Welch Motorsport to run Proton Persona in BTCC NGTC

The presence of Proton cars in the motorsports arena continues with the recent announcement that Welch Motorsport will be running a Proton Persona in the Next Generation Touring Car spec series of the 2011 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

Welch Motorsport announced that it would be running a “booted version” of the GEN2 in the NGTC BTCC series – I’m assuming that they mean the Persona as the Persona shares the GEN2 name with the GEN2 hatchback in the UK.

Team Principal John Welch told btcc.net that the team would be taking delivery of the car today and will begin rebuilding it into a BTCC contender. His son 27 year old Daniel Welch will be driving it. As there will be time needed to convert it into NGTC spec, Welch Motorsport hopes they will be able to join the series in the second half of the season sometime in August, going up against other cars like the SEAT Leon Eurocup and the Vauxhall Vectra.

The Welch Motorsport Proton GEN2 will be running the standard NGTC spec “unbranded” turbo direct injection electronic throttle engine, which has 2.0 litres in displacement and makes over 300 horses, with the option for an overboost as well.

This standard unbranded engine offering exists to help reduce team engine budgets by more than half, somewhat like the Cosworth engine option in Formula One. Currently, teams will have the option to either run their own engines or use the NGTC engine up until 2013. Both FWD and RWD are allowed. Not everyone has opted for the unbranded engine – the Dynojet team’s Toyota Avensis uses a Toyota 2.0 litre 3ZR family engine that makes about 140 horses in stock form, equipped with a turbocharger to make over 300 horsepower.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wajarays on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:13 pm

last time WAJA BTCC, now PERSONA BTCC !!! wow =)

• all proton cars are sports cars… wow~!!!

• hexagon on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm

shud be like this, all proton cars can be “bikin” kawkaw one..it just a matter of berani atau tidak je..haha

• Prismo on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:40 pm

kalo tidak berani masakan Proton dah buat berjuta unit… masakan Proton berani jual kat UK…

• RideHandling on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:17 pm

bring back the glory days of proton impian btcc

• 4g63tdsm on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:53 pm

glory days? did it win anything? I don’t recall.

the best BTCC races were in the late 90s….i used to enjoy them tremendously.

• Last time TV3 got delayed telecast. Every Sunday night i think. Sponsored by Volvo. Volvo 850 TT was my dream car then. Mercedes, Audi, Bmw, Opel just eat Volvo’s dust then. Honda Civic bullet can’t even smell the exhaust smoke of the rest, LOL.

Anyway, this is WICKED!!! Looking forward to watch Proton in action.

• rally_fan00 on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:36 am

those cars didnt do well in BTCC, but they did manage several podium finishes.. they also won races in the ATCC

• alan prost on Feb 17, 2011 at 1:15 am

does only win that we can call glory? able to compete in btcc is already a glory for proton as it is a young automotive company compare to others.

• ko malu saje... on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Can’t you just be more optimistic? Instead of aiming for the first at least they have tried, you can’t be a champion everyday. Success comes with failures!.

• mfahd_88 on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:22 pm

proud with proton (not with perodua)
    SYABAS!

• confused on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:27 am

perodua lovers will thumbs you down buddy. :D

anyway, way to go Proton. Keep it up!

• Prismo on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:36 am

this will makes new myvi 1.5 look like jaguh kampung… PERODUA is nothing to be proud of… hahahaha…

• Ermm... on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Proton getting more publicity. Now its time to improve yourself.

• Satria neo can join or not BTCC? Anyway congrats proton

• Another feather on the cap for Proton.

We cannot deny that this is one of the major achievement for Proton. Also, do not regard it as a mere coincident as thousands of model available in the market and yet Welch Motorsport choose Persona. This shows a lot on Persona capability and dependability

Syabas and hopefully it will propel Proton further onto a world stage

• middels8088 on Feb 16, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Proton is going wild into the motorsport world!!! WoW!!

