Proton kicks off its Festival Proton 1 Malaysia road show

Proton has begun a two-week Festival Proton 1 Malaysia nationwide road show, which will showcase its past and present, as well as provide a glimpse of its future. The roadshow will make 11 stops around Peninsular Malaysia – with things having begun at Stadium Indera Mulia in Ipoh over the weekend – and will include a total of 180 participants and a convoy of 60 Protons, including 25 cars from various official Proton car clubs. Alor Star, Kangar, Penang, Kuala Terengganu, Kuantan, Batu Pahat and Melaka are among the stops.

A mobile exhibition will showcase the company’s accomplishments over the last 25 years, and the vehicles on display will include a couple of the KLIMS concept car debutants, the Jebat and Kasturi. Also to be seen are the Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car, Exora Extended Range Electric Vehicle as well as the Emas hybrid concept, and a Proton Design studio will allow visitors a chance at having a go at digital sketching and clay modeling.

Here’s when the roadshow gets to where you are …

The carnivals at each stop will include a mini auto-show, numerous fun-filled activities for the family and children, and concert performances and appearances by renowned local artistes, including Jaclyn Victor, Adibah Nor, nasyid group Rabani, Dayang Nurfaizah and Amy Search.

Proton will also be playing host to a list of handicapped organisations and orphanages from every state in the Peninsular to take part and enjoy the celebrations. As for Proton car owners, there’ll be a dedicated service crew at the carnivals, so you’ll be able to take advantage of a free 18-point vehicle safety check.

The event ends on December 31 with a grand finale concert held at the Proton Centre of Excellence as a celebration and countdown to New Year’s Eve.

List of invited orphanages

Ipoh
Rumah Anak Yatim Budi Mulia, Chemor (25 pax)
Rumah Anak-Anak Yatim Baitul?Ain, Simpang Pulai (25 pax)

Alor Setar
Rumah Anak-Anak Yatim Darul Aitam Wal Masakin (50 pax)

Kangar
Asrama Anak Yatim Al-Islah Mata Air (50 pax)

Penang
Maahat Tahfiz Al-Quran dan Pengajian Islam (Anak Yatim Darul Tahzib) (50 pax)

Kota Bharu
Rumah Anak Yatim / Miskin Kelab Balkis (50 pax)

Kuala Terengganu
Asrama Anak Yatim Darul Falah (50 pax)

Kuantan
Rumah Anak Yatim Tengku Zanariah (50 pax)

Batu Pahat
Rumah Anak-Anak Yatim Islam Batu Pahat (PAKYI) (50 pax)

Melaka
Kompleks Anak Yatim Fatimah Al?Zaharah (50 pax)

Nilai
Anak Yatim & Miskin Murah Foundation (50 pax)

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1810]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kena tengok ni…

• sagatron on Dec 20, 2010 at 10:18 pm

wow..this is impressive……i need to show off my sagaru at this festival..so thats proton will consider make a production of saga to sagaru…hah….brilliant am i??

• Sagua on Dec 20, 2010 at 10:24 pm

why dont they give a massive test drive? let ppl test drive all their cars. instead of static demo. they always talk about handling. let ppl sit in the car, and let their driver drive.

this charity stuff is pure waste of time.

more interaction between ppl and proton. not many ppl willing to walk to proton showroom you know? their attitude as if they are selling volvo/merc/bmw.

• amel8488 on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:02 am

thats nice….

• eimsperfume on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:33 am

thumbs up :) let people know proton’s history & accomplishment until now so they can change their mindset about our national carmaker.

• AmouageGold on Dec 20, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Mindset of its deadwood management !!
      Accomplishment?
      Inspira Lancer !!
      Twice failure to JV with VW – that was a major coup !!

• kozekx on Dec 20, 2010 at 4:21 pm

AmouageGold, the mindset change is for normal people, not for narraw minded people like you. Give credit when it is due. It is evident to all that proton is changing for the better, unless you are blind.

• Joseph on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:31 am

Changing for the better with Inspira? LoL Proton. After 25 years, Inspira LoL.

• scgtimk1 on Dec 21, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Heheeh… finding it hard to shifting Vios eh? or perhaps selling City?

better find a better argument next time Salesman….

• makeitmine on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:16 am

F1 2013 going to run 4 cylinder 1.6L turbo engine. If Lotus were to develop F1 engine for rad cars, future Proton rebadged road cars may have Evo platform, Proton/Lotus engine & suspension.

