Leaked Honda CR-Z screencaps and brochure!

Advertisement

Here are some screenshots of a video featuring the production Honda CR-Z, which is due for a February 2010 launch in its home market. This green reincarnation of the CR-X comes with a hybrid powertrain that combines a 1.5-litre four-cylinder i-VTEC engine with an IMA electric motor.

According to Honda’s official brochure that has also found its way online, the engine makes 113 bhp at 6,000 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,800 rpm. The electric motor meanwhile produces 13 bhp at 1,500 rpm and 78Nm at 1,000 rpm. Unusually for a hybrid, the CR-Z comes with a six-speed manual transmission in place of the common CVT, which better suits its sporty positioning. The sprint from 0 to 100 km/h will take 9.7 seconds. The steering is an EPS system.

We also now know the CR-Z’s dimensions. Length, width and height is 4080 mm, 1740 mm and 1395 mm respectively, while the wheelbase is 2435 mm long. To give you an idea of the CR-Z’s footprint, it’s a significant 315 mm shorter than a Honda City, but is marginally wider by 25mm.

Look after the jump for the screenshots and scans of the official brochure!

brochure-4
brochure-2
screencap-6
screencap-11
brochure-11
brochure-1
screencap-14
screencap-8
screencap-13
screencap-5
brochure-6
screencap-10
brochure-10
brochure-8
brochure-9
screencap-9
screencap-4
brochure-5
brochure-3
screencap-7
brochure-12
screencap-12

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

1. Fahmiyafeii says:

I think this car will get production….

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. droll says:

hmmmmmm will this ever reach m'sia??

3. faris says:

Awesome!! will it be in malaysia??

4. jean says:

1st ?

Very nice car :)

5. jean says:

any chance this will come to our shore?

6. Eric says:

Cool!! Rejuvenate of the CR-X legend… with hybrid!

7. coolguru says:

This is super cool… do you think we'll get it from Honda Malaysia first or gray import? If the price range is under RM200k, it'll be a good deal..

8. Mazda 3 MPS says:

it looks fantastic

9. max says:

beautiful! what this needs is a 2.0L vtec or type r version!

10. Gerg says:

how about the safety?

11. cbljkkj says:

It's nice to see the CR-X sucessor is still alive and kicking.

Hope to see really great driving characteristics on this like what its predecessor had.

12. Ha Gnih says:

1st !!

Nice

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1
  13. duka says:

between wow and weird…

14. karipap says:

depan looks volvo

15. DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH says:

nice, the interior looks like the ferrari 459 italia

16. gaijin says:

yeargh,very cool… got some minor changes compared to the prototype showed in the last Tokyo Motorshow…like the side mirror..

lets pray it will come to our shore.. n hermmm,hopefully the government will not easily increase the import tax.. since it's still a below 2.0 hybrid car

17. ivn says:

Beautiful. A real head turner machine.

18. OMG says:

yay! Audi rocks!

19. Ken says:

direct look in front not so nice, but nothing a bodykit can't fix ….

the hybrid system will jack up the price by 30%.

i don't mind a 1.5 (M) on this baby.

lightweight is the key !

20. Tee Lim says:

hope Honda produces one with a K20A :P ~

21. c14man says:

a 3-door Insight?

22. mitlanevo says:

AWESOME !!!

23. TURBOfans-VW FANS-An says:

YES VW rock!!

24. thgh says:

wow, the interior is so concept-ish, nice car

25. 4G63T DSM says:

ermmm….so Honda refreshes the original Insight and sticks a sort of recycled name on it

I don't know, A sporty but rather underpowered green car? Sounds like an oxymoron.

I know, I know….the original CRX HX was supposed to be sporty and economical…… but still…

26. sashi says:

this car looks freaky..

27. andersonC says:

The front grill looks like RX-8.

Hybrid hot-hatch form Honda, Cool!

28. mystvearn says:

Front plate number ruining that grille. Maybe they can make it thinner?

29. Alpha says:

lolz.Mugen mz be doing somethg to spice up this baby!!i'll take the one in orange,plz!!

30. shawal says:

they have a brochure ady, of coz its meant for production…

it looks awesome , if it sips fuel…it'll be a success for honda then in asia

in europe…not sure, bet the car will be a bit heavy n not so fun to drive

31. shawal says:

yep the interior is like thee 458 italia , no doubt.

we have a couple of hybrids here…HOPEFULLY HONDA malaysia will bring it in

and hopefully the price will be around honda civic hybrid n not prius

32. Rrrrr says:

Look ugly from rear..

33. acerman says:

Why is it everybody is following the Audi R8 front end?

34. tito says:

I like the dashboard very much….very nice….

35. Gajen says:

nice car but the front looks like rx 8

36. kuatmain says:

DRB….we are waiting eagerly & keeping our fingers crossed

for your announcement !!!!

37. Mufasa says:

what is target market? definately not for me

38. YW says:

Urgly interior….

39. Mazda 6 MPS says:

crettttt!!!!

