My Proton Makeover: 1992 Saga handed back to Fadly!

Fadly Hisham Roplay has been waiting for this afternoon for what seems like the longest month. His 1992 Proton Saga, which came with a heart warming story, was selected as the first car for R3 to work on under the ‘My Proton Makeover’ program. He got back the keys to WCP 3145 this afternoon, reuniting again with what he calls his “second wife”.

It wasn’t just him, but yours truly and some of the other Proton owning media members were also eager to see the reworked car. We crowded in R3’s sweltering workshop inside Proton’s Shah Alam facility as R3 head Tengku Djan and Proton Motorsports boss Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood greeted Fadly and family.

The 33-year old Fadly, who works as a technician with an electronics company, was very nervous and emotional through it all, even shedding some tears of joy when the car was revealed and when his story was played on the screen. The moment arrived, and he was shell shocked, a scene not unlike those in the TV show Overhaulin’.

Gone are the Fiore mods on his old Saga, which Tengku Djan said was in worse condition than what they had thought – a family of cockroaches in the boot were among the surprises in store for the R3 boys when they stripped the car!

The top drifter admitted that the task wasn’t easy, since they had only three weeks (instead of a month) thanks to the Raya break. The sourcing of new parts for the old Saga also wasn’t that straightforward.

But the end result looks great, and I envy lucky Fadly. After being stripped to the bone, some welding work was done to WCP 3145 before a base coat and the nice brown/grey paint (or is it gunmetal?) you see here were added. R3 wanted to maintain the “classic look” of the old Saga and spice it up with contemporary touches – the latter came from the 16-inch R3 wheels and the four round tail lamps.

The red R3 logos on the rims and front grille are joined by a red pinstripe around the body, which Fadly likes a lot. There’s also a rear spoiler and subtle carbon fiber style stickers on the B and C pillars. And if you’re wondering, the “VIP” logos on the fenders and boot stand for “Very Important Proton”.

As for the engine, Fadly’s 1.5L Megavalve was given a full overhaul job. With the clock turned back to 0 km, it now breathes better with a customised filter system and custom exhaust system starting from the extractor to the muffler – it sounds quite loud! The Saga also sits on new suspension tuned by R3, hence the lowered stance.

As for the interior, the old Saga’s 80s building blocks style dashboard makes way for the minimalist style Saga LMST dash. The interior is in black, accented in red, which appears on the air con rings and stitching on the leather seats. A MOMO steering and a new Blaupunkt ICE system are the other additions.

Click here to see the work in progress pics, as well as how Fadly’s Saga looked like before being “overhauled”. Full gallery of the handover ceremony and the reworked car is after the jump – over 50 pics await you!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kevin Lee on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Proton gave that car an identity crisis, a car sporting a Proton Saga front, with Iswara tail lamps and a LMST dashboard!

R3 must be known as Retarded 3, I believe 3 different people made decisions in modifying the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Hadi75 on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:58 pm

They doing for free…congrat to the car owner….

• Jernson on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Tis Fadly house got other car??? 1992 year till now !! should we happy for him or feel sad for him

• Matchy on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:00 pm

They can’t find the components for the old saga anymore… thats why they replace it with components from other cars!

• jaa_dat on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:07 pm

cannot imagine if next car to be makeover is from Tiara or Juara…no more parts to be so called R3…challenge them to do that car in next makeover…

• Aris Tee on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Actually I think it’d be cool if they could take my family’s trusty Juara and juice it up. After all, the Mitsubishi Town Box is still being made in Japan in various variants, so shouldn’t be a problem with parts :D

• alldisc on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:25 pm

tail lamp is from where? brother’s or cosplus??

• ko malu saje... on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Both sell accessories at exorbitant prices, still the 99 shop in Penang the best!

• noname on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:06 pm

why identity crisis? if the front end got fiore face than u can consider it… so proton iswara that originally come with SAGA badge u assume that as identity crisis also? common laa.. saga,iswara,lmst are the same car actually, same chasis..

• simasen on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:11 pm

ini pun mau bash ka? adoiyai..

this is a very good restoration projek, eventho i disagree with the choice of the rear light but knowing how difficult to obtain old saga parts (most of part got is the faclifted saga which is iswara)..

n somehow the colour bring back memories as my father old saga was in that grey colour..

• danny on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Thats what we call an upgrade. when the original parts are no longer available, we opt for the better parts. thats not retarded.

-haters gonna hate-

• squall_shinoda on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm

The original dashboard is no longer produced, that’s why Proton used the kereta kebal dashboard instead. At least they’re doing it for free as a sign of appreciation to Fadly’s patronage.

• sub_zero on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm

your jealous UMW toyota never give a rat about your old corolla/camry?

• Kevin Lee on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:02 pm

sorry dont use toyota here! i owned a proton, but their style is way worst than what lotus used to do for the lotus lada that was on top gear a while ago.

• alldisc on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:29 pm

toyota is not national car project. they can do it in japan. should have ask perodua and naza to do the same…

• blerghh…top gear this … top gear that…..

• zthooters on Sep 18, 2011 at 2:48 am

isnt this the guy on zth who is asking people to donate money to modify his car when people are going hungry on the streets?

• Chris on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:18 pm

I jelly TRD don’t want to restore my KE70 hahahaha….

• Firdaus on Sep 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Haha, funny….

Japan won’t do something like this to their national car!
        Absolutely not, no sirrie….

Why?

Japan will build a newer car, japanese buys. Their old car will ship to a country located between Thailand and Singapore. Haf-cut or recon.

• LatukBandar on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:40 pm

The whole make over is both good and original.

The good part is not original, and the original part is not good.

• critic_A on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:54 pm

u can $uck my hairy balls man!! brainless comment from Kevin stupid lee

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:25 pm

To all BASHER,

Pls stop doing so, it is not worth it. P1 standard is very LOW !!!! Kah kah kah…. no point bashing.

For those who supports P1, you also know your standard is very LOW !!!! So no point bashing the Bashers.

