Chery Omoda E5 EV in showrooms this weekend – open for booking ahead of March launch, RM160k est

Chery has announced that the Omoda E5 EV will be in showrooms nationwide from this weekend, February 24. The order books for the electric SUV are open, with an estimated price of RM160,000. The official launch of the E5 will be in March.

We’ve showed you the Omoda E5 in pre-production form before, but the red car you see here is in the exact specs that Malaysia gets. There will be a sole powertrain with a front-mounted electric motor with 204 PS (150 kW) and 340 Nm of torque, which pushes the SUV fro 0-100 km/h in 7.6 seconds. The battery is a 61 kWh lithium iron phosphate (LFP) unit, good for 430 km of range in the WLTP cycle.

For charging, the Omoda E5 supports AC charging at a max rate of 9.9 kW, as well as DC fast charging of up to 80 kW; the latter capable of getting the battery from 30-80% state of charge in 30 minutes. There’s also a vehicle-to-load (V2L) function that allows the car to deliver up to 3.3 kW to power electrical appliances and devices.

The EV looks similar to the ICE-powered Omoda 5 from all angles except for the front end, where the E5 gets an active grille shutter that opens and closes depending on the motor temperature and aerodynamic requirements. That also means that the ICE car’s trademark studded grille is no more – is this better for you?

The electric Omoda also comes with one-pedal driving support, a creep function and something called pocket brake, which activates emergency braking when the ‘Park’ button is pressed while driving. Chery says that its EV has safely passed a ‘water wading test’ and ‘bottom scrapping test’.

In the kit department, the Omoda E5 comes with LED projector headlamps, 18-inch alloy wheels, a powered sunroof, powered tailgate, puddle lamps, selectable drive modes, leather upholstery, dual-zone climate control (with rear vents), a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 12.3-inch touchscreen.

Chery markets the latter as a ‘24.6-inch curved 2K HD dual-screen’. The infotainment system is powered by a Qualcomm 8155 system on chip (SoC) and includes support for both Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

As for driver assistance systems, there’s a 360-degree camera, automatic high beam, lead vehicle departure alert, front collision warning, autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning and prevention, lane keep assist, rear cross traffic alert and a tyre pressure monitoring system. Chery calls the bundle ADAS 2.5.

Registration of interest for the Omoda E5 has been open since December last year, but we now have an official estimated price of RM160,000. That’s significantly higher than the RM108,800 to RM118,800 Chery is charging for the ICE O5, but it undercuts the BYD Atto 3 Extended Range‘s sticker price of RM167,800. What do you think of the E5’s looks and package?

GALLERY: Chery Omoda E5 in Malaysia, production spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I like this

• Below 150k should be ok. Would be just nice if RM138,888 for first 1,388.

• anonymous on Feb 21, 2024 at 6:27 pm

hmm, a bit too much of a gap between the ICE and ev version to even warrant this tbh. with an over 40k difference, consider this: will you actually be spending that much for fuel and maintenance over the lifetime of the vehicle (5 years)? i highly doubt this.

• Kariayam on Feb 22, 2024 at 10:11 am

You are not just paying for the fact that it’s going to save you a small amount of money. People are paying for the silence & NVH, the refinement and the instant torque that you cannot replicate a turbo 4.

• hazri on Feb 21, 2024 at 6:55 pm

(like) CR-V Spec S

(dislike) OMODA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Autobahn on Feb 21, 2024 at 8:20 pm

Why would anyone want to buy a china car if the price is so close with the more established brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Looking forward to

• ThePolygon on Feb 22, 2024 at 9:16 am

With this price, looks like I have to wait for Atto 2 for a cheaper EV.

• if you hit something at front side and damaged it, how to charge your car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • if your petrol car got hit from the side fuel cap cannot open how you pump petrol?

• 130k will sell like hot cake, 160k meh…

• SURESHK on Feb 22, 2024 at 12:55 pm

What the difference between China and Korean cars? Is it easy to obtain spare parts, cheaper parts and after sales value? Those who condemn Korean cars, how about these China cars penetrating Malaysia automotive market?

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 23, 2024 at 10:05 am

China parts should be even easier to obtai. Just open Lazada or Shopee. All direct ship from China. This is 2024 already bro, why you still stuck in the past where chinese car parts were hard to get. That time no Lazada or Shoppee la. As long as the china product is selling decently well in China, there will be 1000% parts availability at super duper low price for that product. Too much parts until you don’t know how to choose in fact. 1.4 billion people bro.

• azhar on Feb 22, 2024 at 2:21 pm

Almost same capacity battery like RWD Model 3..difference is in model 3 you get 490km WLTP range..thats how advance tesla right now

• Ashraf on Feb 27, 2024 at 8:54 am

120K wl be nice. Atto3 2nd value is 115k now. So think twice before buying brand new.