2023 Honda Accord teased – 11th-gen D-segment sedan debuts in November; new design; hybrid power

Honda has released the first official teasers of the 11th-generation Accord, which will make its full debut in November. Replacing the 10th-generation model that has been around since 2017 – a facelift was introduced in 2020 – the upcoming Accord will boast the largest touchscreen ever fitted to a Honda at 12.3 inches.

Details are scarce but the Japanese carmaker says the touchscreen will be linked to a new infotainment system that integrates Google services. We’ve known about this for a while, as last September, the company confirmed that it will use the tech giant’s Android Automotive OS in its cars. Expect functions Google Assistant, Google Maps and in-vehicle apps to be available to users, much like what Volvo does with its cars.

Of course, the main draw of the teasers is what the Accord will look like, and Honda was gracious enough to provide images of the D-segment sedan’s front and rear ends. Starting with the new face, the design matches what was seen in prior patent images, with a hexagonal-shaped grille (looks Acura-esque, don’t you think?) replacing the thick Solid Wing chrome bar and slats found on the outgoing model.

You’ll also notice the grille gets a triangle-themed insert and is flanked by slim recessed headlamps, the latter featuring LED daytime running light strips. Further down, there is a wide lower intake, and while the bottom edges of the bumper are shrouded in darkness, the aforementioned patent images suggest there won’t be faux intakes in those areas.

As for the rear, the two-piece, full-width taillights sport in-vogue light bars that terminate at the Honda logo on the boot lid, and just like at the front, the rear lower apron is kept simple. Referring to the patent images once more, the new Accord will maintain its predecessor’s fastback shape.

Inside, aside from the large touchscreen, we can see a digital instrument cluster as well as a conventional volume dial. Judging by what’s displayed on the screen, Honda appears to have separated the climate controls from the infotainment system.

Other details the teasers provide include the return of the Touring variant, which can be had with a hybrid powertrain. These things aren’t new as the current Accord can be ordered with those specifications. What’s unknown is if the hybrid powertrain has been improved; the current setup consists of a 2.0 litre Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder, E-CVT and an electric motor that produces a total system output of 212 hp and 315 Nm.

We’ll only know more information when Honda reveals the next-generation Accord next month, but for now, what do you think of the overhauled styling? Is it better looking than the 10th-generation model it replaces? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

2023 Honda Accord patent images

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 25, 2022 at 11:14 pm

the moment you realize when honda is about to release its 3rd accord model since 2012 while mazda is still selling the same mazda 6 since 2012…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Roti john Reborn on Oct 26, 2022 at 9:53 am

I hope that same guy does not come here and condemn Honda to the max using multiple names. Honda has been selling the Accord worldwide since 1976, even our Proton acknowledged the 8th generation Honda Accord quality and rebadge it as the Proton Perdana. The Honda Accord is trully a Game-Changing sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • Wilson Khoo on Oct 26, 2022 at 1:34 pm

Hi, i am Mario. I hate Honda to the max!! therefore, i will downvote any positive comments about Honda…. hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • It ‘changes the game’ every 2-3 years?

• Mazda knows D-segment market is no longer the mainstream, the focus shifted to SUV segment. What Mazda did was to transform D-segment sedan into a rear wheel drive machine to gain the driving experience and capture higher end market but conservative japanese dropped the plan due to many reasons – cost. This is why we can expect the Mazda 6 will get another face-lift.

Nothing to talk about this Accord but hope they can compete the marker, they need to make it very interesting, nice looking, nice to drive, powerful yet reliable, high tech, reasonable price. The rivals are all up their game and not just German brand, now with Korean and Chinese brands.

• Mzda hed on Oct 26, 2022 at 7:13 pm

Mazda is for asss holes. I see so many soccer mom driving cx5 around school areas like they driving a race car. Pls la, dont confuse marketing with real world. It is just a floaty mini SUV. I even see a cx5 racing a bmw 330i up Genting. Guess whats the outcome? Straight line pull is omg slow compared to BMW, after each corner, further and further. After 2 corner…cant see the 330i already but the cx5 still there. And cx5 almot hentam dinding at a 180 degree bend near the tokong. Hahahahah.. then mazda behave very well after the incident.

• Malaysian Citizen on Oct 26, 2022 at 11:09 am

Still love Mazda 6 design. Looks updated even at 10 year mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Steven Matthias on Oct 26, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Honda is like Proton now. Release so many models also, sales lingkup lah. Especially in Malaysia, DRB ruined both HOnda and Proton because it’s managed by a GLC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Haidi on Oct 25, 2022 at 11:41 pm

Wow… Never expecting this coming that early.

