BREAKING: Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin resigns?

This one is just in. A report from The Edge suggests that Proton’s managing director, Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin, has tendered his resignation from the national automaker.

Sources within the company say that his bow out has apparently been brought about by differences with the future owners of the company, DRB-Hicom, over the change in Proton’s future direction.

The report adds that according to the sources, senior management personnel may follow suit with a flurry of resignations in the coming weeks in light of Syed Zainal’s departure. Senior politicians and government officials have been unsuccessful in persuading Syed Zainal to reconsider his decision, they said.

The resignation is news to many at the national automaker, even with corporate comms, according to the report; meanwhile, a top management source in Proton also said that he is not aware of the resignation. If the news is true, then the resignation and those to potentially follow suit might create a massive power void within the company.

We’ve been informed by Proton that an official statement is being prepared. More news to follow later in the day.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• zulkhas on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:45 am

there goes a good man..anyway good job DSZ for bring back the trust to proton products.

• RON97 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:21 am

he is heading to naza…

• y compare him wit steve jobs??? did he invent proton or owns proton???
        whats the fuss i thought he died reading from u pussy comment

ppl makan gaji ba like most of us, mana gaji tinggi p mana lo
        did he give u discount when u buy saga, exora or preve (farewell)?

good luck to u all proton owners, take good, very good care of ur cars

• omg…will d lifetime waranty for power windows still stand???

• Peter on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Good question … after ‘rationalization’ & compare to the ‘industry practice’, DRB might just give 1 yr warranty.

• Ayecaramba! on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:53 pm

lol

• Obama on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:27 am

“Senior politicians and government officials have been unsuccessful in persuading Syed Zainal to reconsider his decision, they said.”

Really?! All these moved are obviously political influenced…and BS!

• Estimosis on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:28 am

Only the good die young… literally and professionally.. Good luck to DSZ..We’re going to miss you..

• Gabla on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:44 pm

He has done a lot in term of improving PROTON products. People are now gaining back their trust in PROTON products with his efforts so thank to him.

However there are still more rooms to improve in PROTON which he has yet to deliver. It seems like there are two teams working against each other within PROTON. One team is working hard improving the products to gain more money, on the other hand, another team is spending money like crazy for sponsorships (Formula 1, motorsport & etc.) and other unnecessary spending.

With the improved products, they should now concentrate more to stop the money leakage and use it wisely to sell more products. Linking a PROTON car with Formula 1 won’t sell more cars to their target market which is normal working people. They should also improve the sales effort outside Malaysia. Maybe start with our neighbouring countries in ASEAN.

• Patriot on Apr 11, 2012 at 1:19 am

Please, after all these years of milking & cowling Proton still act like a spoilt brat. Product & what not improvements only come from attitude improvement. You need to appoint somebody who really knows how to run / turnaround a business rather than placing some self-serving politicians. Set a deadline / target for a business turnaround or just close it down & move on for better capital investments without using taxpayers’ monies to keep subsidizing these goones.

• AmyDazz on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:31 pm

MEDIA STATEMENT FROM PROTON HOLDINGS

“We refer to the news report in The Edge Financial Daily dated 10 April 2012 on the resignation of PROTON’s Group Managing Director, Dato’ Sri Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir. PROTON is not aware of the source of this speculation. Dato’ Sri Haji Syed Zainal is still holding the position of the Group Managing Director of PROTON, and his services are still required in the company.
      The post-acquisition exercise is still proceeding smoothly and upon the completion of the same, PROTON is expected to have a strong synergy of current and new management team members that will provide PROTON with the necessary impetus to lead the company in its aspiration to become a globally successful automotive player.”

• No matter who sits at the top, as long as there are numerous taxes and duties imposed on other brands to protect Proton, Proton will always be seen as a failure.

• hikashi on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:45 am

This is really sad news.

• SureRock on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:46 am

A loss for Proton if this is true..

• noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!! damn it DRB hicom!!!!!!

• e-tique on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:47 am

dang…the so-called ex-proton & DRB guy is just from proton part ctr previously…what he knows about r&d and product innovation btw.??

• VWfan on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:48 am

its just sad to know a great leader will leave the company too soon….so many things to be achieved in the future…have a great journey ahead Dato’…

• kucau on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:49 am

ok…. time to reconsider my decision to get Preve…

• in fact most of proton range. Proton is known as always abandon the previous mgt model range. New mgt want to show they are better. That’s why the name proton preve= previous mgt one. ha ha ha

• roadrunner on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:49 am

if true, thank you DSZ for your all good lesson and effort to Proton….huhu…all the best to u DSZ… my sad day… :(

• prolever on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:50 am

if the news it true, the new proton dooms day begun…
    Vote 4 DSSZ..

• VWfan on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:51 am

damn it DRB for letting go a great leader!

• askme on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:51 am

now he can drive his mercedes benz to work..no more proton chancellor..huhu

• alpha on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:51 am

so what, after decades of car manufacturing they never made best decision at all. savvy, putra, arena, juara, gen 2 are the list of unsuccessful story, bad design.

• dumb ass, all those car u mentioned was before his lead for Proton. He started his lead and made better cars like the New Saga, Exora, Preve

• Major T-roll on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:56 am

You make a good point. He didn’t step up and decide on a practical option for Lotus. It should have been the golden goose but instead they a sitting duck!

• dear alpha….all the models mentioned was before this guy step in Proton….