• RadzLee on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm

& here u are, BASHING

• Braniac people do not comment like you..you’re the real “low class” man..

• Hadi75 on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm

How do you know those who support P1 their standard is low…???
        Why….your standard so high ka..???

• Dr Sd on Sep 14, 2011 at 6:19 pm

adakah yang menulis ni lebih kaya dan pintar dari T.S Mokhtar Bukhari? yang mengunakan proton perdana sampai ke hari ini. sila nilai persoalan ini”

• bobdbilder on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Persoalannya bukan pada kepintaran atau kemewahan. Persoalannya pada jiwa dan hati.

• tneckman on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm

My brother is an executive at IBM and he is using Proton Persona, and he said it is cheap and he don’t mind driving one as long as he drive to work. Is that what you call “LOW”? In what terms are you referring to? Only LOW educated people like you who think that.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:01 pm

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/PROTONSagaFLXbarubeli14haribertakungair/Article

Mr. Paul, appreciate if you can publish this……..or

R3 guys, pls fix this poor guy’s car, baru 14 hari dah masuk air……kah kah kah…..or

Director QC & CEO Proton Edar, sila resign gracefully laaa…….malu la sikit, buat kerja main-main…..

• _xXx_ on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:55 pm

If I were Fadly, I would sell the car right away and book a new lagi best 1.5L

• critic_A on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm

if i were frady i would ram the car into ur big mouth!

• _xXx_ on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:04 am

why not? from a junk price of probably RM1500, the can probably fetch RM5k now…

• jackal on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:21 pm

u r talking about “value” right???

But how much the R3 Team cost to restoring a junk like this???
            I think it will cost at lease RM 5,000 exclude workmanship cost… with workmanship cost i think will b around RM10,00…

U sure it worth???

• shanternu on Jul 04, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Guys im shan hear frm jb i nead ur help..i hv the same car as this nw i wan do a total make over so can any 1 help me….

• _xXx_ on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:05 am

no no no, he would thank me for the fantastic idea…

• interior nice and exterior simple and nice but i think before and after not so much change just the color,grill and the front skirt actually can find them in some accessories shops…i believe Proton can do better i mean they can add some stickers or something but afraid of those JPJ to block that owner!anyway good job Proton :)

• fooled on Sep 14, 2011 at 8:11 pm

the number plate is not in accordance with JPJ’s spec, is it?

• kimi fans on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:41 pm

after all….not excited for us. Look like proton staffs just syok themselves

• Fred.Lam on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Can’t you see the happiness in his face. They did it for free and they made it look better. Identity crisis or not it’s the pleasure that counts. If this cramps your butthole that hard, forget about it.

• i like it.. maintain its original look and keep it simple.. nicely done..

• alldisc on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:31 pm

well the owner was actually pissed off. he already spent a lot to convert his saga to MMC look…. and what he got back – AN ORIGINAL SAGA!

• zhongbie on Sep 14, 2011 at 8:46 pm

lol

• TallPan on Sep 15, 2011 at 1:44 am

yeah i think it could be tears of anger/despair that Fadly’s shedding… maybe his expectations were too high lol…

• Stylistic on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:15 pm

i’m VERY SURE that fadly was dreaming & hoping it to look closer to the Lancer/ Inspira… but holy cow; its looks just like any old Saga!

yes, for sure those were tears of frustration……

• Car Driver on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:00 pm

A very mild copy of the “PIMP MY RIDE” style. The ineterior look refreshing but the exterior looks ordinary to me.

• critic_A on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:55 pm

not even close to PIMP MY RIDE as they dont hav a African Malaysian rapper as host and no blink blink plus 10 LCD screen in the car~

• bobdbilder on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:06 pm

This in spirit is more like Trick My Truck. Mods for the common blue collar hard working people who just want to make ends meet. If you want celebs this is not it. Move on get your flash somewhere else, try Volkswagen. We don’t need them. We got mouths to feed and every bit helps.

• noname on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:08 pm

congrats to the owner… the car looks refreshed

• kiawau on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:09 pm

dah nama pun makeover, takkan la nak ikut settings proton 1992 jugak. well, good job done by r3.

• lestat on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:10 pm

I’d call it Saga R3 VIP. Any kit available? :p
    Good job, classic look n not over the top. It’s not pimp my ride episode. May be this is starting to be a trend.

• chipfoosekindaguy on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:11 pm

hmmm frankly i m a bit disappointing, when you see the car you get this”is that all feeling” i honestly thought the R3 were better then this sigh.i applied for my own car but now i m just a little skeptical.

• MoFaz on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:56 pm

If you’re paying, you can get whatever style you want.
      but if you get if for free and it’s nicely done.. would you still be complaining?

• critic_A on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:57 pm

why dont u take ur own money and mod it for other ppl~ but i;m very disappointed wit u as ur bank aint gat no money~ LOSER

• Vyseus on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:43 pm

You have to remember our beloved JPJ rules and regulations. To much of modify, you will be asking for trouble from them.

Anyway, congrats to him. With this restoration, I repeat ” restoration “, the car is more refine and safe for his family to travel in. Hope they can do the same to my dads Saga.

• pundek on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:27 pm

safer to travel in? Are you kidding ? Are there any airbags? They did not even bother to install disc brakes. Unless those beng lights will promote better visibility. then yes, safer. my ass.

• ChunDai on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:03 pm

yalo, don’t said airbag… even ABS also dun have… GG… Seatbelt no pre-tensioner.. later collision you can see a HUMAN PROJECTILE SUI!

• Gone by Gone on Dec 31, 2011 at 3:17 am

please remind… today car isn’t better than old one…. Abs ok Disk brake ok…. but collision and burn??? I see todays car always got fire when xcident… so is this call safer?? Burn to the ash………………. haha…. like or not…. the old one more confident than new one…

• Nice job!

