New Mazdaspeed 3 for the US market unveiled!

Advertisement

Mazdaspeed 3

The hot hatch version of the facelifted smiley Mazda 3 has been unveiled at the NYIAS, joining the many many other cars that have been unveiled there by other manufacturers. While Ford chose to go with Volvo inline-5 engines for the hot hatch versions of the technically similiar Focus, Mazda developed their own turbocharged 2.3 litre direct injection online-4 engine for the Mazda 3 and Mazda 6.

The new Mazdaspeed 3 (also called the Mazda 3 MPS) comes in the 5-door body, and its engine puts out 263 horses at 5,500rpm and 380Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, not quite up there with the ultra-quick spooling ability of Volkswagen and BMW turbo engines but somehow only the European marques seem to be able to achieve that.

Mazdaspeed 3

The 6-speed transmission’s gear ratios (gear 2 to 5) have also been revised to be slightly taller to take advantage of all 380 Newton meters of torque. There is a torque management system which tries to rein in the torque steer based on which gear the car is in and the steering angle.

It’s got a Mazdaspeed bodykit of course. and 18 inch alloys based on the RX-8 design. The interior also has Mazdaspeed logos here and there with a predominantly black-based theme, and there is also an LED turbo boost gauge between the instrument panel gauges.

Look after the jump for a full high-res gallery!

Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-05
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-16
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-15
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-03
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-04
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-14
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-12
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-08
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-07
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-06
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-10
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-18
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-13
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-17
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-01
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-02
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-09
Mazdaspeed-3-Mazda-3-MPS-11

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history. An avid electronic gadget aficionado as well as big-time coffee lover, he's also the executive producer of the Driven motoring TV programme.

1. kampung boy says:

wow! damn gorgeous

!

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. msi says:

kenape la keta zaman skang ni banyak button kat stering. Nak tukar pun susah.

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1
  3. Ariff says:

looks like a small bro for toyota caldina!!

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1
  4. DinKnight says:

HOT HATCH

5. Aizat says:

Ahaha, what a smile car. Remind me to TVC of Honda City, cartoon version.

6. Aizat says:

Ops .. correction .. TVC of Honda Jazz :D

7. Calvin De La Rosa says:

Will BERMAS brings it into our country?

When?

Any rep from BERMAS can comment on this??

8. mystvearn says:

Very nice looking car there

9. Gajen says:

hmm…really not bad…except for the back window frame…other than tht is all good!

10. White Jack says:

Hi Paul, is it a typo as "inline-4 engine" ?

=============================================

Mazda developed their own turbocharged 2.3 liter direct injection ""online-4 engine"" for the Mazda 3 and Mazda 6.

11. wybbert says:

design looks a bit like 2008/2009 impreza

12. mitlanevo says:

happy and energetic at the same time, GOOD

13. mokkf82 says:

This is gorgeous!~

bring this in.!

14. ryu says:

have no chance to drive a 6-speed car yet…

15. kimi_ says:

WTH….the rims borrow from new honda CITY !!!

16. MazdAstina says:

i'm driving an old Mazda Astina hatchback. if i get good trade in for my Astina… Will get this one. Any! Want to offer? He he :)

17. MazdAstina says:

if i get to sell at good price and the car is here… Buy this one. If not here… Buy the new mazda 6.

18. csv says:

better looking than subaru!

19. Black Dog says:

[quote comment="229160"]i'm driving an old Mazda Astina hatchback. if i get good trade in for my Astina… Will get this one. Any! Want to offer? He he :) [/quote]

Give u 5K! Ha Ha

20. evilunatic says:

the front grill looks bit Peugeot'ish.. wide mouth. XD

21. _xXx_ says:

it costs below RM60k for a 4-dr 2L entry model in the US. Multiply the figure by 2 to 2.5 if you want one here…

22. HiJazu says:

Will this car come to our country in the coming future? Does anyone have any info on that…would be very much appreciated.

23. jamsbong says:

The big smiley face reminds me of the new Peugeot and also Mazda concept car design.

The alloy wheel design reminds me of the NFS underground game. I remember spending sweet time customizing the looks of my fav car in that game and I always use this wheel design.

24. BanyakMasukWorkshop says:

i normally dont like to compare cars with other cars, but this time, i'll have to say that this car really looks like a caldina in terms of general shape.

anyways, i'm sure the regular 3 will make its way to our mrket eventually, but i'm sure the MPS wont make it. will be too pricey. but overall, the 3 will still face an uphill battle to compete with the other japanese car makers.

25. ali says:

the car's front fascia is screaming: "Why so serious?"

26. mohd hafizzul says:

lawa lah….patut Satria Neo macam ni la….buat Satria Neo 5….

27. wisedriver says:

[quote comment="229100"]looks like a small bro for toyota caldina!![/quote]

agree…

28. bea says:

wow.. i'm in love!!!!

29. the stik says:

yeke? bukan cam impreza?

30. Ahsam says:

Who says that only european can spool up turbo early n fast?

Does 1jz vvti ring a bell?

31. adrian says:

When is the Mazda3 model 2010 coming out? I heard its around June or July this year. The new design is really good.

32. lambov12 says:

263 hp ?? 4-wheel-drive ??

or back-wheel-drive ??

33. loveyourdidi says:

no picture of the rear

34. Bodow says:

i think price would be around 125k… anyway the car looks nice interior and exterior …. better than equivalent T&H models

35. I my says:

aiyooo… look like the Subaru STI ver 10.

BTW, it is a FWD car.

36. Jared_EK9 says:

[quote comment="229161"]if i get to sell at good price and the car is here… Buy this one. If not here… Buy the new mazda 6.[/quote]

RM0.70/Kg..

Can?

37. wallstreet says:

[quote comment="229156"]WTH….the rims borrow from new honda CITY !!![/quote]

Err….actually City borrowed the rims…this car non turbo Mazda 3 already launched in US before City was launched….BTW…City cant be compared with this car…

38. wallstreet says:

[quote comment="229156"]WTH….the rims borrow from new honda CITY !!![/quote]

Err….actually City borrowed the rims…this car non turbo Mazda 3 already launched in US before City was launched….BTW…City cant be compared with this car…beside City also borrowed the rear light from 3 series..

39. quak58 @ Aussie says:

[quote comment="229398"]263 hp ?? 4-wheel-drive ??

or back-wheel-drive ??[/quote]

It is actually front wheel drive, as are most hot hatches. It actually looks pretty big in real life. NO way this car will cost anything les then RM160K. This car rides right into the Golf GTI's territory.

40. Mazda 3 MPS says:

very cool

41. Jack D-Eve says:

Yeah, this one is really a caldina's brother.

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: BMW X6 M to function as MotoGP 2009 safety car
Next Story: Scion iQ Concept with widebody kit at NYIAS 09