Proton may even consider selling engines instead a complete car.. what an achievement in 30 years!

• contribution on Dec 20, 2010 at 2:09 pm

people will know abt Proton History n Accomplishment ..if that the were only case.

So u must be the smart guy that above all the only one gets it..

u plan going to rumah anak yatim ? dont lie…

• kozekx on Dec 20, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Mate, I don’t understand a single sentence. What are you trying to say?

• The Loner on Dec 20, 2010 at 4:42 pm

I think Proton wanna show off its good side only to make those anak yatim grow up and buy Proton. After that those side effects will bother them.

Is this help them or ruin them?

• S.Roma on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:24 am

Bro,

Thk postive la, they wanna make charity to anak yatim, u say wanna show off, later they don make any charity, u say Proton stingy, walao…

Typical malaysian…

• Wisdom on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:40 am

Supporters and bashers all welcome…..

• Lol, that fake Impreza, damn ah beng

• Pininfarina on Dec 20, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Still bashing Proton for the Inspira. Why people can’t see that Peugeot and Citroen also done the same thing? They took the Mitsubishi Outlander and rebadged it under Citroen C-Crosser and Peugeot 4007.

• they are blind and idi*t..

if there are unlike on my comment, thats is the stupid idi*t basher.. can anyone give one acceptable reason, why on earth Peugeot can rebadge Mitsubishi, but Proton cannot rebadge Lancer? Why there are no people blaming Peugeot for rebadging Mitsubishi?

this is totally stupid because now day, it is more save to rebadge a car than build a new one. local carmaker like Proton, with no big budget to build 1 car just for local market,better for them to rebadge. 1 new car take a big budget, but rebadging cut half of it.. the money could be use for other uses..

but, basher are basher..
      xda mentaliti..
      bg basher yg tahu kutuk dgn xde ilmu didada, xyah jd basher laa.. basher adalah pengkritik yg akan mengkritik semua kesalahan, seperti peugeot rebadge mitsu dan proton rebadge mitsu.. bkn setakat 1 jenama..

kepada basher2 yg *****, yg kutuk proton tp guna proton jgk, esok lusa meletup la kereta korg dgn korg sekali..
      RIP to stupid basher..

• wiralution on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:17 am

sure la… coz proton is the image of Malaysia…. why should we care about other product?? thats why ppl keep bashing proton.. i also shame with this kind of this sh*t happend… luckyly i drive a lotus ecslips… hahahaha

• Come on Proton engineers…we want our own car..

• Sagua on Dec 21, 2010 at 11:16 am

proton where got engineer? those change bumper and suspension kind of engineer, brothers accessories shop also got wat.

a lot sunway car tuner shop also got so called engineers.

wait….they called themselves, car tuner, which make more money than engineers anyway. lol.

the drifter djan called what car dynamic engineer……lol……

• martian on Dec 20, 2010 at 2:31 pm

when i read up to the line “A mobile exhibition will showcase the company’s accomplishments over the last 25 years, ” i almost fall from my chair roflz…

• LOL – That is a good one !!! ;)

• BlackBJQ on Dec 20, 2010 at 10:33 pm

when i read up to the line “A mobile exhibition will showcase the company’s accomplishments over the last 25 years, ” i knew..we will found typical bashers here and the list of comment/complaint will took a mile down there.. dont believe?? u better stay tuned..haha

• S.Roma on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

Some part i agree with u, if they wanna tell people about their accomplishment, why not also show us their failure? Its fair and square…

• Unforgiven on Dec 20, 2010 at 3:45 pm

I cannot believe that Subaru wanabe bodykit by Proton Saga is there as well.
    Is that owner of the Proton Saga really that proud of his Subaru bodykit?

• Unforgiven on Dec 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Do you wanna drive a Proton or a Subaru?
      Do you wanna drive a Proton or a Lancer?
      It’s very hard to answer the above questions after 25 years….

• Why when naza rebadge the Peugeot, nobody’s angry? but when Proton rebadge Lancer, many are not satisfied?? simply because naza admits it as rebadging.. unlike proton, they even came up with the name “Inspira” as in inspiration and have the guts to say that they inspired the car?? And now they even defend themselves by claiming Inspira and Lancers are two different cars.. come on laaa…

• kozekx on Dec 20, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Why no Johor Bahru?

• martian2 on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:17 am

because johor bahru very near singapore…shzzz….

