Spyshot: Mysterious Proton Prototype disguised as Exora continues to make its way around town!

That mysterious prototype car with the distorted Proton Exora exterior continues making its way around the roads of Malaysia. From what we hear, the modified Exora exterior is just a decoy and what’s underneath has absolutely nothing to do with the Exora.

Since this time we have some higher resolution images snapped with a DSLR, a peek into the interior shows the very top most surface of the dash, which is also quite Exora-like – they probably used the Exora dash too, as what is being tested could be the powertrain and chassis.

With the nearest Proton full model change car launch being the next generation Proton Persona replacement model known internally as the Persona R (R for Replacement), can’t blame us for wondering if this is that new sedan on test. Or perhaps it’s some kind of crossover commissioned by Youngman Europestar.

Look after the jump for lots of hi-res spyshots of the car, photographed by Mohd Faizal Nayan en route to a gathering in Cameron Highlands.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1732]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• peminat kete on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:07 am

nice…..

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:51 am

yeah.. nice & interesting. the automotive industries in Malaysia suddenly getting ‘exciting’. so many options for me from hyundai, peugeot and now proton keep on teasing us with possibilities of new model, new campro replacement engine, hybrid engine, turbo engine and cvt transmission.
      i don’t like inspira, but Emas and this new mysteries could be able to make me hold my purchase and keep me waiting impatiently.

• buy viva la

• dickybird on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:07 pm

who are you and what have you done with mofaz?! that will be the day, a proton fanboys asying he didnt like the inspira?!

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:27 am

no dicky, i’ve never sign up to be in proton fan club. i’ve never even join wajarian, exorian or any other club like that. i support proton, but it doesn’t mean i agree with everything they do. i wont lie to myself and say i like tiara and juara.. hell NO! i don’t like lancer just because of my personal taste, and i still don’t like it even after proton rebagde it as inspira.
          i only support proton because if proton successful, we will be known as successful country. I don’t want malaysia to be known as half-assed nation, for doing things half way only. the only way is to keep progressing, right?

• ermmm.... on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:07 am

the mystery goes on…..

• alldisc on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:56 am

proton is getting cleverer at disguising and keep us guessing!! DAMN IT!!

• jl@ipl on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:03 pm

they wanted to show to every body, they DARE TO CHANGE.

For the person leaked the face lift BLM, shame on you…………

• go proton!!!

• wow!

• the next model? cyaiyok proton

• oh yeah…persona R maybe

• Jonathan Lim on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Persona R(lacement), sounds like a Race version of Persona, fitted with turbo engine with 170bhp, sport tuned chassis, and rumbling exhaust note. Haha………

• A truck or Bus maybe.

• chris on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:14 am

this could even be a special lowered down exora turbo to take on toyota wish and honda stream for the “sporty MPV” tag?
    interesting times for Proton…=)

• tiadaid on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:42 am

I believe this is the Exora Turbo. I spoke to a salesperson and he said the Turbo’s going to be Caldina-like.

• subhero on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:30 am

AGREE WITH YOU.. that is my cousin working at R&D proton said.

• AripSon on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:33 am

Send my regards to your cousin, and kindly ask him/her when is that particular Exora Turbo coming out?
          Some more, I heard of the current Savvy shall be facelifted a lil bit and they gonna put 1.4 Campro inside… Is this true?
          Smells like VW spirit!
          Hidup Proton!

• Lightning McQueen on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Your cousin?
          I am working with R&D as well, caldina thingy is bullshit…

• Anak Malaysia on Dec 01, 2010 at 1:22 pm

so if u working with R&D as per ur claim.. what is this about?

• but i think theres something more to it.the shape is too distorted to be real model.proportion is lost.look at the third row window

• I'm a liar on Nov 30, 2010 at 5:00 am

working in R&D??

i own the R&D facilities!

• now everyone start to tell his friend, his brother, his cousin and his great great grandfather working in Proton R&D.. and most of them will keep lying until hell is collapse..

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm

R & D? oh you mean, the Rebadge and Deliver facility? kakaka

• alldisc on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:58 am

wish and stream is known as compact MPV in japan. it is never considered as sporty. there is absolutely nothing sporty about being MPV.

can a mini bus be sporty?

