Proton S70 uses torsion beam rear for sub-RM100k price – Proton ride and handling makes the difference

By now, I hope you’ve read our review of the new Proton S70 sedan – if you haven’t, you can do so here – and it’s safe to say the car has earned Gerard’s seal of approval. But there’s a lingering question as the national carmaker continues to lean on its C-segment-sedan-at-B-segment-prices messaging, and that’s the use of a relatively rudimentary torsion beam for its rear suspension.

You see, the line between the B- and C-segments is pretty blur as it stands, particular as cars in the former camp grow in both size and sophistication. The key delineation has always been the rear suspension, with the larger car tending to make use of an independent multilink setup – most notably the local sales leaders, the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla.

So why doesn’t the so-called “C-segment” S70 have it? According to general manager of product marketing Gary Yap at the S70 media drive Q&A session, the answer is as always down to cost. “If the base car [uses a] torsion beam, and we change it due to a market request, is there any additional volume or price premium we can get, because we have to invest some money to change the body? Sad to say, this is always the question,” he said.

Yap was quick to praise the company’s prowess in ride and handling tuning – this, and not the basic suspension layout, is what he believes will make the difference in the way the S70 drives. “From the parameters provided by the base car, it did meet our requirements and we didn’t see any need to [change the suspension].”

Yap also points to the Mazda 3 as another exception in the C-segment that uses torsion beam rear suspension (not to mention base models of the Mercedes-Benz A-Class, which is in a different price bracket entirely). Many will draw parallels to the X90 SUV that uses a multilink setup not found in China, but Yap said that car’s higher D-segment positioning made the switch necessary.

The S70’s pricing – which starts at under RM75,000 and does not exceed the crucial RM100,000 mark – makes it an entirely different proposition for customers, and Yap said buyers in this price range place less of an importance on the suspension layout. “Ask any customer, “for this price, below RM100,000, torsion beam, will you accept it?” The majority of customers actually don’t really care what the rear suspension is. Can move, can already.”

Deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah chimed in, saying that while China’s relatively good road quality meant the torsion beam on Geely’s X90 equivalent, the Haoyue, provides an acceptable ride over there, Malaysian roads come with some “special unique features” (think potholes and other surface irregularities). This, together with the X90’s higher positioning, justified the adoption of a multilink rear setup.

“But when it comes to the S70, there is a big question mark. What is the difference [in ride quality] if we change [the suspension]? If we change, that would involve greater cost, because in China tak ada.”

A fact that most people don’t realise is that the Haoyue is already offered with multilinks in markets outside China (such as in the Philippines), where it is badged as the Okavango. There’s no such option for the S70 equivalent – the Emgrand – anywhere in the world, so speccing multilinks would’ve required Proton to go at it alone (and incur huge development costs in the process). Don’t forget, Proton already undertook the engineering task of turbocharging the S70 and giving it ADAS features, which surely wasn’t cheap.

In any case, we found that the S70 provides a very good ride in spite of the torsion beam setup, one that’s more than capable of handling the “unique” challenges Malaysian roads throw at it. The lack of sophistication means the car isn’t also able to deliver the sporty driving feel one would expect from a Proton, but given its intended positioning, that’s hardly a great loss.

GALLERY: 2024 Proton S70 1.5T Flagship X

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ”So why doesn’t the so-called “C-segment” S70 have it?”
    Because it’s a B-segment marketed as a C-segment which is then priced as a B-segment.

• Nampak x rakan2 sekalian? on Feb 10, 2024 at 1:05 pm

Tahniah P1 berjaya jual B-Segment Emgrand pd harga B-Segment H & T.

• YB Kinte Kunta (Original,not fake) on Feb 12, 2024 at 7:44 am

One thing that is offensive about this Roslan dude is his usual excuses for year end car nil delivery,chip shortages and the BLARDY jangut which make him TALIBANIC in appearance.
      When u give a press conference, we wanna see a wholesome dude,not TOKOK and looking like an Afghan Taliban.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • anonymous on Feb 08, 2024 at 5:25 pm

i’ve seen less than a handful of these on the road and for the love of all things holy do WITHOUT the gaudy bodykit please. car looks sleek i give them that.