Good luck Welch Motorsport!!! Hope the Persona don’t fail you…

• teamsleepnine on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:03 am

i assume this is full independent effort…as if this factory backed i’m sure they will use the soon to be release proton turbo engine..you never know…proton might later backed this effort as full factory.

for the record

bmw s2000 touring is build by schnitzer racing.

chevrolet s2000 touring by rml.

btw,before haters question the unnamed engine,proton is not the only that will be running on unnamed engine as it is cost cutting measure by the series.

• T4VR-Ralph on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:03 am

poor daniel :-(

• Edmond on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:10 am

Yeah, Proton you have grown up!

No need protection from Government!

Let’s have a fair fight with other brand, shall we?

• i’m truly waiting that day… when the protection can stop?
      we can see how good is proton ady… dont we?

so… let’s stop the protection.. let’s be fair! reduces all taxes on car.
      when more competition.. proton will strive even harder..
      then…. proton can get even better… and get even more recognized worldwide..

• Protection exists all over the world and in Malaysia protection exists in almost all industry – automobile, banking, construction, education, health and you name it.

Nobody complain for example when Maybank make tons of money under the protection, so were Sunway in construction industry, Sime Darby in plantation (kompeni ni ada masalah sikt) etc,etc.

So, why not we concentrate in pressuring Proton to come out with better and world beater models rather than complaining on something that is also make available to anybody and any other industry since the creation of this nation?.

• nazri on Feb 17, 2011 at 1:04 am

yeah proton dah membesar tp p2 still need protection from gov la bro.. think about p2 workers.. kesian if open market..

• your point is totally not convincing..
        all local car maker still depend the G protection at current situation.

• theanswer on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:44 am

why p2 need protection since the company owned by toyota? even p2 factory also produced avanza..i think T barnds will take care of their workers.

• nazri on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:49 am

u know why i said that?? Even 18 years p2 exists they still cant cameout with full model even one.. And think again they currently only cover 3 model only, viva, myvi, alza.. The nautica already dead fighting with its bro T rush.. U believe T will cover them once gov open market… Gud luck all naza, p1, p2, umw, etcm if gov do so..

• VIGOSS on Feb 17, 2011 at 1:43 pm

u say like that coz want only cheap toyota and honda price only.. lolz

• trav_da_man on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:10 am

I would honestly prefer Proton’s involvement in touring cars and rallying than formula 1 as those 2 reflect on its production cars. This should be interesting as the BTCC is one of the world’s most competitive touring car racing. The BTCC fields more manufacturers than the dreaded WTCC.

I would think the Satria Neo is a much better platform for touring car racing but let us see how the Persona performs. Good luck to Welch Motorsports!

• alan prost on Feb 17, 2011 at 1:18 am

most touring car race use a 4 door sedan car rather a coupe or hatchback.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:39 am

seat leon cupra was hatchback….but 4 doors…

so if neo got 4door model maybe they would opted for neo…

• no meaning bcos the engines was replace by UNKNOWN 2.0 engines.. why dont just use proton’s engine? with the engines replace, only the body of proton in the race.. the engines is the heart of the car..

juz my opinion bcos i think it will be more meaningful if they running on proton engines.

• rally_fan00 on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:39 am

its pretty normal in racing today, and it helps reduce costs. it also allows manufacturers who dont have the right engine for a particular race to participate. end of the day, FIA wants to encourage more manufacturers to race in a time when there arent enough manufacturers getting involved.

anyways.. its a private team. they fund themselves, and have to make prudent choices with their money. so going the route of ‘customer’ engines is their best bet. i wish them well.

• proton’s engine is too small… but it seems that most races uses 2.0 engine…
      why not proton try producing one..
      putting the engine to the race world and get internationally recognized along with the car..

then, introduce high end car with the recognzed 2.0 engine.

• chassis play a vital part dude.. very.

• ko malu saje... on Feb 17, 2011 at 7:10 pm

You can still use artificial heart when you have no heart, but where the heart goes when there is no body?