• When DSZ joined Proton, Proton was heading to bankrupt with continuous losses.

His action is quick and bold. Within a few months, he axed the incapable suppliers, dumped stupid models like Savvy, and shifted the focus of Proton to produce cars that everybody want, like new Saga, Persona, Exora, and now Preve.

• Does his departure hint the possibility of more incompetent “connected” suppliers in future?

• inderaloka on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Alpha, all the models mentioned was before DSZ joining Proton. It was his vision that become success when Proton Gen.2, a models introduced before he joins Proton, has been going through a major make over which transformed the car into a great car to drive and looks good inside out.

• I guess the new owner wants to:

– sell lotus
    – use tanjung to assemble VW cars
    – focus on rebadging instead of making cars

• pauline tan on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:06 am

now that is not too bad if VW polo is to replace saga and selling at saga price :D

• udasalleh on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:28 am

where have u been? not gonna happen! never gonna happen!

• you still gonna buy ur polo if the quality is something like saga/wira in 2003/2004?
        i dont want! pi lantak la diarang nak pasang merz ke..buggati ke..kalo qualiti mcm zaman TM kembali ke pasaran..

• kekuda on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:18 pm

do not underestimate DRB owner. He is very rich, but still using Proton Perdana in 2010. Not sure whether he is still using that car or not. But that’s mean he loves Proton.
      He used to say that he bought a company because he want to save it from being bought by foreigner or incompetent person. It is too early to judge his success in controlling Proton. In term of car quality, I’m sure DRB-hicom is very familiar with it because it assembles a lot of foreign cars.

• Noooooooooo! He’s the one that brough Proton up! If he’s gone, I seriously would doubt the QC of the new Preve. The global car idea was his idea !

• civicEK on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:04 am

Preve’ is d last car we can enjoy, after dis all car from proton are only thrash.

• Major T-roll on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:21 pm

EK, you are a foolish man with foolish thinking. You should back up yr statements with facts, not smoke to cloud the people.

• Chilavert on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:54 am

i must say this is a big loss to proton. IMO dato syed zainal has done pretty well in improving overall proton performance. lets just hope the replacement is not some corrupted ass licking crony.

• Vincent on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:55 am

Expected this outcome.

So far, I could see his passion in turn around P1. But what to do, polictic is not limit to national level, it happen in all company… when ever there is a interest involved.

SO, will he doing the lauching of PREVE? To prove some thing?

• truly shocking news :(

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:57 am

pemergian yg d kenang atas kehebatan, adalah lebih baik

• mig29_ria on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:57 am

Very sad story for Proton. Another Brain Drain, First Petronas than Proton than…Pxxx

• very very bad decision i think…..:(

• RIP DSZ career in Proton. The Lost That We’ll miss, He was a good leader (Hope will always be), Visionary Man, Lets take a minute to mourn over the lost. :(

• what so sad man what happend here

• flybry on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:00 am

I just booked the Preve and the man behind the Preve is resigning?? Shocking and sad.

• 1malaysia2020 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:02 am

If its true then it will be unfortunate for Proton to see the back of Dato’ Zainal…he is a capable leader that transformed Proton to what it is today…I wonder if Khazanah decision to offload Proton to DRB-HICOM was the right call…

It seems everything are not going smoothly inside Proton after the takeover by DRB-HICOM. First we have the zen believer chairman leaving, then Group Lotus terminated their sponsorship with Lotus F1 and now the good MD is leaving…

I hate to say this but i think there is high possibility that the new owner is going to offload Lotus…(which i think one of the reasons the clashes on future directions by both parties)

Perhaps we can use crowdsourcing to buy Lotus from DRB-HICOM..LOL!

• tiadaid on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:02 am

Never buying another Proton again!

Thanks DRB for gutting Proton for your own personal gain.

• Enson on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:02 am

No offence to DSZ but I truly hope that gov stop protecting our so called national car maker who is hardly compete in global market in terms of economies of scale and pricing. Only v rakyat suffer due to high tax imposed on foreign car. Can u imagine u buy a 100k car only 50k go to gov???!!! I believe our gov is rich enough… n one more thing to emphasize is our PETROL PRICE alwiz UP UP UP!

• hadjihalef on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:37 am

Please stop repeating about tax if you don’t understand the tax structure. You make yourself like a fool. Read about the tax first before commenting.
      Proton also have the same tax as import. Go find that info yourself.

• Enson on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:48 pm

I really wish that u understand about the tax structure b4 u saying some one is a fool n dun making urself like a fool. Local made car still got impose on import tax? Do u know the meaning of “Import”. Please buy a dictionary for urself.

• godam on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:42 pm

i really really wish that you understand about tax before u saying that the other person is saying the other person is fool. please buy dictionary too. i own a bookstore. now we are having 50% promotion on selected item.

• Enson on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:47 pm

I also wish that u understand the automobile industry tax structure before commenting on others. 50% promotion book should keep for urself. Probably ur store not doing well i doubt or maybe are books that dont sell. No offence. Haha!

• squall_shinoda on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Enson, are you an idiot or what? Did hadjihalef say that national cars still have IMPORT taxes? No right? Did you even bother to do some researches rather than talking a lot of shit? National cars are still taxed, you idiotic moron! Of course there’s no import tax on them, but they still have excise tax and sales tax besides road tax.

• master on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:56 pm

dude, just read carefully what he’s saying~~ “Proton also have the same tax as import.” that’s mean another tax is being imposed on proton’s car.

