Tiara Replacement Model Available for Booking

It seems Proton’s new 1.2L Tiara Replacement Model is now available for booking on the Proton Edar website. It’s listed as Proton 1.2 M/T. No real name is mentioned. There are three colours available – Magma Red, Midnight Black and Stratosphere Blue. The booking fee is RM1000. The listed price is RM43000 to RM45000.

If you look at the pic, apparently M/T stands for Manual Transmission and A/T stands for Automatic Transmission. They’re only launching the manual model of the Tiara Replacement Model first?

Launch date is not mentioned. Just a notice that says “Launching Soon”. They’re quite arrogant now don’t you think? No photos or nothing of the Tiara Replacement Model of any indication of a proper name or launch date posted on the website and they’re already offering it up for booking. Typical Proton behaviour of going around threathening lawsuits to people who have the spyshots posted online like they had with the Proton Wira Replacement Model (Proton Gen2).

I wonder if anyone will book this without having a look at the car first. For whoever that’s interested, you can check out the booking page on Proton Edar’s website.

Looks like this will go head-on with the Perodua Myvi. I’m rooting for the Myvi, what about you?

Related Tiara Replacement Model posts:
Tiara Replacement Model Available For Booking
Tiara Replacement Model On The Road
Tiara Replacement Model Again
New Tiara Replacement Model Spyshots
Tiara Replacement Model Ads in Newspapers
Proton Sassy – The Name for the Tiara Replacement Model
Proton Savvy: Proton Renames The Sassy Tiara Replacement Model to Savvy
Proton Savvy Launch this 8th June
Possible Proton Savvy Interior Shots
Proton Savvy Photos
Proton Savvy Quality Control TUV Audit
Proton Savvy Launch at 5pm today!
Proton Press Release on the Savvy
Proton Savvy R3 ?
Proton Savvy R3 Concept at Proton Edar Mutiara
Proton Savvy Automatic to get Renault’s Quickshift 5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Fashionasia on May 20, 2005 at 5:03 am

now who with the right mind will actually BUY something REPLACING the tiara when the tiara is such a failure to begin with? I think they will do better if they bury the tiara in the grave and launch something totally new.

• Fashionasia: hehe… it's not really the same platform as the tiara. and i doubt they'll use the same name. it's just a replacement car for the tiara in the market segment that tiara served. but you're right, i think alot of people will associate tiara's failure with this new car.

• narrowband on May 20, 2005 at 7:09 am

Can't imagine Proton being 'arrogant'. Haha. On a more serious note, I wouldn't buy something without having actually seen it. I wonder how many Malaysians have made their bookings… (and to add, like one of ur previous commentors, the first version of Tiara was such a failure). This segment is becoming competitive now. Kia picanto, Suzuki Swift, Chevrolet (forgot what name) and the China-made kancil-contender. All are giving Perodua and Proton a run for their money. I doubt the sales figure of the new Tiara will impress.

• narrowband: well, you know Proton… even with bad sales they'll quote good figures to the media. the chevy is the chevy spark.

• Raveen on May 21, 2005 at 12:36 am

The new car is a totally new platform…..its performance is said to be second to none….plus quality handled by TUV……now thats good news

• deanna on May 24, 2005 at 9:37 am

the tiara replacement model will be known as 'sassy'. proton had announced it at feb i think. it's attractive and can be quite competitive to the same model like myvi,spark etc. not using the campro engine but renault. the 1.2 cc is available from rm43k.

• send me the proton tiara replacement model picture

• Froggy on May 26, 2005 at 10:19 am

http://www.channel4.com/4car/gallery/spyshots-200…

hey there…check out this website….see the spotted TRM and SRM testing…..hope i'm not too late to let you guys see this….hehe.

• lack of confidence to proton… they even use the same mould for more than ten yrs… problems occured on Wira from the day one (more than ten yrs ago) is still happened now, never been solved…

• ermm… looks like proton is going to compete with perodua.. personally i trust perodua models than proton.. proven already with kancil and kelisa.. no problem at all.. unlike proton waja and gen2 banyak problem…air masuk la..power window tak jalan la…alarm pun problem gak…heheh..

• Wonderer on Jun 03, 2005 at 9:19 pm

I wonder why proton don't use Campro engine.Where's the variable valve mechanism that proton develope? Is it a failure ??

• whos care??u want u buy,don't want babai..dont angry2 lah..

melah ke,bilu ke,pink kaler ke kite tetap lakyat MALAYSIA..wakakaka atleast something better than notting,atleast copy better than do not do anything yahh..

peace malaysia!!!!

• Tom Goh on Jun 05, 2005 at 10:54 pm

it look a lot worse than Myvi actually…interior still using cheapskate plastic material…got a friend driving a Gen-2,colours of interior all faded out (specially door panel and dashboard)…can't imagine they use the same material over this Proton Savvy…no air bags with only 1.2 M/T transmission…trust me it's gonna be another Tiara effect again (no sales)…

• I don't understand why is that local made model same as some CBU model of other maker like kia rio 1.3cc displacement. And our ppl booking cars like nobody business even though not yet launch, no review, no test drive, even worse still no exact price. What is going to happen to our country. Thinking process is diminising.

• Radella on Jun 08, 2005 at 7:36 pm

Talking about design in Malaysian car, anyone ever see Proton Pesona? That's the best of Malaysian car I ever seen. But… it's ONLY for exportlah!!! Proton make good-looking car but sale to foreigner and left only those ugly looking one to the own people… damn!!!

• Savvy What???I THINK I LIKE AND DID NOT REGRET BOOKING THE OTHER CAR. LOL. Its a hard sell. All the best Dear Proton! (Frustrated & still cannot accept Proton's product offering)!!!!

• Well done proton, it feels solid like VW polo, Renault clio, citroen C3, ford fiesta, fiat panda etc…. it feels european, good seat support … I am sure it will give getz, picanto and aveo a run for their money ….

• noradzini on Jul 23, 2005 at 8:24 am

mahaleel you in trouble! this is second mistake after juara!!!!!

• Rabin on Dec 20, 2005 at 12:54 am

The new tiara … or whatever is not smart looking at all