• kickstart on Feb 21, 2011 at 11:08 am

use neo s2000 engine.. 280hp NA. how much will you get if you turbocharged it? 350?400?

• mohdjiman on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:39 am

ah!!thats a great news…can’t wait persona perform in this race

• malaya on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:43 am

Jazz
    i agree with u
    its means almost nothing since its not using campro engine
    how on earth other foreign users to put trust on campro engine while it still not being tested in real testing ground
    seems proton dont have ball to put their homegrown engine yet

ps-i heard campro engine cannot last long if put turbo with it–maybe this could be 1 of major factor

proton simply doesnt have the right formula yet for their campro materials!!!

• Dude,

Proton haven’t got any 2.0 l engine for its line-up. Read the article first before commenting.

• untitled on Feb 17, 2011 at 2:55 am

Chassis means alot to a car, more than just the engine

• DonkeyKong on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:21 am

So the few hundred thousand Proton Gen-2, Waja, Persona, Saga and Exora that are running with the Campro engine for a few years now doesn’t constitute a REAL TESTING GROUND??

Come on, grow up and develop some common sense!!

• Campro engine is outdated and
        no way can withstand the high revving way of driving.
        IAFM ada click -click sound even after running at 160kmh.
        What you expect when during the rally !!
        Pergi pasar okay lah !!!

• carsut on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:05 am

Neo Lotus R3, 7500 RPM all the way.. no prob at all..

and im also currently running using campro, 150-160 km/h no prob at all..

• 160kmh – 190kmh also no prob…I know because i hv done it with my Gen2…

But i dont encourage anyone on any car to drive at that speed…very risky on Malaysian roads.

• sawi cool on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Go tell the same to H : “H-san, your i-VTEC is outdated.”

• Firdaus Abdullah on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:48 am

Nobody can deny that Proton’s Campro is one of the very good engine ever produced, and yeah I agree the actual strong proton cars on the road now proof them all. That is the real testing ground. Congratulation Proton.

• ko malu saje... on Feb 17, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Have you heard of Xenon Turbo?

• farghmee on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:11 am

wey, campro cannot withstand turbo?
      @ what pressure?
      @ many testing hours?

else, this is just another unsupported statement.

• fazron80 on Feb 17, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Well don’t boost it too high. The engine will last. Go and turbo the vtec engine? you think it can survive everyday high revving?

• nolan on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:47 am

joke of the year………

• woah!! on Feb 17, 2011 at 4:34 am

i always dream that persona compete in DTM. Can you image persona super low with DTM bodykit. WOW!!

• Faisal on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:50 am

luv it!

• amirad on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:05 am

Pound for pound, I think the new generation Proton is the cheapest best handling car you can get. Could be the reason why some race tuners are experimenting with proton. Quality ? That’s a different topic. I’ve been using Proton for 15 years and on my third proton.

• BOYRACER on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:01 pm

i totally agree with u.I have driven a few of the most popular cars on the road.In my opinion,Proton started it with the Waja which have good handling n ride.Now most of the Proton have this attributes.Nothing in the market that cost below RM100k can be had with so much fun driving than in a Proton.And i mean brand new cars not Recond or secondhand.And most of all, only Proton have manual versions.

• carsut on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:58 am

Where Produa Myvi, the most hot selling car in Malaysia? Why they not joining the race??

• Prismo on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:49 am

still busy to penetrate Malaysia market just wanna be no.1. That frog don’t wanna leaving the coconut shell..

• insperut on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:06 am

“power is nothing without control”
    these shows how good protons handling are

dear bashers
    take some time to have a test drive
    its ok to wear fake mustache, wig, etc

lol

• elite on Feb 17, 2011 at 11:07 am

its designed by lotus (british company) anyway…
    proton the outsourcing and rebadging company want to claim the credits?…

• linear_system on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:26 pm

your son got good score in SPM,dont u want to get credited bcos of having a smart son??

