BMW remains No. 1 premium brand globally, beating Mercedes, Audi, Tesla – EV sales up 92% to 331k units

It seems like BMW isn’t able to put a foot wrong, despite churning out a slew of controversial designs and ever more complicated iDrive systems. Munich ended the year at the top of the premium car sales pile for the third time running, delivering a record 2,253,835 vehicles in 2023.

As Automotive News Europe reports, this figure represents a 7.3% increase over 2022, enabling BMW to once again trump arch rival Mercedes-Benz. In particular, the brand’s electric vehicles continue to see strong year-on-year growth, with sales skyrocketing by 92% to 330,956 units.

The company says it expects demand for EVs to continue rising and plans to sell half a million fully electric vehicles this year. In all, the BMW Group sold 2,555,341 cars last year (up 6.5%), including those from its MINI and Rolls-Royce subsidiaries.

Meanwhile, Mercedes reported virtually flat sales of 2,043,800 units, due to a shortage of components for its 48-volt mild hybrid systems, other supplier bottlenecks and the changeover to the new W214 E-Class. Sales of its EVs failed to match the heights of BMW’s despite rising 73% to 222,600, but those of high-end Maybach, G-Class and AMG models were strong enough to offset the challenges.

Overall group sales, which include vans (up eight per cent to a record 447,800 vehicles) and smart vehicles (the older fortwo and forfour, not the Geely-developed #1 and #3), rose 1.5% to 2,491,600 units.

Taking up the final podium spot is Audi, which sold 1,895,240 vehicles – 17% more than in 2022 – thanks to easing supply shortages. This includes just over 178,000 EVs that found homes, representing a 51% jump. Ingolstadt’s positive year helped it hold off a serious challenge from the world’s preeminent maker of EVs.

That company is, of course, Tesla, which saw a staggering 38% increase in sales to 1,808,581 units – 96% of which came from the cheaper Model 3 and Model Y. A distant Lexus rounded off the top five; its sales of 824,258 units (up 32%) as of November were enough to see off Volvo’s 708,116 units (up 15%).

Of course, BMW has been doing well in Malaysia as well – the company was the top-selling premium brand for four years on the trot with 11,699 units sold in 2023. These include over 3,600 EVs, including 1,100 units of the ever-popular iX.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lance Chau on Jan 31, 2024 at 10:39 am

Hey Jonathan. You are back with PT?
    Mercedes oh Mercedes. Where have you gone wrong?

• Mercedes have gone wrong
      – reliability issues
      – design issues
      – comfort issues
      – Renault engine
      – performance also not good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Mango on Jan 31, 2024 at 8:46 pm

Mercedes have many failures. Soon Audi will catchup and overtake Merc as second place

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jan 31, 2024 at 9:10 pm

Yessir, I am!

• merzwan on Jan 31, 2024 at 11:21 am

Company with literally zero modern day motorsport pedigree but claims to be “the ultimate driving machine”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
    • Did you watch other Motorsport where bmw also involved in DTM, WEC and others?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • merzwan on Jan 31, 2024 at 7:22 pm

Topkek. WEC they just re-entered and have won nothing. Previous WEC campaign was donkey years ago (remember, I said modern day) as engine in McLaren F1. Formula 1 they retreated with tail between their legs. Dakar also failed miserably. If 2 wheels, they spend MotoGP budget on a WSBK team and have a total of zero world championships. Keep your spec series DTM for yourself la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • Hello merc fanboy, too early to say and nothing to show off okay. Just because you are sad that mercedes have lost sales to bmw and soon to lose to Audi, does not mean have to cry and talk as childishly. WEC just re entered yeah and who says won nothing, it’s just beginning. Do you know that BMW in other Motorsport have also won in championship including DTM? You don’t even watch Motorsports more often. Grow up immature merc fanboy. No one reads your immature comment and also no point for upvoting yourself for trying them. to please your words. Everyone want to move on to have better life unlike you

