Proton X50 R3 20th Anniversary Edition, 200 units only

Hello and good morning from the media day of the Malaysia Autoshow 2023, which opens to the public tomorrow. You won’t miss this one as you enter the event’s main hall, a matte black Proton X50 with yellow accents, an unmistakable R3 signature. The showcar’s plates read “R3 Concept”. What’s this and can you buy it?

Yes. Official details are scant, but we’ve gathered from the Proton booth that there will be a “Proton X50 R3 20th Anniversary Edition” that’s open for booking, and only at the Malaysia Autoshow 2023. The carmaker will make 200 units of this special edition, basically the X50 with an accessories package.

UPDATE: Details of the final customer car have emerged, and it includes the black wrap job with yellow accents and stripes, R3 grille logo, R3 20th Anniversary emblems for the tailgate and cabin, R3 3D floor mats, R3 number plate holders and 18-inch flow-formed alloys. Refer to the image below. This means that what you see on the showcar might not match the final car.

We don’t know how much it is yet, and this showcar is not the final product, it was stressed. The car you see here is a ‘concept’ and it features matte black wrap with yellow highlights (on the lower edge of the body and the wing mirrors) and a grey stripe, a bodykit, a more aggressive ‘double wing’ rear spoiler (Binyue S-style) and unique rims. Behind the latter, you’ll see yellow brake calipers.

Speaking of brakes, we have been told that there could be possible upgrades to the B-segment SUV’s brakes, suspension and even power from the 1.5 TGDi engine, although nothing has been finalised at this point. The X50 Flagship’s three-cylinder turbo engine makes 177 PS/255 Nm, while the other variants make do with a port-injected version of the engine that makes 150 PS/226 Nm.

Inside, the showcar sports alloy pedals in a signature R3 design, R3 carpets and the R3 logo embroidered on the front seat headrests. Once again, what you see here may not be what you will get, which could be more, or less.

Despite the fact that the specs and content of the Proton X50 R3 20th Anniversary Edition aren’t confirmed yet, never mind the price, you can put your name down for one at the Malaysia Autoshow 2023.

Like what you see? We’ll post updates if and when they are available.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• i will put my name down, if this car comes earlier than my Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo RS, then i will take x50.

i will let the fate decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • YM.RAJA ABD ASSIS on May 03, 2023 at 7:58 pm

0ROTON X50 R3 IS BEAUTIFUL SUV

• Joke bro.. for those that can afford Civic RS, wont consider X50..there are nothing to this R3 that you cannot add on to Civic since they all cosmetics (if added performance? Not going to make X50 to become X51 with those).. And those that buy Civic going to make-up their car cun-cun anyway..Also i just bashing you just to test my comment that never appear on Paultan for some reason

• Ben Yap on May 03, 2023 at 11:07 am

i thought R3 has been disbanded? it has resurrected from the dead?

• it was revive some years back already, but no aftermarket parts yet, for now they sell “specialize engine oil” they did say they’re coming back with aftermarkets parts but who knows when

• 200 units? Got serial number or not? Because B40 loves to display their serial number. “002-Cawangan Kapar” … hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 30
    • mr1031 on May 03, 2023 at 2:57 pm

maybe u got brain damage or too much hate in your heart..in reality, its the rich that likes specialise serial numbers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • The rich like specialized plate number, not serial number. It’s called serial number for a reason, the number is in series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • BroYouOkayAh on May 04, 2023 at 9:22 am

Bro you really need to get your head checked. What are you trying to accomplish but spamming hate speeches all the time ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Sohai on May 03, 2023 at 11:33 am

What you see is not the actual final car, and there is no price, so R3 what are you selling? Is your 20th anniversary and you are not ready.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Ex myvi user on May 05, 2023 at 9:22 pm

Lol ofcoz it’s not the final car bcz this is only “concept car”. Hence, this car not meant for sale so there is no price

• Perodua Gear Up on May 05, 2023 at 9:28 pm

Tell me which car brand tht still offer performance tuned up version for their affordable model

• If the power really tuned up with upgraded brake and suspension, this will be the first proper R3 edition (since satria). Not just slap paint job and body kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • newme on May 03, 2023 at 11:44 am

shame – would have looked much better in Lotus green instead of black.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Yeahsure on May 03, 2023 at 11:46 am

Not confirmed this, not confirm that, not sure if its worth reporting on then… Since every component is a maybe…

• Ex Myvi User on May 05, 2023 at 9:31 pm

Because Paultan always penyibuk tentang benda yg belum pasti. Suka assume benda yg belum jadi. Dgn harapan benda tu akan influence car market dkt malaysia especially Proton

• Hmm.. next.