• Puak sembap on Feb 11, 2024 at 2:41 pm

Tapi kita suka mekap kete. Tambah wing shopee, pasang bodykit fiber, tukar sepot rim copy, potong spring buat lowered. Pastu kita masuk group S70 owners’ club & buat meeting kat tepi jalan, bawah flyover & atas jambatan

• HatESUV on Feb 08, 2024 at 5:27 pm

Uncle Tai having hard time to comment on the handling of this car in his review video. You know la.

• Salesman progee on Feb 08, 2024 at 8:41 pm

Torsion beam or multilink or double wishbone, a proton will always be a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Bob Mal on Feb 08, 2024 at 9:03 pm

Firstly there’s almost 0 chances it will be offered anything rather than the torsion beam as the car is exactly based on the BMA architecture of the X50 also torsion beam (while others like X70 or X90 both also uses different individual platform). Also difficult is it to fit the 3 cylinder turbo engine into the S70 since it’s riding on BMA of the X50 released since 2020.

• Levin on Feb 09, 2024 at 2:31 am

Proton’s new tagline: Can move, can already!

• Trueno on Feb 11, 2024 at 8:38 pm

I thought the taglines were
      “So hot it combust spontaneously”
      “Model terhangat sampai asap berkepul”
      “Highly advanced cars with after burner technology”

• Undertaker on Feb 09, 2024 at 4:37 am

This is another flop for Malaysia. This from gleely..One of the worst Engine the world in the world…. Let see how long can it last.. Or going to be another Preeve@#$&

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Sanzo on Feb 10, 2024 at 8:22 am

One of the worst engine base on you nightmare dream last night right…

• Ex Wira Owner on Feb 09, 2024 at 8:20 am

Can move can already.
    Because China tak ada.

Thank you for revealing the actual Proton philosophy.

• Almera Aje on Feb 09, 2024 at 9:55 am

My N17 2013 Almera is also with torsion beam, comfortable for our bumpy road but does not handle cornering as good as McPherson. The engine and auto trans are trouble free, proven.

So the bottom line is – choose a more reliable car that can serve you with sufficient spare part availability and does not empty your pocket sooner or later.

• the driver on Feb 11, 2024 at 4:38 pm

McPherson struts are for front suspension only. Torsion beam is for rear suspension. Independent rear suspension is for so called premium cars .But for about 80 -90% of the time, torsion beam rear suspension works just fine – except for extreme cornering angles and extreme body roll

• Welcome to tumbling ride…..

• JustAGuy on Feb 09, 2024 at 2:20 pm

TLDR: Geely doesn’t have a version of the Emgrand with multi-link rear suspension that Proton could copy and paste into the “S70”. Done.

• since when s70 is c segment? It is always a B+. Just you shameless blogers/vloggers try to hype things up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Karam singh on Feb 10, 2024 at 8:57 am

Does this mean proton engineers didn’t do much in conversion of X90 torsion beam axle to multilink because its a plug and play job? (Haoyue AWD/Okavango AWD).

Whoever mentioned kudos-to-Proton-engineers, do take the word back. Millions of people were deceived to think how hard the R&D people doing their thing. sleepless nights too.

Installing turbo engine in the S70? Haiyaa.. all the things are already there. The power unit, the electronics, ECU and sensors. Plug and play thing also.

• Abdul Majid Bhatti on Feb 10, 2024 at 3:07 pm

Proton representation by Hilal Afridi in Pakistan is-bull shit of the century. They’re thieves and eating people money. Curse on this man.

• Ben Yap on Feb 14, 2024 at 8:56 am

Good that proton is upfront and honest in telling people why it is not fitted with multilink. if they fit in multilink and priced it higher, there will be people who will say “baik beli…”. these baik beli people will always compare but in reality, they only can afford a modenas kris and Honda EX5.

• Herbie on Feb 15, 2024 at 4:18 am

Normal healthy people would not car about rear multilink suspension. I have a slip disc on my spine thus the suspension of a car means life or death to me. Nowadays, there is no choice for a new car under 100k with rear multilink suspension unless used. It’s kind of sad a scenario like this is neglected by carmakers these days. my body suffer with body pain everyday because of running through speed bumps on a torsion beam type car. I just hope someone out there understand this.

• 4Wheeler on Feb 15, 2024 at 2:25 pm

Will this be the next PDRM patrol car?