• This comes here…can say bye bye to proton and also habislah to japanese brands and mercedes too

Honda is more reliable but not proton and all brands. Perodua also memang kalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
      • Still using honda lanewatch..sure memang kalah. All cars now come with blind spot monitor

• Betik on Oct 26, 2022 at 10:14 am

New Accordana

• Honda reliable? Someone from 80s is here. Time traveling is possible.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 26, 2022 at 1:47 pm

Honda is a good brand. That is why even Prooton rebadged the Accord for their Perdana which was a sales flop and had no VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • with the current price tag, accord lost its attractiveness to consumers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Savon on Oct 25, 2022 at 11:57 pm

Chery is much better looking interior than those boring outdated interior honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Chong Or Pei on Oct 26, 2022 at 10:15 am

Not sure I can trust Chinese carmakers. The first Chinese cars that came to our shores in 2000s are nowhere to be seen. The X70 from 2018 is already suffering from gearbox issues since 2021, barely 3 years into active duty.

• Steven Matthias on Oct 26, 2022 at 1:45 pm

Well said Chong, China cars always got issues. Even X70 also can sell well only because Malaysians are FOOLED thinking it is a rebadged Volvo.

Yes, kudos to Proton for converting it to RHD, but the car itself is developed by Geely….and you can see all the China quality issues come out

• TeeTee on Oct 26, 2022 at 7:43 am

… while Toyota Malaysia, buang the multimedia screen and find local supplier that can supply cheaper (and inferior) replacement. Note: bigger screen does not mean better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota is more failure, same like proton. Perodua also memang kalah. Japanese brands all kalah too. Sorry, honda is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
      • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 26, 2022 at 10:17 am

If you want to make a comment, at least be logical. Otherwise you look like a Honda salesman or fanboy. Reality is the CRV and the HRV all suffering from Geely coming into the market. The Accord, like most D segment, becoming more and more irrelevant as SUVs take over….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Ken Temple on Oct 26, 2022 at 8:10 am

The rear end light treatment is more upscale looking. Hopefully Honda did away with that funky shaped rear quarter window.

• Brandon on Oct 26, 2022 at 8:26 am

Finally, something with power and savings instead of high combustion turbo engines.

• Ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Xaxier on Oct 26, 2022 at 9:26 am

Hardly seen the 10th gen in our road. Hope they can make a comeback with the 11th gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • meladam on Oct 26, 2022 at 9:40 am

honda purposely make civic ugly this year just to make room for accord to shine. excited for it! now using 9.5 gen

• You’re right. It seems, that they have serious problems to sell the Accord in countries other than Malaysia…

• No matter how much honda designers have design. Surely, is still fail. Interior is also more boring, looks the same as civic and hr-v. Nothing special

• Bye bye Accord on Oct 26, 2022 at 10:47 am

Alah… come or dont come most not bothered… this camry and honda all become muzeum cars with that price tag… haha

• Gabriel on Oct 26, 2022 at 11:03 am

Is it just me, or new Honda cars are less exciting nowadays?

• Cynthia on Oct 26, 2022 at 11:12 am

please come with sunroof Honda!

• Ahmad on Oct 26, 2022 at 11:44 am

If want cars with pop up infotainment screen – pick any car
    If want analog speedometer – pick mazda (sadly not the new upcoming gen)
    If prefer knobs over sensitivity button – pick mazda
    If prefer reliable AT tranny/No CVT – pick mazda
    If prefer N/A – pick mazda
    If you still want a dipstick to check gear oil – pick mazda
    If you want better GUI at infotainment system – pick mazda. Other brand really looks like an old school Android v1. And I dont mind the lack of AA/ACP.

Looks like mazda is still in my heart and soul. Yeah I know my car is underspecced compares to other country getting. But Mazda is a better choice. Besides, at least Bermaz handle the after service better than DRB

• Dong Gor on Oct 26, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Volume tak alak.. Need inflate the price to offset the low volume to be sustainable. When price goes up, volume continues to drop. So there is no point to struggle as the end result is destined. Let it go, let it go… Says Elsa.

• Honkauyu on Oct 26, 2022 at 8:10 pm

Everyone talk like they love mazda but once come major maintainence and break down all hell went lose hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Are you sure mazda major maintenance all not good and mazda can easily breakdown? You mean that honda will also breakdown and also once people felt there is something broken quality for driving honda while people have to wait longer to collect honda spare parts?

• hazri on Oct 26, 2022 at 8:23 pm

kia forte front + vw passat rear. honestly im dissappointed. accord stapler looks better than this.

• Wonder how long the waiting list will be? 1-year?