40. BRAZBUZ says:

could it possible 4 this car to reach in m'sia?

41. Kamyongkai says:

another dugong.. what's with japanese car manufacturers and dugongs these days?

42. Kamyongkai says:

forgot to mention.. its a smiling dugong. hahaha!

43. biz says:

dont u think it look like the Rx8 front?

ghmmmm…

honda huh! not my tea of cup.

they are not that awesome car.

44. KickingDust says:

Kamyongkai said,

January 2, 2010 @ 10:17 pm

another dugong.. what’s with japanese car manufacturers and dugongs these days?

You must have be joking !! I have seen this car myself in Japan… and its far off from what you're thinking.

Its very sporty and with sharp features in front with wide slanted open grill and its rear tinted glass hatch resemblence to the previous CR-X.

Wait till you see its front & rear LED lights turned on.

45. Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P says:

so much nicer than any proton cars

46. B!7CH please says:

Hah, these guys commenting are so full of bs.

Actually, the theoretical figures on paper seems that it will be a peppy city ride. Nothing much to shout about, but it looks like it will offer spirited driving within the city. I guess it all boils down to the weight it has on.

Actually, Honda could've made a pure gasoline variant of a similar displacement.

Then again, that could hamper the Hybrid drives that Honda is pushing for. Hmm, offer an amazing looking car but dont offer it with regular gasoline version. Its sort of like forcing you into getting this and entices you with its looks.

A bit of a lolfactor.

47. vl says:

smiley dugong better than dugong vios lol

48. odi862 says:

Very good looking car……geared towards economic and 'green'. If this car do reach our shore, it sure will sell well. Since this car has 1.5l engine, perhaps the next generation Civic maybe will be equipped with 1.5 engine also.

49. skiborne says:

it looks messy, but i still like it, haha. the outer door handle resembles 360 Modena

50. altimate says:

If it was Nissan who came out with such car, everyone would have called it ugly..

IMHO, it's ugly, backward styling with an ugly huge grille.. interior as usual looks sophisticated though.. nice

hope the next gen civic does not inherit those.. keeping my fingers crossed

51. Kamyongkai says:

Regardless, its still an ugly smiling dugong. I agree with altimate on this. That huge ugly grille makes me want to puke. It would have been awesome if it looked more like the HSV-010 Super GT.

52. AXL says:

another honda insight version

53. wallstreet says:

Looks like Honda also following Mazda footstep of making happy car too!! This is not smiling, its laughing!!

54. meteoraniac says:

i think it looks awesome, could be a replacement candidate for my caldina .. bye bye toyo hello honda …

55. bthw says:

the front grille looks weird.. like an alien.. hehe

56. lusipah says:

itu keleta ada wiper kat atas…

so, what is that wiper for? glass panoramic roof or it will somehow bend in such way so it will wipe the rear window?

57. pulge says:

More like gasping instead. Sucking more air for the engine from the large front grille. I think the dash look nice, better than the Civic.

I doubt this will make it here. Maybe fun to drive in the city, but not for fast driving. We'll see.

58. Mazda 3 MPS says:

crx legend

59. CH says:

front view look abit like rx8 but i like the car design

good job honda

60. ZouleHCo says:

The front light just like the City.. i think the front bumper can be used in City.. :-)

61. Mazda 3 MPS says:

this should have been the honda city instead of that arrow inspired crap

62. zain says:

Proton, please learn from Honda, please…

63. karipap says:

Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

January 3, 2010 @ 12:14 am

so much nicer than any proton cars

Ini bodoh punye orang! tak pasal2 drag proton dalam article ni…

Argument yg langsung tak relevan! Orang2 camni sume dalam hati busuk…

Anyway, superb car from Honda! Aku suke! :)

64. backbencer says:

hopefully this car's FC can beat the city i-dsi.

65. pekan says:

Why is this Honda not in Malaysia??? Why…????

I demand for this Honda in Malaysia NOW…!!!

66. man says:

Looks ugly. Yuk

67. pulltea says:

Last time, it was called CR-X, now should be CR-Y, instead of CR-Z.

68. my name is says:

lucky… the name on the designed car is honda…

I bet, if malaysian car… sure will be cursed to hell…

For me… weird design… not MY taste… and no money for it… i am no designer… i am more to simple looks… such as mazda 6…

69. Ronaldo says:

The front grill look uggly shet………..

70. nighttrain says:

What's the dimension of the original CR-X Si? Is the previous one larger?

71. nighttrain says:

will it be priced in the same bracket as the previous CR-X?

72. Alex Toh says:

if below RM150K…then i think it will get HOT in Malaysia

73. Mazda 3 MPS says:

i doubt it would be cheap

74. I-HATE-GG889933000-I says:

You would expect if HONDA malaysia bring it here… the inside will be 'empty' a lot ~

Trust me!!

stupid HONDA malaysia!

VW rocks!

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: Naza in talks with GM to handle Chevrolet
Next Story: Death of spectator marks start of Dakar 2010