• Always UP UP? Please look at the global petrol price before complaining at our country petrol price

• Enson on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Pls compare apple to apple. Don make urself like a fool. We are one of the oil production country.

• Not as much as others dude, let say you compare us to the Arab countries. We are developing at a rapid rate, arabs don’t. don’t believe me? go to arab, compare the infrastructure and stuffs, you might be rich there but your child will grow up stupid like the other arabs.

• Regina S. on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Ohh… so oil producing means the petrol can just give you free la is it?… wake up dude…

• 1malaysia2020 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:59 am

Ahaa… do you want to live in Singapore then which auction the rights to buy a car? Or perhaps any European countries that charged 40% for income tax? If wikipedia is not enough then I’d suggest go to the nearest library to read more…

Petrol price always up? Why dont you spend some of your valuable time to read some news or economics/market instead of your favourite sports sections…

• Enson on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Wish that u are satisfied v our country petrol price. Yes u are right… the global petrol price is going up recently n RON 97 is reflecting to the market fluctuation. If I’m not mistaken our gov set the price at RM2.80 in june 2011 n the global crude oil price is approximately USD100 per barrel and it drop to approximately USD80 per barrel in aug 2011. Did our gov adjust the price? Answer is NO! U are the one spent all ur times in sports sections i think.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 11, 2012 at 1:15 am

If you insist that petrol price in Malaysia should be cheaper just because Malaysia “is an oil-producing country”, then can you explain why in Indonesia the petrol subsidy not only taken out but now being taxed even though Indonesia is an oil producer with much larger reserves than Malaysia? And did you even bother to know that there are frequent fuel price hikes there, sometimes up to 40%?

Let me remind a moron like you about how our oil industry works. Our petroleum is a high-grade “light sweet” with very low sulphur content and a large fraction of petrol, and this kind of oil is very much being sought after by the global industry. But we can’t simply use it for our own use, or else we won’t make money. So we sell our light sweet at a high price and buy “sour” oil from the Arabs at a much lower price, but because of the high sulphur content, we have to remove it, putting extra cost to the oil. In the end, the final petrol cost is still higher so the government has to subsidise our petrol to keep the price low. However, the real price is rather unstable, so when the oil price drops, the government cannot simply lower the price, because they need to cover back the money used to subsidise the petrol and to avoid petrol station owners to lose money because they have to pay the fuel supply by cash according to the fuel price at the time of purchase and they have to sell the fuel according to current price. Only if the global oil price continues to drop for a longer period of time then the government can reduce the price gradually.

• Garuda DBP on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:09 pm

This is what i called immature business thinking. Be it inline with the slogan Rakyat didahulukan.

• ShowoFF on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:07 pm

its oke wat if gov put da taxes on car….i rather be like that than they pull out the subsidize on petrol…lets do math…in thailand, RON 95 = RM 3.90…u r saving RM 2 here…lets say if 1km use 1liter petrol, if u drive 100, 000 km, u will save RM 200, 000…so now u tell me..is it u want to buy cheap RM50k vios (fix) or u want to save ur money each kilometre when u drive? eventhou u buy RM80k vios here…u still save Rm100k ++ here rather than u in thai….even worst if u r singaporean (RON 95 = RM5.14).

• pls dont compare with non oil production country…we’re 27th biggest oil production…

• What Happened? on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:39 pm

We are petroleum producing country,we shall enjoy low-priced petrol.Do more research and you will know .
        Where goes our taxes?????I don’t see any improvement!

• Ah Long zzz on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm

For me, cheap fuel can be obtained by revise roadtax price…. in UK (diesel more expensive), they have fuel tax but no tolls and cheap roadtax… Thailand have fuel tax but no tolls and no annually roadtax (pay once, then can drive without pay any roadtax yearly, the only pay yearly in Thailand is insurance). Heavy vehicles must pay roadtax about RM2000/year to offset and subsidise diesel price (backhoe roadtax only RM60/year). Government cars also need to pay 5-year roadtax about RM1000/5 year to maintain cheap fuel. Don’t compare Singapore due to discourage policy of owning a car such as COE…

For me expensive roadtax is better than having fuel tax which paying fuel tax is more unprofitable to consumers rather than paying once a year expensive road tax….

If roadtax properly managed, fuel price will decreased and subsidises properly…

Malaysia should introduced fuel tax for Foreign registered cars when entering Malaysia for unlimited time until exiting Malaysia (RM 75 for Singapore Registered vehicles. RM 30 for Singapore motorcycles), (RM 20 for Thai Motorcycles ,RM 60 for Thai Petrol engined vehicles and RM 140 for Thai Diesel engined vehicles.). Brunei vehicles only exemption no required for fuel tax…

• I like KFC on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:38 pm

1Malaysia2020,

Please don’t make a fool out of yourself. Singapore and most of the European country has decent public transportation in-comparison to our dear Malaysia which most Malaysian will never be able to survive without a personal car. Most Singaporean and European can live without a car and they can opt not to buy cars but not us, we need car to travel. Like what the rest said, we are OIL producing country and in comparison to other OIL producing country, our petrol price are freaking high!!!

