut? on Sep 25, 2022 at 7:09 pm

Turd looking or not it is reliable as hell. It is a people mover not an Italian sportscar, functionality over looks is more important.

• Carnut on Sep 22, 2022 at 8:04 pm

I got my Alza AV a week after launching and just did my 1st service 3 weeks ago. The review is quite spot on and I’m really happy with my purchase. Comfort and handling is many levels above my old Alza, and the car seems to deliver more torque earlier now. Engine noise can be loud at hard acceleration but its not unpleasant. The old Alza was even louder and whirred like an angry washing machine. A bit of rubber band effect from the DCVT at hard accelaration but pass a certain speed, it’s all good as the gear drive kicks in.

The brakes also deserve a mention because they actually bite really well and gives plenty of confidence.

If I had to nitpick there is no good place to store my phone after plugging into the headunit. My S22 doesnt fit well into the lower side pocket of the middle console. ACC is not a joy to use in most cases as the car will brake abruptly when a car cuts in front which is common on our roads. Probably works well only on highways when there’s less traffic. I also turn off lane departure warning lane keep assist as they are annoying for daily driving. Again a good feature only for long distance highway driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Gabriel on Sep 22, 2022 at 9:18 pm

Thank you @Carnut for sharing your experience on the Alza. Nothing beats a review by an actual owner.

• Troll Hunter on Sep 23, 2022 at 1:02 pm

Comments on facebook says otherwise, whatmore anyone can make a comment here. For impartiality sake, Carbase feedbacks are more trustworthy. Whatever said here are just for the giggles.

• Susukotak on Sep 23, 2022 at 2:33 pm

Would u able to get 22km/l FC as advertised?

• Do you want to build a Snowman?
    My son’s favorite song.

• Emergency Vehicles on Sep 23, 2022 at 7:53 am

I think this website should change it’s name from Paultan.org to Perodua.org

• lithium on Sep 23, 2022 at 9:58 am

actually i really enjoyed the youtube video review which is linked to this review. very detail and nicely balance with pros & cons. paultan should do such an extensive review for all major high volume seller so buyer can have a good overview before deciding.

it will only turn into perodua.org when a new perodua is launched – then there will be 10-20 postings and flood the main page – annoying.

• No choice. Full stop.

• Waiting list: still beyond 3 months if lucky
      Service levels: still as poor as before
      If no choice: I rather buy Proton

• Ground europe passenger on Sep 23, 2022 at 10:08 am

Hopes next year perodua rebatch yaris ativ and come without the eco idle.

• Ben Yap on Sep 23, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Watching the video and how the new alza going over the road undulations, it looks like a bumpy ride.

• Sanjey on Sep 24, 2022 at 1:52 pm

It’s not as bumpy as Honda Jazz, NVH and interior also marginally better.

• Sohai on Sep 23, 2022 at 7:25 pm

How can it be “best car under rm100k full stop”, when Veloz is clearly better and under rm100k?
    Hafiz?

• Why So Serious? on Sep 25, 2022 at 10:37 am

Well this should have been tagged under paid sponsor but you know… too obvious man. Remember that readers aren’t paying for content and if we aren’t paying then somebody else are. Wink wink.

• Muhammad Najwan Aqra Bin Sahidan on Jan 03, 2023 at 7:40 pm

I think I’m in love with the all new Alza 2022.