• kurma.madu on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:14 pm

pehhhh “vintage” Saga with R3 16 inches ? pure clash of the era. superb work guys :)

• Kevin on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm

hopefully the owner wont put the car up for sale too soon for quick bucks after all the free advertisement..

• Kumar san on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Overall a nice job done by the R3 boys,Fadly is one lucky dude to have had his ride totally reworked.I must say it’s pretty striking this Saga,very minimalist and simple upgrades done.Fadly must be seventh heaven by now considering how attached he is to his Saga.Enjoy your ride Fadly!

This model Saga is the best made by Proton in my opinion,very reliable and decent to drive,my uncle still keeps his Saga 1.5i Megavalve purchased in 1992 in mint condition and has refused to sell it till this day.It has stood the test of time,they don’t make cars like they used to.What a great car to say the least.

Cheers.

• i so jeles lah haha serius simple betul tp menarik perhatian engine tu sure dah tune tgk extractorpun dah lawo haha adoi yang minat extreme tu lain lah pimp my ride overhaulin tu stesen berbayar sape nak sponsor nih restoration kan so free fadly memang bertuah lah arghhhh r3 rims, tu jeles aku haha

• jackal on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:47 pm

“reliable” in term of this car still running right???
      u can found that there is still a lot of 70’s & 80’s toyota is still running in Malaysia.
      ur uncle refuse to sell it off is because of this is a good car or this car just worth a penny???
      How many KM can this car goes with a liter of RON 95???
      With the fuel cost by this car consume, i think Fadly can actually own a new Viva. (low consumption, safer with air bag)

• mrs.jackal on Sep 17, 2011 at 4:55 pm

if it’s time for u to die, u’ll die regardless if there’re 6 airbags inside the car…

• Kumar san on Sep 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Jackal,

Allow me to answer your “pertinent” questions with regard to my uncle’s 1992 Proton Saga 1.5i manual Megavalve.

1) Reliable in the sense it has NEVER broken down once in all the years of his ownership.It has given him trouble free motoring,parts are cheap,it’s cheap to run and also to maintain.For the record,he still sends his Saga to Proton for servicing till this day at every 5000km intervals.You don’t find owners like this and even the folks at Proton were impressed by his loyalty.

2) My uncle has refused to sell it off because it is indeed a very good car and also because it was the first car he bought in cash after his business picked up rapidly,and has been doing very well ever since.In essence,it’s also of sentimental value to him.

3) How many km per tank currently on RON97? He has never used RON95,last he checked with sedate driving it got almost 700km per tank of RON97 fuel.Frankly,he does not bother.

He’s a very wealthy businessman and he owns 25 cars last i checked,including Ferarri,Lamborghini,Porsche and etc..yet,he will still drive his Saga at least twice a week and he loves it,it’s still is in spotless mint condtion.That’s not forgetting your roots if you ask me.

Does the information above answer your questions about my uncle’s Saga Mr.Jackal?

Cheers.

• erkk i prefer if they use new black proton logo instead of the old one.. its more fierce.. anyway, nice work although 3weeks is not enough.. should given them 2month instead..

• i envy u mr fadly…congrats on your restoration…if it was me, ill buy a new car and keep this ‘new’ car for weekend drive…super cool!!

• eims @ gold on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:22 pm

actually i’m expecting some LCDs fitted. huhuh..
    or.. suicide doors maybe.. huhu :p

imo. the car looks refreshed.
    but nothing much special except i realy love those rims.

well..this is 1st car.. :) i’m expecting more from pimp my proton for the next car..

• squall_shinoda on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:56 pm

No lah… even though those that you’ve mentioned can be installed, they didn’t install those parts to Fadly’s car as he uses his Saga as a basic transportation for his family, not for racing or becoming an Ah Beng-wannabe…

• Proton Vintage…

• Anak Malaysia on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:25 pm

lucky Fadly…..

• edy halim on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:26 pm

oh.my.god
    i want to find my saga back
    serius !

• Saga R3 Biru on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Proton R3 ada letak turbo timer tak kat kereta Cik Fadly nih? Kalau tak letak memang tak lengkap mod nih…

• Ravin on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Nicely done, really impressive their work well done!

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Is him allow to mod the Saga? If yes then he’ll probably remove the Proton logo and change to another front grill.

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Since he’s married with children, he may sell off this car and get a safer car next… for the family…

• ah zam on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm

why should he? ..i don’t think he have any more loan to serve with this car & i believed with the upgrading/tuning of the suspension ..unless he drive recklessly, he & his family should be ok

• LatukBandar on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:04 pm

others might drive recklessly and bang him…. say a crazy person with a mercedes S-class. So, a safe car with 6 air bags might save his family’s life.

• MoFaz on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:45 pm

are you really sure? Princess Diana died in Mercedes S-Class!

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:09 am

she was not wearing speed belt and the car crashed in excess of 200kph. what do you expect? nothing survive such speed…

• Unforgiven on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:16 am

Perodua got 4 stars, Lancer got 5 stars, Proton latest all unknown.

Are you one of them who’s driving the unknown? Obviously I’m not.

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:02 am

what do you mean unknown? ignorance is a bliss but as your nick suggest, it’s unforgiven when you claim it as unknown while the facts are widely available in internet!!!
            Saga is 3 stars in Australian ANCAP, and Exora is 4 stars according to IDIADA of spain. ANCAP mentioned that the passenger compartment held its shape reasonably well. and after witnessing my father’s Saga BLM in crash, i’m more confident of Proton’s future products.

• SP_Persona on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:15 am

yeah. ur rite… last week my dear friend died because the impact from the airbag… please wear ur seat belt!!!

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:27 pm

The confidence level is not there even with the upgrading suspension/tuning.

I still believe in driving a safer car especially if we need to bring the children around.

In fact, a child car seat or booster seat is a must from me too.

• dirtyoldmen on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:43 pm

“In fact, a child car seat or booster seat is a must from me too.”

Ha ha.Are you the size of a dwarf, midget or perhaps a garden gnome? Either way, it matches your small mind.