• showoff is absolutely correct, any other person who keeps on saying that malaysia is an oil producing country is absolutely nuts.

this is a fact. alot of countries are oil producing, but ARE YOU A NET IMPORTER or EXPORTER? Indonesia produces close to 2x as much fuel as us, yet they are a net importer… govt losing billions just to subsidise fuel now. Almost same trends happening in Iran. We are consuming more and more fuel every year, already heading towards being a net importer!
            you either PAY car TAX get subsidy or dont pay car tax and lose fuel subsidy

• ShowoFF on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:18 pm

then i should say, we are CAR PRODUCING COUNTRY, we shall enjoy low-priced national car instead of imported…hahahaha

• eru777 on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Wrong calc..1km only 25sen or ave person use 5000liter of petrol/year..so saving is only 10K/year.

• epirose on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:32 pm

ya u da master math…da earlier post was not wrong…dat y theres a phrase, LET SAY IF…o i better put word Assumption in cap lock…it juz to make the formula easier la…da actual comparison, do it on ur paper la how many 0.234344455 cents u wan it to put it…

• kereta apa bang 1 liter = 1 km. manyak makan minyak lor. ini zaman rm 0.12-rm 0.16/ km ron 95. kalau ron97 you doube that figure pun masih below rm 0.30/ km

• khylie555 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:02 am

He is like the Steve Jab of Proton!!

• crude on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:11 pm

steve jab sounds ridiculously wrong and funny as hell to.

im currently picturing steve job giving a jab to DSZ

hahahhaha

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:03 am

Syed Zainal’s direction is quite obviously opposed to DRB’s. So the Preve will be his farewell party…if he is even allowed to be in the limelight. DSZ has actually done a solid job in keeping Proton afloat, said the right things to the media to prop up its share price, but there is no denying that Proton remains a low volume, low resource car maker with a poor brand image. Lotus will now be sold, DRB will fight among themselves whether to re-badge or try to develop new vehicles with money they can ill-afford to spend.

• of course on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:53 am

Yes DSZ will be there. he will be the one to explain on the car.

• Peaceaim on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:03 am

Hope its not true

• choonkeong on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:03 am

He is a great MD. I won’t dare buying proton anymore without him.

• he’s the greatest

• faizulamin on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:03 am

paul.

what if u raise a petition an ask dssz not to step down. proton has just begin to have a reputation and now, that move for sure will deteriorating that reputation.

i want him. see, my fb foto never change wearing a proton-badge tshirt.

• Superman on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:30 am

good idea Bro

• squall_shinoda on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Good idea bro.. And I would like to suggest that all Proton car owners to organise a rally in front of Proton COE or DRB-Hicom HQ and do a peaceful protest to reinstate DSZ back, like Bersih one. If DRB-Hicom just put on deaf ears then the entire Malaysia will boycott Proton cars from now on. When that happens, they have no choice but to sell back their shares.

• ApaSaJa on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:05 am

Confimed by MalaysiaInsider

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/syed-zainal-abidin-quits-proton/

• songlap on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:06 am

I press thumbs UP all the way from first comment …hands tired lol

• Hilmi on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:06 am

DSZ endure all hard time to make Proton on the right track… now DRB just need to continue his effort + sell lotus. I have feeling that DSZ didn’t agree with DRB sell Lotus too soon, since Proton need Lotus (engineering) to backup Proton Image and building R&D capability internally (many Lotus engineer imported to work side by side with Proton Engineer in Malaysia). Hopefully DSZ will remain in Proton, so he can claim all glory (from his hard work) when Proton start having decent gobal car line-up.

• preve….?

• farghmee on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:10 am

interesting??

• waja2006 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:12 am

i feel Proton will be spoil by Hicom, Hicom actually not really know how to sell car, not much car is success under Hicom dealership.

• Azlan on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:23 am

History :DRB through EON is the owner of Proton previously…then sold to Khazanah…then now they bought back…no wonder

• start on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:49 am

Apa susah..DRB will finally sell Proton to VW.. end of story. This bunch of idiots of ex-army and Syed’s in DRB knows nothing abt making great car. They don’t even know how to make motocycle (Modenas)

• sadist on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:13 am

truely sad! We lost visionery man…big loser PROTON!

• hiccupguy on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:15 am

Farewell Sir! Better things ahead for you insyaAllah!

• Senior Citizen watch on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:16 am

In the fisrt place why u sell Proton u people never learn fm the Agusta case as was sold at Euro 1 but now the company making billion…. say to say malaysia boleh and this is what haeppen to goons who no noting.

• 1malaysia2020 on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Sold at Euro 1 but assumed the whole debt (hundred of millions)….which later was sold again…

• Critique on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:17 am

The Saga (FL ) actually looked good and the Préve looked promising under DSZ’s leadership.

His successor has got some big shoes to fill.

Cheers :)

• terap on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:21 am

Kejatuhan proton start when he leave the proton … :( damn.. No idea.. why all boards didn’t think for the future.

• kavkiskey on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:24 am

Minggu lepas masa meeting dengan Dato’ Sri, memang Dato’ Sri ada beritahu kami bahawa beliau sudah menghantar surat letak jawatan, notis 3 bulan.

Kami semua berharap Dato’ Sri menarik balik surat perletakan jawatan itu.

• alldisc on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:38 pm

terdapat konflik di mana DSZ bergabung dgn nazmi untuk membeli proton, di mana DRB merupakan saingan.

sekiranya DSZ adalah saingan pada DRB, maka tidak begitu sesuai beliau duduk di dalam kumpulan DRB itu sendiri.

this is the corporate world. pretty normal actually.

