2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro SUV launched in Malaysia – 7-seater X90 rival with 2.0T, 256 hp, 390 Nm; RM160k

Finally, Chery’s return is official. Moments ago, Chery Malaysia officially launched the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro SUVs as the first models in a new era of the brand in Malaysia. Click here to read about the Omoda 5 – this post focuses on the Tiggo 8 Pro. TLDR: there’s a single Luxury variant priced at RM159,800.

It has been a long gestation – our exclusive in December 2021 broke the news of Chery’s re-entry into our market, and the Chinese carmaker’s first official event here happened in October 2022. Since then, we’ve brought you previews of what’s coming next from the company’s base in Wuhu, as well as first look posts of the local spec Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro. All of that culminates in tonight’s ‘grand launch event’.

In case you’re wondering about the ‘return’ part, or aren’t old enough to remember, Chery was brought in by Tan Sri Cam Soh Thiam Hong’s Alado in the noughties and we had models like the QQ minicar, Tiggo SUV and Eastar MPV in the ‘Chery Alado’ era. We even had a world debut of a Chery here in 2015!

No local partner this time around, as Chery has decided to do things its own way in a market that’s very difficult to penetrate. Even the mighty BYD has the backing of major player Sime Darby. Also, there will be 31 dealerships at launch, with more opening by the end of 2023. That’s a staggering number that’s probably unprecedented in the Malaysian auto market, based on our memory.

Another sign of bravery is the fact that the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro are launching in CKD form, with no initial small CBU batch to ‘test the waters’ but local assembly at Inokom in Kulim right from the start. This is no small undertaking, as even Proton – with its huge plant, established vendor network and national car status – kickstarted sales of Geely SUVs with CBUs.

We’ve had a few looks at the Chery Tiggo 8 Pro now, and it still looks really good, both inside and out. We first brought you live coverage from Wuhu, Chery’s hometown, before covering the SUV’s local debut at the Malaysia Autoshow in May. We then gave the D-segment SUV our usual 360-degree outdoor gallery and walk-around video treatment.

By the way, we’re getting the latest improved version of this seven-seater SUV, which is badged Tiggo 8 Pro Max in China, although the ‘Max’ suffix is dropped for Malaysia to simplify things – it’s the only Tiggo 8 we’re going to get anyway. Under the hood is a 2.0L turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 256 hp and 390 Nm of torque. Power from the GDI engine goes to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, and there are three drive modes – Eco, Normal and Sport.

By the way, today’s Tiggo 8 Pro differs from the one that was previewed in Malaysia last year. The SUV gets an updated look that features a new “galaxy” grille and the rear end sports a full-width LED bar and fancy T-shaped third brake lights. The wheels are now 19-inch items, an inch up, wrapped with 235/55 tyres. We have some night shots for you to see the LED signatures, and the illuminated logo.

It’s a fair bit nicer outside now, but it’s inside that the latest Tiggo 8 shines. The big SUV gets a horizontal dash design featuring contemporary cues such as conjoined screens (24.6 inches in total), inline AC vents and a high centre console. It’s all much neater now, and there are places where you’ll find Mercedes-esque details – check out the switches, open pore wood-style trim (no texture though) and speaker grilles that mimic Merc’s Burmester items.

Chery Tiggo 8 Pro Interior

The steering wheel is also new, with Chery spelled out instead of the logo. Speaking of logos, there are Tiggo signatures on the side of the central screen and the rear AC vent area, in classical font. Kit wise, the airbag count maxes out at nine now (we’ll explain the odd number later), and there are a total of eight Sony speakers.

As for the rest of the kit, the list includes an electronic parking brake with auto hold, automatic LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lamps, welcome lights and multi-colour ambient lighting, electric front seats with ventilation/heating, driver’s seat memory, dual-zone auto air con with rear vents, hands-free powered tailgate, electronic panoramic sunroof, wireless phone charger and (wired) Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. There’s also proximity sensor keyless entry, like Honda’s walk-away auto lock.

That very long list of kit is bolstered by a full ADAS suite that includes functions such as lane departure warning/keeping, blind spot detection, door open warning, rear cross traffic alert, adaptive cruise control, and front collision warning with auto braking (AEB). Parking is aided by an all-around camera.

A note on airbags – on top of the usual six, the Tiggo 8 Pro adds on a driver’s knee bag and rear side airbags. The latter is very rare in Malaysia, and is typically seen only on luxury cars.

For those wondering how this compares to the Proton X90 – which is also a three-row SUV designed in China – the tiger-badged car tops out at RM152,800 for the Flagship, but it’s powered by a 1.5T three-cylinder mild hybrid system with 190 PS/300 Nm. The Chery’s 2.0T outguns it with 256 hp/390 Nm.