• Eyesore on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Well apparently we malaysian has unique way at categorizing vehicle… and quite different from actual category….. I even have few friends who would categorize Viva as a sport car….what to say..

• alldisc on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:24 am

this i must agree. when toyota caldina first came out, many people even believe it is a MPV when it is actually a station wagon @ estate car.

viva a sports car?? i second you we malaysians are unique!

• SukaTgkOrg on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:32 pm

have u seen the Truck Race?..

• i hav seen a trailer carrying 6 or 8 proton inspira speeding on the plus highway around 130kmj.. i know 130kmj for a car is nothing.. but 130kmj for a trailer with 6 or 8 cars could be something right? i guess the lorry’s driver try to prove that even the inspira still on the trailer, it still can move faster..

• hero86 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:03 pm

well, maybe u cant make a bus to be sporty.. but people always make it look sporty.. same like others la..

• ya, i agree with u.. i dont understand y some people always think that mpv should being sporty.. mpv is a people carrier.. not a sports car.. we dont drive mpv like we drive car right?

• alldisc on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:25 am

TQ NaQ,

try drive the alphard and vellfire, and we will realise how a luxury minibus behaves on the road.

minibus is not fun to drive at all!!

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 30, 2010 at 7:24 pm

witness the turbo estates of volvo and audi.

• Wow……so boring meh…..no need to use sticker….exterior no change at all…what a gimmick….

• HafidzMoro on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:17 am

This might be the Hybrid Exora which making rumours since October 2010?

• EX5-Mune on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:34 am

I think its totally a new Model..not hybrid…
      Persona-R?jauh panggang dari api lor

• 9w2myv on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:17 am

Actually that model ‘twin’ for Caldina

• pacifictuna on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:19 am

wonder what is hidden in this shell….. could it be a 4×4?

• i think this the new of Exora turbo launched on 2011.

• could it be a new van platform?

• i like this one!

• mystvearn on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:25 am

Baby exora? Is it me, or the best disguise for a simliar exterior car is just by showing it full. Those black tapes are saying to people – loads of things to hide here. :P

• mr.wiseGuy on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:40 am

nope..like the facelifted saga
      they had the fender hidden but lastly nothing new there..

• idneffa on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:27 am

sure.. mister wise guy…

Can’t you see the chopped rear roof.. doesn’t it look lower to you?

i bet it must have something with the speed.. you know, to improve aerodinamics…

• New Proton Softroader segment :)

• Puttumayam on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:37 am

Judging from the camera file, a prototype car shouldn’t overtake the paparazzi’s car unless there’s another one tailing it from behind. This could just be a planned spy photos from Proton for a free publicity stunt. Proton cars are pricey these days despite being a national carmaker and a monopoly. Don’t think I will buy or replace my car for very long time.

• frossonice on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:52 am

I say, you know the protocol of how prototype cars should be driven, eh?

• cosby on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:56 am

your conspiracy theory is just bulls***. the test driver just don’t give a damn of being photographed, he just doing his job. get some mileage to collect data.

• bluetravler on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:17 am

Well, Puttumayam is not wrong either, yes test diver usually don’t give a damn unless order to. However if you do/care to read other websites or car mag or even watch discovery channels, you would have known or come across that most car makers does arrange “leak spy shot” more offen then not when the said car is in its late or almost finish testing phase. Well this says that P1 is catching up with the rest of the worlds car makers marketing style.

• just4fun on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:45 am

Macam tak menarik je design die….

• donno on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:48 am

this is IMO a test mule for the PersonaR powertrain. Either the 2.0 Inspira engine or the 1.6turbo campro.

• i don’t think proton will ever use mivec engine in other models. unless it is some JV or rebadge project like inspira.