• droll on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:26 am

so this means proton goes back to being run as a “govt owned” entity with “national interests” (read: BS!) first and business second??? DSZ worked so hard to turn that around and it seemed like proton was finally turning over a new leaf – being business first. sigh…this is a great loss indeed.

i wonder where he will go. and i hope the rumours about mahaleel making a come back is NOT TRUE!!!

• kuncisudu on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:27 am

sad. DSZ is the steve jobs of proton.

• Superman on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:28 am

it is very sad to see DSZ to go. I do not blame DRB, I believe others were behind this. DSZ is one professional and highly educated MD and it would be very hard to replace him. I hope Dato’ Can reconsider. the two big losses to P1 were Dr. Epple and DSZ leaving. I surely hope DRB will get them back or at least use them in the company as advisers and directors of board. I blame this tragedy on the current advisers to P1 and their so called friends…. I hope to see DSZ to stay… this is a great Loss to P1…at the end we all say: ALL HAIL DSZ.

• the sam old story of P1 where many2 cars stuck in the port authority for many2 year will happened ,………ha ha

• taboogen on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:32 am

there goes my intend to by preve or inspira…. haiyoo takkan mau order vios.. huduhnyer

• mfahd on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:34 am

dear drb, please rehire him to lead lotus and sack danny bahar

• So, if Tengku Mahaleel coming in, I’m out of here.

• Ash Menon on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:36 am

Definitely a sad day for proton if this is true. Been through 2 protons so far, I doubt I’ll be trying a third.

• rosdi on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:36 am

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No no no noooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gomen shouldn’t have sold Proton to DRB in the first place!!… Should have wait for Preve to launch first and wait another year.. see how Proton is doing!.. if Preve also could not sell then Gomen can do drastic action such as selling to DRB.

It is premature to sell at this time!

Proton has been churning good cars since DSZ at the helm… why fix if it is not broken?

• DSZ – a humble pious great leader. This man is a one of a kind.

p/s: This topic will be the most thumbs up rating ever!

• Hope all the best to DSZ, i pity to those just bought P1 & others proton model, and lucky me, my proton dealer allow me cancel my booking for P1.

• So sad..Tony Fernandes not interested ke? haha

• I believe Tony may be able to run a national car project without protection, just like how he runs AA – if that is the case, good for all of us!

• sonyman on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:42 pm

i think no lah, ananda also leaving malaysia, Maxis also dying soon.

• He’s digging natural resources in Asia, that’s why he tend leave giant telecommunications and entertainment industries.

• meet_the_zonan on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:38 am

what so precious, precious.. gollum!

• choonkeong on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:38 am

Not dare to get Proton Preve d.

• tokmoh on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:39 am

Good times come to an end. Thanks DSZ, you are the most awesome Proton CEO ever. *freddie mercury pose*

Penyamun DRB godai.

• Bad news this is…DSZ is the one that makes most people have some re-confidence and re-belief in Proton…Out he goes and wonder what will happen…and I’m still waiting for my Exora CFE…:(

• matured man on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:42 am

A leader who driven by principle, stand out from the capitalist,

• Edward Roti Canai on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:46 am

I used to have roti canai and teh tarik with him. He is my good friend.

• start on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:47 am

Tengku Mahaleel is back??

Bad news..bad news..

• hate_this_news_if_it_is_true on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:47 am

Proton will lost some of their potential Preve buyers.. trying to persuade my wife to buy Preve rather than caldina.. but now.. i dont know.. maybe the next line-up projects also will be scrapped by DRB.. damn..

• CFE_CVT on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Stick to your caldina.. caldina quality is there.. get the ZT version or GT4 if you concern of turbo.. beware of high fuel consumption though..

• Abuya on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Brand new or seken hand car. Dont be so dumb. Will you married janda instead anak dara?

• hate_this_news_if_it_is_true on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:21 pm

i like sportswagon… but for some reason.. i prefer Preve.. but since not me gonna pay.. so have to follow lorrr.. janda cun macam anak dara (recond) or anak dara with middle reputation.. sometimes its difficult to choose lehh..

To Proton.. any sportswagon model soon?? hehehe..Preve Sportswagon perhaps..

• rockapolla on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:48 am

wow… so many dsz fans.. i have no doubt about his courage lead proton to global.. but he leave proton in prestige way..

• all the best DSZ and protong

• what will happen to proton/r3 motorsport division.??

• sorry to say , no more proton in my life. very sure.

• Rulered on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:54 am

If this is true, usually one who has put so much effort for his company will not leave/ resign, if he’s not shown the way out either directly or indirectly. Sad day for Proton.

• Asrul Jazlan on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:01 pm

if confirm this is totally lost to Malaysian and Proton… sure same reason with Tan Sri Hassan Merican. Damn

• farhan on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:02 pm

I am so sad

• David on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:03 pm

…seriously man, I was planning to buy PREVE, yet when the man behind the invention steps out, its kinda ruin my perception and confidence to purchase PREVE…..whatever decision made, lets hope its for the good development of our nation….TQ DSZ.!

• dung Zong on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:09 pm

.We want only DRB men in our company. Tha’s our demand. DSZ must go.

• KL Gangster on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:10 pm

I’m speechless. With DSZ in helm, Proton had made good cars in recent years. Off course the result of his leadership is Preve. He has somehow the management style of Steve Jobs – very meticulous and no nonsence tolerance.

With DSZ, Proton was in the midst of being a formidable foe bashing the Japs and Koreak cars out of bolehland. But now, if it’s true that he is leaving, the Japs and Koreaks have a lifeline now.