• fazron80 on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:34 pm

R3 should have given that car better set of tyres.

• neat…well done..not too much…not too plain

bear in mind…he got it for free and this is the only saga officially (that i know lah) tuned by R3..lucky dude with lucky car…

even r3 neo dont have this exclusivity aite?

btw…any figures on the performance figures rather than styling mods?

• matkota on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Love the works..a new fresh look towards 1992 car..

• vincent on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm

The car in and out still look cheap… :)

• alldisc on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:36 pm

but one thing for sure – he saga is the only 1 in the world prepared by R3.

• what a lucky fellow.. i really envy him..

• rarebetol on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:37 pm

change interior to LMST??? hard plastic for the soft 90s interior…R3 is really bollocks…could have just rewrap the door cards into nicer R3 fabric..the engine still maintained its carb where R3 didn’t even source for the injection intake…wonder what performance it gain..more like body makeover…wonder what happen to the lancer fiore parts…worth money eh…

• critic_A on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:03 pm

wuaaaa, why dont u b R3 boss and tell the R3 boys wat to do~~ i think the car ur driving now wit ur lame crap engine cannot even smoke this saga R3 man~

• VW is comin' on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Dear JPJ, is the number plate font and the modifications legal on the road? Proton Sagaaa, kejayaan Malaysia!

• Cowabunga! on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Proton doing a big favor to illegalize his car…bravo R3…

• I’m using the same type of number plate fonts.. Kena saman woi!

• Don’t just bashing..public just look for final result..but public don’t see their progress and also cost to rebuild this machine..beside, this is their first time make over.. Well done proton for the first makeover..more makeover after this with more impressive result..

• interior color scheme , especially the reds… is out.. Nowonder proton couldn’t come out with a decent design all the years..

• Hukaka on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:49 pm

good proton did well this time.

• I wonder how must cost involved in the process? Can any body tell me…..?

• michael on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:50 pm

but… is it safe?

• i love the saga r3 look, good job to r3 keep it up!

• So they are going to pimp the ride of another 1500000 other old sagas on the road?

• Ayecaramba! on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Horsepower? 145? At least an effort but not my cup of tea. Haha. Why judge them when you didn’t see what happen during the rebuild? :)

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:00 pm

what ever la apa pun ramai yg komen, rugi la, apa la, kedai abang la. mcm ntah apa la, yg penting, for 1992 nye kondisi yg semua sedia maklum dgn karat la, chassis koyak la, bushes yg ngalir minyak la, dgn lipas la, semut la, kutu katan, la, leaking sana sini, leaking bumbung la, leaking bonet la, air nitis kat pintu laa… tp skrg semua serba baru!, tengok pintu.. elok je sekata, dah tentu telinga dan door hinges dh tukar baru, elok je takde renggang, kalau guna timbang air, elok je butiran nye d tengah2.. biasala.. sbb tak dpt, kalau dapat? dh tentu diam2 duk leh mandu dgn selamat atleast 5tahun atau 100ribu-200ribu km lagi… dh tentu aircond pun sejuk, takde gegar, bunyi nyot-nyet sana sini, keridik la, bunyi belalang la, bunyi mentadak laaa.. kan kan kan.. pasal brg2 fiore tu dapat balik laaa. dh tentu samada leh jual balik brg 1-2k cun cun ada poket berisi..pastu tengok bonet pun elok je sekata tutup.. uiiihh den jeles ni

• apeng on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:23 pm

apabila manusia ada perasaan iri hati mmg mcm2 akan di timbulkan…x pernah berpuas hati & bersyukur…tp yg pasti fadzly tntu org pling gmbira & brsyukur krna krna lama brtukar baru tnpa sbrang bayaran….

• Honestly, his old Car with a new Coat of paint would have looked better. It makes me worried that as the Car Manufacturer and being in the Home Country, they have difficulity to source for parts.

Mind you, the Iswara was only officially discountined after the current Saga (code name BLM) was launched a few years ago. Mind you, the Contis, Japs do continue support spare parts for many years even after the model has been discountined.

• By the way, Proton could not even give him a maintanence free battery??

• good job djan ley…i am sure the gesture by proton is well appreciated.

but somehow i thought fadly and family be better served by proton following the safety/family route rather than faster/racer route that was chosen.

still, thnks to proton

• critic_A on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:07 pm

proton R3!! JOB WELL DONE!!! cant wait to see the next make over!

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:12 am

the next one would be – a proton tiara.

R3 boys will scratching their heads as tiara using 3 lug wheels. they will leave the standard 13″ wheels as it is then…

• Am happy for Fadly. But with all these enhancements, any issue with jpj/puspakom? according to the technical bulletin from jpj, modifications of certain parts need prior approval from jpj. Will puspakom make an issue when the car is to be sold in the future?

• looks like not much of mod’s requiring jpj approval? anything that u see require jpj approval?

the plate number tak lepas puspakom…hahahahha

• this is a sad sad case of proton trying to be a genius and how it failed miserably .. the car still looks as bad as it did when it first went in.
    a crappy car will always be a crappy car. its not classic, just plain crappy …

• RadzLee on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:36 pm

whats wrong with you? atleast that guy doesnt hv to buy a new car to replace his aging ride. its good enough for some1 to do things for u for FREE. i would be very greatful if im in Fadly’s shoe…

• Doctor treating midlife crisis on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Congratulations Fadly !! A nice car you have.

A note to all INSPIRA turn LANCER mid-life crisis sufferer: If you wanna do a rework on your car, do it like what Proton is doing for Fadly. Do not just tukar logo Proton jadi Mitsubishi. 10 years later if you send back to Proton for a rework, they will kick your fat ass out of the factory. More research on midlife crisis for you:

http://www.topspeed.com/cars/car-news/top-five-mid-life-crisis-cars-ar93548.html

Congratulations again Fadly

• ford_ton on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Did you bought Mits Lancer? I almost did when it was launched in 2007 but I chose FD instead as I had heard the fuss about Proton rebadging the model.And I’m glad I did as I don’t have to grumble here and there like what you are doing now. Just face it; Inspira owners are the one with the upper hand here. They are buying an improved version of Lancer at a considerably lesser price and I see it as a good bargain.