• Johnny on May 03, 2023 at 11:59 am

X50 drivers are the new upgraded Myvi drivers.

• Pelekat on May 03, 2023 at 12:06 pm

Sticker Engineering pulak…kasi highlight kuning skit, tepek badge R3…up harga 15%..settled..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Ex Myvi User on May 05, 2023 at 9:33 pm

Itu la namanya business. Kw igt proton ni buat model sempena kerja amal? Lol

• Ground europe passenger on May 03, 2023 at 12:09 pm

Wow..is that real matte black paint or wrapped? x50 looks like a sport hatchback rather than suv when having lowered bigger rim.

• Do Vios and Axia showcar give us a peek on their controversial door trim.

• Gagasan Wawasan Mamasan GWM on May 03, 2023 at 12:45 pm

non-performance upgrade just Vanity edition of 200 units?

• Bob Mal on May 03, 2023 at 12:58 pm

I have my doubts on the 3-cyl TGDi engine going any higher than 181PS and 265Nm torque as that would exceed the Volvo engine specification here.

On that subject matter as a fanboy they should have thrown in the 4-cyl 100% design and made by China which has higher output and probably require 4L of engine oil and likely cheaper oil filter & air filter too which the current Volvo-China engine by combining 3 of these service itself result to RM386.10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • volvere on May 04, 2023 at 3:49 pm

Where to find the “Volvo specifications” you’re talking about?

• Ex Myvi User on May 05, 2023 at 9:41 pm

Lol why it has to be made by China? Should use pure volvo engine itself

• Sahid bin abdul hameid on May 03, 2023 at 3:39 pm

Very awesome car of the year malaysia 2023 more awesome if i get one of car

• Boy Racer on May 03, 2023 at 3:41 pm

What a disgrace to the R3 name.

Might as well call themselves Broth3Rs car accessories

• Rubbish accessories that doesn’t do anything .

• Putin Wong and Kenneth Xi on May 03, 2023 at 6:31 pm

Will the real racing boy please stand up

• Ah.. another anniversary car in black with yellow stripes.

• YM.RAJA ABD ASSIS on May 03, 2023 at 7:57 pm

0ROTON X50 R3 IS BEAUTIFUL SUV

• David on May 03, 2023 at 8:52 pm

Pay extra for junkie accessory

• R3 badging on May 03, 2023 at 10:18 pm

The seat color accents should also be yellow as the yellow color highlights on the exterior.

• Shadio on May 04, 2023 at 8:34 am

Proton is still unable to make its own car…ashamed and embarrassed…. they always buy some foreign cars and just simply put in the “Proton” logo… And claim these are “Our New Cars”!

• volvere on May 04, 2023 at 3:58 pm

Thanks god. If they would design cars like Perodua/Daihatsu/Toyota, then we would have leaking oil filters, an astmatic engine with 106hp only and rigged safety tests.

• Azahar bin Mohamad on May 04, 2023 at 9:49 am

Superb design n colour

• Kaneigh on May 04, 2023 at 9:50 am

And then what happens next is customers who bought it will drove it like the road is theirs. They will drove the car like they stole a car. Changing lanes without giving signal lights as if they’re playing GTAs. More power, more ego.

• Alice chew on May 04, 2023 at 3:01 pm

I m a lady, I am hoping proton will come out a protonX 30.

• Aslilah Sidik on May 05, 2023 at 12:32 am

R3 love .love . Love

• Momos on May 05, 2023 at 12:39 pm

No paddle shifter is fake R3

• Vedder on May 07, 2023 at 4:42 pm

Please make a booking today! Weird advertising. Sounds like they’re begging us

• Factory rice

• Jinjang lalazhai style .