Saludos!!

• latest new DSZ will join VW Asia!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Good for him, if it is true, another outflow of talent, smack on the face for talent corp.

• Long Dong Zong on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Proton must move on . DRB must make sure that they have the right person replace DSZ.

• confused on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Come back to Perodua meh DSZ… Kami alu-alukan kepulangan anda…

• oligopoli on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:32 pm

personally, very nice guy. seen him at KLIMS before, very detail in his explanation (in person, not on stage). his presentation (on stage) is very good too. his work, i think its fair to say he brought proton to where it is now, which is better than previously. WHY DOES HE NEED TO LEAVE PROTON? that’s a big question mark, as he had done a massive effort to drive proton forward

• SparC on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Somehow, DSZ look like Steve Job from Apple.
    At least, he do what he said ! committed to be better suits him well!

Seriously, they should not let him go! He is a true leader!

• taboogen on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:43 pm

welcome to the world of business… the higher you are in the company.. the harder you will fall….

thats the cruelty of business

• ageed he is a true leader not like other MD that have Bossie atitude

• Peter on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm

It’s his merit that Proton car nowadays at least considered acceptable by local. Without him, the popular power-windows issue still haunting proton car owner.

• Dani Proton on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:43 pm

There is already a FB page for those who wish to express their support for DSZ. May DSZ reconsider his decision.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kami-mahu-Dato-Seri-Syed-Zainal-kekal-sebagai-MD-Proton/325107387527899

• if this guys (Tengku M) come in… dead to Proton.
    hope DRB have the right candidate to fill in. person that have clear vision, clear view of what proton is all about. not just re branding.

really sad day to proton supporter.

• buncit on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:49 pm

so sad..

• “Get rich or die trying”

That’s what DRB told Protongkat lah or precisely tie-up with VW

Ha Ha Ha serve you right Protongkat will become jajahan VW soon

After RM billions and 30 years wasted still cannot get it right, better off surrender lah

Just forget, leave the business to the expert so rakyat can enjoy quality VW car at fair price

Look at Skoda and SEAT under VW…ever heard the Senores and Czechs folks complaining? Instead Skoda, SEAT sold MILLIONS of cars easily eversince…

Ha Ha Ha pathetic Protongkat…better move on lah…give us rebadge Protongkat Amarok pickup at RM80K fully-loaded…Ha Ha Ha

Hey if Banana V6 borrow Passat rebadge also not bad lah Ha Ha Ha sell it RM100K let the apek tauke kick their Camrys Ha Ha Ha

So what Exora using Sharan platform…Ha Ha Ha such a joke full size MPV at RM75K Ha Ha Ha…

After collecting bull head Lamborghini, it’s OK lah VW collect a tiger head Protongkat stick it on the wall like a proud hunter HA HA HA WOOOOHHHHHOOOOHHHH

• MrSunday on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Whoa..whoa… U ada sawan ka? It’s time for your medication..

• Faizul on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:53 pm

dunno what drb have in their backyard for proton. maybe future strategies differs so much from current strategy that has made dsz resign without 2nd thought. honestly Malaysian today viewed proton=dsz same as apple=steve jobs. to change this whoever being appointed must be at par or even better than dsz to steer proton into greatre heights. otherwise proton might end up like the old days before dsz..from global to local..to dsz thanks for making proton what it is today..good luck in your future undertaking

• That shows never kacau the Mamak Crony Suppliers…which Protongkat/DSZ trying hard to kick out

Once the Cronies go back cry to Mamak for sure some heads will roll…

This DSZ try to change Protongkat? Not until the Mamak no longer kicking lah…He He He

• breaker84 on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:02 pm

noooooo….
    now we lost another “Steve Jobs”….
    he so synonym with proton things…

• azrai on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:14 pm

I think it is about the future plan of DSZ vision against DRB-HICOM quick to get back their investment to buyout Proton vision. DSZ heavy reliance on LOTUS and back-up for LOTUS might the main culprit. It is an open secret DSZ want to use LOTUS and its motorsport to enhanced product awareness and potential for PROTON but LOTUS and motorsports is bleeding PROTON more than a vampire does. I’m sure DSZ is a good leader and sure NAZA or INOKOM under Sime-Darby waiting any time from now to offer him a new job.

After this what can I see are,
    1. Proton Edar might as well merge with EON to rationalize dealers and service centre, enhancing after sales services.
    2. Proton Commerce will merge into Bank Muamalat unit.
    3. LOTUS will be sold to potential suitors with a good tag price (since DRB-HICOM is private entity, unlike Gov buy expensive than later sell cheap, or buy the loss making company then sell promit making company)
    4. Job cutting exercise to trim down overhead.
    5. Shah Alam plant turn into commercial mixed development development.
    6. All the Proton operation will be moved to Tg.Malim.
    7. More and more DRB-HICOM vendor in Proton parts.

What also I really want to see before LOTUS sold are:-
    1. Proton transfer all the intellectual rights from LOTUS to PROTON first.
    2. Took and spinoff Lotus engineering to be the arm of PROTON including the R&D and design studios.

• harris murad on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm

owhhh mannnnn this totally suck!!!

• policeman on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Oh no Mahaleel will be back!
    We can start seeing Protons with beige interiors instead of the current grey.
    Will we see a rebirth of power window failure?

