Proton in talks with Turkish company to assemble Protons in Turkey – JV to develop a Turkish car probable

Proton in talks with Turkish company to assemble Protons in Turkey – JV to develop a Turkish car probableProton has begun preliminary talks with a Turkish automotive company to assemble Proton vehicles in Turkey and, at some point in the future, is set to initiate a joint venture with the firm to develop a Turkish car, according to Bernama.

The report quotes former PM Tun Dr Mahathir, who is Proton’s advisor, as saying that the two parties are already talking to each other. “The idea is initially of course to probably assemble Proton cars there and eventually develop a Turkish car through the collaboration,” he told the national news agency.

“When we get a good partner other than the said collaboration, Malaysia should also be able to export more Proton cars to Turkey,” he said, adding that Protons had in the past been exported to Turkey, but these exports had to stop due to certain circumstances.

The Turkish automotive industry has a number of automakers, including Tofas (Turk Otomobil Fabrikasi Anonim Sirketi), which builds Fiat models as well as some locally-designed vehicles, and Oyak Renault Otomobil Fabrikalari. The country is the sixth largest automobile producer in Europe and 15th largest in the world.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• The turkish guys probably don’t know that the Proton guys have no idea how to make cars. All this while they just assemble japanese parts into Malaysian skeleton.If the project takes off, the turkish car is going to be cost more than the BMW. Somebody please alert the turks!

• Abuya on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:39 am

No idea how to make car? So do you have idea? At least they do something rather be paultan addicted who only knew sit in front monitor dan mencarut2.

• Cool Abuya! I do not want to see another Muslim brother fail.Proton will never survive in an open market,…… no matter how many racist malays are there in the world to buy it. That is why the ridiculously high tax on every other marque. Malays are smart people, Malays know quality , they have discerning taste. That is why , given a choice, even the malays will never buy Proton in an open market.

Abuya the Arqam head, go back to the original teachings of Islam, …….do not cheat people. Proton has been cheating Malaysian for ages, please do not allow it to cheat the Turks now………..Again somebody please alert the Turks.

• autojohndoe on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:09 pm

which proton that you talking about?

Wira?

if it is… then you are 15years behind than average paultan reader…

tu la… orang malaysia ni suruh membaca malas… tak ikut perkembangan semasa… tapi nak bercakap…

• Me 15 years behind time? I thought Proton was 30 years behind its closest competitor. Kau baca kuat tapi brain power tak seberapa.All you need to do is compare prices between any car model in the US and in Malaysia. Then you’ll realise you’ve been talking with a selipar jamban in your mouth.
        As far as I am concerned, Proton causes massive inflation in Malaysia. Massive inflation means chronic poverty for the masses.Adik beradik kau , mak bapak kau turut menerima tempias ke”papa”an akibat Proton. But of course, the people who have been milking us through Proton will be forever smiling and aloof……..like Mahathir.

• autojohndoe on Mar 04, 2012 at 10:01 pm

well… which parts of book/article/magazine that you got for your statement

“All this while they just assemble japanese parts into Malaysian skeleton”…

I am talking for facts and industrial change within the country… bukan psl harga kereta kat malaysia dan US… Kalau mcm tu aku boleh tanya kau… berapa income tak kat sana kena byr, berapa setiap labour charge service kena byr, helath insurance kena bayar?

So, kalau kau dapt harga kereta mcm kat US… adakah kau sure takkan byr 5,7,9 th utk kereta?

If your read about inflation in the STAR today about how the Central Banks and speculators of Commodities play a role in inflation…

• Industrial Change? You are starting to sound like Mahathir. What “industial change” when DRBHicom is given control of Proton. And then impose sky high taxes on every alternative car,in order to “protect Proton”.
            But the irony is, DRBHicom is also the guy who holds the franchise for all the competing cars, eg Honda, suzuki, chevrolet , audi , citroen etc etc.It is like DRBHicom is the the angel and the devil at the same time….2 in 1.

This is not “industrial change”, this is “racketeering” , cornering the market and extorting big money for pathetic products. If this happens in Europe or America, you go to jail!. How is it that smart guys like you can’t get this into your head?. You are being screwed , my friend. For that , you have my sympathies.

And for your info, Alhamdulillah, I can pay cash for any of the Protons available in the market without blinking,……… can you?