• Nonsense on Jan 31, 2024 at 2:25 pm

What modern day motorsport are you following? Malaysia Championship Series? Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Ollie on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:10 pm

Recently bought a Merc after considering between it and BMW. Not even a debate, Merc is miles ahead. Months of research and consideration of multiple factors esp ttech, maintenance and durability. Shows how uninformed car buyers are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • Isaac on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:43 pm

But why reliability ranking already shown out that Mercedes is not reliable than used to be. Even many merc owners have faced many issues on new merc models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • meladam on Jan 31, 2024 at 2:12 pm

merc reliable? yes during 2007-2017 model. not for latest model. full of crab

• Ollie on Jan 31, 2024 at 3:57 pm

Again, it comes to analytics and understanding long term ownership. If you fail at that, BMW is the right choice. To pick just one point, reliability – it needs wild imagination to believe that BMW is more reliable than Merc. Ask any specialist mechanic.

Yes kids, before you buy car, identify and build contacts with the car mechanic who is gonna service your car beyond the warranty period outside the stealership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Mango on Jan 31, 2024 at 8:44 pm

Same as mercedes fans are making wild imaginations by saying bad on others just because people’s truth on mercedes problems. So why not ask why many people everywhere as you can see complains about mercedes. Everywhere, you also complains about mercedes. Check yourself darling merc owner. That’s why mercedes fans have failed mostly by not bothering checking website on issues and looks on why mercedes getting bad to worse

• 4.7L SUV on Jan 31, 2024 at 11:56 pm

I am strongly disagree with that, most Mercedes past W124 series was rotten and dead on arrival. I said that bcos I owned some of them and the W124 230E is the only one I owned the longest without much issues, and it was inherited from my grandpa. Not only that, today’s Merc interior build-quality also poor compared to BMW. Now I keep an E90 325i M Sport (year 2011)bcos it’s reliable as f**k for a cheap sport sedan to trash around as daily driver, and a few other brands that keep being replaced bcos they keep failing test of the time to replace my E90.

• ollie on Feb 20, 2024 at 3:14 pm

sure, if you think a RM 25k E90 is worth the trouble, fine. As i said, BMWs are for people who make bad financial decisions, Merc is for those who can do math.

• Isaac on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:44 pm

Damn. Mercedes fans always tryna justify whatever crap Mercedes pulls. You all need to touch some grass lame ass fools

• t333son on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:54 pm

Tesla is not a premium car. It is innovative, modern and fast but premium it is not. So kosong inside . It should be gauged vs Toyota , VW, Honda not BMW Merc Audi Lexus

• Nonsense on Jan 31, 2024 at 2:26 pm

Agreed. Tesla is anything but premium. They aren’t even a car company.

• Lionel Messi on Feb 05, 2024 at 10:33 pm

Tesla is priced similarly to the BBA in most part of the world so I don’t see any problem in labeling them as ‘premium’ category.

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 31, 2024 at 4:32 pm

peugeot of the 2000s was superbly good in making crappy cars, bmw is the peugeot now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Mango on Jan 31, 2024 at 8:45 pm

Audi can catch up anytime with Merc to takeover as second place. You know why merc have failed so much these days than before

• Stephan315 on Feb 01, 2024 at 10:03 am

anybody know when the i5 m60 will be launching in malaysia?

• Stephan315 on Feb 01, 2024 at 10:04 am

Does anyone know when the i5 M60 will be launching in Malaysia?

• Kunaseelan Packianathan on Feb 01, 2024 at 10:07 am

I bought a Mercedes Benz. I had no accident when the car was in my possession. Some years later when I sold the car I was shocked when told that there was a bad accident on the left back and the Door Sill was repaired. I had fuel pump, fuel pump wiring and fuel leak (could not fill to the top of tank) problems . All these problems may have been caused as consequential problems after the Purchase and not highlighting the Pre Purchase repair at time of sale.
    I am not buying another one.