• kyoraf on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Suddenly lost my interest on Preve, GOOD JOB DRB HICOM

• Dato Syed Zainal is doing a good job,
    they should sack the rest of the directors that are aligned to the previous chairman
    including Dato Razak dawood and dont bring in T Mahaleel coz he will keep all the useless people in Proton.

• kyoraf on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Suddenly lost interest and trust on Preve after hearing this news… GOOD JOB DRB

• Han!h on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Why oh why oh why?…

So, what’s the direction DRB-Hicom gonna bring Proton into?… Arghhh…

• sonyman on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

hey, i wanted to get the Preve is because of DSZ. Not because of Proton, I buy the car that he creates.
    i support him , not the company, i did vow once never to buy another proton, but i took it back and want to give this Preve a shot,. PLus on top of that if ever the Next person taking over his position is like shit. i will sure take some shoes and throw at him

i salute your work DSZ.

• Highwaystar82 on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:59 pm

I totally agree with you man…

He brought Proton back. He was very proud with the new preve’… and now he’s leaving. What the fish man..

i wanted to get a preve’ but no that excitement dropped 80%.

• old car on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:38 pm

hope for the best..

• Samsul on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Its a sad day for Proton. DSZ is a good leader. Too bad khazanah is impatient.

Anyway, since DSZ is jobless right now, maybe he can consider a career in politics.
    GE is around the corner and i think he’ll be a good candidate for PR :-)

• Absolute Rider on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Proton needs DSZ!!!! He’s brilliant and he knows what is he doing and he has big plans in Proton ahead 2012 and beyond. However, if he step down. I’m not sure what will happened to Proton.

He is good in speach (for example during the launch of Exora). Many others during speach, lots of “E”and “A” words coming out as they can’t think of what they want to say.

DSZ must stay. I’m sure many of your fans love you and like to see you on stage!!!

• Kekah on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:49 pm

It’s ok if DSZ has put his resignation .. Therefore the government will be considered to lower down the import tax for foreign cars. This will be accomplished when DRB sell Proton to VW or whatever car makers. At last, we will harvested the outcome soonest.
    We have dumped our hard earn income.. whish is inevitablely ..

• Superman on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:03 pm

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v6/newsbusiness.php?id=658113

DSZ is staying in P1.. all Hail DSZ….

• so sad on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm

sigh… why this has to happen. As others, all my interest in Preve just faded.

• proton emo on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Yeah. Tengku Mahaleel is back on track to be the new CEO of Proton.

• mat rempitz on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:26 pm

You guys should not forget that, DRB HICOM were the one responsible for Proton Tiara, poorly conceived model launched into the market because DRB said they want it.

Now that DRB took over Proton, i know i should not wait for incoming model

• alldisc on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:44 pm

originally tiara was planned to come with 1.1 carb model, 1.4 EFI and 1.5 diesel. response was so poor and after late Tan Sri Yahaya passed away, the plan was scrapped altogether.

• A. Samad on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Good but not good enough, so thank you for your service DSZ. Looking at the glowing comments above, he might be a Steve Jobs but a Carlos Ghosn he is not. We seem to forget that it was under his watch that the rebadged Inspira was produced, have we forgotten about that? Perodua might have done well but Proton is another kettle of fish with all the politics involved.
    Now I hope that the DSZ fanboys please give DRB a chance, they deserve the benefit of the doubt, its not for nothing that they were given Proton.

• fazron80 on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:29 pm

With all their cronies vendor after this supplying half past six parts We’ll be entering another dark era for Proton. This is sad. So sad. I don’t think even the proton bashers can deny the effort that DSZ put in to gain trust back from the consumers towards proton. Is this mean Tengku Mahaleel is coming back. LOL. Let’s the good time begins.

• _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm

I dun give a damn….

• Musalman on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2012&dt=0410&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Terkini&pg=bt_06.htm

• asimo on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:34 pm

MEDIA STATEMENT FROM PROTON HOLDINGS BERHAD ON THE SPECULATION OF THE RESIGNATION OF PROTON’S GROUP MANAGING DIRECTOR

We refer to the news report in The Edge Financial Daily dated 10 April 2012 on the resignation of PROTON’s Group Managing Director, Dato’ Sri Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir. PROTON is not aware of the source of this speculation. Dato’ Sri Haji Syed Zainal is still holding the position of the Group Managing Director of PROTON, and his services are still required in the company.

The post-acquisition exercise is still proceeding smoothly and upon the completion of the same, PROTON is expected to have a strong synergy of current and new management team members that will provide PROTON with the necessary impetus to lead the company in its aspiration to become a globally successful automotive player.

[END OF STATEMENT]

• Mie Marco on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:34 pm

GUYS, sorry to say, but official feedback from Proton denying it!!
    That is only a rumours, as far we’ve concern DSSZ is still our Managing Director.

TQ

• silver on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm

most likely tunku mahaleel would replace him…

• Henry Ford The XII on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm

As a parting gift, Proton should change Proton Preve name to Proton DSZ (like Subaru BRZ and Honda CRZ) hehehe…

• hate_this_news_if_it_is_true on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:59 pm

it this is not true.. then this news was made by other automaker since they are afraid of Preve reputation..

• start on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Don’t really trust Proton media statement. They can change their tone in the very last day. Recently Datuk Nadzmi resignation press release out just days before his final day.

Since it will be in May for the so-called resignation to take effect, they can deny it now and 1 week before DSZ final day, Proton will just issue a statement.