• along on May 17, 2012 at 8:45 am

Hi Max, autojohndoe and all,

Day in – day out, week in – week out, month in – month out, year in – year out, we talk, discuss, analyse about what should the government do, what should MITI do, what should MAI do, what should bank do….

Its always about what others should do, to make sure the car price drop to a more reasonable level (don’t need 9 years loan)… but 20 – 30 years of time should be enough to tell us that they wont do anything to our benefit, its always about what manufactures get, what AP king get, what OEM supplier get, so what about us, the customer, the biggest stake holders…

Its us that send the wrong message to gov, car manufacturers, AP kings… when the price increases every facelift, we are the ones that que to book and some do book the car for 9 years loan even before the launch of the car, preve for example…

Let talk about, as consumer and citizen, what should we do? regardless what policy maker, gov agency and companies want to say. Personally, I will maintain my current ride (which is second hand) and refuse to buy any new cars. I will also convince my children, my friends, my family, my boss, my office mates so that they they wont be buying either… and justify it by ridiculous price or cars in Malaysia…. If we do this and play our part, we will gain mass and trust me they will succumb to our knees and price will drop… They can say a lot of thing, but if we aint buying, what the are saying is irrelevant…

So come on guys, let boycott buying any new cars for some time until we see a reasonable priced cars.

Let play our part and dont hope others to do this, we need to do this ourselves…

If we work together, we can win this…
            When the buying stop, the killing can too…

• Absolute Rider on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:10 pm

YOU ARE DREAMING MAX!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Mar 03, 2012 at 6:56 pm

This is the 10th times P1 is talking to Turkish counterpart !!!!

Talk cock, no action = idiots !!!

Continue talking……..continue dreaming……….

• I think Turkish have many choices maybe is the low tax or whatever…erm maybe this will be sold out um few units…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 04, 2012 at 1:57 am

nobody in turkey will buy this. proton went there few years back. nobody bought it. it’s actually a source of jokes over in turkey. good luck proton.

• wahrheit on Mar 04, 2012 at 11:57 am

Everybody will find this kind of comments everywhere in the internet now.. blogs.. social networks and etc.. everyone thinks they’re right about almost anything, but everybody else is wrong. Name it… politics, automotives, even about religion…

but they themselves don’t have guts to do anything to everything that they complained…

• I want Proton cars from CKD Turkey rather than CKD Tg. Malim or CKD Shah Alam!

• Proton38 (ex proton-türkiye-forum owner) on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Hi from Turkey!
    Whats the name of the Company???

Proton has no diesel engine, Turkish market is dominated by diesel with up to 60%. Commercial cars only with diesel!

There is no way, must have DIESEL..!!

• Chris on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:50 am

If this relationship can make proton start producing diesel engine, and then bring it back to Malaysia and sell diesel cars here…..

*crosses finger*

• Yup, turkey are european, they prefer powerful & torquey but frugal turbodiesel…to sell cars there, proton need a good diesel….eg honda, to them ivtec are ashmatic & no power guzzler compared to idtec

• oblong on Mar 03, 2012 at 12:41 pm

No problem, P1 will sweet talk to their Mitsu counterpart + Daimler AG so they can copy paste Mitsubishi Fuso diesel engine hehehe…imagine lorry engine in P1 sedan car….

• Mitsu & most japs are way behind in diesel tech, even toyota hv team up wt beemer for bm’s small diesels engine

• proton do have diesel powered car, which is Wira 2.0D using 4D68 engine from mitsubishi

• Just me on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Proton diesel engine is crap, majority of the user are eh….apa nama ……. KLIA taxi . The engine sound like a truck engine and main contributor to air polution!!!!

• MoFaz on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:24 pm

too early to say anything… just wishing them good luck!

• Obama on Mar 03, 2012 at 12:01 am

Can Proton cars sell well in Turkey? I doubt so.

• Proton pulled out in the last Middle East ” collaboration ”… that is, the Islamic car project between Iran, Turkey and Malaysia.

I wonder if this one will last.

• anjez on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:17 am

after joint venture then they are going to name the car PROTON MAHATHIR ATAU “PROTON APA NAMA”
    BODOH TILL TODAY CANT STAND ON OWN FOOT,BUT SELL CAR SO EXPENSIVE

• Two wrongs don’t make a right. That’s like two D students teaching each other maths and expecting a B in a math exam.

• kitari on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:24 am

ya, they should talk to A student like BMUU to assemble protons in germany!

