BYD Seal EV – over 1.3k bookings in 4 days; early bird deal with free home charger, credits extended to Mar 3

The BYD Seal was launched on February 22 at The Exchange TRX, and in four days of the event, over 1,300 bookings of the EV were collected by Sime Darby Motors (SDM).

Due to what is being described as overwhelming demand for the electric sedan, SDM has announced the extension of its early booking campaign to March 3. Customers who place a booking for the Seal through BYD’s official website or at showrooms nationwide will receive a complimentary home charger and free Gentari or ChargEV charging credits worth RM800.

“The response from Malaysians clearly demonstrates their readiness to embrace electric vehicles (EVs) from BYD, which continues to make waves here and in other parts of the region. This achievement also marks another milestone in the robust evolution of the country’s EV market,” said Jeffrey Gan, MD of SDM in Southeast Asia.

“The Seal has been widely recognised for its superior quality and exceptional performance, coupled with a highly competitive pricing strategy. Furthermore, with the comprehensive BYD network coverage across all regions, ensuring excellent service for all customers, it underscores our customers’ confidence in BYD’s products in Malaysia. This reaffirms our commitment to delivering innovative, high-quality vehicles and unparalleled customer service,” he added.

“Thanks to the strong demand for BYD Seal, we are extending our early bird offer, allowing even more customers to take advantage of our exceptional value proposition. Together with BYD, SDM aims to continue setting the benchmark for excellence in the EV sector and industry at large, and further stimulate the EV appeal among Malaysians nationwide,” Gan said.

The Seal is available in two variants – the RWD Premium at RM180,430 and the Performance AWD at RM200,430, on-the-road without insurance.

The Premium features a single rear motor with 308 hp and 360 Nm. With a 82.5 kWh LFP Blade battery, range is up to 570 km in the WLTP cycle. The Performance’s dual-motor powertrain combines a 215 hp/310 Nm front motor to a 308 hp/360 Nm rear unit to offer a total output of 523 hp and 670 Nm. It has the same 82.5 kWh battery and a quoted range of 520 km. The Premium gets from 0-100 km/h in 5.9 seconds, while the Performance does it in 3.8 seconds.

For charging, both the Premium and Performance feature 7 kW AC Type 2 charging, and the time needed to get the battery from 0-100% SoC is 15.2 hours. With DC charging at a maximum rate of 150 kW, it takes 37 minutes to get from 10% to 80% SoC.

Colours include Arctic Blue (Performance only), Cosmos Black, Atlantis Grey and Aurora White (Premium only). The warranty package includes a six-year or 150,000 km vehicle warranty, an eight-year or 160,000 km battery warranty, and an eight-year or 150,000 km drive unit warranty, which SDM says is industry-leading. There are optional Standard and Plus Service packages for three, six and eight years that you can purchase upfront. More in our launch report.

Click to enlarge spec sheet, price list

GALLERY: BYD Seal Premium

GALLERY: BYD Seal Performance

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mike Tee on Feb 29, 2024 at 10:22 am

1,300 bookings, say 300 fall off and don’t go through. That’s still 1,000 BEVs booked.

To the EV naysayers, these are people who have done their research, sat in a BEV, tested them or have friends who have bought an EV who told them it’s the best form of transport for *most people*. They are using real money to buy a car and they have chosen an EV. Have an open mind, you’d be surprised.

I agree it is not for everyone, yet. It is still too expensive for one and range (real world) is about 25% off what would cover 95% of people. But EV tech won’t stay at 2024 levels forever. Production efficiencies, especially with battery tech (density and hence weight/range, charging speed, price) will lead to much lower prices. The cheapest BYD is <RM50,000 in China. It will only get cheaper.

The EV tipping point (when it makes too much sense to buy EV vs ICE, no brainer) will come in our lifetime. Thank the early adopters for paving the way for charging infra, massive depreciation and inferior tech, don't mock them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Nordic on Feb 29, 2024 at 10:47 am

Yet, many people including youngsters love this BYD Seal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Dah Menang Semua on Mar 01, 2024 at 7:13 pm

Model-3 imitation but better
        Free Palestine good option
        PRC supporter also happy

• Wan saiful on Feb 29, 2024 at 11:04 am

I guess many BYD Seal buyers are Tesla 3 owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Redza Azman Tesla on Feb 29, 2024 at 2:25 pm

I guess you are BYD sales men. More premium you go for Tesla. Cheaper you go for BYD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • People have decided on which when comes reliability and aftersales, which is more important. It’s not about salesman forcing to choose. You want waste money by spending more for servicing and repairing more or you want save money to buy necessity and less for repairing

• seitha on Mar 03, 2024 at 11:14 am

they say experience is the best teacher…
      we let you experience first hand and pay for the damages with your own money..

while the rest of us will learn from the experience that you go through!!

“They are using *real money* to buy a car and they have chosen an EV.
      So you are implying that those who buy EV have worked hard and using hard earned money while the rest of us are buying ICE on stolen or money from bribes?

whats so superior about EV?… THERE IS NOTHING SUPERIOR IN AN EV.In fact only braing washed people will buy EVs as its fully controlled by the software and can be shut down any time by the authorities. EV is total control of your life!!

• Nordic on Feb 29, 2024 at 10:46 am

Tahniah

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 29, 2024 at 1:37 pm

Selling like hot cakes. Consumer today tak bodoh. Barang bugus sure jual laris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Grumpy_car on Feb 29, 2024 at 4:50 pm

I rather buy tesla. What the hell you need to fork out 8k for Service package for 8yrs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • gambit on Mar 01, 2024 at 2:42 am

It’s an optional service package, so don’t buy it if you don’t like it. Then you will save the Rm8000.

• 8k for 8 yrs SC services should be ok if it does comes with all in warranties except for brake pads & tires

• Mike Tee on Mar 01, 2024 at 12:25 pm

Very weird. I have an iX, 18-19 months in and no service needed and even 1st service is visual inspection of brakes which are hardly used (single pedal driving) and air filter change.

Time saved in not having to go in and out of service centre 3X plus charging at home vs going to the petrol station 40x in an equivalent ICE car (20,000km so far) is significant also.

• Bangkok on Mar 01, 2024 at 7:00 am

If you are considering ev then this is the car at the very moment regardless of what brand this car does not lose out real value for money