JPJ collected a record RM5.07 bil in revenue for 2023

Annual collection by the road transport department (JPJ) has always made the agency one of the highest revenue earners for the government, and it continues to be the case with the announcement of its revenue collection for 2023, which set a new record for the department.

Transport minister Anthony Loke revealed that the department managed RM5.07 billion in revenue last year, up 3.53% from the RM4.90 billion (initially reported at RM4.89 billion, then RM4.92 billion) it achieved in 2022.

The final total more than met the department’s 2023 projection of expecting to collect above RM5 billion in revenue for the year. Revenue collection by the department has jumped significantly since 2022 – prior to that, it collected RM 4.004 billion in 2021, RM4.31 billion in 2019 and RN4.23 billion in 2018.

According to Loke, revenue from the tender of vehicle registration plates amounted to RM569.6 million in 2023, marking a 13.6% increase from the RM501.5 million recorded in 2022. This included that generated by the FF and M_M (Malaysia Merdeka) special plate series announced in May and August last year. Given the performance of the GOLD special series plate, 2024 looks like it will continue to rake in the money on that front.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 26, 2024 at 6:19 pm

Betcha most of it comes from sales of fancy plates instead of samans! Like this below;
    https://paultan.org/2024/02/26/gold-number-plate-series-makes-over-rm17-million-in-revenue-attracted-more-than-23000-bidders/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 26, 2024 at 7:00 pm

The majority made the right choice to dump PN PAS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Peppa on Feb 26, 2024 at 7:31 pm

All that profit yet still lousy performance

• Sohai on Feb 26, 2024 at 8:31 pm

JPJ is not a department to collect revenue. It is a department to implement new policies and infrastructure improvements.
    Please tell me what you have done, and how does JPJ helps the overall development of Malaysia through more than efficient transportation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • dats y u call ur self sohai on Feb 27, 2024 at 11:38 am

Even implementing policies & improving infrastructure needs money & they don’t grow them on trees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Sick & Tired on Feb 27, 2024 at 2:38 pm

Money comes from taxpayers not from selling number plates like no tomorrow! That is not JPJ role!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Don't simply comment when you're sick & tired on Feb 27, 2024 at 4:00 pm

JPJ has been selling number plates via auctions for a long time. You’ve obviously been too sick & too tired to know about this.
          https://paultan.org/2012/05/25/www-1-sets-number-plate-record-rm520k-is-the-price/

• Sick & Tired on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:34 pm

During under well managed BN rule, JPJ did not need to depend so much. Rarely once a month number plate sales are open. Now under useless PH transport mentri Loke, just about every week got AT LEAST one fancy plate is out. Go fly kite we don’t need so many!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Has JPJ done anything illegal? on Feb 27, 2024 at 9:54 pm

Have you worked at JPJ to be very familiar with their operations? Certainly, they won’t hire people who are constantly sick & tired like yourself. JPJ is authorized to issue numbers for vehicle registration plates & more often than not, there may be a certain so-called ‘nice’ number which can be in demand by more than one individual. So, JPJ solves this by auctioning the number to the highest bidder. Thus, if this is inappropriate, or if there have been irregularities, there should have been complaints by concerned, upstanding, law abiding citizens. If you are one of them, please by all means come forward & state your case.

• Sohai on Feb 28, 2024 at 2:31 pm

Then tell us the policies that the ministry has implemented. The ministry KPI is not collection. Because it doesn’t benefit the rakyat. Tell us you collected so much but actually didn’t do much is worse.
        LHDN and custom carry the KPI for collection for the gomen

• Nobody wants to be a sohai on Feb 28, 2024 at 7:43 pm

For decades, the JPJ has been collecting payment of fees for various services related to motor vehicles in this country, and suddenly, out of the blue, you say that this is not part of their purpose in the government?
          Since when you have been empowered to decide which government ministry, agency or department should be assigned to collect revenue for the government?
          It was recently reported that half of the revenue from the special number plate series will be allocated to initiatives under the transport ministry for 2024, such as driving licence assistance, helmet assistance, FlySiswa subsidies, and Socso contributions for taxi drivers.
          In addition, the rest of the revenue is expected to help address the country’s national debt & liabilities, which have been reported to be RM1.5 trillion in January last year.
          But if you do continue to think that this is still not right, you should request/lobby your favourite MP(s) to question the transport minister about this during a Dewan Rakyat session.