• here we go again…

• alpha on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:08 am

jual kereta di turki make sense….tp develop untuk turki….hahahahahaaaaa…inspira copy paste produk……a product by mitsubishi

• I think Proton tried it with another Turkish partner called Jet-PA, who was in property development. It all ended in tears. Hope this time Proton choose the right partner.

• Vj the Rat on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:26 am

Is this even newsworthy?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:13 am

Depends on who’s reading it, I guess. :D

• kitari on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:35 pm

can u explain who reading it thinks it’s newsworthy? noob here.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 03, 2012 at 5:49 pm

It must be a slow news day…

1) Proton does not make left hand drive vehicles
        2) Proton does not have diesel engines
        3) Proton has no money to develop 1 and 2

And, Turkey is much better served during Christmas…

• patron on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:12 pm

FYI – PROTON got left hand drive car… seen this in Tg.Malim plant few years back

• Glee power on Mar 04, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Please I used to eat turkey every thursday at subway before they changed it to chicken

• Mamak Con Melayu on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:29 am

Satu lagi projek mamak menipu rakyat Malaysia.

• autojohndoe on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Oi… this is to venture out of malaysia la…

• anjez on Mar 04, 2012 at 7:24 pm

betul itu mamak mahathir yang gila dan tamak duit.songlap rakyat big time then kereta proton macam sial.Jual mahal tapi quality macam barisan nasional

• fazron80 on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:30 am

the islamic car plan failed. With proton now in the state of not enough profit theres little chance of this lasting unless proton can make real money. Lotus is already sucking a lot of proton money. Probably a collaboration which involves the turkey partner as an assembler and buying parts from proton is more viable. Reading above comment from the turkish guy made me realize too. Where are proton diesel options? None. As a car company proton should not neglect the diesel segment.

• Dr Mamak on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:22 am

niamah selling in local protected market also can lose money, still wanna go abroad.

• autojohndoe on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:13 pm

where are you when proton was making profit?

senyap tak terkata?

• thebosssedangbercakap on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:58 pm

HAHAHAHA true that brother. Couldnt agree more.

• littlefire on Mar 04, 2012 at 8:56 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/proton-sees-rm84m-loss-in-q3-2011/

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 29 – National car maker Proton Holdings Bhd said its pre-tax loss widened to RM84.054 million for the third quarter ended Dec 31, 2011 compared with a pre-tax loss of RM51.535 million for the same period in 2010.

In a statement, the company said the weaker performance was due to a decline in year-end sales.

Always blame sales not good, loan cannot approve… But never do survey / fish bone analysis why people didnt want to buy proton but rather buy expensive P2 cars..

• autojohndoe on Mar 04, 2012 at 12:46 pm

have you found that, year-on-year market share of perodua is kind of decreasing and Proton is a bit improved?

you can see it through Motortrader sales data…

• nationalist on Mar 04, 2012 at 4:08 pm

that is due in part to money being poured in lotus. why does proton seem to be ever willing to spend their malaysia profits / cash / reserves on overseas firms?

• DArkerMarker on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:22 am

All talk, but any action?

please dont sit in the meeting room munching karipap and drinking kopi…..

• Dr ALAMAK on Mar 03, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Since when Proton make profit ? I buka mata big big oso cant see eh @@

• fazron80 on Mar 03, 2012 at 3:33 pm

true. with bnm tightening local loans proton really need to find outside partners to market their cars outside. If they fail to think big globally like the koreans, theres really not much they can do in the local market to make profit. The world is big, dont wait until its too late.

• makeitmine on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Good move! Find the market first before expanding the engine department. With DRB-HICOM as new owner, Turkish people can now build their own car.

Turkish car = Lotus Engineered Ride & Handing * (Mitsubishi designed/built + Proton
    enhanced/improved)
    or
    Lotus Engineered Ride & Handling * (VW designed/built + Proton
    enhanced/improved)
    or
    Lotus Engineered Ride & Handling * (China designed/built + Proton
    enhanced/improved)

Needs fulfilment to the Turkish people should not be difficult.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Teach others when your own product sucksssss !!!!!

P1.IDIOT.KHAZANAH SELL. DRB BUY. SYED ZAINAL OUT. SYED MOKHTAR IN. LOKMAN RUNS. VW BUY P1.EVERYBODY HAPPY. PAULTAN NO MORE BASHER.