I know how DRB work.. DRB is useless company. They don’t even know how to make a good bike. Since Modenas existence for more than 15 years, they can only produce kaphcai and some taiwan made re-badge scooters. And people want to put their faith for DRB to make their own decent car?? In your dream!! I bet this useless DRB will take VW 10-15 years model, re-badged it and sell to poor Malaysians Remember their crime on Tiara? How many people suffer from this mess?

DRB is survived due to cronisym not due to their merit. Their management is full of ex-army pensioners who knows nothing about cars.

• kelvin on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:54 pm

They know nuts.

• DRB is money making factory minded.
      their don’t care about technology or skilled. just do simple work…change logo and stripe.
      what their care is number $$ on the paper look good for them, top people year end bonus and salary.

• plunking on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Proton don’t need CEO lah, it is a monopoly.
    Just employ a bangla to bank in the cash .And another bangla to siphon the money.

• noname on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:58 pm

APRIL FOOL

• Bayang Putih on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:01 pm

I hope DSZ will stay……… All the best for him and Proton.

• MrDDR on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:09 pm

This is good news for proton actually. Remember when he resign from perodua before myvi release. Look at myvi top selling for many years. He the man behind it. If He resign now then we can see preve will be top selling also cause hes the man behind hit. See the same stories.

• Jolly_idiot on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:41 pm

We lost him. Proton is heading backward to where it was 25 years ago. Lead by cronies and no brainer.

If DSZ were to come out another car brand. Perotiga? Any supporter here?

• Jolly_idiot on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Typical 1 mountain cannot have 2 tiger. Sure DRB to chop DSZ and take over the flag. Malaysian cronies always like this. What a joke.

• Syazwan on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:54 pm

I think it is about the future plan of DSZ vision against DRB-HICOM quick to get back their investment to buyout Proton vision. DSZ heavy reliance on LOTUS and back-up for LOTUS might the main culprit. It is an open secret DSZ want to use LOTUS and its motorsport to enhanced product awareness and potential for PROTON but LOTUS and motorsports is bleeding PROTON more than a vampire does. I’m sure DSZ is a good leader and sure NAZA or INOKOM under Sime-Darby waiting any time from now to offer him a new job.

After this what can I see are,
    1. Proton Edar might as well merge with EON to rationalize dealers and service centre, enhancing after sales services.
    2. Proton Commerce will merge into Bank Muamalat unit.
    3. LOTUS will be sold to potential suitors with a good tag price (since DRB-HICOM is private entity, unlike Gov buy expensive than later sell cheap, or buy the loss making company then sell promit making company)
    4. Job cutting exercise to trim down overhead.
    5. Shah Alam plant turn into commercial mixed development development.
    6. All the Proton operation will be moved to Tg.Malim.
    7. More and more DRB-HICOM vendor in Proton parts.

What also I really want to see before LOTUS sold are:-
    1. Proton transfer all the intellectual rights from LOTUS to PROTON first.
    2. Took and spinoff Lotus engineering to be the arm of PROTON including the R&D and design studios.

• Dato Seri on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:11 pm

DSZ leaving proton to join Petronas as one of the Exec Vice President.

• Highwaystar82 on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Were they referring to this as the special “Surprise” during the launch of Preve’?

I guess I wont be changing my car to Preve’ after all. Confidence level dropped kaw kaw wei…

Better just call its Hicom Preve’.. Senang cerita.

• This is Malaysian, DRB would like to seck Datuk syed. He take the company from RED and trun it to blue. then simply people would like to take his job.

if Datuk not performing it okay, but it bring new life to proton and lotus…
    We still need datuk in the driver seat.

• without him..proton has to plan ..produce back iswara…by then can survive…no need to invest ..just sell it…still people buy for sure…not complicated car..cheap to maintain..good FC and just throw in Airbags and ABS to make it safe..

• Satria Gen1 on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:58 pm

If DSZ quits and Tengku Mahaleel back to Proton as MD…. I’ll sell my Satria… TO PROTEST! PROTEST!

• good leader, most of the time shoot down by some internal comspiracy!!!! When the good leader gone ppl then realise its a lost and shouldn’t let him go…

• RedBeanBun on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:03 pm

its v obvious, DRB will need fast cash, which means…no R&D and CHop Chop Chop, rebrand…Protong Jetta, Passat here comes…

ends up, the so call world car launch is one and done for sure…after 25+1 year, so round up the same shxt.

• aizat63 on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:50 am

i have a feeling that proton will sell off lotus to genii capital soon.. with the sponsorship pullout from F1 and the lotus name still there, there might be an undisclosed deal on the table, that might be thing that upset DSZ.

• danedz on Apr 11, 2012 at 2:05 am

Just finished reading all the comments….why I couldn’t see any comment from peYno??

• squall_shinoda on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Then do you want us to lose money from our own resources? And then how about the oil royalties to the oil-rich states? And are you prefer to drive on roads full of potholes and pay a lot more just to send your kids to school up to standard six only? That is why we sell our higher quality, expensive oil and buy cheaper Arab oil so that we can get the profit and use them for our infrastructure. Even if you sell nasi lemak also you cannot makan pangkal because it will lessen your capital.

• I recommended a friend to buy a Saga FLX last august, but so much problems with the cars. send for service and complaints, but the problems still occurred. I scolded by friend and trouble me from time to time because i highly recommended the car to him. is there anyway can solve his problem once for all? Brake noisy, engine accelerate by it self and some time car get jerk.