• S.Roma on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:26 am

Batu pahat is not at Johor meh?

• kozekx on Dec 21, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Yes, Batu Pahat is in Johor. So? I don’t wanna drive about an hour and a half to travel from JB to BP town just for that. Not compelling enough.

Again, why no JB. Infact, please do it for each district. Maybe a yearly, nationwide event at each district for Proton to consider next year. Showcase Proton’s innovation AND improvement in quality.

• Sabahan on Dec 20, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Why East Malaysia don have this Roadshow. This is no so call 1Malaysia. Just call it Proton kicks off its Festival Proton Semenanjung Malaysia road show.

• Gan.. on Dec 20, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Im very disappointted after buy Proton Inspira 1.8E…the Proton handling and suspension is worse even at speed 90KM/H at corner..Absorber feel very soft..Proton better copy 100% Lancer spec. la..or the car is not for a smart guy soon…

• driver on Dec 20, 2010 at 8:41 pm

how you drive it? like racing car eh?

• Knock Off on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Gan, sell to driver’lar….

driver,
        You’ll buy it rite? to defend the honor of your beloved! :D

• Lotus engineer on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:21 am

oh dear inspira owner, i would like to point out that we at lotus purposely made the inspira ‘feel soft’ when cornering at 90kmhr above, it’s our Active Safety feature so that driver will automatically drive slower to avoid accident. But remember, only smart guy gets it. cheers!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Smart guy gets it (for free….esp.cronies)

Stupid guy buy it…..(the rakyat la, sapa lagi…)

• scgtimk1 on Dec 21, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Lame argument… a competitor salesman test driving an Inspira statement.

Try better argument next time shifting your Vios or City perhaps?

Try to find any good driver and they all will say like me that the Inspira handles better than Vios and even Altis…….. period

• nazri on Dec 21, 2010 at 9:05 pm

GAN : can join inspira forum and tell the story there.. i would like to know when u book .. see u there

• Would like to see the Satria Neo S2000.

• They say want produce Exora Turbo sometimes next year!! Any want know about that??

• sincere on Dec 20, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Instead of paying all the Top stars big money to perform.
    Might as well allocate a bigger slice of the budget for the under privileged.

• i’m sorry. 1malaysia but only single race orphanage house ?

• Sagua on Dec 20, 2010 at 10:21 pm

mau tak mau, tak mau sudah.

• S.Roma on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:50 am

It could be that they do not want to participate, who knows…

• sincere on Dec 21, 2010 at 10:37 am

S.Roma,
        Don’t try to be a ball carrier and make assumptions
        as to why this is only single race based.
        Are you the official spokesman for Proton?
        By assuming you only make an ass out of yourself.!!

• CHONG KAT on Dec 20, 2010 at 8:50 pm

kuala lumpur? our proud ct?

• sagaforlife on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:23 am

Seperti biasa, Sabah dan Sarawak ditinggalkan.

Festival 1Malaysia, betul kah nama itu?

Remember Proton, Sarawak itself holds 10% of Toyota’s Malaysia Market….
    Can read it from previous post….

• Joseph on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:34 am

Another of Proton’s silly ploy, to cover up for their 25 years of crap dunk products.

• T4VR-Ralph on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:41 am

nationwide again? i don’t see any sabah/sarawak city name, again…
    and again, no love for East Malaysia?
    Sabah/Sarawak kicked out of the “Nation” again?
    1 Malaysia = peninsula only then…

• My guess is; East Malaysia folks are enjoying their import rides better than their peninsular counterparts. 4 wheel drive and a heck a lot of other cheaper import brands (even with AP). Protong sampah are not welcomed at all. Hence, the reason of no event over there.

• Proton-no-buyer on Dec 21, 2010 at 6:55 pm

It’s humiliating toi see the saga-subaru wannabe. I haven’t seen any subaru who rebadged/modded their car to look like a saga….maybe because they are SMARTER….

Dig the following tagline,
    “If you can’t afford a Mitsubishi, buy a Proton :)”

• Faisal on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:07 am

i will always support Proton, hope that Proton will succeed to be a world class car company. must admit that there r still a lot of work to do, so all the best to Proton. work hard, work smart.

one more thing, hope that car taxes will b reduce hehe..

• jtiongwl on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:52 pm

If they dont remove their protective, as what happen now, they will never grow up matured, independent and faced the challenge in the real world, as what happen now.

If no NAP protection on them, I strongly believe that they will collapse…