Audi Malaysia plans for CKD locally assembled models

Audi distributor in Malaysia, PHS Automotive Malaysia (PHSAM) will be looking into offering locally assembled (CKD) products, having traditionally offered fully imported (CBU) products in its line-up.

“We do have plans to move towards CKD. In the CKD market, we can be more competitive in pricing. Compared to CBU, it helps us reach out to our customers… in terms of pricing and needs, we are able to cut a good deal for our customers,” PHSAM managing director Denyu Bostandzhiev said, following the Malaysian launch of the Audi SQ8 e-tron and SQ8 Sportback e-tron EV duo.

Plans for the Audi brand to commence local assembly operations in the country have been mooted before, with past brand custodian Volkswagen Group Malaysia having also aimed to begin local assembly of its vehicles within two years of its plans’ announcement in 2016. Those plans have yet to materialise.

Though the timeline and models for Audi’s CKD local assembly plans have yet to be disclosed, this will likely take place in Pekan, Pahang, where sister brand Volkswagen assembles a range of models, among the latest for the brand being the Golf R and Golf GTI.

Possibly joining the CKD range next could be the facelifted Touareg, as the SUV has been sighted last year wearing Pahang-registered trade plates.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ameer on Jan 19, 2024 at 11:49 am

Great!! Definitely will tapau Mercedes EQ models in future when bringing Audi EVs to Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • triple on Jan 19, 2024 at 12:09 pm

the only way Audi can compete wt BMW & Merc…currently the CBU price is too high vs competitor. does not make sense when an A3 is abt the price of an 5 series & E class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • alibaba on Jan 19, 2024 at 1:38 pm

just dun get it, why CKD can low down selling price? CKD = find factory, invest machine, import workers VS CBU = just import. totally no sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Nonsense on Jan 19, 2024 at 3:09 pm

TAX RELIEF. Continuous tax relief for using local resources, local workers, training local talent, technology transfer or sharing. Indirectly contribute in other taxes like working visas, tourism, hiring local vendors, local services, etc. You need to learn more about foreign direct investment (FDI), basically they help elevate various local economy sectors.

• anoninmus on Jan 19, 2024 at 6:03 pm

sebab government tax incentives bang.

if you are selling imported cars, you are basically just taking money out of the country (this is very much frown upon) – macam colonization duly.

if you CKD them then considering all of the factors you raised, you are “investing” in the country, creating job opportunities etc. this is beneficial for the country in the long run.

• First you have to understand govt policy on CKD & CBU and the purpose. Not everything is cost to car manufacturer. If there is no difference between them then why bother assembling locally. When pur neighbour gave up in building Ford cars they didn’t have to differentiate between local assembled & imported built-up.
      Thus ends Lesson 1.

• hazri on Jan 20, 2024 at 1:32 am

TAX

• G-man on Jan 19, 2024 at 3:53 pm

We all know the drastic drop in quality with the locally assembled models from Volskwagen. Those models from 2012 onward are having constant problems. I personally have no trust in Malaysian assembled vehicles. If it’s cheaper, it’s only because of the workmanship, and that you can’t cut corners.

• JJTan on Jan 19, 2024 at 9:38 pm

After waiting for this announcement for years, finally Audi spoke about it.

• tricycle on Jan 19, 2024 at 11:11 pm

Long overdue news. Come on Audi bring it in. The more the merrier. Good for consumers.

Now waiting for Lexus to CKD their models in Malaysia as well.

• Jonathan on Jan 19, 2024 at 11:32 pm

Bring back the Audi A4 compete with the C class and 3 series.

• hazri on Jan 20, 2024 at 1:38 am

too late. should be done a long time ago, especially when your audi a6 hybrid is the best seller. but, better late than never. price your a5 like 3 series and c class. price your q5 like x3 and glc. sure laku. take back your spot from volvo. please come back stronger.

• been wanting to get the A5 but its specs and tech are so obsolete. This news is welcomed perhaps now can aim for the CKD A7.