• Paul reported already, that Proton is not allowed to use the 2.0 Inspira engine in other cars than the Inspira. They are even not allowed to modify the engine…

• Mike/Liverpool on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:51 am

Strange & i don’t have a clue, something Lotus?
    Mike

• diy traveller on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:55 am

Isk.. Either this ‘Persona R’ is a wagon/estate like Caldina… or
    an SUV/pickup style since the wheel seems bigger than Exora.
    Kudos if Proton testing new drivetrain but it shouldn’t be on a disguised car like this!
    Makes everybody suspicious…

• drMpower on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:03 am

i read somewhere about proton doing a clients job for this wagon like exora. the rumour is that client company from china.

but heck with it. bring this out with your turbo campro, proton. please. i am begging u.

i AM BEGGING u.

• Paul Tan on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:15 am

Hmm, is Youngman Europestar asking for a crossover SUV?

• drMpower on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:37 am

honestly i dont know whether it is youngman or somebody else. but its a good looking vehicle isnt it?

hahaha..nais.

• 4561336 on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:46 am

i have see a news from china

Exora already test at China , they also take the spy photo

a few week ago …

Exora cps only euro 3, don know can sales at china or not @.@

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:12 am

I thought Exora has been there for the tests long time ago. now could be in final stage of ‘rebadging / rebranding’ or could also ready for production already. from what i read, China has new emission and crash & safety law.. Renault was having trouble in China regarding safety issue as well.

• Tiadaid on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:18 am

Renault? The car company who advertised that their product lineup’s all earned 5-star NCAP ratings?

• Renault having problem? lol. i think proton is the one having problem.

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:30 am

well, not all county use NCAP. sometimes they use their own safety & quality assessments as ‘barriers’ to protect their own home market. you can search ‘Renault safety issue china’ in google, or I’ll make it simpler, go read the Renault safety issue in china here:
            http://www.caradvice.com.au/32538/china-bans-renault-cars-cites-safety-issues/

this could be their payback to european car makers because china cars has never pass NCAP crash test before this. too many speculations, and too many conspiracy theories…

• yes China did that: http://www.leftlanenews.com/china-bans-renault-imports-due-to-quality-and-safety-concerns.html

the actual reasons was not so clear though..

• prolover on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:27 am

actually proton exora already been their about 1 year year.
          At chinacar times, the date of the spy shot caught about 3 march 2009
          http://www.chinacartimes.com/2009/03/06/new-proton-mpv-spotted-testing-in-china/
          and now is probably the final stage to make youngman europestar mpv.

• Nazrul on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:05 am

I think this is the prototype for next year’s Exora Turbo. Or maybe a replacement modal for the Chancellor which used Waja’s body?

• aduss on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:12 am

rasanya bukan pesona r.. ia terlalu besar tuk tanjung malim.. new arena? cermin tingkap belakang 2 mcm tipu jer..

• drMpower on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:41 am

huih. takkan la tipu. dah integrate dengan bumbung tu kooot..

but i see this as shortstring budget kinda vehicle. it seems they want to share a lot of things with exora. the front end is almost…. identical. apart from some lines of which kedai abang oso can do.

the profiling at the sides are pretty much exora. the doors are exoras. they just lowered the roof and make the glass to fit whatever space left. thats about it

but at the back, thats where they CANNOT share most of the things with exora. now the roof is sloped, they need to redesign the back end lamps.

it is interesting aduss.. ;)

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:02 am

probably this is just a ‘quick job’ of cutting Exora body for a mule of what being tested underneath. proton previously use Wish body as a mule, and Exora came out later looks nothing like Wish at all.

• drMpower on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:25 am

quite a point

but Wish body mule… nobody was expecting it gonna be wish look alike wasnt it

• Leseid Obrut on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:06 am

dude…read the post…it has NOTHING to do with the exora…ok?

• not necessarily, even paul is still trying to figure out about this vehicle. maybe it’s like someone said; arena replacement. heard somewhere that the code name of the project is IGUANA. dont know whether its true or false. poor fit for the back door and awkward back light panel make me think it’s not exora turbo. but i guess it’s equipped with force induction.

as for the exora turbo with cvt transmission, at least i have seen two spyshot with different bodykit.

http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/lagi-spyshots-exora-cfe-cvt-oleh-bro-sagaknight/

and

http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/panas-spyshots-exora-cfe-cvt-di-genting-highlands/

• donadoni on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:30 am

Honestly speaking, this look should be on Exora in the first place!