• mizzuddin on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:45 am

really an improved Lancer..? can u share more with me? proton do retune the handling..

• Expatriate VN on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:16 pm

“A note to all INSPIRA turn LANCER mid-life crisis sufferer” – this low quality fake doctor still diagnosed wrongly on the mid-life crisis sufferer – it is the P1 (i.e. read here as TDM or DSZ) who might make a mid-life crisis decision by turn LANCER into INSPIRA.

Perhaps this dumbass Doctor bought a Lancer and get jealous with those who got it cheaper Inspira and revert back to Lancer. At least less farting now with less CH4 pollution!

• alistair lim li wei on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Proton pls do a makeover on Wira!

• En Ali on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Nyape to install gps/reverse camera?

• alldisc on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:15 pm

R3 tak buat reverse camera. tiada spirit race rally research pada camera.

• I hope i can get the list what mods/ parts already done to this car. It gives hopes to my dads old saga.

Really loves this simple smart car. Better show this to my father.

• Mic Tee on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Would love to see the body painted in R3 red like the R3 Neo with some small parts with matt black, it would definitely make the car look much more special…

Agree that it would be much cool if the ori dashboard and door panels can be restore by re wrap with leather, suede or even PU with red thread…replace or modify the ori speedometer with optitron type…

A lower back skirting will be nice to complement the low front and side skirtings..

Just my two cents bt non the less happy for the proud owner!

• loveit on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:37 pm

I wonder how’s the resale value for the car? I bet it increase significantly to the point this guy can sell for other better brand…

• I think they should increase the safety feature and comfort for his car. That will be more meaningful to him imo

• tattoo sleeves shop on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:51 pm

the retarded one is actually this kevin lee guy. tq.

• farid on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm

perooduaaa…plez mod my kancciiilll….

• My father bought the this car 21 years ago…
    until now still no break down…
    Kudos to proton

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Correction: Kudos to Mitsubishi……

• MoFaz on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:43 pm

yes first gen Saga design and tech was from Mitsu but Proton produced it with local workforce in Shah Alam.
        give credit when it’s due.. people like you and mat sabu will never satisfied, always discredit people from a job well done.

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:10 pm

21 years ago? Kudos to Proton or Mitsubishi?

• makeitmine on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Kudos to the owner for taking great care of his car!

• wat lah on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:01 pm

They should make the Pimp My ride but I dont see any alter hardware. It would cool if have a giant TV plasma at the back, upgrade skid, velocity bumper, slick aerodynamic but haizz is just the same junk what a douche bag Proton mechanics . Oh come on I am sure they can make better than old fashion looks…

• Pimp My ride are for ahbengs. They only change the exterior. Handling and Performance? They don’t do shit. But R3 is more like Overhauling, performance. that’s what we all want. Dunno the show? You missing a lot son.

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

It’s so uncool to drive a Proton Saga….

• wazzup on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Still the same old junk

• the alloy rims are more expensive than the car :-D

• pelaut on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:18 pm

The dashboard doesn’t look 80’s. It should more look a like ‘knight rider’. No curve and have a lot of symetrical feat

• beatnik on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Stripped to the chassis. Good job. Not many spray painters are willing to do this.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:33 pm

er..im disappointed. i was expecting something more like what top gear did to some guy’s lada

• awg1031 on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:38 pm

arghh..those rims!! i want it!

• beemer on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:39 pm

i believe there must good reason for r3 to maintain the classic look of saga (eventhough i personally dislike they use iswara tail light)..for those P1 basher, u need to know that this guy very much love his saga and has a lot of memories with it..by turning it into like “pimp my ride” car, it will eliminate those memories…i think r3 took into consideration fazly’s financial to maintain this car..i envy him coz this makeover car is as good as new!

apa2pun, no plate tu sure kena saman!

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:05 am

that tail light is not genuine proton parts at all. find it at brother’s…

• Unforgiven on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:58 am

IF it’s true then it’s so funny!

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:36 pm

has proton ever produces a saga or iswara sedan with chrome bezel and round lamps? only the aeroback version has it…

• just like i expected..they will use door trim and dashboard lmst… so sad they only make over for exterior and interior only..no added any safety future like ABS, airbag… look, even rear brake still using drum
    http://image1.paultan.org/image/P1040230b-70×70.jpg
    http://image3.paultan.org/image/285799_260684513955041_155519071138253_875508_885552795_o-100×100.jpg

• critic_A on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:03 pm

wat r u trying to prove here?? y dont u b the boss and tell R3 wat to do then~ ==”

• kerelbort on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:45 pm

haha.. why not u ask Proton to give this fella defensive driving lesson.

to me, what u asking is like restoring austin mini and putting in Air-bag.

• rally_fan on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:24 pm

i wonder if anyone can fit a modern computer controlled and customised ABS system into a car that never had ABS in 3 weeks and ensures that it works in all weather and surface conditions..

then again, if you’re doing a restoration on a 20 or 30 yr car and want to retain the classic qualities of the car, will you install ABS, or power windows? Satnav, or….etc. etc.

• 000pppsss on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Please don’t forget about puspakom and jpj…if U want to do all those modification, need to get approval etc..

• AnCua on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:59 pm

itu nombor plate JPJ approve kah ?

• lengkuas on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:59 pm

berapa harga nak jual saga tu… kalau nak jual I nak beli…

• love this one..
    http://paultan.org/2011/09/14/my-proton-makeover-1992-saga-handed-back-to-fadly/p1040247b/
    http://paultan.org/2011/09/14/my-proton-makeover-1992-saga-handed-back-to-fadly/p1040249b/

• Tomyam on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:04 pm

PROTON>>>plez mod my SAGA AEROBACK..1991 (A)

• kerelbort on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm

good sensible work by Proton. Luckily no high tech edging work done… no use put up those bling2 later cannot drive at all..

i juz wonder with the low suspension like that.. fully loaded(family lah katakan) still can tahan? later this fella hav to go brothers to install crappy stuff and failed the whole thing

• Oh that gorgeous classic air filter! I guess putting a more modern one that sucks colder air would do better for the engine- more horses and less CO2.