• pakcik jamal on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:00 pm

TM is just an advisor to Proton but here he’s speaking on behalf of Proton.
    Tun , Proton does not belong to you and only DRB and its board of directors
    can make such statements. Don’t jump the gun and make such bold statements.
    These are just priliminary talks. Look what happened to Nissan when P1
    wanted their small engines for Emas?
    Even the much talked about India JV was just hangat2x tahi ayam !!
    Proton just registered a loss and Lotus is struggling in UK.
    So just hold your horses and let the new management decide
    the next direction for Proton.

• Pakcik Jamal, Proton is Mahathir favorite legacy..Proton is Mahathir’s son….Proton may not 100% belongs to Mahathir but definitely Proton belongs more to Mahathir than to you. That is why he is the advisor and not you. I am a PR supporter but I know the fact is Proton means a lot to Mahathir…a fact that should not be refuted.

• Glee power on Mar 04, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Of course means a lot…just like how much my work means to me a it is a source of my income….he also same just that his income much higher

• joshua on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Just want to say….Proton is Disappoting a Lot Malaysian…… Rather Use second hand car than buying a Proton_Gov_Expensive TM carrrrr!

• thebosssedangbercakap on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:51 pm

proton is always in talk, just like typical malaysian. only talk, action yillek.

• jsooz on Mar 04, 2012 at 1:18 am

Tanjung Malim is still undercapacity want to build in turkey pulak…cheh

• sanjar on Mar 04, 2012 at 2:49 am

Proton failed miserably when the tried to sell their cars in Iran
    … that was Tg Mahaleel time and now Proton wants to
    do the same in Turkey.
    Still remember Proton will brand itself as an Islamic car and will
    have Azan Prayer function..flopped!!

• Littlebear on Mar 04, 2012 at 11:52 am

It’s best for PROTON to close shop… You happy, I happy, Everybody happy :D Everyone can drive better quality cars at a lower price & best of all, no more PROTON bashing here ;)

• nationalist on Mar 04, 2012 at 4:15 pm

proton will have a brighter future IF it is run a newer generation of malaysians. now it is in the firm hands of an advisor of considerable intellect, passion and vision but who brings to the table heavy legacy baggage, and who is perhaps a bit out of touch with newer times and the aspirations of younger malaysians.

• anjez on Mar 04, 2012 at 7:28 pm

you buy one proton and drive then you talk.if you never owned a proton car then dont talk.its the owners misery.

• autojohndoe on Mar 04, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Not really… I think it will go to toyota fanboy bashing honda fan, while the conti driver looks them as poor car owner…

So, the cycle will the same, just changing the subject of focus…

• sempoi on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:23 am

Polo, I am a hardcore BN supporter but I gave up supporting
    Proton 10 years back as the co has not evolved for the better.
    TM may be passionate about Proton but the present management
    has got nowhere. I hope that the new management will
    chart a new direction for Proton.
    TM with your blessings, let them run Proton
    …its time you let Proton go as your child has already grown up
    …your time has past and now is the best time to sit back
    , relax and enjoy your retirement.!!
    Love from,
    No.1 BN Supporter.

• along on May 17, 2012 at 8:46 am

Hi All,

Day in – day out, week in – week out, month in – month out, year in – year out, we talk, discuss, analysis about what should the government do, what should MITI do, now what should MAI do, what should bank do….

Its always about what others should do, to make sure the car price drop to a more reasonable level (don’t need 9 years loan)… but 20 – 30 years of time should be enough to tell us that they wont do anything to our benefit, its always about what manufactures get, what AP king get, what OEM supplier get, so what about us, the customer, the biggest stake holders…

Its us that send the wrong message to gov, car manufacturers, AP kings… when the price increases every facelift, we are the ones that que to book and some do book the car for 9 years loan, even before the launch of the car, preve for example…

Let talk about, as consumer and citizen, what should we do? regardless what policy maker, gov agency and companies want to say. Personally, I will maintain my current ride (which is second hand) and refuse to buy any new cars. I will also convince my children, my friends, my family, my boss, my office mates so that they they wont be buying either… and justify it by ridiculous price or cars in Malaysia…. If we do this and play our part, we will gain mass and trust me they will succumb to our knees and price will drop… They can say a lot of thing, but if we aint buying, what the are saying is irrelevant…

So come on guys, let boycott buying any new cars for some time until we see a reasonable priced cars.

Let play our part and dont hope others to do this, we need to do this ourselves…

If we work together, we can win this…
    When the buying stop, the killing can too…

• along on May 17, 2012 at 8:56 am

try