Size wise, the Tiggo 8 Pro is 4,722 mm long and 1,860 mm wide, which is 108 mm shorter and 40 mm narrower than the X90. The Chery’s 2,710 mm wheelbase is 95 mm shorter than the Proton’s. So, the X90 has a bigger footprint, which this writer wouldn’t have gueesed – the Chery looks beefy. As for boot space, it’s 193 litres with all three rows of seats in place, or 892 litres with the third row folded. Max volume is 2,101 litres with all seats down.

Click to enlarge brochure

Colour options are limited to Dark Black and Khaki White, which means that we miss out on the gorgeous deep green colour of the preview unit, which shimmers under the sun. Once again, the Tiggo 8 Pro is priced at RM159,800.

Chery Malaysia also unveiled its warranty package tonight, and it’s seven years or 150,000 km for the vehicle, plus five years of ‘free service’ (alternating, free labour). The engine warranty is a whopping 10 years or one million km. But the catch is that the headline-grabbing engine warranty is for the first 3,000 customers. After that it reverts to seven years/150,000 km, joining the rest of the vehicle. But if you really want the 10y/1m package, top up RM2,000 for an extended warranty package.

Proton X90 aside, the Tiggo 8 Pro’s local rivals include the Mazda CX-8, the just-launched Toyota Innova Zenix and fourth-gen Kia Sorento, although the latter starts from above RM200k. The next-gen Honda CR-V too, when it comes. The C-SUV stalwart has grown in size and is available elsewhere with an optional third row. So, what do you think of the Tiggo 8 Pro’s looks and price/package versus this bunch?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ok, I am cancelling my civic RS turbo and getting this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 88
    • Isaac on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:50 am

More benz buyers will cancel buy GLA and GLB and opt for this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr on Jul 06, 2023 at 9:58 pm

I sincerely hope Chery does well here. Proton needs some competition and this is a well packaged vehicle to compete with the X90.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
    • Geery on Jul 19, 2023 at 10:56 pm

Agree. Geely needs a competition here they have been somewhat unfairly profiting from the national car advantage given to them. If non-national Chery can price the feature-loaded Tiggo like this, Geely should have priced the X90, X70 and X50 lower than they do now.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 06, 2023 at 10:00 pm

Konfem laku macam goreng pisang panas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • tricycle on Jul 06, 2023 at 10:01 pm

I like everything about this car, considering it is only RM160k. But the FWD and Sunroof(it is blazingly hot here).

Dear Paultan.org, is there any chance Chery will bring AWD version of this car with similar safety and convenience features?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Wow! This can be mistaken for a Merc especially the interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • The one who are still hoping prices for this car is gonna be expensive which is either poor and middle, is mainly from crying and poor knowledge PN cybertroopers. See how much PHBN government have done to us compare to the rule under PN rule where PN sells expensive and hurting for all car brands but protecting Mercedes policy. At least PHBN government have save all businesses and not sells expensive, though difficult times but at least PHBN did good job unlike PN inclduing protecting Mercedes policy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 41
    • Cano less intelligent on Jul 06, 2023 at 11:02 pm

This article about car, not about politics. No one need your useless opinion here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 75
      • FLASH on Jul 07, 2023 at 7:47 am

It is not political when it is the truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Depends where you are (virtually) on Jul 07, 2023 at 2:09 pm

Over here, we should be interested in the truth in the automotive world, not politics.

• Agree. PN is doing nothing compare to UG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 15
    • samemas on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:56 am

It doesn’t matter you’re on which side but this political cybertrooper business has to stop. I’m sure the people at paultan.org would also agree that we netizens go over to their portal with the intention to follow up on automotive news. If we want to follow up on politics, surely there are other websites to go to. It’s like that guy who wanted to watch what he thought was an action packed movie, but instead it was some boring political drama.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Tell PN cybertroopers first, they are the ones who started first. PN cybertroopers always too jealous about todays government and desperate to comment all the nonsense facts. Btw, I’m with you, PN cybertroopers should also understand that this is car article but not politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • samemas on Jul 07, 2023 at 2:18 pm

I did mention that it doesn’t matter on which side you are. I’m sure supporters of any political party can read my previous comment. There’s already too much irrelevant politically motivated comments in this portal & I’m sure the administrators or moderators here are concerned about such data taking up space within their servers.

• anton on Jul 07, 2023 at 2:59 pm

You must PH cybertrooper then. LOL. delusional

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • sand ivy on Jul 07, 2023 at 3:44 pm

At least PH fans talks more sense than illogical thinking from PN fans

• Sh ivan on Jul 06, 2023 at 11:57 pm

Available in black or white only. Disappointing…Chery needs to provide more color options on Tiggo 8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • mystvearn on Jul 07, 2023 at 5:12 am

Hopefully, paultan can review the car soon

• Z900 2016 on Jul 07, 2023 at 6:52 am

I have to admit this is a nice looking car with lots of power. Sorry but still no confidence in China origin cars including Geely/Proton. The warranty is tempting though. When the price is affordable and specs are good, suddenly people forget about resale value. Good luck buyers!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
    • uuuu999 on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:29 am

EV has even worse resale value.. don’t live in the past.. resale value for poor people thoughts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Then u should buy a hilux

• kdhjla on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:38 am

Resale value doesn’t weigh that much in consideration for the buyer who usually using their car for at least 8-9 years

• Driving comfort, features and safety are most important compared to buying overpriced H or T cars (due to cut features for Malaysian market) for the sake of resale value.