• putra_rider on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:29 pm

i expected more than this..

no blink2..maybe they improve the engine more..

tahniah!

• Ordinary Joe on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Some guys don’t get it… put it into context la… u expect a saga make over for it to come out and be as good as a merc or ferrari ar? As far as saga restorations are concerned, this one is lovely… superb job by r3!! I ain’t no proton fanboy, my last proton was in 1999 (an iswara), but at least i can objectively look at such projects. Yeah, haters will hate..

• zenden on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:35 pm

zenden extractor?

• myafedz on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:40 pm

With clock turn back to 0 , is Fadly going to get a new service booklet?I’m wondering who is going to endorse the new colour to JPJ…..

• Proton should just spend more time improving their QC than doing such “projects” ie. why just please one customer and neglect other new customers?

• Nicely done. Great job except for the non-approve registration plates. But anything from proton will be pre-approved by JPJ. Getting my plates changed. :p

• ko malu saje... on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Yeah, they should replace the engine of their next car, preferably the one more than their 25% limits HELL YEH!

• mirror mirror on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:51 pm

I like the picture of Fadly covering his mouth, must be very emotional, like that pimp my ride show. Anyway my favourite version of the Saga from that era was the Proton Knight, the K&N-like stripe are really nice by the standard at that time.

• pimpmyride on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:52 pm

folks, pls pimp my car after this! i got an old satria!

• the two kids don’t look too happy in the car :-(

• 20vision20 on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:59 pm

The overhaulin’ looks great but I guess Proton did not allocate much budget for the R3 folks. It would be better if they replace the engine with campro IAFM (CPS will be too much) instead of reworking the Megavalve. Maybe install a new gearbox is a good point. Brakes also should be upgraded (along with the lines). Perhaps incorporating new ECU should have been considered and lastly, it wont hurt to have a daylight running LED for the saga. But still, an impressive job by R3 people. Kudos!

• maserati on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Still a yucky piece of junk. In fact, it was better b4 the makeover. Now it looks cheap with silly saga plastics all over. And proton, can you make ur cars with better quality first b4 making over a car? Even the saga flx so many problems. Ptui, good handling but front passenger seat can collect water.

Such a lousy car, myvi 1.5 anytime over a lousy saga . And proton, pls scrap the r3 division. Even a ahbeng shop could hv done that makeover. R3 is rubbish, retarded & redundant.

• 20vision20 on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:06 pm

If money overcome memories, we should expect this car to be on ebay or lelong or mudah in just a few months…unless Proton made him signed a no sell agreement..

• Just me on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:07 pm

I hope the installation of parts are rock solid and let’s see how long it will last before you can hear rattling sound like proton taxis. You know what i mean if you have experienced taking proton taxis in malaysia. You can hear loosing/rattling parts from all over the place. Bonet especially vibrating violently during idling. Remake the car to its original shape is one thing, making it a good quality/long lasting is completely another thing. Proton is no good at that.

• highly appreciate!!!

Proton, good one!!!

i knew the feeling of Mr Fadly, i own myself a year 1991’s car, and i never think of changing it or giving it to anyone else, because for me, she’s my wife, even more important than the real wife~

Proton, GAMBATEH!!!

• Stylistic on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:38 pm

if a 1991 proton is better than your real wife, i’m very sorry for your wife who helped raise your children & washed/ironed your clothes & cooked all your meals since 1991… you should be ashamed of saying that……!

Tell me honestly, when you drive on the road, can you SEE any other cars around?? Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi, Kia, Ford……. anything…..!?!?

• LauBeh on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Fadly: WTF…it’s still look like my old saga….Crap….Where is the Pimp My Ride looks???….
    Now my dashboard compartment is gone too….Really s**t, mummy…(T_T)
    R3 = Rubbish rubbish rubbishhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Annoynimal on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Sweet. I like the retro-classic look… some parts are a bit on the dramatic side. But very nicely built… I believe, the next MPM ‘overhaulin’ car would be even better…

• ADiE Al-FaRuQi on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Thumbs up proton… don`t care what people say about what have been done to Fadly`s car, for me it is a very excellent job,its an idea for others to mod their saga…. Better to have Saga from old mix with new Saga`s part, instead of using inspira with lancer logo, gen2 with lancer front look… that was totally pathetic…

• 000pppsss on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Nice restoration with slight improvement.. Not overly done unlike those ahbeng car.. Wish i can do the same to my old n rustint AE86…

• in “pimp my ride”, there are times when instead of pimping the old junk, they’d just buy a new car and pimp the new baby til kingdom’s come

i believe that’s what R3 should have done. i know it was pure sympathy and perhaps publicity, but i guess it was a sheer waste of talent, time and resources. they should perhaps focused on doing better R&D for proton cars and think of better ways to reduce costs and not rely on AFTA anymore – although thats not the job of R3 but hell i just gotta say it.

and like some people commented up there, the old white one looked better

• r3rocks on Sep 14, 2011 at 6:01 pm

i like the exterior work and the wheels are cool. but speaking from experience the LMST dashboard and center console with the power window switches, are quite flimsy and cheap to the touch. and the no room for a future expansion of a nice ICE system. but i guess for the particular model thats the best they could do maybe.

• ben yap on Sep 14, 2011 at 6:03 pm

i was hoping that Proton put in a 1.5 injection engine at the very least and upgraded the rear brakes to disc.

also put some carbon fibre bodykit and custom made lights for front and rear.

make it the real pimp my ride malaysian edition mah.

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:59 am

and this is what R3 speaks about – performance based on race, rally and research right?

they should focus less on cosmetics. pathetic.