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:49 am

even tough u sent your son to private tuition teacher….

• 12RAIXA on Feb 21, 2011 at 10:21 am

What’s wrong sourcing from the company that you owned 100%?

• oranggila on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:17 pm

If we talking about “a better car”.
      Do not relate the brand and country originality.
      Proton handling is good because of the proton itself to improve their cars.
      Buyer wont for this kind of thing.
      So, we should thanks to Proton for their initiative.

• Tengokje.. on Feb 17, 2011 at 11:17 am

Interesting news..P1 keep it up and move forward.
    Salam…

• I hope Proton R3/Lotus motorsports division will be helping out to tune the Persona NGTC.

A podium finish will raise awareness of the Proton brand in the UK. Just beat any car on the grid and Persona is a winner!

• PROTON CAMPRO RACING ENGINE! on Feb 17, 2011 at 11:29 am

it’s time to test PROTON CAMRO TURBO RACING ENGINE??

• shiro on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:07 pm

this is nothin bout campro or how proton performs in current market…
    its about how other people (non-malaysian) have recognised Proton as a trustable brand for a racing platform as big as BTCC…. do u see KIA or Hyundai in BTCC?? i dont think soooo….

personally, i never own a Proton, cos so far, the QC is a bit lower than my expectation….but that doesnt stopped me from being proud of proton’s achievement..
    proud doesnt mean i have to buy one, does it???

• dude07 on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Proton starts to build its name and now it becomes one of the most trusted brand in the world…..proud to be a Malaysian!

• Love this kind of news about Proton..cos it makes me wonder what will the basher and p2 supporters have to say..hehe :D

Anyway good news for Proton!!

• SoMeOnE on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm

perodua myvi?..dude are u serious..?..do u know how badly it goes around corners ..?????…im not a basher of p2..the kelisa handled rather well when i had it as a student..but myvi?..the sheer number of owners would give me a thumb down..but u guys know deep inside its just a practical point to point car…nothing more…..

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:52 am

haha…because p2 meebi was sooooo “fun”….u can get understeer and oversteer in the same coner at such low speed….hahaha

(like kenari in topgear test track) :lol:

• SoMeOnE on Feb 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm

oh yeah…concerning the campro..and the rpm debate..well the neo that i have driven has its its power way up the rev band…and i mean way way up….i feel u can only truly enjoy the ‘weird’ power delivery of the campro with a manual..auto is mighty frustrating when i tried it once…..the fun thing about campro is that if one truly knows the shift points and when the power kicks in or does not..it can be truly a menace on the road….i drive a manual neo occasionally thanks to my gf and it truly is a weird(fun) engine….pitfalls of it are..if ur not in the mood and u just wanna get home during normal driving/rush hour etc..it can be a little sluggish….as i said before..if u watch closely.on our roads..neo’s in particular are driven realy slow or really fast…there’s no middle ground sadly…

• ezracopters on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:28 pm

what u have said was 100% true.. it’s a waste of fuel to drive it in the middle.. either drove it turtle drag @ tiger chase .. and yup it’s weird.. to be exact normal campro really kick in on 3.8 rpm.. put on my Entombed cd and Karak & batang Kali here i come haha .. wow perfect!!

by the way don’t know why people said campro was a fuel thirst.. town, rural & highway was – neo 7.0l/100km @ 14.28km/liter and persona 6.8l/100km @ 14.7km/liter .. i think somebody need to learn to sharpen their driving skill.

• jsooz on Feb 20, 2011 at 12:42 am

well..proton doesn;t need power windows fr BTCC rite??lol…

• i think it is time for proton to make a diesel direct injection with turbocharged version of the campro engine..turbodiesel FTW..and it will match the lotus tuned chassis..

• Jalai on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:27 am

komplen ja pandai, kalau dah pandai sangat buat kereta sendiri, buka kilang blakang rumah… Syabas PROTON.. yeeeeeeeeeee ha