• Based on Innova Zenix, though is CBU, price is still reasonable, latest version of TSS, features and also good comfort and powerful engine. Don’t think toyota is really bad now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • But when CKD for Innova Zenix, gonna be cheaper than CBU

• In these days and time, cars will be a part of house hold appliances. It will only get cheaper so resale value is going away. Do we sell our spoilt tv or washing machines away? We replace them.

• Dr.Doe on Jul 07, 2023 at 7:37 am

Dear Writer the max power output for the X90 that you wrote isn’t accurate. That’s only from the tgdi engine. With the hybrid system, it’ should be around 190ps & 300nM. Yes, it’s still lower than the Tiggo. Yeah it’s usually nice to root for the underdog, but let’s be fair yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Ploton on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:51 am

Proton’s way of calculating hybrid power output is wayyyyyy too straightforward and misleading. They just directly adding the output from the motor and engine while in real world, it doesn’t work like that.

If the innova hybrid were doing the same calculation as the proton, it’s output would be

265ps/394nm

That is why when calculating mild hybrid power output, just use it’s own engine power because the motor doesn’t work most of the time unlike full hybrid.

• Bob Mal on Jul 07, 2023 at 11:34 am

Well some are hoping that this x90 is really another Volvo XC40 T5 where as quoted in Paultan article:

“we have a technical solution that allows us to have full power from the ICE at the same time as for the electric motor.”

“As our electric motor is attached to one of the internal shafts in the gearbox, and can by that be shifted independently of the gear the combustion engine is running at. That makes it possible to have full power for both engine and electric motor at the same time,” he added. So, there you have it, good engineering.

• Then why didn’t they quote a total output figure in their product literature?

• Sohai on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:15 am

You can’t just add the hybrid system output to the engine output. They peak at different time.

Interesting that you brought up fairness… nothing about Proton is being fair to the other car players. If we play fair, Proton has no chance.

• SmartConsumer on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:02 am

10 years warramty or 1 million lm warranty for the engine!!! wow. that is pure confidence and a big peace of mind for the buyers. I am looking for a MPV and I am going to check this Cherry out. Looks really good to. Its an Estima rival instead of proton in my opinion

• Sohai on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:08 am

Proton just got attacked on its 2 models (X50, and X90) on the same day.
    Cherry just show us that Proton being a national car, its pricing is not at all competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • The price competes directly with X90. What do you mean it’s not at all competitive? I’m sure you know what competitive means right? Just in case you don’t, competitive doesn’t mean cheapest in class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Sohai on Jul 07, 2023 at 2:51 pm

I am sure you didnt read my comment properly.
        I meant Proton pricing not being competitive.
        Proton is enjoying a national car status, and yet, the car is not much cheaper compare to Cherry that is better speced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Looking at the price of only RM160k, my thought is X90 should be cheaper as Proton is our national car brand.

• people used to LOL at those who bought China brand cars 10-15 years ago saying better to buy Proton or Perodua.. but look at where these brands are now… guess who’s laughing louder now (nope, i did not buy a China brand car FYI)

• youngun on Jul 07, 2023 at 11:55 am

Quite handsome if to compare to the rest of the MPV design, 3rd row height however not so comfortable for adult.

• Autodriver on Jul 08, 2023 at 6:25 pm

Neither one is comfortable for 6 adults ride compare to MPV. The only 6 or 7 seaters SUV last row can sit a proper adult of 170cm are XC90 and X7 but price is crazy.

Among the Tiggo 8 and X90 I will pick Tiggo 8 anytime because of bigger horsepower are more enjoyable to drive. Although Tiggo 8 struggle in 3rd row seat but for kid or adult around 160cm height should have no problem at all.

• OK. cancel my Honda CR-V 2023 booking. Applying Loan now…

• Looking forward for Chery Malaysia to bring Tiggo 8 PHEV version. Hopefully by early 2024.

• Yesterday i test drive this car, overall very good. Worth buying.

• Xiaozhang on Jul 11, 2023 at 10:41 am

I am considering cancel my X90 booking go for Tiggo.

• Just heard the warranty of seven years or 150,000 km is only for the engine and transmission system and not the whole car. Other parts of the car different warranty period. What the…

• It’s seven years or 150,000 km for the VEHICLE, plus five years of ‘free service’ (alternating, free labour).

This is not True, it only 3 years / 60,000km warranty for the vehicle. 7 years WARRANTY only for the engine and transmission.

• Fahmi on Dec 10, 2023 at 10:22 am

Already test drive this car and it’s was good. Speed, suspension is ok. Drove both Omoda and Tiggo, preferred Tiggo.