• Ah Kam on Sep 14, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Danny, rear door powered window? no photo or details from the article. Really curious…. the engine is a magna 1.5 or a 1.3?

• I sure hope he’d check all power windows are working properly before driving home.

• Ah Kam on Sep 14, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Why no ABS and Air-bag fitted. the boot is bare, at least frabicate some linings to keep it neat. With backing from a car manufacturer with all the R&D department and all the resources avaialbe is this a Half S job.

• michaelooi on Sep 14, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Everything looks fine. Except the interior. My god that’s one sad looking interior. The old interior looks way better.

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:52 pm

I like this interior better. Same like my current iswara. Simple & unpretentious, easy to clean also. Congrat Fadly.

• Congrats!!
    Proton should have fitted at least the driver side airbag as this would show that proton cares for it’s drivers and the passengers. since he has kids, proton should also give him booster seat for the kids also to show how much proton cares for the safety for it’s customers and future potential proton buyers.

Although this is pimp my ride proton, they should limit the sense of trying to outsport the car but to enhance the safety even more as he does have a family and his saga will carry on doing his duties and protecting his family.

• rally_fan on Sep 14, 2011 at 8:33 pm

to those who keep talking about airbags and abs.. do you guys even know what it takes to fit those items to a car? car manufacturers on avg take at least a year of design and testing before an airbag or abs can be fitted to a car and sold to the public.. there are a million variables to calculate.. airbag deployment rates… even the seatbelts will need pretensioners.. sensors need to be mounted etc and i think im not even beginning to scratch the surface here.. let alone start on ABS… these things take a long time and millions to develop just for one car. THEY ARE NOT BOLT ON ITEMS!

the point is.. its a makeover of what we could probably call a ‘classic proton’. a makeover.. its not a “redesign and reinvent the wheel” exercise. except it for what it really is.

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:56 am

correction : except should be spelled accept.

jgn marah aa pomen gtr…

• biMMer on Sep 14, 2011 at 8:03 pm

hahahaha poor guy had a nice glovebox when he brought the car in and now thanks to the ‘WONDERFUL R3’ design, he will have to store everything in the open compartment.. like the stupid Gen-2. I’m NOT a proton basher.. I had an old saga before and loved it! It’s just that this project is rubbish and a joke! Just another cheap publicity stunt by Proton!

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:08 am

cheap publicity is good. or do you think they should make expensive publicity?

• Lim Kopi on Sep 14, 2011 at 8:08 pm

WOW …. ITS …. STILL A ….. proton saga.

• DAM u P1…u will alwys be no one in my heart..make me feel proud to own proton saga.

• Hey guys, can i know the overall cost for this project??
    I am really interested with it!!

• fullBurst T2 on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm

cool meh!! well done by proton r3..
    btw, the extractor manifold looks familiar…. thanks to proton because give us the opportunity to involve in this project though what we provide just extractor manifold…

• Gobert on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:34 pm

TERBAIK…..SAYA SUKA….SAYA SUKA

• intercooler on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:55 pm

is it with power window now? i don’t see the manual/auto controller. anyone tried opening the window?

• bodykit also they seem donno how to put ~
    give him a front 1 piece of bumber with bdkit , dun stick a lip in ppl car front ….o god ~

• puvan on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:41 pm

makeover proton its a great job…..

• Is this new Saga for sale ? How much is the fella going to sell for ? Any buyers out there ?? Give me price ….

• I am a tad disappointed with the results from R3.

Having watch Foose/Overhaulin, I expected the R3 division to have deliver much better results than this. It was suppose to be a publicity stunt for R3. They should have delivered things into the car that are beyond what the ordinary workshop could have done.

Instead we have Tengku Djan say they have problem sourcing parts. This is shocking to come from a representative of Proton. Proton telling you they don’t have parts ? What happened to the big R&D division? All the rapid prototyping machine broke down ?

The idea for the project is good but maybe I just have a higher expectation on what R3 could have delivered. To the layman he might be happy that his proton can work for another 20 years. I’m glad he’s happy.

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:10 am

do you even know what is rapid prototyping machine for?

• vtecroar on Sep 15, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Me too, quite dissapointed. may be due to high expectation. Not to modifiied like ah beng, but a little bit special, alcatraz or double din touch screen, campro cps.

what ever it is. thank you proton for such appreciation. congrat fadli.

• HHhhhmmm the thing about shows like Rides or overhaulin is that the final roll really makes u gasp. The subtlety of Mr.Foose’s work shows that something has changed but u most always cant put a finger on exactly what. Remember the Eleanor Mustang or the Camaro from ep.5?
    This however is a monstrosity. It seems like a botch job from the various accessory shops out there. No class whatsoever.
    Think about it guys, your ride is taken away and then returned to with a garish bumper lower spoiler, ugly boot spoiler, unnecessarily large wheels and new dashboard that is worst than your old one. Ive had both the 1st gen Saga and kebal version and i tell you the earlier one has wayyyyy better quality. Plus the new dashboard doesnt even have a glovebox. Now wheres that sledge hammer Mr. Clarkson used on the Kelisa?

• Why do expect it to be like rides/overhaulin at the first place? this is restoration project, no need to upgrade the car to be fancy like those show. You are watching too much tv, how about try some reading.

• The number plate font legal?

• classic rare mods on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:28 pm

okey la…cantik woo! ah beng modification is suck.

kat tmpt aku di kuching srwk ada saga blm wide bodykit dgn emblem audi!!
    malu nyer aku kalau jadi owner saga tu!!!lepas tu ternampak pula saga blm impreza..amacam?hodoh?cantik?macho ke saga jadi mcm tu?

r3 kan ade! ceh..promote ler pula…ataupun Sleeper Looks Modification..kata omputih laa..hehe…simple & mantap….