• seitha on Feb 26, 2024 at 9:37 pm

In the last 65 years, not one gov dept revealed how much revenue was made.
    which has led to the rampant corruption from top to bottom.
    all gov dept should now report how much revenue each of them make!!.
    lets see if pmx is going to push for transparencey

• Sohai on Feb 27, 2024 at 9:15 am

Can collect so much revenue already Ah Loke so can you consider scrapping driving license renewal? Malaysia is some of the few countries in the world that has this practice

• money money on Feb 27, 2024 at 11:28 am

why is our gohmen raking our hard earned money from our rakyat citizen and be so proud of it?
    should they have investor from other countries that look into investing business and create more job opportunities/businesses/money for the country overall?

food for thoughts, hmmm

• RINDU ZAMAN NAJIB on Feb 27, 2024 at 11:46 am

SUCKING HARD EARNED MONEY FROM THE RAKYAT YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE SERVING AINT THE FLEX YOU THINK IT IS, ANTHONY LOKE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • Rosie M on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:08 pm

I pun rindu darling I.. Especially those times when I would advise him something..

• Ex PH Supporter on Feb 28, 2024 at 8:07 am

We threw away 60 years of stability and economic progress just on their words. We should have known better but politicians are salesmen & scammers, they cannot be trusted and yet we did. Msians loved to get scammed after all.

• Rosie M on Feb 28, 2024 at 11:28 am

Eh… Why u say like that lah?.. My darling is politician but he is not scammer. If he did something like salesman, that’s bcos he tried selling the idea to foreign businessmen & companies that Malaysia is good place to invest. After I advised him something, he also managed to convince a foreign jeweller to loan me some nice jewellery. That’s why I rindu..

• I miss BN 60 years rule on Feb 29, 2024 at 8:57 pm

Nope. Ahjibkor is of royalty breed so he is a cut above PH & PN mud politicians. BN mentris back then are also different pedigree as they have been groomed for 60 years to continue an unbroken chain of economic progress & stability. Those outside are like anjhing liar.

• Rosie M on Mar 03, 2024 at 12:10 pm

Thank you for saying that my darling is like royalty breed, but can I advise you something? Please don’t spread this around because the rulers may become unhappy & my darling’s chances of a full pardon may become slim. Anyway, my darling says that his bloodline is from Bugis warriors who can be as ferocious as wild dogs, or rather, wolves.

• Matthew Yong on Feb 28, 2024 at 1:32 am

Perhaps it is time to get JPJ listed on Bursa!

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 28, 2024 at 10:04 am

Our OKU ministers is only good at making money from their own people. Good government like Singapore or China will make money from other countries and make the lives of their own people better.
    Too bad we are following lousy countries like India, Africa, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka etc

• South Africa is not lousy on Feb 28, 2024 at 11:37 am

South Africa has helped to bring cases against Israel in the ICJ to help the Palestinians. So, how can you say Africa is lousy?
      China is now facing a much slower than expected economic recovery & a substantial number of their citizens have gone to other countries to look for greener pastures.

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 28, 2024 at 3:56 pm

Yes I agree South Africa is a good hearted but their policies like most African countries government system and policies all follow that of their past colonia masters. Same like Malaysia and India. We all ikut lousy destructive western policies. You thing these colonist so kind give us good policies ka? All to make sure we dont have good policies after independence and do better than them. Why you think the west hates Iran, Russia, China etc? Because they refuse to adopt self destructive policies that harm their own people. Indians and Africans happily shake their head smiling thinking the colonist love them so much and adopted their “democratic’ system. Hancur their country. Just take a fligh ticket and visit India or Kenya,Nigeria, somalia etc. Even south africa was hancur after the apertheid regime left them with a chaotic mess. They should all throw away colonist system and strat fresh. That way no corruption, no OKU getting elected, no chancve for coup by the west etc

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 28, 2024 at 4:01 pm

I said South Africa is lousy but I did not say they are bad. Just bad system like us. Have you visited Africa and China. Which news told you China’s economy is slower than other country? Don’t kena tipu so easily by orang putih la. Go see yourself. Which country’s economy now slow today but China is doing great. Miraculously great actually. Evern Russia is miraculously doing better than all western countries despite being sanctioned like crazy. Like I say, when you have good and intelligent people running the show, no sanction can affect you. Imagine if 1% of these sanction was applied to India or Malaysia, we will bankrupt over night.

• Kisah Benar on Feb 29, 2024 at 12:02 am

The info came from a few sources. 1 of them is a white man from St. Petersburg who is currently based in Singapore and doing business with my employer boss. During dinner chit chat, he mentioned that he has an uncle who is staying in China & married a woman from there. His uncle told him that foreign investors have gradually left China because they were impatient with slower than expected recovery. A brother of his uncle’s wife was laid off from a factory and decided to follow some friends to the US to try their luck there but they couldn’t get US visa. So, they decided to fly to Mexico and try crossing illegally into the US. So far, his uncle’s wife has yet to hear any further news from her brother.
          Another source is from an ex-colleague who now works for Jabatan Imigresen. He said that during an operation, he & his team detained 2 China citizens for overstaying with a social visit pass. During questioning, they told him that they were waiting for a message from a friend in Thailand regarding a job offer there, and while waiting, they worked in a local Chinese restaurant without valid work permits.