• meegorengreborn on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:36 am

I’m guessing it’s the persona R that uses the same platform as exora. The design will be previewed at KLIMS later.

• ericten on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:42 am

it cant be persona R
    they can fake the exterior (doors,lights etc).. but the interior is too tall for a sedan
    should be some crossover or sportier SUV

• stiggy on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:43 am

proper power please. ppp

• 4561336 on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:48 am

wagon ?

toyota caldina ‘s design also like this

• Proton Supreme on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:37 am

I think its a rebadge Prius! Front n back look the same

good job to proton who only knows how to copy!

• abzaja on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:40 pm

you have a good sense of humor my fellow amigo

• hero86 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:12 pm

adoi, prius ngan model nie jauh sangat rupenye.. hangpa rabun ka buta??? n also, how can u say it is rebadge when rebadge means u have the right to copy n paste.. i don think p1 have any collaboration with toyota..

• sport rim on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:42 am

learn more, read more brother….

• elite on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:21 am

looks like Alza but uglier

• shawal on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:09 am

Maybe its a persona estate..? persona will come in 3 bodystyles, sedan, aeroback (like gen.2) and an estate, all using exora’s powertrain, if possible uses exora hybrid powertrain as well…, whatever it is please don’t use the same front end design like the exora, i still remember when the wira’s face was everywhere on alot of models , wira/satria/putra/arena

• Nampak cam almost finish product jek.. ntah ntah model ni mmg cam ni rupa dia.. bukan mule mcm kita semua sangka. Ialah, sebelum ni warna hitam, now warna putih lak.. pastu kalau tgk finishing dia nampak kemas semua… eventhough mmg obvious pinjam dr exora.. so maybe ni exora turbo atau adik kepada exora yg sporty / crossover version kot….

• weird car on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:27 am

If this is a 5 seater or 7, i bet the fellas inside cannot really view outside. look how high is the window?

• adzman on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:34 am

front lamp look like Grandis..is it…anybody…engine..Grandis..who knows…

• fat cat on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:31 am

Ya looks more like a Grandis re-bagde this time after lencer

• hero86 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:13 pm

no la.. mitsu already state that no model will be rebadge with p1 after lancer..

• klguy on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:40 am

mayb its for mitsubishi. since proton took their lancer…in return proton gives this to mitusbishi

• apexg2 on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:46 am

i think it should be exora type R..hehe!with 2.0 engine, cvt, turbo and some new tech!just hope from proton!

• azman on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:17 am

a new MPV model perhaps?..

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:19 am

The odd thing is…why would Proton go through so much work to make a test mule? If it was a mule, they would have been able to fit whatever drivetrain into the exora.

We do know that the next Persona (and a lot of other Proton models) will be sharing the exora’s platform…

The way I look at it, the roof line is fairly indicative of the next model (Persona Wagon perhaps), and the odd looking beltline can be fixed really easily with new doors and quarter panels and hood, bumpers are simple items to replace…..

I’m sure Theo can whip something up really quick.

If Proton does indeed come up with a Caldina-like vehicle, sure would interest me as long as updates to the existing drivetrain options is in place…..

• mnazri.tan on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:32 am

i cant help to think..that paul actually know about this…and proton has shared some insight with paul….hehe…the picture angle is too good….and how the heck u always manage to find such thing….eheheheh

heheheh….jgn marah paul….kidding

anyhow, i wish it is something new from proton which they develop quitely…i put my faith in proton…because i own two…proudly…heheh

• captain_gaban on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:33 am

to the least, proton did their works, not like those chaps in perodua…tukar kaler+some leather…and BOOOOMMM!!! RM42K!!!! totally absurd

• Hantu on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:38 am

What an ugly protruded wiper design on otherwise a reasonable designed car.

• IpohPostmaster on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:41 am

perhaps, you could sketch 1 and upload it somewhere, then paste the link here for people to comment.

you talk like you are the master of car designer…. haiya

• Maybe a sedan based on the exora platform? if not mistaken when the exora was first revealed, paul did reported that the platform can be used for sedan model as well? Mayb a c-segment from proton wit turbo powah~!