• kah kah clacis rare tau sik pa.. actualy sape kai proton pastu taruk sticker TRD << masalah gender nih lagi rare myvi pakai r3 sticker hahaha but for all i love this restoration TD plss mod my saga blm lak huhuhuh adoiiii

• RedBeanBun on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Fadly: please give me back my old saga design….the internal design looks older than the car…

I cant believe the come out this kind of steerling + geart stick, plus those dash board?

it explain after all this years, the design still sucks.

• Simon Sez on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:12 am

I kinda like the result. Not too fancy and still maintain the 80s look. The dashboard is not my to liking but overall, Good restoration. Congrats to Fadly.

• treblecase on Sep 15, 2011 at 1:44 am

Oh well, at least the family of cockroaches are gone now.

• aku aminu on Sep 15, 2011 at 3:40 am

saga terbaik….saga reloaded!!!~

• One thing for sure, the fuel economy will suffer badly based on the mods ie extractor, larger wheels (with no power steering?) For a typical daily driven car, that is an important factor.

• zainal abidin on Sep 19, 2011 at 8:28 am

No power steering? Look closely on the left hand side of the engine compartment bro….

Anyway R3 did an excellent job, and I am very sure the R3 PIC has informed the owner beforehand what they are actually going to do to the car… FOR FREE !!!

• samsam on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm

DISAPPOINTED, congrats to fadly and family. look like “r3 fella” and “some fella” dont understand much about saga / iswara / fiore owners… and i think the biggest problem that make fadly crying is the full lmst dashboard and meter.

r3 – i dont see any different u guys with others garage / shop, beside the R3 items

and the title My Proton Makeover should change to Overhaul My Proton.

• pundek on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:24 pm

so much hoohaa but the end product is like crap. especially the dashboard and the rear lights.

• iphone4 on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:52 pm

what next after 92 saga? juara ? tiara?

tahniah to the owner. then kalo nk jual letak dalam mudah ye. tq mudah.

• Nizam80 on Sep 15, 2011 at 1:08 pm

I really like those gunmetal R3 rims! If I am Fadly, I would only drive this car on weekends. This is a true SPECIAL one of a kind limited edition Saga Megavalve from R3. You WON’T be able to buy this on retail. Very lucky, indeed.

• yongtj on Sep 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm

there is powersteering in this car,,,open ur eyes and look properly

• matkota on Sep 15, 2011 at 3:47 pm

The engine is still carb or injection?..seems like injection..

• Good effort by R3 & Proton. But those huge R3 16″ wheels gonna increase FC and make the car sluggish due to the stock 4G15 carburetor engine. They should have at least converted it into EFI and change the head to 4G91 twincam, that would have been more interesting.

Also, Zenden header/extractor?? I mean, seriously R3 should have came up with their own product on this car. Those tail light looks like you can buy them from Brothers, R3 should have retained the stock tail lamp instead and maybe smoked it a little.

Just my 2cents

• cars4life on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:15 pm

seriously, R3, seriously?
    have no idea how much they paid that guy for a reaction like that.
    and they think the dashboard is cool like that? when they are too kiamsiap to do anything for the dashboard, THEY CALL IT THE MINIMALIST DESIGN.
    REALLY, P1, REALLY?

• gallant on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:37 pm

i always have a soft spot for proton, eventhough ive never really owned one. eversince i saw my first proton ad on tv when i was 7 years old of a couple of sagas driving across the penang bridge (i still remember the jingle) i bugged my dad to buy one, he never did.

Fast forward now i read with interest every proton news i can find, i’d like to think all of the negative commenters are really proton fans deep down who would like to see a product from proton that we can collectively be proud of. at least i am one of those people.

They had been complacent and somewhat arrogant at times but now can be seen working to fix that image. I really hope it is a continuos effort and they are able to reap the benefits soon before they go under. all the best proton!

• wahedenator on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Tayar dia nmpk pelek la
    Rim R3 tu ptt kene masok dgn Bridgesone Potenza RE001R in 205/45
    Ade k dia letak Continental Sport Contact-1 195/50
    Built date 1910 plak tu
    Btl2 nk abeskan stock lame . . .
    Tp Rim R3 tu mmg superb
    Thums up !

• momos on Sep 17, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Talaan original R3.. ai jelesnya tgk.. apa2 tahniah.. jaga kete tue elok..

• jiran Tengku Djan on Sep 17, 2011 at 11:08 pm

rasanya ekzos tu kang kena kacau JPJ/trafik tak? kata bising (^_^)

• Jack Leong on Sep 17, 2011 at 1:58 pm

makeover? this is just a restoration omg.

• Jack Leong on Sep 17, 2011 at 2:02 pm

for me, i will have a shock too like those in overhaulin’ and pimp my ride programmes but it will be a different kind of shock. i’ll be shocked that those R3 dudes restore it to the original look @.@

• faizulamin on Sep 17, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Oh man! I took an hour to finish up reading all comments at my blackberry!

Anyway, the wheels are cool! I admire that wheels. Congrates fadly for having a restore+r3tuned ride!

But, truly IMHO, I’m quite shocked as r3 did not installed a r3 bumper. What I mean r3 bumper is something look alike those fitted at waja/gen2/perseona/satria/satrianeo r3. Is that the r3 image for saga? Shit! Not nice!

• faizulamin on Sep 18, 2011 at 7:47 am

and no front speaker, leaving alone a head level rear speaker is real not good! i dislike this config. better those speakers be placed at foot level and install at front door. so, people can converse nicely in the cabin without noises.

btw, still jealous because they really restore that car from the scratch!

• look ordinary maybe because of the paint, i dunno…but still i’m jealous..r3, do that to my arena also.hoho

• bujal on Sep 22, 2011 at 12:33 pm

P1..y so kedekut?

at least put double din ICE la~~

• Did they scratched the paint job above the exhaust at the rear? why is there seems like a patch of touch up paint?

• Good Job! Is the Register Plate’s Font legal?

• mohd hilmi bin a'la on May 06, 2018 at 6:32 pm

saya nk makeover saga lama saya macam mana ya???