Volkswagen Polo Plus and Polo Sedan for the US

Polo Classic Sedan
Click for enlarged image

Volkswagen will create two new cars for the US market. One is a larger and taller of the new Volkswagen Polo, somewhat like what the Golf Plus is to the Golf, in fact it could be appropriate to refer to it as the Volkswagen Polo Plus for now.

The other is a compact sedan version of the Volkswagen Polo, such as the previous generation Polo’s Polo Classic Sedan. Both versions will sit on an extended wheelbase version of the Polo’s platform. The two cars will likely be built at Volkswagen’s Mexico factory in order to hit the Polo Plus target price of between US$13,000 to US$15,000 in order to distance it from the Jetta and the upcoming NMS.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• FIRST. Another cliche opinion by me… im sure this is gonna cost a bomb to us wageearners ( if we ever get one ) and AP kings full pockets….

• MyviKiller on Mar 18, 2009 at 11:58 am

I can smell the BLM-ness…

• Luqman on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:33 pm

[quote comment="222004"]I can smell the BLM-ness…[/quote]

Yes, you're right. It should be VW's 'Base Line Model' for the US market.

BTW: Does anybody know why Proton refuses to sell the new Saga overseas ? I think the BLM is not that bad.

• Caddilac Wong on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:15 pm

I don't think that VAG should waste money to create another Polo for US instead of importing the EU Polo. US market is so bad now and i don't wish to see VAG to be stucked. While a sedan is necessary because at least a Polo sedan can be brought into China and Brazil as well as most part of Asia as Asian still prefer to have a sedan.

• Mig29_ria on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:42 pm

Actually, P1 is not bad on ideas and design. Just lacking of experience especially on product development, I guess. You see how many Mat Rempit we produce and how many racer we produce.

BLM = Polo I believe if compare side by side you can see the different.

• Polo classic on Apr 19, 2009 at 3:41 am

Where the fuck dissapeard vw polo classic? I mean why they dont put out a new polo classic? Ten years passed from the last model,it was a successfull car.

http://www.autoplenum.de/Bilder/P/p0009066/VW/VW-…

• naqib on Jan 28, 2012 at 9:08 pm

nice kot.. smart2.. tapi, enjin dia tuh kecik sgt.. buat lah 1.5 tsi ker.. baru lah kene sikit…