• dragster on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:40 am

look like the CALDINA….but seem the roofline not practical. Its too low! how’s the result after collision????

• Tengokje.. on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:46 am

Maybe a new crossover from P1. Who knows.

Salam…

• Lightning McQueen on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:56 am

They call it mule car where u put sacrificial shell on top of new chassis… It is common for any car maker to do this. Once they get all the parameter right then they proceed with soft tooling car…. well perhaps Proton will continue their progress

• ah-goo on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:57 am

it is the exora based pickup,i guess. The degree of distortion at the upper rear is quite obvious. Maybe any rigidity is not needed for that portion of the p/type.

• It’s no longer a secret. Proton MD said that Proton is developing a crossover (something similar to Puegoet 2008) for Youngman China. In return Proton will rebadge this their very own product as Proton SUV. Wether “the Exora” is the mule is anybody guess.

• Hzreeno on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:01 am

Proton ‘Caldina-wannabe’ prototype .
    Must be spin-off from Exora model. Could be hit, could be disaster.
    The propotion seems like a bit wierd for me.
    Only lowered the Exora roof, not sure about the driving position, headroom, etc.
    I guess must be not very airy inside since the side glass is very minimal. Ad-hoc model….
    If exterior design can’t attract target potential buyer, don’t talk about turbo drive train….
    The question is why must follow Caldina?

• subhero on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:33 am

who said they are following caldina?.. and i dont see any features that look like a caldina..

caldina is base on wagon type.. and any car maker can make their car base on wagon type..

and i give u my red thumb.

• IpohPostmaster on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:44 am

any car that look like a wagon, will be claimed by these people as caldina copy… how lame is that. these people need to inhale more oxygen ….

• Hzreeno on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:36 am

subhero :
        they’ll never admit they following caldina.
        where in the world you could find SUV with tiny glass for the 3rd row…
        i know Caldina is wagon type, but can u see any wagon sell like hot cake other than Caldina in Malaysia?
        Im confident the dimension is exactly like Exora except for the height…
        Why Proton must have almost identical MPV in their line-up?
        Any reason to have 2 different height MPV with the almost identical front and rear end?
        IMH, better invest in low-cost small / city car segment…
        Anyway, i respect ur view.
        Just wait and see this ‘Lowered Exora’ final product…

• ericmaxman on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:10 am

mmm..look closely, the rear brakes are disks..improvement over the current Exora’s drums.. :D

• Nakata on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:15 am

i think they’re testing their new engine. There is rumors that next year proton giving out new engine…small turbocharged.

• Tiadaid on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:40 am

The turbo engine’s is not a rumour. It’s 90% confirmed already….

• IpohPostmaster on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:46 am

it’s not rumors anymore, the proton boss have made a press statement on that

• lazyf on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:24 am

Hmm…could be this is the first wagon from Proton…

• Anjang on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:25 am

Proton already have their own design trademark aka DNA for some latest product.. Even when it was covered by those black mascara..

• ismazri on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:43 am

My god P1 is very aggressive whole this year. DSZ you’re the man.

• kington on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:44 am

Pro-Bishi Caldina?

Anyway, if Proton’s gonna make Medium MPV to challenge the Stream and Wish, it’ll be a good effort from them. The Exora can they grow bigger to challenge bigger MPVs. Although many have decided that medium MPV market is slowly dwindling down, but national makers with price advantage will always attarct buyers…

• IpohPostmaster on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:50 am

proton can never challenge wish and stream

the price gap is way too big

people who can afford wish and stream, will never think about proton.

perhaps, rondo, citra and Glivina or maybe alza and avanza

• tokmoh on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:55 am

I wonder if this has anything to do with Arena replacement… somebody posted a link to Proton Australia website some time ago about an incoming Arena replacement around late this year or early next year…

About time Proton get a diesel and rock on. Yeeeeaaa!!

• Paul Tan on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:20 am

Ah… One plausible theory.

• taboogen on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:42 am

all i know this car have CVT gearbox in it.. just wait ya and it is turbo

• pacifictuna on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:45 am

agreed…. pickup segment down under is a profitable market for proton. arena did have a moderate success there, if my memory serves me right. and GTi also did very well there…

• alldisc on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:32 am

so true. SGTI was a real hit there in a market popular with big V8s…

• littlefire on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:28 am

Arena should be consider as pick-up category.. But from the picture above seems like a Wagon car category.. Like Nissan AD resort, wingroad, Toyota TE71, Caldina category…

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:04 am

To be honest, while people go oooh ahhh on a new model, I’m particularly interested in what Proton has in store in terms of powertrain developments.

As in the Micra post, I’ve stated tht the exising proton drivetrains are a few generations behind. In order to remain competitive (especially if they plan to export any of these), thier next powertrains need to be some form of direct injection, turbocharged unit, with one or 2 more gears (or CVT).

The only thing that prevented the Exora from being a more sucessful car is the 1.6 campro, which made it underpowered and a gas guzzler in the city. I was very intrigued with the Exora until I test drove it….what killed it for me was, in order of importance, engine performace (and the rather atrocious in-city fuel economy), dated interior, and small wheels…otherwise I would have one sitting in my porch now.

• Proton Supreme on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:09 am

why nobody thinks it will be a prius from toyota?

• ericmaxman on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:10 am

any relation to this? -> http://www.chinacartimes.com/2010/07/08/lotus-youngman-mpv-renderings-those-wheels-are-huge/

• Whynot on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:12 am

It won’t be a surprise if this is a better version of Exora with height and weight reduced and somewhat more aerodynamics and lowered CG looking like Toyota Wish. Anyhow Proton Iceberg strategy is beginning to shows its shape slowly………………. Sit tight all Malaysians….No bashing pls.

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:25 am

Exora in Wagon body shape…it look still ok but weird…i don’t like the side window so short & low height from front to rear…head & tail should be the same pattern…

• dondon on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:26 am

no matter what the design, what i waiting for is the quality of performance and part from proton, otherwise, i will taruk proton kaw2!!

please proton, build more high quality car first rather than new model.

• Looks like caldina+wish,but with sharp edges.I think it’s better if Proton keep of sharp edges and apply smooth edges so to look more futuristic and fluidic like the recent hyundai concept design.

• this could be: Persona replacement prototype, Arena/Jumbuck replacement prototype, or a new crossover/SUV prototype.

Exora turbo? i don’t think so. why would they redesign the whole body just to fit a new engine and tranny lol that’s just absurd.

• budlee on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:12 am

a stationwagon like the caldina or some manufacturers calling it, Sport’s Tourer…

• Wisdom on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:15 am

It could be the Exora turbo / with upgraded engine.

Current Exora is doing well (in terms of sales) with 1.6 CPS. Mounting a new, more powerful engine on current Exora will definitely kill the 1.6 CPS model. Not only that, it will also boost the depreciation for current model which is a no no strategy. Later Proton will get more haters from the present Exora owners. Remember when Toyota come out with 1.5 Avanza? The 1.3 model market value drop and the existing owner of that 1.3 model sure curse like hell.

What proton can do is to market the Exora with the new engine under different niche market/ sportier model. The prospect buyer could be those who focus more on performance and can live with slightly smaller cabin. The smaller body should weigh less than current Exora, as a result, better pick-up and produces less roll when cornering which is in line with its sportier themes. On the pictures could be it.

The existing Exora CPS will still survive and continue market as more economy, practical and basic model for family.

• Cucukman on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:35 am

Pheonix?

with Campro FE Turbo?

• taboogen on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:45 am

Persona R in disguise… enjin and transmission testing kot

• Izhar on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:58 am

nice..maybe exora turbo….5 or 7 seaters???

• clement on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:59 am

MUV in the making for Proton to cater the SMI or testing for the for the new arena…

pondering… pondering….

• finally!

no more tonggek design from Proton!

the aerodynamic design of this car is superb!

• whitefox on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:34 pm

hope proton provide us enough suprise at KLIMS. No idea this car will available at there or not.

• Lightning McQueen on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm

This baby is still in mule stage… I guess next year u’ll find the f stage car… u know what I means P1 guys?

• wiraoneSTUPID on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:40 pm

WOOOOwwww!!!!

• eadgez on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Dude..!

• nabill on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:01 pm

i remember when proton signed the collaboration with mitsubishi , part of the deal was for mitsubishi to use rebadge proton cars for overseas market . could this be one of the cars to be rabadged as a mitsubishi ??

• Arifin on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Looks like Mitsubishi Grandis to me, you can see from the shape of the window. But who can tell?

• walao on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:41 pm

walao why the windows so small one?

• Faisal on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:44 pm

hmm.. lowered exora plus turbo engine.. makes me think of.. toyota caldina!! wow!

• trav_da_man on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:58 pm

A crossover ala a MPV and car might an an option, is proton is doing a new stationwagon? Stationwagon is pretty much dead in mysia, unless if they aiming for european markets.

A crossover of a SUV and car makes more logical sense. The Nissan Dualist/Qashai is doing well in many markets.

• nolan on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:17 pm

could be an Exora Limo or Exora Executive……

• They’re testing Exora to be rebadged as Mitsubishi and marketed in India.

• rulered on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Besides the darken badge, is there any other indication that it’s a Proton in the first place? Can the mule plate number be used by other car manufacturer?

• hazri99 on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:54 pm

waht a ugly car

• perkasa on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:23 pm

photographed by Mohd Faizal Nayan en route to a gathering in Cameron Highlands.>>>cam kenal je photographer ni….hhahahaha…caiyok la dik…bila masa ko gi amik gambo ni

• makeitmine on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:36 pm

Fit one with diesel engine, will definitely sell very well as taxis or family car around the world.

Proton,

Persona R = Persona Replacement

Here is a new challenge for you:

Make one with turbo engine and sporty body kit & wheels .. call it Persona S = Persona Sports

Make one with Diesel engine, sound proofing and as big as Camry .. call it Persona CD = Persona Comfort & Diesel

• maybe is just a terribly built Exora

• Prismo on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Nice… I just hope this is the Turbo version so i can put my money on this one… The rim look bigger. I bet it’s 16″ alloy…. Proton, why dont this model have pearl white or super white color as an option?

• emancool on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:15 pm

fighting with honda stream?mpv for young man…

• mofidz on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm

perhaps hybrid cars for govt. as per announced, since hybrid need space for the battery.. since malaysian still want big boot

• youngman l5, l7 also base on persona and it definitely looks different
    so how about this, youngman again?

• PakatanRakyat on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:08 pm

I thought these is another rebadged model by Proton.. based on Toyota Caldina platform.. hehehe

• Protong’s famous rebadge “Mitsu Grandis” is back!!!

• Maserati on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:28 pm

Rubbish again

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:36 am

this toyota salesman (aka japanese fanboy)… always negative about malaysian products. i guess if japanese were to invade malaysia again, he will join the japanese army instead of defending malaysia.

• Tiadaid on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:48 am

Don’t bother comment if the only think you want to comment is rubbish. At least your other, long winded comments have some padding, notwithstanding the fact that they’re wrong.

• Joker The Great on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:47 pm

No worry man…

Proton may launch a SUV in 2011
    Currently they test on Caldina….. Lets wait and see yah

• This could be a Mitsubishi Grandis, the current one selling in Malaysia. This could be a “enlarged” Exora – something like Grand Exora. Let’s see if we can get it right at paultan.org :)

• yang model nih rebadge ke bro syoh hahaha ko nih agak agak lah..

• MoFaz on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:39 am

enlarged, but smaller?
      i just don’t know what’s happening to these bashers… can’t they even think logically?

• goguncas71 on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:20 am

Aiyaa..it’s not a rebagde mitsubishi grandis. If it is then there’s no need to disguise it, just run i as a grandis – no one would notice…

• kecohlebih on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Another copy and paste from proton…… macam caldina je…. nanti jangan lupa namakan proton caldinonok….

• Hzreeno on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:30 am

kecohlebih :
      i agree with u.this is copy n paste project, to minimiza the development cost…
      but i wonder why majority of reader here attracted with this ‘lowered Exora design’…
      maybe beause Malaysia is Bolehland…everything can…

• 4x4Fan on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:22 am

Are you sure this is “Copy and Paste”..?just curious..

• anjez on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:20 pm

trying to copy caldina.
    frankly its ugly.all proton cars are ugly except juara.

• R for Redundant.

• Mango1881 on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:02 am

are they trying to made a Caldina challenger?

• cslee on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:16 am

Alamak….visit the coming KLIMS 2010, then you know the answer loh…Dont give ridiculous comments..

• cardreamer on Nov 30, 2010 at 8:54 am

I think this would probably a new Exora facelift with new engine..this is based on peoples’comments:

1. Exora roof line too high
    2. Out dated engine.
    3. No rear Disk brake

Just look at the design clue. They’re using the same exora body, doors but sutting down the height. As such they’re using paste on glass windows by using adhesive tapes to the doors…this could not be the design because it is too exposed. But in order to cut cost, they use the same exora panels…they can’t mould things just for test…

my bet is that, the final product would have a bigger windows, a wrap around windows and a sleeker look overall…and it will be a good looking one..not a van looked exora as it is today…

Perhap theopilus Chin could render a nice looking one base on these assumption?…

• Lappy on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:02 am

Rebadging Mitsubishi Grandis if u ask me……

• alf147 on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:19 am

this one for persona R la..that R is sharing the same platform with exora…dun look at this design..

• lazyf on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:03 am

according to my eyes, this car looks good…
    only need some “modification” on the rear window by Proton…

• 1Malaysia on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:57 am

OMG! What is this? Big Panel Door, small windows till almost cannot see the person inside

• firefox on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:11 am

come on…give a chances to proton, china train technology become the top, also start from copy and paste, but as at today, more then 25 years still need copy and paste…what the hell….

• air_freeze on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:34 am

Me also want to put some tape on my car..
    People will think it is some disguising..
    And it is kind of the trend now..
    Cheers..

• Abuden on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:35 am

R = Rebadged

• shaza on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:04 pm

ini adalah model persona R..
    tp belum complete lg, byk pakai barang exora…

• New Perdana Replacement on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Good day everyone…to my opinion this is ‘a test mule’ for new perdana. The Exora platform was not only design for Exora..but also Perdana replacement…they chop the top why? Caldina..obsolete ler..use persona put wagon behind lagi cheaper..they chop cosz of weight…the new perdana will be slightly lighter …so to test pulling power..suspension geometry..weight distribution ….handling and bla bla. Proton i beg please dun follow the 3 BM M

• Nobody on Nov 30, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Proton keep improve their car that is good, BUT they forgot to improve their front line example their service center, their mechanic , their customer service.

I bought a Proton car recently because I trust Proton made changes to their car technology, BUT when come to car service or parts replacement it is way far- far from good. With the BAD service and tidak apa attitude I will not buy a proton car again even they improved their car tech. Unless there is a major improve in their after sale service.

Even their big service center at Mutiara Dsara DO NOT has any improvement. From outside the building looks beautiful and “pro”, but inside is rotten. Haii… not like I like to give bad comments, but it is through experience not once but a few times. Until I rather service outside rather than to take warranty from proton.

• u should go to other proton SC…there is 4 diff proton SC…proton-edar SC, proton -edar authorize SC, EON SC n EON authorize SC..all i have tried PESC n ESC at glenmarie, PEASC at pandan indah n EASC at shah alam..most PESC n ESC r too crowded if u don make early appointment….

• Electron on Nov 30, 2010 at 5:22 pm

I guess, it’s good to see more models coming in and it means more variety of choice for the people. Personally, i just visited the Proton showroom for Inspira, build quality are quite good and mitubishi design is very good. Just that the price are position a bit higher. Keep up the good work.

• mustanks on Jan 09, 2011 at 8:22 pm

finally, it answered during KLIMS10, Proton Lekiu… an SUV. i very sure it came with Campro turbo.